(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

zen and mich: oh ok.. the PDs my gynae recommend, his clinic is also nearby my place, so not too inconvenient.. i hope to have a PD who will check baby at birth the can f/u with them also..

wanted to get irene chan from Ikids at paragon, cos she was my consultant and head of paed medicine at KK when i was worknig in the kk.. she in private practice liao but i think her charges not cheap.. and far leh, everytime go see her must pay the consultation charges plus expensive parking wor...

Mashy: oh, got cotton ones? i didnt know.. thought all is paper ones.. *sheepish look* heee... so its indicated on packaging if its cotton or not?

Zen,
hahah it ok.. i tink ur mum will know la...

Mich,
if boil for 2 hrs hor u mus use v big pot of water to prevent from dryin up leh n the lemongrass n ginger i dun tink will have smell anymore.. dun tink wiill be effective wor... somemore v waste gas leh..

i feel like eating green bean soup now. but i so lazy to boil them... supposed to sweep & mop floor but now feel like sleeping.... sigh....

did u all buy a new pail to put the bathing water? the bathing water must be boiled ah? or we can just used the hot water frm the shower head? i hv a few pails at home but they're used for mopping. can i jus dettol to wash one of the pails & use it to store the lemongrass water? i dun feel like buying another pail jus for confinement leh. alreadi hv so many pails at home. take up space.

so long neber log in here liaoz..heh. how is everyone? =)

been feeling really tired this tri. dun seem to remember being so tired during my #1 leh. haiz.

re: herbs for bathing
it smells bad meh? i remember i got mine from Hock Hua and it was a satchel per packet and smells like "chin chow" leh. i just bought for this round's confinement and it was $2 per pack. got 30 packs for the full month so spent $60 on tat.

re: disposables
oh yah... now that u ladies mention it. i havent buy yet oso...no wonder i was thinking i am forgetting something. better go buy soon. =P

re: bathing herbs
my frend gave me 4 packets...packaging is green in colour...but instruction say use 3 packets each time!

hi miaon,
i'm also feeling v tired this tri. jus like the 1st tri. u mean the herbs frm hock hua smell like chin chow? then i dun mind buying tat. i like to eat chin chow. heeehheee. last week just had chin chow.

piggy, i also think its a waste of gas!!! My confinement time gas bill was like hundreds. But what to do? I can't "say" the confinement lady rite? So I just made up some excuse about not wanting to bath with herbs daily.

mashy, dun know leh, heard boiling the herbs is to warm the water and put in heat or some nonsense like that... haiz...

miaon, yah its expensive isn't it. $2 is cheaper than the ones bought by my MIL which was $3 each... i have decided this round to hunt for cheaper ones and only get 12 packets at max. Enough is enough.

Mich,
actually i tink if wan to boil as long as the water is boiled can le no need so long 1... but i might jus use the lemongrass n dump in warm water.. the weather so hot i dun tink i can bath in hot water i tink the moment i step out of the bath room i will sweat again lor..

mich,
yr gas bill was really a lot! i can't imagine paying so much for gas.

gave in to my temptations. went to boil green bean soup...

piggy, when I didn't have a confinement lady, I didn't even boil the herbs. Use hot water to flush out the herbs, like make tea like that and then bath. Yah i perspire again once i leave bathroom...

zen, that month of confinement, my electricity/gas and water bill was $300... but thank God only 1 month or else i will faint.

btw,
can we use fan or onli air-con during the confinement? heard cannot use fan to blow at us. sigh... all the old wives tales....

mashy, er, which part talks about lemongrass? Is it just lemongrass or must add ginger? Paiseh to ask, its just that my Chinese sucks and I can't figure out what the words are about :p

Mashy,
actually i heard the lemon grass is gd enough if u wan i tink for ginger u need to smash also..

Mich,
ya i tink if i wan i will also use hot boilin water to run over the lemongrass n ginger n pour in the water i prepare for bath.

re : hair cutting

I just cut mine shorter. The reason is not hot but more because can wash and dry faster. I think during confinment, time is very precious so short hair definitely easier.

mich: wah ur bill so high ah??

i think to prevent my husband from hitting the roof (not prevent my bill from hitting the roof), i'll just tell my mum boil on batch till boiling point, leave for a while, then pour into tub and mix in some hot water from heater....

Back from my massage! My aches are relieved!
Can't really relax or enjoy during the massage cos i'm very easily ticklish de ... esp when the lady massage my inner thighs, arms near the armpit and my calf ... i was biting my lips to prevent myself from laughing out loud. But when she massage my neck, shoulders and back .. wah ... shiok siah

Herbs for bathing
I've used that before but how come i dun find that it's smelly? My mum oso got it from Hock Hua for me and like wat Miaon mentioned, only have a lttle bit of grass jelly smell.

Oh, and i oso use body wash & shampoo to bathe .. only use the herbal water to rinse off nia.

