(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

fat bobo

u watching ponyo? I wanna watch it too! I love Miyazaki's movies. When i visited Japan, we made a pt to go to the Ghibli museum.

i tink last when i was young.. i owas bite my elder sis de... when getting out of lift..i hfta go first..if she did..i will scream for her to walk u-turn back..n i will bite her arms..
i heard frm my sis & parents that duno on wat else..i will oso bully my sis de... BAHAHA.

welcome pjpj!

at week 6, i could only see sac.. baby was then a whitish patch and with something we guessed was the heartbeat cos pulsating regularly, but too small to see. then last tuesday, at week 8, can see heartbeat more clearly, mysterious white patch also bigger.. hahaha.. .dr was saying"this is head this is tail", to me, from my angle, still look like white patch. hahaha....

pink! great news! and happy birthday!!!! *hug*

i dont agree with use of pacifier also, cos even if u use orthodontic pacifiers, ur gums and jaw are moulded to the pattern u take on when using the pacifier... become buck tooth lor, or gums protruding. my friend used it when she was young, then now her jaws, although had braces liao, can still see the jaw is protruding lor...

according to my mum, i refused the pacifier, i hope my kid will too.. (lesser expenses also. haha)

PJ, sure u would be able to see heartbeat during ur visit. I also saw the tiny foetus and blinking heartbeat at wk 5 though not very clear yet that time. At week 8, sure will be clearer and bigger size le.. =)

pinkmama
happy for u... and now "happy happy birthday"

Hi Ladies, i am new here... jus did my own test last morning and will be seeing a gynae tomorrow, getting quite excited but dunno what to expect..

Hi Gals...

PInk,
HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!

Lawshe,
hmm actually if u got no spottin no need to see gynae so early wor... can wait till wk6 cos now u go also cant see anything...

Lawshe,

I only went to see gynae when im at Week 5. Went to the clinic to make appointment but since doc is free so went in to see him instead.hehehe.
Im able to see 0.7cm of the baby and can hear the heartbeat

I dun have a prob waiting for the gynea appts... I only want my nausea to stop. The rest I dun care... :p

I love being a SAHM, disciplining my boy is such a breeze when I dun have other pple spoiling market. (though my hubby and MIL did it unintentionally a few times before but was salvagable) Seeing how he is so stubborn, I can imagine the terror he could have become if someone else were taking care of him. I thank God I have the privilege of watching him grow daily. *big grin*

RE: breastmilk
I am only A- cup (yes, you've read correctly. I needed to wear teenage type of bra) but I had lots of breastmilk. BUT my boy wanted even more!!! 1st day, I could already express 30 ml even right after feeding my boy. At wk 4, I was expressing 180ml and my boy still could drink 180ml of FM after nursing him for 4 hours!!! He was one hungry boy. I've never had to freeze my EBS cos he drinks all of them up before I could express the next bottle! Therefore I had to supplement one bottle of FM before his bedtime or else I cannot sleep at all. He was constantly on my breast...

Anyways, my EBS have no fishy smell leh... maybe cos never freeze. It tasted like diluted honey... nice. When I feed my boy on one breast, the other breast will leak so sometimes I'll ask my hubby to use cup and collect the milk, then we share the cup later. Hahaha... sounds disgusting??? :p At least I know why he loves my milk so much. But I still never regret weaning him off at 5 month. I cannot accept a mobile boy (crawling and walking) sucking at my breast. I feel weird. If this one is a girl, maybe I dun mind letting her drink longer...

Piggy/Dolcevita, i dun have spotting ley... u mean i dun need to see gynae now??

i have book my appointment and i wonder if i should proceed or hang out till another few more weeks.

