(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

zen, actually the nurses at the hospital do encourage us to wash up, esp if we are bf. Imagine not cleaning the breast, and bb is suckling there all the time. Also the wound at the bottom has to be cleaned or else kenna infected.

mine lochia was heavy for 2 weeks and tailed off for the 2 next week. Think total 4-6 weeks.

mashy,
think the "dun touch water" is due to the joint of fingers etc...cos will cause rheumatism when older...?

brushing teeth is ok, won't touch water...
cos using cup to contain water for gargle etc...

for me, i only will wipe my face with my face towel using warm water...
and wash my face when i bath during confinement...

mich,
i totally agree tat it's not hygenic if we dun wash up. even now if i spend half a day at home doing nothing, wif this hot weather, i can't go to bed without taking a shower. dun tok abt during confinement. wah, 4-6 weeks is quite long leh. think i need to go buy another 2-3 pkts of disposable undies to stand-by.

i got a question for those of u usin herbs any idea if we still use our norm shower gel to clean n use the herbs water to rinse or simple use only the herbs water?

i heard frm my mil onli can use the herbs water to bathe. tats it. but since i've asked my mum to help me wif confinement, i'm not going to use the herbs thing everyday. heard frm my sil tat the herbs thing hv 'sour' or dunno wat smell leh.

Zen,
huh but only use the herbs water is not able to clean our hair also mah imagine if u have oily scalp worse... i was thinkin of usin jus the lemongrass wor i heard it gd as well..

hmmm,
i wash my "xxx" using warm water at hospital...
cos they have the hot/cold water tap...
so i just adjust water temp(like hotel)

mashy / mich: ya, my direct male supervisor is bo-ji one...he only dare to show me black face, and dare not speak up to his female boss.

zen

i had only 2 weeks lochia. I guess it's coz i went thru c-section, so gynae more or less 'washed' it up?

mich
what u said makes sense, think it's coz last time the water is unsanitary, that's why.

how many pkts of herbs to buy for bathing? 25 enough? Or too much? Last time i only bathed in the herb water for 2 weeks, after that became lazy and just bathe normally. hehe.

zen

i used normal shampoo. Then the herbal water used like normal water to rinse everything out lor. But it's really stinky and there's some residue from the herbs.

jul: re the baby wipes.. pigeon has one (yellow packet one) that is food grade one, so safe if baby ingest any fluids left behind on the hands or lips by the wipe...

hmm, yeah i dont think i wanna trouble mum even more by wearing normal undies.. shall go buy disposables then..

How come the SCBB interview can do at other hospitals one ah?? i did my interview with Doreen yesterday, at KKH.... most of the time was spent on explaining the terms and conditions, towards the end i just fill in the questionaire.. (tick only, so very fast)....

piggytoh,
the other time my mil said cannot wash hair leh. so i guessed she meant i can onli wash body using the herbs water. oh, i heard abt the lemongrass thing frm another of my fren. supposed to hv same effect as herbs water. i might try tat. think lemongrass will smell better rite?

mashy,
my sil passed me 1 pkt which was left over frm her pregnancy. think there're 2 sachets in 1 pkt. mil told me to go buy somemore but i can't be bothered to buy yet. haha!

babyS

then more pp will donate mah. Imagine if we all have to go KKH.

I'm having a CL, so don't care. I'm just getting 1 pack of disposable, after that will switch to normal underwear.

zen

huh, 2 satchets in 1 pkt ah? Ai yah, too long never use also forget already. THink i better go check it out first. Already told my hb to order 25 packs. Better reconfirm else get too much.

mashy,

tats wat they told me but i din open up to see. i also dunno where i threw tat pkt of herbs liao. somewhere in the storeroom. hahhaha! i only remember the packaging is blue in colour.

mashy: yeah... hahah..

but i remember tha lady telling me yesterday, their courier will go to TMC everyday, cos confirm everyday sure got donation to SCBB one... the other private hospitals they call first to see if have or not...

Zen,
can wash hair la jus make sure u dry properly like wat Mich say last time no hair dryer so they say cannot wash hair but i tink i will wash on alt day but bath everyday .. ya i tink lemongrass smell better somemore jus dump it in a pail of warm water nia easier n cheaper keke...

mashy,
r u the one who ordered nepia diapers? is their delivery punctual? i'm thinking of ordering but i've to make sure someone's at home when they deliver. u ordered all NB or mix wif S sized? their $14 promo is still on rite?

Oh.. TMC got give undies huh? Chey, then I shdn't have bot the paper ones to wear. But they only give one right? Where got enough ah?

babys

Thanks for clarifying on the yellow Pigeon wipes. I was looking at all the wipes & got so confused. Got pink, red & white, yellow.. somemore got Japanese one. See until blur blur.

jacqueline

The Diaper Bag seller replied liao. No discount - as expected

zen

ya i ordered nepia. Their delivery sucks and screw up lor. Didn't turn up on the day they're supposed to. Gave me excuse said vehicle break down. Right, and then didn't even bother calling me to tell me that? I had to call them to ask.

Then they promise will deliver between 10-11am next day, end up 12pm then come. Was very pissed with them when i called them after 11am. Told them i'm going out if they don't come by 12pm. Anyway, it's not nepia's fault lah, coz i think they sub it out to this transport company to do.

