(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Ya fatbobo, better to check 1st before doing. But if can avoid, best not to do it... =)

Ladies, can I ask if u all have started looking for confinement lady, nanny or maid to take care of ur baby? Is it too early to find now? My SIL was asking me yesterday and she said most CL are booked very fast so best to find now but i thnk its too early...can advise?

abt maid issue hor...
if we dun let fili maid off once a day.. but s like..she dun hfta do stuffs at hm..n oso.. will bring her out..to church or shopping or watever... is this gona be illegal?

i've oso tot of getting a maid in future... but the letting her out to hang ard with frens part.. i really dun like lor.

hw u ladies with maid handle these issues?

violetta, i am looking for a maid liao.. cos my ILs cant manage a toddler plus a baby without a maid to do the chores. but for CL, i think best to at least start searching and book her early. Singaporeans all very very ks!! but when looking for CL, better make sure she is pro bf if u intend to bf. my cousin's CL spends her whole day nagging at them saying that bm not enough.. must supplement FM so that bb will sleep well (and her workload will lessen). not v encouraging, and i'm sure u dont wanna pay 2k a mth to someone just to nag u.

btw.. u ladies scaring me abt the 'floaters'.. n even retinal detachment tingy leh.. -.-

errrh.. wat's floaters exactly arh?

n hor.. i muz say dat.. smtimes.. im seeing dark shadows too.. arhmm.. ya.. like.. a figure or smting!!!

my MS started once i found out i was preggie (about week 4). experiencing EXTREME tiredness, bloatedness, occasional cramps, breast soreness, now at week 8, the soreness is much much better, cramps only when i walk/ sit too much.. but the tiredness and bloatedness still present....

is it the market rate nw? $2k for a CL?
$2k means the fella stay in at yur plc arh? take care of bb & yur confinement meals izit? anything else?

got cheaper kind de bah? or it's ya.. thaaaat expensive?

i wana faint le!!!!!!!

fatbobo, i think rarely got one off day a wk leh. the usual practice is one off day a mth right?? dont scare me leh..

not sure of the exact market rate, but my friend's sister hired one at 1.8k/mth, and another friend's was 2k a mth. maybe it was ard CNY time but i'm not too sure. yes, the CL stays at ur place 24 hrs during that 1 mth. cooks for u, takes care of bb and u.

fat bobo

I booked my CL already. $1.8k. I think that's the average rate.

My CL will stay at my place, cook the meals, take care of bb, do bb & mommy's laundry and do some hsework.

hi jules,
i duno..nvr hire maid b4..haha.. but i tot i heard frm duno whr or duno wat lar... anyways.. fili maids hfta hv a day of a wk..(usually sun..they need to go church n watever..).. den for indo maid..last time not stipulated hfta hv fix off..but nw.. the indo embassy trying to make it compulsory for employers to give off..but i not sure it's once a wk too or ya..juz once a mth.

hw does it work really? maid owners.. pls share..

hi Jules, i m in my 11 weeks now and my MS kicked in from week 7.. always puke sometimes everything all out or only gastric juice...

for philiphinos maids. the recommendation is 1 day off per month.. but if you need the maid (or dun wanna the maid to mix ard), you may ask whether she's interested to trade off that 1 off day per month with work and paying her extra (usual recommendations frm agency is $20)..

CL is usually betwee $1.8K to $2.4K. Really make sure you get one who pro-bfd and do not carry bb whole and rock to sleep if not after confinement, bb will want to be carry throughout and rock to sleep.

Good Luck to u Pink! Look forward to ur updates later!

CL at 1.8-2.4k is really alot leh! Am thinking of whether to get a CL or probably a maid but yet dun feel gd with someone staying with us. A maid committment is also about 2yrs which is pretty long. So booking of CL now is still ok lah...Ok, then i start sourcing and check out the rates 1st..

pegsfur

Yah, happily went to book after i saw bb's heartbeat.

The CL was highly recommended by the mummies whose kids were born same time as my #1. They used her for their 2nd kids and gave her the thumbs up. So now we're taking turns using her for our #2. Hahaha.

pink, gd luck and update us once u r back!!

pegsfur, there are plenty of threads on the forum discussing CLs
u can go do research now liao!

mashy ah, i saw ur 'discussion' on SM in july thread (i also lurk there cos prob mine is july bb). same as u, my SM were brownish, then lightened to whitish. recently started fading a lot more and i can barely see them nowadays. so it's true that SM can disappear. Prob those that appear from sudden wt gain wont. but ours were from pregnancy, so appeared slowly over the 9 mths.

mashy
ehh ur bb is 06 or 07 bb? mine oso near CNY tat time.. 07 bb. so i tot i could do confinment on my own by ordering confinement foods onli.. but by 3rd week, totally cannot cope oredi as mine was a very cranky newborn.. so in the end, gave up and called a confinement agency for help kekeke

no one asking your own mum to do confinement?