Hey all,
I just came back from my first ultrasound today. I chose not to do the transvaginal scan as per my calculation, i should be around 7 weeks. So my gynae did the tummy scan. At first can see a big round sac, then can see yolk sac. Locating the fetus was a challenge! We finally see it behind the yolk sac. It's really small, 3mm only and there appears to be a heartbeat. By her wheels and LMP, she calculated that I should be 8 weeks so I've informed her that I have typically long cycles of at least 37-days. The machine translated the baby to be only 6w1d. That means my conservative calculation is wrong by 1 week. I also noticed that the sac is a lot bigger than it should be. I can also sense that she thinks this could be a 50-50 chance. However, she chose to remain positive and congratulated me. She put me back on my 1st child routine. I politely refused the Duphaston but she insisted I took my Aspirin. So, like my first pregnancy, my pregnancy now depends on an aspirin-a-day routine once again.

On the other hand, I dreamt that i had another girl. This is exactly the same experience I had when I conceived my 2nd child, her arrival was foretold. Weird isn't it? Well I can only be certain after two weeks. So far there has been no spotting and I have been dry heaving a few times today. So now it's science vs vision. Interesting eh. Hehehe...

Stay tuned for more strange stories of the preggie world! Kidding :p

Hello <font color="ff0000">Lawshe</font>

Congrats.

I just tested positive last week too. Am waiting for my 6 week appt next week. Guess like what the other gals say, it's gd to wait till abt 6 weeks so that we can see the sac &amp; heartbeat during the scan. If not, may not be able tpo see anything then a bit waste money.

I also v kancheong. eagerly waiting for next week so that I can see my babylet

<font color="ff0000">mrs puff</font>

Why do u need to take aspirin? I tot I read somewhere that taking aspirin shd be avoided?

jul,
wow looks like you're probably getting an early Sep baby? i am 6 weeks this week and already EDD is 27 Aug!

it's a long story. true, aspirin should never be taken by pregnant mothers but not for me. after numerous m/c and tests, we both decided to follow what our counterparts do in the States, be on very low dose of aspirin to keep my blood less thick. it was a last resort. i happened to take the NKF paid-test (before the saga) and found out that my blood clots easily and i was discussing with my gynae if there's a possibility that all my previous m/c are caused by this, as in baby is not receiving enough blood supply. my gynae played along and got me on daily aspirin till i am 35 weeks along. it's my magical drug that finally sustains my pregnancy. i am not advocating this to other mommies who've had miscarriages b'cos i have spend so much time and money to finally be brave enough to try that. hope i didn't confuse you hehe.

BabyS,
U must be so happy

Violetta,
Hee hee...praying and hoping the little one dun play "hide and seek" la.

Heh Mrs Puff,
Happy for u.
Do u happen to know whether there are other tests to check whether blood clot easily? Cos my last gynae also mentioned something abt putting me on aspirin in my next pregnancy.

Mrs Puff, congrats! Regarding the "foretold" dream, i dreamt of having a baby boy a few days ago. Before that, my SIL still asked me if I had any dreams abt the gender, so qiao... She said she dreamt of having a boy before my nephew was born. I told my hubby that my dream's baby got high forehead like him, which I dun want. Hahaha! *Kidding* So long its healthy baby, its fine...my hubby prefers a baby gal though. He rather to have 2 gals than 2 boys....I am hoping my #1 to be a boy...

My auntie even said she sees my stomach, could be a boy coz its pointed. I told her too early to tell already la...but lets c lor. Either gender is fine coz both of us got different preference..

PJ, hehehe....gd luck to u ya! =)

Jul, i duno how mani wks i am at now, so quite panicky on many things cos keep feeling unwell.. know it gonna waste abit of $$ if i proceed to see the gynae later but i still cant decide..

btw, if the other say that u gonna be a early sept mummy, arent i gonna be a mid sept mummy??

Ladies, all ur little chats are making me so excited... i also start to wonder when i will be able to see my bb

pjpj,
You can discuss with your gynae about taking the blood test to see if your blood is thick or not. In a way thick blood is good b'cos if you cut yourself and bleed, you'll heal very fast and won't lose that much blood. but not in pregnancy. you have to make sure that this possibility is ruled out. most miscarriages are caused by chromosomal problems, so it's mostly unrelated to blood. usually some gynae will start aspirin on those who has had 3 recurrent miscarriages or more. one thing, you cannot be allergic to aspirin as well.

