(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Jules, I was admitted at 3am, as I was having bloody show and gynae came 30 minutes after I was in delivery suite and told me to sleep and rest as I was not fully dilated and she was the one to wake me up to push.

At least, you still have all your things, we did not bring all the items over, just that my mum brought over the slings for us when she came to visit 2 weeks ago.

Calla, will pray for you bb will be healthy and fine. I will also be doing the test so have been praying for a healthy bb too as we have waited for this bb for 5 years.

babys,pegsfu
have a good time later onz.. remember a quick short visit in the gynae's rm is the most reassuring... that bb is growing well..

so far, i think i need to buy another bb cot for #2. kekeke intend to bunk in #1 and #2 in my room.. cannot bear to throw #1 out.. the rest of the items still in good conditions, in their original packaging some more.. except all is blue blue blue..

Loh

wow, so early take package already? Thought most packages start at least 2nd trimester. And since u haven't seen baby's heartbeat, isn't it a little early to take the package?

priscilla, then your gyne is really commendable and responsible. very very on!! u arent staying in sg? how old is ur #1 already? boy or girl?

smurfy, wa ur room very big leh!! can accomodate not 1 but 2 baby cots??? my hb has been nagging at me to move #1 to another room but i really bu she de. our main bonding time is at night just b4 i put her to sleep, and i love watching her fall asleep stroking my hand as she does.

Jules

hahaha, i heard the exact opposite from yours. That public hospital sucks so much more than pte ones. hahahaa. In fact, you're the first one i heard that say public hospital's MOs are good. Anyway, personally i feel that the public hospital is like a mass production house (ok, maybe just that hospital that specialises in production). I very much prefer a pte hospital coz of the extra care given to the patients. Well, to each his own.

Violetta,
I am seeing my gynae at his tmc clinic

mashy,
His was my gynae for my #1, quite comfartable wif him, so just take up the package lor. Each visit cost me $100+, the package is only $500+, can see him unlimitted till i give birth...kekeke

mashy, haha.. must agree that i got the same reaction from my july thread last time. for some odd reason, lay pp believe that private hospitals are so much better than public ones. oddly, a lot of my dr friends all go to public hospitals to deliver instead of private hosps. not sure why but since i had a very gd experience in NUH the last time ard, will stay on there lor. loved the room i stayed in too cos got fab views and great food. but that's prob cos i was staying in single room la (thanks to great company benefits) heh

smurfy,
Yup, agree wholeheartedly and after the 2 m/cs, I'd think that every visit to the gynea to see that bb is growing well is a milestone.

mashy,
Though it's a little early for loh to take the package, i think they will refund if anything happens (touch wood!). Like my case, lost my bb at 22 wks, and they refund the rest of the package amt pro-rated.

jules
not that the room is big.. but boh pian.. squeeze squeeze a little lor... onli issue is when #2 wakes up for milk, #1 might wake up...

morning all one week never come in lor , I this week start to feel having feeling of vomitting is very uncomfortable , anyway to prevent or feel better ? My stomach is very bloated very very uncomfortable , I keep drinking Yakult . Is it ok to drink yakult if I pregnant .

smurfy, that's my concern too lor. was thinking that we will do away with the cot.. me and #2 will sleep on floor, while #1 and daddy sleep on bed. but if #2 is gonna cry every 2-3 hrs, then #1 will also wake up and start to make noise, or ask for milk!! headache ah... my ILs are v nice, offered to let #1 sleep with them until #2 is bigger and sleeping better. still considering, but bu she de lor.

loh, ur package is v cheap! does the 500 also cover unlimited scans?

hi bean, long time no talk
no problem with yakult for preggies i think. gotta tolerate the nauseous feeling lor.. it will pass in another mth or 2. can try taking sour plums, or salty snacks to see if u feel better, or whatever works for u.

Ya lor heng i drink Yakult can have some gases come out and ever go toilet else last nite My stomach bloated until I cant sleep .

By the way the Down syndrome test how it like har , and which week we need to test ?

I worry it painful , me very scare of pain ever injection I worry .test blood ever worst as the nurse often cant find my vein end up anyhow poke .

Hi Jul_PuKe_BFP_Cow and all
thanks..I dunno how many wks am I now cos my appointment with gynae only this Sat. Prob 5 wks? hee...anyway its my 2nd child but dunno why I having fear..like wonder if I can cope. Taking care of my gal who is 16 mths now also v siong..mummies with 2nd pregnancy, do u feel that?

Bean, I agree with u...when the nurse couldn't find the vein to poke, its the worst thing man! I once had injection for some X-ray purpose and the doctor which i suppose its the relief or trainee doctor, she could take in n out of the needle so many times till I can drop tears man...After so many poking attempts, she said my vein too small or cant find, have to change position from arm to wrist....I really wanna get up and bash her man! After causing so much pain to me, still say cannot find my veins!

hi pegsfur,smurfy
i agree every visit to the gynae is a milestone. but I can't shake away the fear, the fear of hearing bad news everytime I lie on the gynae's bed....