The last time I got a CL for confinement then a month before I give birth, mil insisted she will do my confinement and got my bil's wife really upset as she booked for me the CL. And I had a terrible confinement as mil cannot cook confinement food, cannot look after bb and thank God, my mum came daily to bring me soup and help with bb.

my experience with mil is terrible, she nagged throughout when I was bfd. And glad that her fingers itchy and leave a week earlier and finally would bfd in bliss.

priscilla/pegsfu
for the 1st 2 weeks, my hb helped out coz it was CNY period, holidays.. then 3rd week, my mum came.. she helped alot lar, but then still she couldn't handle a cranky newborn who wants to be rocked and carry whole day long (my hb spoil market by 1st week coz the bb forever crying for no reason)... then i was obessed with keeping with confinement rules and breastfeeding lor.

i'm asking my mum to help with my confinement, and to take care of baby when i return to work....

pink, we hope to hear good news from u later k!! =) good luck!

Jules

Yah lor. I also think so. Don't undertand why so insistent. My proof is my tummy. Hahhaa.

smurfy
Mine is a 06 bb. At first going to be CNY bb, so didn't recruit a CL. But end up become New Year BB. My boy just celebrated his birthday yesterday.

pegsfur
My MIL/mother all cannot help. If u getting them to help, better make sure they know what they're doing. Coz I hear a lot of complaints abt them not knowing what to do. The 1st mth confinement postings are all filled with complaints abt mothers and MILs. hahahaha. So unless u know they've done for someone like sis or SIL, and no complaints, then u ask them bah.

Even for CL, try to get one with recommendations. Coz they can also give a lot of headaches. One of my forum mummy friend had to sack her CL and end up recruit my #2 CL.

pris,

Dats terrible .... You r the 4th or 5th person i know that has mil insisting on doing confinement but end up knowing nuts abt doing it. Wonder wat's with these mils .. And i'm sure i won't let mine touch my bb.

pegsfur/pris,

my MIL will be doing my confinement again this time. i didnt employ a CL the last time either. will be getting a maid, so will be a lot better i hope.

the thing abt mothers and mils doing confinments
some of them might have lost touch with how to handle a newboRn... and they are getting old.. i dun even feel comfortable with my mother who always has back pain squatting down and bathing the newboRn. and then there's the thing abt expectation... if they cannot meet ur expectation u become blackfaced.. but if CL cannot meet ur expectation, can tell them off or sack them lor :p

smurfy, this time round, dh will be doing my confinement. He was thinking of getting my mum over but it will be winter then. Think he has enough of his own mum during my last confinement, hearing her nag whenever I am bfd.

Baby S, a good choice.

I dun think i wanna ask my MIL to help though I know she will be willing or happy to do it for us. This is coz I still cant "accept" what she is cooking and i doubt she know how to cook confinement food also. My hubby and his bros were all taken care of by a nanny in the past so I guess my MIL will have the experience to handle a newborn. If really need help, I guess will engage a CL or maid to assist.

pris

this is what happens after i came out of the room after pumping out the milk.. with hb helping :p

father and son just fell died asleep on the sofa.
2035994.jpg

Smurfy, the thing is that my mum wanted to do my confinement but mil insisted then backoff, then when we got a CL, she insisted of coming. She has done confinement for 2nd bil's wife where they threw her out during the first week with the wife threatening suicide. Then my mum was saying, don't fight with her, let her do. Mum came over first week and saw what I was eating, decided to make confinement soup for me daily. I was cleaning bb and doing all the laundry on my own till my aunt who was a nurse kicked up a fuss and told mil off that bfd is the best.

Violetta,same here, dh and his siblings are brought up by his grandma and my mil leaked out one day during my confinement that she was playing mahjong whole day and no need to handle bb.

My mum will be helping out with my confinement and I will move back to my parents place for that one month. Though she is pretty inexperience with confinement stuff, she is already doing research and asking around on how to cook vinegar pork leg, redwine chix etc...hehehehehehe and she is of coz very much looking fwd to having her no. 1 grandchild
I feel more comfortable having my mum to look after my bb too..its the bonding

DolceVita, wow, it is good to have your mum for confinement.

In fact, my mum came in mid december, went to checkout the chinese supermarkets and medical shops. She is compiling recipes for me.

Pris, u must be pretty upset upon knowing that...

Actually, I was telling my MIL that I wanted to go my parents' hse to do confinement but she said its not nice to do so and she assure that she can help out...but then sometimes the food that she cooked, i still not used to it. Moreover, she always said i thnk too much and that i can eat EVERYTHING which made me pretty "not so happy"...I feel that she is quite "anyhow" so thats y i m not so keen in her doing the confinement for me...

wa all the horror stories abt mil is scary.. think i am quite lucky cos my MIL is a very sweet and sui bian person. never passed comments abt my bfing except for just once on day 3 when the milk havent come in, and bb was screaming the house down.

my hb not keen for me to move back to my mums place cos he says since MIL staying with us, let MIL take care also. am fine with it.

smurfy, ur pic so funny! hb has one similar one of me KOed on the sofa with bb knocked out on my chest. thinking of those sleepless days making me shudder..

smurfy

My hb helped me with confinement for my #1 too. Really heartwarming to see them bond. My boy will lie down on my hb's chest while they both sleep. Hehehe. Till now, my boy is still closer to his daddy than me.

Smurfy:u hv a great husband!!!!not all are like urs

Any body ordering confinement food only?those monthly delivery type????Any suggestions?

dolc..
my mum helped me looked after the bb when i went back to work.. with the maid's help lar.. my mum's okie with a baby .. not a newboRn lor..some newborns are horrible lil things leh.. cry n cry nonstop type

pris
not comfortable lar, one is dead tired.. one is angry newborn kekeke