Violetta,
i had all the gender of my babies "foretold". my sister dreamt that i had a girl for my 1st. it's weird that she dreamt of something like that only after i had 5 miscarriages. she quickly called my mom to ask about me, and mom confirmed to her that i'm indeed pregnant. she told me she has a nagging feeling that i'm going to be having a girl. she's right. next child, my hubby had a dream about holding 2 children in his arms, and I got a BFP a few days after. then i had a dream about having a girl with curly hair. true enough, my 2nd child looking nothing like her elder sister but she's a girl alright, with curly hair. and i just dreamt about my mom carrying a new baby with diapers on. i asked her to look inside her diapers, what gender, she peered in and said girl! so there! hahaha... some story i had right?! sometimes i think my pregnancies are all purely divine intervention to prove to me that science is not always right.

Lawshe,
if you think you're 6 weeks along, you can go for the ultrasound. usually by 6 weeks, you can see the amniotic sac, yolk sac and fetal pole with heartbeat. i think my gynae's machine are very sensitive, b'cos it's able to detect a heartbeat at 6w1d.

We didn't have a Sep mommies thread right? Well Sep mommies are welcome here too b'cos it's possible to deliver in end Aug. I delivered mine at 38 and 37 weeks respectively ahead of EDD.

Wow, Mrs Puff, u've quite a story. Next time can tell your children.

Re: Sep thread
Actually any Sep MTB can go and start a new thread.

<font color="ff0000">mrs puff</font>

Yeah I shd be EDD on 1 Sep or 5 Sep, depending on whether counting from LMP or O date lor. I hoped to get an Aug baby to coincide with hubby's bday, but nvm lah, I shd be thanking God for blessing me with this baby liao. Cannot be so greedy.

Oic! I understand why u took aspirin now. I think pple who have 'thick blood' like stroke/pre-stroke also take daily aspirin to thin the blood.

<font color="ff0000">Lawshe</font>

When was the first day of ur last period? U count from there &amp; it'll be your no. of weeks liao (based on theoretical 28 day cycle). Unless u have super long cycles for eg 40 days, then maybe push back a week plus.

I'm not sure abt u, but my main reason for seeing the gynae at 6 weeks is bcoz I wanna see heartbeat. No heartbeat means babylet prob cannot survive liao
So I dun wish to go to the gynae too early. At most they can only tell me I'm pregnant which I already know, &amp; to take folic acid, which I have bot from pharmacy.

But I understand ur concern. So if it makes u feel better to see a gynae now, go ahead lor.

Mrs Puff, ur "foretold" really very accurate leh! I dreamt that my bb boy has wavy fringe also, which both my hubby and I have natural curls....but my mum said she dreamt of me having a bb boy with rosy cheeks. Hahaha! So interesting man....

I was having so bad MS last night... puke until bitter juice also come out man! Whenever I puke, my throat felt so painful and I can also see some bit of blood! I dont know how some woman can purposely induce vomiting to lose weight!!!

BTW, if i vomit not long after eating the vitamins, must I take it again? cos seems like everything already come out, including the vitamins....

Hi tinkabel, congrats!

Mrs Puff, good leh your "forecast" more accurate than u/s! My DH kept asking me if I got any "feeling" if bb is boy or girl... I got no "ling gan" at all lor.

kikilala,
i think better not take it again, if you have to, maybe wait after 12 hours. i'm sure some must have already been absorbed into your body and having a 2nd dosage not long after that can be excessive. drink lots of water. try the BRAT diet - banana-rice-apple (some say applesauce)- toast. to some, bland food works, to another, strong-tasting food works. whatever it is, keep yourself hydrated and sip lots of water throughout the day.

good thing about morning sickness is you can be assured that the pregnancy is doing very well even before you go for your first scan. so "enjoy" the MS! haha.. cheers!