Yes, u can order mix. I ordered 2 NB and 2S. Yes, i think the $14 promo is still on.

jul, ya.. but i will consider to buy 2.. if i go out for a short while can use pooh than go outing can use D1.

bathing herbs:
ladies where to buy huh? how many shld i buy and roughly how much is 1 pack?

mashy, its one packet for each day leh and yes i think 2 satches in 1 pack but my CL boil 2 packs for each bath... but hor the herbs stink. Infact after bathing with herbs, I will secretly switch on the shower to wash off that disgusting smell. Anyway I finally told my CL only herbs water on alternate day. Other day, I hide in the room and bath secretly. Plus that silly herb thing not cheap.

So lemongrass is the alternative? That would be much cheaper and at least it smells decent.

zen, hopefully your lochia will clear up faster. My #1 took 6 weeks to clear and #2 was faster, probably gone by 4 weeks.

Mich,
ya the leomngrass i heard jus smash the bottom part n throw in warm water u use to bath can liao i also prefer tt... at least smells better n so much cheaper!!!

piggy and mich,

thanks for e info..

disposable panties:
i also havent buy. think i go buy today bah. but i really dun like to wear cos they are not tight enough leh like dun have support when i put my pad on it

thanks mashy.
think i'll give them a call on monday to place order. cannot let hubby noe abt this. he dun understand y i need to buy so many diapers. but so far i onli bought 1 pkt of mamypoko NB & 1 S sized. i was thinking to use mamypoko at nite & nepia in the day. and if baby uses 8pcs a day, the pkt of mamypoko can onli last 1 week rite? and i dun think he wans to go alone to the supermarket to buy all these when it runs out.

Jac,
me too dun like disposable so i only buy 1 pack but the cotton 1 looks like better in turns of comfort level n support anyway i will switch to my own panties when i discharge...

mich,

i'm keeping my fingers crossed tat mine dun last long.

piggy,
i also intend to wash hair alternate days & bathe everyday. hubby asked me to cut my hair short but i dun wan to. told him i'll cut when the baby is 1yr+ when he starts learning to walk & run. haha! btw, wat is lemongrass called in chinese? need to tell my mum to buy but dunno how to tell her.

Jacqueline

bathing herbs can be get from the Chinese medicine hall. the Chinese name is 大风艾 (da feng ai)

Jul: haha... the yellow one, on the front will have the english words saying its food grade (or something like that)...

anyone deciding on PD yet? my dr says i can choose my own, but if we need him to recommend he will recommend dr wong from paediatric centre (tiong bahru) or dr edmund koh .. dunno which one is better..

one thing about disposable undies i dont like is, they rip when u sweat or wet.. if lochia alot, then will rip even easier right?

piggy/mich

really ah! Then i prefer to use lemon grass since it smells so nice. So just smash the bottoms and throw into warm water? How much lemon grass to use each time? Need to boil or not? I will rather use that than the stinky herbs.

oh, my friedn bathed with lemon grass during confinement. She says just boil smmashed up lemon grass and ginger and bathe with that water...

i told my husband i rather smell like soup base for tom yam soup than herbal chicken soup.. hee!

Zen,
no need cut hair la cos if short hair u cant tied n u r hot worse mine is shoulder length at least not so bad can tied up... lemongrass = lin mong cao

babys,
my gynae also asked me which PD i'm using. i just asked him to recommend me one. i heard frm his assistant tat we onli need to go to the PD for the first few times. after tat can jus go any doc outside.

BabyS

get the cotton disposables. More comfy and won't rip so easily.

I've already decided on my PD. For delivery at TMC will be Dr EK Ong, after that will go to Dr KOH PK at SBCC AMK. Heard from my FIL that he's retiring next year. Sianzzz.....

mashy, i was just surfing around and someone said lemongrass and ginger boiled toether for 2 hours can be used for bathing. I am gonna check with the chinese medical hall. Save money cos the herbs are not cheap.

bbS, I just took the PD recommended by my gyane since its just for a few days in hospital. After tat u can go see a PD nearer ur house.

celine

Hiaz then nvm. Coz I already bot 14 paper disp & 20 cotton disp. Dun think wanna buy any more liao haha.

babys

That's why need to get cotton disp. They are actually washable.

I norm use them on trips. Then wash them a coupld of times, then throw away after that.

Mashy,
tt day mdm Ida mentioned lemon grass when i ask her if malay use herbs for bath also she told me a lot of chinese use lemon grass also no need boil 1 but some chinese i heard they will add ginger n lemongrass n boil for bathin...

Jac,
jus i bott from NTUC the cuttin i buy low waist so quite near to our norm panties but material thinner...

jul,
cotton disaposable can wash meh? i din noe. i always use once then throw liao when i'm on holidays. used to use the paper ones. then once tried the cotton ones, i never switch back to paper ones. i too chor lor. always tear the paper ones. hahahah!

zen

Can wash. But b/c they are more flimsy & lousier material, so u cannot use for long-term like normal panties lah. But can wash a few times.

Oh the paper ones are either too small (I got big hips lah) or too big, & got a lot of escess paper hanging ard. So very uncomfortable haha. I also have the tearing problem hahaha.