(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

pris, i would prefer if my mother does confinement for me.. cos food wise, she will know what i eat/ dont eat, since she's cooked for me all my life... If i get confinement nanny or MIL, they dunno my likes and dislikes mah... i am not a fussy eater but having a limited range of food during confinement, i would appreciate if i like the food....

i dont eat liver, what if my MIL or confinement lady cooks liver for me!! then i eatrice only meh... hahaha..

my mum went to buy a book on pregnancy and confinement receipes liao... hahah... so my mum will help me with food, take care of baby when i need to rest. housework wise, maybe get a part time maid to come in for that one month lor.

weishy

I ordered confinement food for the last 2 weeks of my confinement. It tastes quite yucky & boring after a while. All the food started to taste the same.

weishy
agreed with mashy.. while some say great things abt those confinment foods, i am all thumbs down.. first, the food are usually cold when they reach u (u have to microwave), 2nd somehow the dishes looks the same even though they changed their menu..

Priscilla

Hhahaa, giving birth to a child can really cause a lot of conflicts. I also had a lot of heated arguments with my ILs. Sometimes it's still best to depend on ourselves.

Baby S, me too, no liver and inner of pigs or any animals.

I wait for my bro to send the confinement recipes that my mum compiles. Then will get dh to get the groceries, clean up everything, either he cooks or I cook.

Smurfy, usually first couple bb will be a bit more cranky since bb left the comfy womb mah.

smurfy, ur "horrible lil things" comment made me laugh!! but i cant help but nod in agreement. When my girl was born, she screamed nonstop for the first day. and true enough, she was and still is a screamer.

babys, its gd ur mum is helping. cos easier to talk to own mother.. no need to censor this and that so much.

pris, ya.. really very blessed to have such nice ILs. even now, they are totally taking care of my #1 cos i'm usually just flat out on the bed or vomiting away. no complaints from them at all.

mashy, I agreed. Can you imagine an adult teaching a just learnt to crawl bb to crawl up and down flights of stairs.

Smurfy, ur hubby is so funny leh...muz be very tired handling a bb huh..

Pris, ur MIL is really "unwelcome" even by ur SIL wor...Threatening suicide is really serious man..

Dolce, so gd that ur mum is helping and doing research for u.

Jules, you are truly blessed. My mil always takes my dh for granted as he is really filial to her and pil. She will always pretend sick and make dh rush to her place to find that she has gone out for mahjong and pil wonder why dh went there after work.

pris/jules
some newborns are practically sweet lil things leh, cry onli when hungry or diapers wet.. others are totally different leh, cry for basically nothing lor.... future complaint kings/queens <- mine's like tat... he really used to cry for nothing, until the Lactaion CoNSUltant frm TMC, MRs wong just tell me to give him pacificer..

Jules, she did and since I handle ds throughout, I know he will never do that. I cane him on his legs after he tried on me one day. After that he did not, but crawl up stairs whenever mil and pil came to stay at our place since I will go out to avoid conflicts and mil complaints to me and fil told her it was her teaching bb to crawl up stairs.

Violetta, even today, her 2nd sis (the one threatened suicide) refused to let them have frequent visit to her place and hardly come to il's place, maybe only during pil's birthday and CNY Eve and CNY. Her dh and sons came twice a month and for like 2hours only.

My mil oso one kind de lah ... a few yrs ago, she was working as an office cleaning lady at a bank. Then 1 of the senior staff needed a CL and she offered her help, saying this senior staff has been very kind to her during her course of work.

Guess wat, 2 or 3 wks into it and she just pack her backside &amp; left, giving some excuses, and leaving the poor lady struggling with newborn &amp; looking for another CL at the same time.

My mil still can complained that the lady kept carrying the baby, that she doesn't know how to breastfeed, and that she felt spied on whenever the lady's mum went over.

Anyway, i'm at loggerheads with mil so no way is she gonna butt in on how i care for my bb.

