(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

<font color="ff0000">smurfy</font>

So pretty!

Er.. spring summer season is when? Jun? By then I already 3rd tri liao haha.

<font color="ff0000">regg</font>

I think I'm very confused. I tot the package is supposed to incl all the scans, blood tests, meds etc?

*boo hoo hoo* It looks like I must really start saving money, if not, babylet got no hosp to go liao. I nvr knew it's so expensive. I am quite shocked...

Jul,
Nope, i dont think so.
To my understanding mostly package = scheduled visit + scan only. So still have to pay for med/ blood test and etc etc de..
Gals, am i right?

Shirley,
Thats 1 way of saving too ya.
I haven start buying any yet, i have to settle my preggie pants and shoe.. and 1-2 short sleeve cardi to go with my dress.. think thats all for me for time being.

<font color="ff0000">regg</font>

Wah.. So that means I must save $6k lor! Oh but some can claim from Medisave right? Then I think the baby bonus thing got give parents some cash for the delivery no?

*$ bills floating ard in her head*

jules, yeah most gynae packaages dont include meds, special scans and blood tests or other tests. some of the package prices include delivery fees, some only the antenatal check ups.. must ask carefully. And during my search for a gynae, most of them told me that they can only give me 2008 prices now, but if i am due in 2009 got increase in price.

Jul,
of cos can claim some from medisave, but, it is always good to save more standby mah...
Hos bill cannt count "chun chun" one.. e.g some go for natural delivery, what if last min have to C?
Or.. have to use more then 1 epidural etc etc...

actually i never knw the delivery charges leh, tot some can be claimed using cpf... so end of the day, u dun need to pay alot... then usually is hb who pays one, coz he's the one doing the admission while u r pushed to the labour ward?

and when hb pays, he pays by credit card right right??? kekeke perhaps can ask hospital whether they got accept installments?

<font color="ff0000">baby s, regg, shirley</font>

Thanks for clarifying. Wah liew, wanna give money still got so many restrictions. Govt sacred we take the money &amp; run ah?

I just took urine test last Sat and tested positive..will be going to see gynae this sat. Hope to join u gals in the chat
btw, this is my second bb

Smurfy,
My fren was telling me, nurse show him the bill to sign B4 his wife push into the labour ward! haha.. Dont sign also cannot!haha

shirley, u mean the hooks not standard one meh?? huh.. i thought standard one leh... anyway, i dont need yet, just happen to see yesterday at Spring...

smirfy.. hee,, yeah ;eave the husbands to worry.. hahaa.. i dont think got installment plan leh.

Let's say.. the delivery, antenal package, jabs, meds etc etc is $6k, say suay suay $7k.

$3k shd be enough to buy all the baby stuff like cot, pram, clothes, bottles etc hor?

Wow.. where to find $10k???? OMG... *face turns green*

Smurfy,

During the wife send to labour ward, the hospital will want then to pay certain percentage of the hospital bill first .... so last time also my husband have to pay it hahahahaha..........

Ladies, i'm back after my dory fish meal ....

Now feels so tired .... esp seeing my dog sleeping comfortably curled up in her bed ... wahahah ... feels like joining her siah

<font color="ff0000">pegsfur</font>

Wah ur lunch v long leh... I suppose u're not working, or u're ur own boss keke?

<font color="ff0000">amanda</font>

Oh at ACJ clinic. I'm gog to Dr Caroline Khi at the same clinic too. Hope ur 1st appt goes smoothly. Mine is on next Fri

Re: BB expenses

If u don't mind, u can get 2nd hand. It really saves a lot. Get hand-me-down clothes for daily wear. Just buy one or two for special occasions like 1mth celebration coz they grow up so fast.

U can buy 2nd hand cots too from this website or others like singapore expats. I got mine for $120 which is a very good condition, hardly used one which cost $300+ for a brand new one.

As for toys, u'll spend more when they're older and able to play. When they're a bb, they can't play much, just watch only.

And wait for the bb fairs which comes abt every half a yr. Can get some great deals on diapers/wipes/washing powder etc.

U can also go kidzloft at tagore lane to dig some clearance stuff. They usually have socks/bibs to clear. And they're real cheap.

ANd don't buy anything that isn't on sale. Coz you can afford to wait now for a sale. Even a 20% off when accumulated can come up to quite a fair bit.

Re: Delivery fees
U can pay by instalment too using the credit card. I paid for my #1 using instalments. Since it's interest free, why not...

in fact my #1 also wearing only of hand down clothes at home, i only bought 2 sets of infant clothes to him :p

For plastic wares like bath tubs/ containers/ plastic drawers, u can go to toyogo warehouse at toa payoh. It's much cheaper than if u buy from the supermarkets.

jul,
I work part-time de, work till 1pm niah
So after dat i went to have my lunch ... then sleep in the train ... den by the time i reach home, already 3+ le. Den i still have to walk my dog, vaccum the floor, bathe, den can log in mah

Regg

You're welcome. I'm a budget mom coz SAHM mah, so have to save. When i had my #1, had to go round bargain hunting. Every cent saved can be put to better use like in the bb's insurance etc.

mashy's right,
i pay my hospital bills by credit card instalment too. last time i kena $2600 for two bedder package in gleneagles. it helps that i work, so i always have to set aside my pay for antenatal costs. however my baby items are new for my first child. this is because, i know that they're going to get reused as I have more children. no regrets now. coming to three, i saved a lot on brand new stuff i bought two years ago. i only bought those big ticket items like cribs and stuff after 7 months along as i was a big pantang at that time. 2nd child onwards, save a lot, b'cos baby same gender.

i heard of a myth that said, if you use hand me down items, you'll conceive the next one real quickly. don't know how true but my next child is conceived barely months after i delivered my 1st child. then again, we're always very fertile the first two years post-delivery. i am learning this the hard way again. haha.

I think for most of us having #1, it will be hard to control buying stuff for the bb, since it's the 1st one
I'm very sure i'm one of them ... hahaha ... and esp when i was young, our family was poor and wat we got was hand-me-downs ... i sweared that i will get my future baby whatever he/she needs ... but not to the point of spoiling the child lah

Mashy!
U sounds so like me! hehe..
I am still working but intend to stop wrk after give birth, I agree totally that, education and insurance are more worth to invest!
^5!

pinkmama,

I only walk her once a day, when i got home from work. Even when it's raining, i'll still walk her, then we'll play in the rain ... hahaha ..
I like to see her shake off the rainwater from her body

i agree with pegsfur, hard to control or hard to control pple from buying for baby. My parents are in US on holiday and visiting my bro now. I told them when they were on holiday. And they've already bought a carrier and a jacket for baby liao, and no buy for me.. this despite december being my bday month.. i keep telling them dont buy for baby yet!! spend on me, i'm developed liao!! hahaha...

pinkmama

It's the showroom.
http://www.toyogogroup.com/TYGSG/ContactUs.php

pegsfur
haha, i know that 'itch'. Even now i still splurge on toys for my boy. I rather not buy my own things but will definitely buy for him.

It's still good to get some hand-me-downs so that you can buy better quality stuff for stroller, car seats etc. If u get everything new, then your budget will be spread thinly among the whole list of stuff to buy. Just go around asking for hand-me-downs. U never know what you'll get. Some of the hand-me-downs clothes i got were pretty new coz their kids never got round to wearing them. They outgrew the clothes before they got a chance to wear them. Hahaha.