Dint login for few days hope u gals have not forgotten me. hehe..
My blood test result is out, sugar level too high!, max is 110, mine 120. and i dont remember i like sweet things, HB was saying must be the carbo convert to sugar too fast, guess i have to swap to wholemeal instead of white bread in future!
I had spotting on and off and my gynae did a test for me too, result came back was OK, no infection etc.

share with you my daily breakfast in the office.

i usually have Milo O (the Australian recipe) and some dry crackers (must be Hup Seng brand). sometimes i have Nutrisoy soya drink (my fav is Mr Bean's but they're quite ex). they helped to curb my MS. then again for this pregnancy, i am still able to eat but after eating, i will feel like puking.

Hello Mrs Puff,
I am on the bland food kind.
I am not sure is a gd thing or bad thing, so far my MS is only feeling something in my throat..
Yesterday was a bad day for me, feeling that almost the whole day!

Regg, too much Ribena is it? Must watch your sugar intake from now.. =)

U working today? You recovered from your flu already?

regg,
whatever it is, don't leave your tummy empty. it'll make the MS worse. milo is good for me b'cos it's like a complete beverage and quite filling. bear with it lor what to do. only a few weeks more to go and time runs very, very fast nowadays!

Hello Jermaine!
Nope, so far only 2 pack of Ribena,and i normally mix it with 50% water.
Yeap i am at wrk today, flu still recovering..thanks dear.

Mrs Puff,
Ya men! but i feel time is slow for me hehe .. mayb i am very looking forward to finish my 1st trim.

Anyone tummy come out yet?

some info from dumex web site abt nauseous:

although symptoms can come and go throughout pregnancy. We know it’s not a total comfort, but nausea and morning sickness feelings are almost always associated with a healthy pregnancy. These tried and tested solutions are certainly worth a go:

• Try to nibble on some dry crackers or biscuits before getting out of bed in the morning

• Try to eat small frequent meals to keep something in your stomach

• Even if you find you can’t tolerate food, it’s very important to keep drinking fluids. If you find it difficult to drink anything try sucking on ice cubes, ice lollies, or sips of fruit juice.

• Motion sickness bands can work for morning sickness too! You wear them on your wrist to press on an acupuncture point and they might just help.

• Try ginger – it has proven effective for many people. Why not try ginger ale, dry ginger biscuits, ginger tea or root ginger grated into boiling water?

Mrs Puff/Jul, i am back from the gynae, did the ultrasound and manage to see the sag. was advise to go back in 3 wks time.

gynae say is still early so never did anyother test.. the nurses also nv take my weight, is this normal?

Jul, thanks for the advise on counting the last mest date, but i guesss mine is a super long n irregular cycle so i couldnt make head or tail out of it... but good thing here is, at least i know i have a little one in me...

mashy, i make her say sorry after she bites me, and she also sayangs the area she bit. but she still carries on doing it. just now she bit me again while pretending to kiss my tummy! had to bite my lip to refrain from yelping. hope this nasty habit stops soon.

jaclyn, wow u are really a 'cow' hehe.. and ur boy's appetite is mega!! thats a lot for a 1 mth old bb! anyway, ebm only starts tasting fishy when it's been stored in the fridge or freezer. if left at room temp or served fresh from breast, its still sweet and pleasant.

lawshe, congrats
its not a wasted visit, cos at least u know the bb is in the uterus and not in abnormal places like the fallopian tubes! u'll prob know the edd the next visit too. erm, its standard routine to get wt checked at my gyne's office. as well as blood pressure. maybe the nurses overlooked?

pinkmama, how abt fruits? low sugar low carb a bit hard to satisfy leh. or take a handful of nuts. (they're high in fat though)

mrs puff, u really went thru so much b4 u finally conceived and delivered ur 2 girls. and ur dreams are amazing! did u dream that this one is a girl too? my dreams for the 1st one boey zhun.. i dreamt it was a boy, and my hb dreamt it was a girl. ended up #1 is a girl

<font color="ff0000">tinkabel</font>

Harlow! U have the same EED as me leh

<font color="ff0000">regg</font>

I'm the opp. I think I'm the tasty food kind. Even tho I dun really have nausea, but I find that I prefer strong tasting food now. Die lah, must watch glucose, salt etc intake. Dunno how to curb myself from eating the bottled caixin.