BabyS, I agree with u leh...with the limited range of food during confinement, it is impt that the food we eat are those we like..my MIL likes to cook those non-leafy vegetables which I dislike. I prefer leafy vegetables which she dun really know how to cook... and she likes to try on new receipes which the food turn out to be "not so nice" but still got to eat. Thats y I m pretty against her cooking for me during confinement. Other than that, she is still very nice to boil birdnest for me to "bu" my body lah...

smurfy, ds was like that during 1st 3 weeks at nights, then dh was helping, mil nagged that he should just leave bb to me to handle and told me that I should pacify bb since we are disturbing everyone in the house sleeping during my confinement.

smurfy, totally agree. mine is complain queen also. my friends bbs really little angels. cry for a reason. not so for my #1!! hope #2 will be an easier bb.

pris, luckily u are able to siam ur MIL now that u are staying in OZ.

Violetta, at least she bought stuff to bu your body. Dh has to practically told his mum in front of his eldest unmarried bro that my mum has been buying me bird nest, boiling bu soup for both of us and then mil embarassed then go buy me chicken essence. Well, not to mention that she consumed most of the chicken essence and took back home some which my friends and colleagues bought for me.

Well, in fact, this time I am glad to be away, so I do not have to have her insisting to do my confinement.

pris
my mil oso never buy anything for me during the whole pregnancy period.. onli when her grandson pops up, then she starts popping in my place... so irritating...

jules
ekekeke hopefully our #2 are angelic babies.. i think so lar.. :p

Violetta, 2nd bil is afraid of his wife, she told him b4 infront of all of us that if not happy, divorce and the boys will follow her since her parents are the ones that look after them from bb.

violetta... hee.... poor u lah, have to be guinea pig for ur MIL's food adventure...

just to share, my church friend engaged a CL once. They went over to see her at work, when she was doing confinement for my friend's friend. THey saw her, think she ok and booked her.

When she came over, she was terrible man.

1: she change the arrangement of furniture, cos she says its easier for her.

2: she ask the husband to go buy certain cleaning detergents cos she only use that.

3: she nag when my friend wanna BF... cos the CL is pro FM..

4: she was coughing when she arrived and was coughing for a long time. never take medicine. then when the concerned parents ask if they can help to buy med (please lah, she was coughing in baby's face), she gave them a specific cough medicine name and said she can only take that. When the husband gave up after going to 5 over pharmacies, she said nvm can buy any other brand.. haiyo...

Then they tahan her, and finally about a week b4 the 1 month was up, they cannot tahan her liao and bought her a ticket and send her back to malaysia...

Morning gals

most CL are pro FM coz it can last longer than the very dilute BM... and some bbs who are on FM can actually sleep thr for the 1st month.. easier job for the CL

Jules,

I got an Indonesian maid. When I got my Indonesian maid already at the increased rate, the reason I am getting an Indonesian maid is because my parents in law cannot speak English, but able to speak little bit Malay.

When I interviewed my maid, I am intended to let her take care of my baby, but my MIL was too worried abt the maid abused issue and also there was an incident happened where the maid bathe the baby and accidently hit the baby head against the toilet bowl case…. So my MIL will be there supervising what my maid is doing when she bathe my baby. Besides bathes, my MIL prefers to feed the baby by herself because this is her first grandson …

So end up, my maid is only doing laundry work, cooking, house clearing only …

sighz.. i oso very luan..

cos my mum.. i tink she abit blur le..'lao ren chi dai'? bahaha.. oops.."sorry mummy.." but ya..i owas tell her dat de.. cos she like.. duno hw to say...... but of cos i prefer my mummy... at least i noe she more particulars in alot of tings.. KE SHI.. she doesnt know hw to make vinegar pig trotters 9which i love)..