Lemongrass
Er ... isn't lemongrass called xiang1 mao2 in chinese? Or am i wrong?

bbS, ya lor, i nearly hit the roof too. But what to do? Cos my stove was always boiling bathing water or tea or stewing or steaming something. The CL was cooking up a storm for me.

piggy, this time i shall propose to CL to use lemongrass and ginger. Forget about those black herbs in the pack. Lemongrass is very refreshing.

mashy,
if u wan to use ginger accordin to the link u post it say use the skin of ginger wor.. ya xiang mao is lemongrass also...

zen
i remember it was something like chin chow smell for my #1. maybe u can check it out at Hock Hua? its the da feng ai and use only 1 pkt per bath leh. juz boil it with water and after done, i poured into a pail and mix with normal water until temp ok and bathed with it. when i bought this time, i did not ask leh. juz buy and go off assuming it is the same as last time. =P

mich
yah quite pricy for $2 per pk, but i dun want to regret next time when i old, so juz use lah. prevention better than next time lamenting over why i save the money. i definitely muz bath everyday lor...so buy for a whole month...heh. =P
$3? wah! quite a price diff hor? but the ones i got was the herbs was all in a satchel one leh. so when boil dun need to sieve out the herbs. dunno if the same is true from other medical halls?

Pegsfur, which massage center did you go to? How much?

Celine, hahaha...boh bian coz even now I cannot stay in the bathroom too long as my Joshua will wait for me to come out.

bear,

It's D'light Spa at Punggol MRT. $58 for 45mins, abit ex, but ok for me since i dun want stranger to come my house, and i dun have spare mattress, and it's near to my house

re: short hair
erm. short hair better? i tot at least maintain a length that is juz enough to tie up and get the hair all away from the face and neck better? =P

pegsfur
yah me did the sma etoo..haha.

jac,

Hahah .... u oso interested huh .. but 1 thing is that after the massage, they dun wipe off the oil for me leh. Then i have to go home with the oil on my body. Luckily i'm staying nearby ... not sure if u can tahan or not.

Yeah .. so happy bb's dresser is here
Hubby has finished wiping & cleaning it .. can start to store & pack bb's stuff le

pegsfur

The compassvale massage will wipe off the oil for me. And it's $38 for 1h or $50 for 1.5h. But it's in Sengkang lah, so not convenient for u I think.

Pegsfur, you can try the Sri Bayu at Kovan there too. It's $65 for 1hr. Its near the Punggol Nasi Lemak.
They also don't wipe the oil away from me so I always go back looking like siao za bor with oily face and hair.

pegsfur,
huh.. y they nv wipe.. but mayb can request bah. but got towel given to you ma.. can wipe on yr own? the 1 Jul recommend 1 cheaper.. discuss with my hb when he is back. ask him to fetch me after the massage.. hee

bear,
Where is Sri Bayu near to? Which part of kovan? Hahaha ... ya, same, me now oso like siao zha bor

jac,
No towel leh ... only a big pc of towel to cover my body during the massage. Then when finished, she just said ok, finished le and helped me up. Then she left the room so i assume nothing is given to wipe away the oil and i dressed up lor.

i went to rustic nirvana for mine.. they also help me wipe off the oil on my back and help me put baby powder... also gave me another towel to clean the rest of body...

but even after cleaning up, when i got into husband's car he say i smell of oil.. hahah

irene, u so funny.. say u look like 'siao za bor' cant stop laughing.. hee.. i try their massage & spa service wit my hb b4 i got preggy.. gd and nice ambiance.. hee after tat still can go eat nasi lemak..

pegsfur

U can reach by the following bus/mrt :

To Reach Us :
Bus services: 27, 82, 83, 86, 88, 89, 136, 161, 965

MRT station: Seng Kang
LRT station: Compassvale

jul,

Oh, 136 is just below my blk

Maybe can try her next time! But is it pre-natal massage can only do till wk32? I'm now wk31 le.

pegsfur

So good! I dun have straight bus to her place even tho I stay SK lor *grumbles* If not, I can get her for post-natal also.

Got conflicting info on when u can do pre-natal leh. Maybe u ask her. She is quite careful one.

When I bk-ed with her, she asked me whether my gynae cleared me for massage then she accpeted me.

Or u can call Ah Wong & ask whether u can do?

My friend's CL allow her to bath in room temp water as long as it is boiled... she told that that the CL will boil the water and wait for it to cool down to room temp. CANNOT add tap water to the boiled hot water.
This one sounds more logical lah, cos our water tank can be dirty and tap water can contain worm's egg??

jul,

Ya lor ... i heard different things oso ... Quite a few said not later than 32 wks. But when i asked the massage lady just now, she said can do all the way till delivery.

Hahhaa ... u oso call her ah wong
Yah, maybe I'll ask her and see wat she says.