Haha my tummy "came out" liao. But that's bocz I have not gone to the gym &amp; I dun suck in my tummy as I used to haha.

Agree with Jules. It's not a wasted trip as u can verify that it's not an actopic preg etc. Next visit u'll be able to see the heartbeat liao hor?

Hmm if ur cycle is irregular then a bit hard to pinpoint exactly liao. But it's true, whatever it is, the EED will be calculated when the gynae measures ur BB, so dun worry so much abt the EDD ok?

Jul,
Yah I guess most likely our babies will end up to be end Aug babies. Esp since my 1st baby popped out about 10 days earlier. Is this your 1st baby too?

Lawshe:
If cycle is not regular, might be hard to determine but then gynae can always override by the ultrasound date. Mine was like that too, cos my cycle is like 35-40 days. So by counting EDD is not accurate.

Re: Breastmilk
I am definitely a strong advocator of breastfeeding. I TBF my 1st baby until he was 9 months, then slowly cutting down and partial feed until this month. I am a mummy that is not really pro-latching cos I hate the mess. So I only latched Matthias once a day in the morning and he din want to latch around 7 mths plus. The rest of the time, I expressed and store in fridge.

jul
My tummy pop out also because I have been mostly eating &amp; lying down after meals
. Dh just bought me fishballs &amp; squid tentacles from old chang kee. Yummy!

Jules/Jul, thanks for ur wishes. looking forward to the next visit, as well as finding out more from the gynae.

and like what Jul said, hopefully the next visit will enable me to hear the heartbeat and got advise on the EDD.

pinkmama, ur snacks make me hungry..

btw Mummies here, do all of u feel hungry very frequently??

LawShe, I'm hungry all the time! Just had a ferrero rocher to "tong" first, have to wait for DH to finish playing mahjong b4 going for dinner.

I noticed that my MS will kick in only after 10 pm... its more night sickness. I have to eat as much as possible and avoid eating too much at night.

hi Gals..

Lawshe,
when i first preg i was constantly hungry but into wk 5 my MS kick in was bloated most of the time n poor appetite...
btw from the sac ur gynae shd be able to tell how many wk u r now wor...

Jul,
u shd look at ur O-ed date to count since u O-ed late...

Regg,
pls take care okie...

<font color="ff0000">tinkabel</font>

Issit? This is my first baby. So first babies will norm come out earlier?

U got preggie 1 yr after u popped ur boy? wow.. isn't it very tiring. And u're BF-ing too! Pai fu pei fu...

<font color="ff0000">pink</font>

I was loking at my tummy just now. OMG without sucking it in, I look like 5 mths preg! *faint*

Actually I was very hungry during my 2WW, esp the week after implantation. But I feel that now my appetite isn't so good. I still eat, but less than norm. And I prefer very tasty food.

<font color="ff0000">piggy</font>

Wah that what ur gynae did for u? In that case, I wud be 5 Sep EDD liao.

Jul,
we could only gauge if u haven visit gynae. usu if o late u have to add 2 wk to ur O-ed date for estimation. after u visit gynae they will guage again base on ur baby size.

not only first baby subsequent baby can also pop earlier but there r cases wher the baby could be overdue... depend on when ur baby willing to come out..

<font color="ff0000">piggy</font>

Oh.. ok.. So if I O 4 days after the theretical O date, then I also add 2 weeks? Or shd it be just add 4 days?

Aiyah nvm lah. I ask the gynae on Thu for my EDD after she scans the babylet lah haha. Thanks anyway!