BUT THEN.. my mil.. sighz.. aft seeing the way she take care of my doggie.. i already buey tahan..n smtimes made me very upset..but wat to do..i cant tell her off!

n nw.. my baby will be 1st in both my family &amp; hb's family.. soooooo.....

so..i'm kind of confused.. i tink when cm to my time.. i will juz hire a CL..but still allow both elders to cm n help out or cook for me or watever bah...

fat bobo, no leh... i forgot to ask my friend for the name.. dont see her often now also. but if i see her i'll be sure to get her name, so can share with u mummies here......

pris, yah lor.. even if lets say i lose my temper cos lack of sleep etc.. my mummy will know i dont realy mean it....

smurfy, yah lor, basically its all about convenience for the CL lor...

very sianz hor.. like.. this is a big issue of hvg a kid lor.... confinement.. *sweat*

den.. when we return to work oso leh... we oso muz hv someone we can really entrust the bb to.. n..

gvmt shld grant us 6mths maternity.. den 6mths flexi work hours (prolly p/t).. den ya.. hoho.

My parents would be helping me to look after bb when Im back to work.
Was having discussion with them of this issue and my dad was saying "leave everything to me, you just go ahead and try"..hahaha..
Thats what I did !
So now, they have to help me out with the taking care of bb, though they still have to tend to the shop. Think they might just bring the bb to the shop...hahahaha

Hope to join you ladies here soon. Got a BFP and through online calculator, it should be 31aug
Going for gynae appt on Monday to ensure everything is ok.

mummies who are in week 8, or 2nd/ 3rd time mummies.... can i ask u something.. i had my 3rd appt this week. next appt is in 4 weeks time for oscar test and see dr week after that. So that means got about a month i dont see dr leh. is that the same case for u?

Anyone here staying in Punggol with part time maid to recommend ?
Im thinking of getting one to help out with the washing and cleaning once a week, esp now that its nearing CNY and more cleaning to be done.

hi welcome claire.. congratz to u...
can juz join us nw.. hee~

my next gynae checkup oso on mon.. the last time, din c anything much. oso abit..errh..ya... ladies.. wish me luck oso okie? hee~

BabyS,

I went for my 1st gynae appointment on 18 Dec 08.
Im currently in week 8.
Next appointment is 21st Jan 09.
You already had 3 appointments while i have yet to even go for 2nd one...
I think its ok now that we see our gynae once a month or rather once every 4 weeks.
Only when its nearer the date then we see them more frequently..

fatbobo, good luck! should be able to see lah.. when i went for my 1st and 2nd appt, couldnt see anything also. 1st cannot see anyhting, 2nd can see something but we were guessing it was baby. hahaha.......

tell baby to be guai and let dr see him/ her..

DolceVita, at least they are your parents which you can trust. My mum helps me during the first couple of weeks during confinement as I have to return to work to clear stuff before I go on no paid leave.

Claire, hope to hear good news from you soon.

errrh.. am craving for nasi lemak now.. those wrapped in leaves de..
u all tink is ok to eat that? the coconut rice..too 'hong' or not? (will cause even more wind in stomach?)

dolce, thanks! i had 3 appt, cos i kiasu, 3 days after the positive HPT i see dr liao... haha.. but cannot see anything. GO there just kena poke bythe probe and take medicine only.

wah, u havent even gone for ur 2nd appt?

mine i think we are ok with going for appts, cos sign package liao and no limit on sessions, as long as all scheduled ones.. hee... typical singaporean lah me.

Jules,

Re : Confinement lady

When I had my #1, I only confirmed my CL when I am in my 2nd trimester.

I do agreed that some CP very pro FM instead of BF because for BF baby need to be fed more frequently as Breast milk (BM) more diluted as compared to FM.

If you are staying with in law hor, in law will normally ‘worried’ that their grand children not having enough milk, especially with CL said so……

I also encounter this problem with I am having my #1, first thing is your DH must be very supportive, no matter what their mother said must be able to stand out to tell them you all only want BF.

Another thing is never never take out your milk bottle and don’t buy milk powder so they all will bo bian.

fatbobo, can eat, but dont eat too much. cos got coconut inside, too liang..

when u are in ur 3rd trimester and about a month b4 ur EDD, u are advised to drink coconut water cos it aids in delivery.. so since u are still in 1st trimester, dont take too much...

BabyS,

The gynae i went to does not offer package till you are of certain weeks.( cant rem now which week)
Was abt to see bb, oni 0.7cm i think, or is that considered as sac, not sure due to the many terms involved...hahaha..but was able to hear heartbeat then..