Wah lau , if me I will scold the man and call him like me poke poke see pain a not . He should Get a fail for being a doc . My case better nurse cant find I warn them please dun poke wrongly as I super scare of pain . The nurse will normally scare to make me pain after my words and end up she will tell me , she is not confidence and will call the doc to do it .

vono
i'm working..daytime my 22mths old boy n maid goes to my mum's place.. after work i go there, eat dinner and goes home.. but it's very tiring lor.. and my active boy do not like a immobile mummy who always sits on the floor or sofa talking/playing with him.. he's very close to the maid now.. me soo upset.

i also worry how i'll cope with 2 kids - i work but take care of dd most of the time (when i'm not around, usually she will be with my parents or hb) so she is super sticky to me... i've started preparing her for the new arrival oredi - by asking her to 'sayang' baby (touching my tummy) & kissing baby. dunno how my attention going to be 'spread' between the 2 of them!

i also had super bad experience with public hospitals (was staying in 4 bedder) but i do believe if you choose to go to pte wards, u can get equivalent service as pte hospitals. if not for where i stay, i would consider using NUH pte wards & go with DR Mary Rauff too.

Vono,
My boy coming to 20mths. Daytime bring him to bbsitter hse. After work I fetch him back cos hubby has to work late. Sometimes quite tiring when he doesn't want to walk..

Sorry ladies, I was away preparing dinner for ds #1, and my church friend brought me home-made herbal chicken soup.

Jules, all my friends who are drs go to private hospital and my gynae was recommended by them. We are outstationed in Oz. My #1 is 5 this year.

Bean, my doc is requesting for me to do the test in week 10 which include a special ultrasound scan and blood test for down.

I also have really bad ms, so been taking home boiled soup, bailey, honey and chrysanthemum tea. I asked my mum to check with TCM, she told me it is ok to consume them. I can't really drink plain water, milk now as I would merlion whenever I drink. So have turn to juices and the above. This pregnancy is so different from my first that I consumed lots of plain water.

Shirley, Michele, Smurfy & Amanda, I think it is tough when #1 is still young to have #2. I believe all of you will cope fine after a while.

For myself, it is much easier, ds#1 is 5 and has been helping around the house from young. He is excited for a younger sibling and have been singing and reading to my tummy for bb. Think he is more excited than us, in fact, he is the one that kept asking us to buy bb stuff when we were on our trip for a break.

pink, I see. Personally I think it depend on body type, mine is the heaty type so the tcm that my family goes to told my mum is ok for me. Was told not to drink coconut.

for me i already started to let my 16mths boy know that he is going to be 'gor gor' (elder brother)..

I showed him some of the baby poster, telling him there is a baby in my tummy, yesterday he pointed to me the baby poster, and then ‘sayang’ my tummy follow my a hug.

My another concern is where to place my #2, currently my house having 3 rooms, one for in-laws, one of maid, and the master room by DH, my son & I, the room already very small with one queen size bed & one baby cot…

priscilla,
yup. anyway i have listed below the stuff that my TCM has advised to avoid, for your reference

1) Old cumcumber soup
2) winter melon soup
3) white radish soup
4) barley
5) chrysanthemum
6) pineapple
7) watermelon

And I think there is also an old wives tales that says avoid the long del monte type banana

pinkmama, same.. my MIL who is TCM trained also said to stay away from barley and chrysanthemum tea cos of the cooling nature. same goes for tea - also liang apparently. sob sob.. no more teh tarik for me
i still sneak mouths of the yeos chrysanthemum tea in private tho.

personally, tho its so tiring running after a 18 mth old toddler now, i think it's better to get everything over and done with when we are young. ideal age gap between kids for me is 2 yrs. suffer now, enjoy later. i cant imagine enjoying my relative independence when kid is abt 3-4 yrs old (as compared to 1-2 yrs old), before having to give it all up again to take care of a newborn.

yes, i believe we will all adjust and cope eventually.

i also teach dd to say 'i'm your jiejie' when she 'sayang' my tummy.

speaking of space! i hardly have any! my room has a king sized bed, a playpen and one chest of drawer and that's it! the other 2 rooms - one is my home office (and i have a 4ft marine tank inside that room) and the other is dd's playroom!

pinkmama, i got the same list of prohibited foods as you

shirley, like u, i also started to tell my girl she gonna be che che next yr hehe.. now every night she will auto say gd night to my tummy, sayang and kiss it before going to sleep.

Bean, ya lor...if I am not so weak that time, I would have scolded the doc upside down already..hehehe..

Ladies, I got drink the canned crysanthemum tea leh...but not barley. Not sure if they are of the same "liang" level or barley is more liang coz my mum said can still drink abit of crysanthemum if too heaty..

I avoided alot of food until my friends having dinner with me last nite also suan me.

1. Sashimi
2. Salads
3. Ham
4. Cheese (selective)
5. Sotong
6. Crabs
7. Clams
8. Kangkong
9. Coffee and Tea (still got drink abit of ice lemon tea coz cant resist!)
10. Stingray & Shark fins

Got to think if there is anything else..Do you all have the same list or things to add on?

sashimi and other raw food is a nono.. half boiled eggs also cannot. only parmesan, cheddar and mozarella cheese allowed. other cheese best to avoid. the above few are the medically proven things to avoid. raw salads best to take selectively.. if not sure abt hygiene, best to avoid. chin chow too cooling, cannot take also.

really a lot of food to avoid if u really wanna follow and be strict lor. but a lot of mummies i know take the so called forbidden foods and still have healthy babies.

Oh, thanks pink! Sashimi is my fave too! Normally i go sushi tei to eat.....now go there can only eat ramen..so pathetic...

violetta,
I think some of the food in your list, e.g. salad and ham is ok if you are very sure of the preparation method. As for the stingray and sharkfins, I think have to avoid due to the level of mercury in them.

actually gals,
I think the rule of thumb is to avoid anything that is cooling in nature & anything that is not throughly cooked.