(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

my fren gave me a box of playtex. but need to get fastener to secure it (so guess tats why is cheaper?) but i saw a few brands of milkbags at the fair. Cfm got playtex

Jul,
the $18+ is est. only i join another spress also USD$9.99 end up the shippin cost me $5 lor.. dunno y so ex..
for boots n lasinoh it come with the zip lock buti tink playtex 1 dun have n it thinner so depend on u wor.. i din buy a lot also cos scare no milk:p

jul,
Ya lor .. at first i oso want to order cos it's so cheap. But then i saw have to use fasterners, somemore not sure if liners work like milk bags, so i din order in the end.

piggy,
I just ordered the boots one oso .. my order just behind yours

piggy

Estimate only meh? I tot cfm-ed, b/c she said incl shipping cost? Actually i very confused also. I tot most of the time shipping is calculated separately, but this one seems to be included.

pegsfur

Hiyah having a BB needs so much "xue wen". Gotta learn what is milk bag, what is liner, self-fastening, etc etc. My brain gog to explode. Dun think I "studied" so many things in sch lor haha.

Jul,
erm i dunno wor cos was wonderin if less order the shippin cost sure higher mah.. maybe u can check with her la.. anyway mine alr ordered n collecting today so bobian...

Good morning mummies (to-be),

long time no post here
How's everyone feeling nowadays?

Re: Milkbags
My personal opinion is no need to buy so early. I think I bought it around 1 month after #1 was born. Initially no need to store milk I feel as the milk will be very little until the milk supply is established. For me I only starting storing around 1 months plus later. If possible try to latch on baby as much as possible to extablish supply.

jul,
Exactly lor ... exams still got textbooks to refer ... having a bb is so much on practical ... shang nao jing leh ....

regg,
Hahhaa .. slowly .. slowly .. get yr brains to absorb

piggy

Nvm lah, u only ordered 1 pack anyway. Gd to trial & error with diff brands also, coz depending on indiv needs & pref also mah.

regg, pegsfur

We all blur together lah hor! haha

Anyone gog for Robinsons? I think I will go to spend the $5 voucher haha.

Pegsfur, Jul, Piggy
abt the milk bag, i only bought 1 box those with zip de from pegeon, avent pump come with 10 pcs cup+ i have another 5 more from baby fair.. so i will use it first n wont buy too many...

ND's Girl,
but if u only buy by then there might not be any BP goin on so if there r gd n cheap 1 can jus buy 1-2box n keep tt my own opinion la...

Regg,
i dun buy local 1 cos so ex n i dunno i have milk anot so by then if need more then buy again hee...

regg

Oh I got 2 100+ml & 3 250ml bots from Pigeon when I bot the steriliser. Think the Ameda pump only comes with 2 bots for the pumping. So I guess I will either need to get bags or a few bots for storage lor.

But like the others say, dun wanna overbuy also lah. Scully no milk, or Babylet is a greedy pig.. then wasted again.

piggy, yes I also buy to stock, cos can easily sell away if dun need the milk bags... the worst is when u need it, don't have, and have to wait 2 weeks to get stock *faint*

piggytoh
there's always people selling in the 'Want to Sell' section and always got people organize spree. Last time I ordered and did not wait very long. But for me I still have stocks left over so I am in no hurry to buy yet. For other mummies worried not enough supply maybe can just keep 1 box? For me I use Lansinoh, got 25/50 in a pack ones. Anyway if buy too much can still sell to other mummies who need also lah.

hi tulips,
I am also interested to buy Pumpin' Pal+Ameda Lactaline Bundle Deal. wonder shd i buy now or during my confinement?

Kiddy palace is having 20% for members too. going to get baby stuffs tomorrow when i see gynae for mthly check up.

Ya ... at first i oso thot dun buy so early, but as new mummies, we might be too tired or busy to come online oso. Might as well just get 1 or 2 box to tahan first.

Ok, an update ... hubby called up 1 confinement agency to check the rates for CL. Stay-in CL cost $1800, but he said he's willing to give hubby a discount of $100, so it's $1700.

If we do not want a stay-in CL, she'll come at 9am and leave at 6pm. Cost abt $1500 (i think) but must provide her an Ezylink card for transport.

Hubby said will consider ... hahaa .. now he said non stay-in de so much more expensive.

i jus received a call from wyeth n the lady gave me a toll free no. to call if got question on BFeedin n baby nutrition any 1 receive their call as well?

piggy,

I oso dunno .. i got the namecard while shopping at AMK Hub with mum when i was only 4 mths preggy. That lady eyes so sharp, can see my tummy right away and pushed her namecard to me .. haha ..

Anyway, i kept the namecard and hubby saw it, so he took the initiative to call & ask. But somehow i dun feel good with this agency cos from wat hubby related to me, it seems that they were quite hard-sell ... hubby told me the lady kept on telling him how difficult it is for parents during this period, CL can help alot ... blah blah ...

Anyway, the problem is still hanging in mid air .. i'm leaving him to settle it since it's wat he wants.

Pegsfur,
ya lor cos i know agency price is $2k+ 1 for stay in CL n the way u put it this agency dun sound reliable leh somemore market rate at least $1800 the price they offer too gd to be true ..
i was wonderin when did i sign up for wyeth product lor ahhahah..

today's topic abt milkbags?

playtex liners - many mummies use these as milkbags also.. but they dont come with a zip like lansinoh, etc.. i just use rubber band to tie it securely. no problems at all.. its a lot cheaper than the other milkbags (cost only abt 10cents per pc, compared to 25-40cents per milkbag) cos its meant to be used as a bottle liner and not actually as a milkbag. but for budget purposes, i find it cheap and gd.

i also did not buy milkbags till bb was abt 1mth.. quite easy to get from WTS section if u cant wait for spree. anyway, usually can store in glass bottles first while waiting for the milkbags to arrive cos chances are that supply wont be THAT gd and in excess of so much unless u are really a natural cow la..

actually i think milk bags and liners are the same thing... just that liners u can put it directly into the bag and pump into there, milk bags, u must pump into the bottle than transfer.

the fasterning part... milk bags also have to fastern..

i got a flier, 9 to 11june, JL at orchard got sale also..

sunshine: I dunno about those two brands of pizza, but my fav thin crust pizza is from PIzza de france.. cheap and nice... but of course, not as branded as the two u mentioned.. (me never try those two b4, cos i low waged worker... plus this year no mid year bonus ah!!!!!!) BOohoo....

hi shizuka, i got it now cos of the attractive offer & also to give me more determination in bfeeding this time round. It really depends on indivdual when to get. If you are able to latch on everytime for bb then maybe get nearer to date when u abt to go back work?

But then again, another school of thot is that a gd pump can help to establish the flow as well. So i also duno.

Ladies, the Mumsfairy replied. If we can get at least 5 orders, they can give us an extra 4oz glass bottle (BPA) on top of the 2 that was already given in the bundle deal.

So anyone interested?

hi tulips,
My 1st baby is lazy to latch so my did not really BF. But this time, really want to try BF.

I am interested to get the Ameda pump pack. Let me think, i will get back to u asap.
Thanks for your co-ordination.

Shizuka, i can understand hw you feel cos my bfeeding for no. 1 failed as well. So now trying to be hardworking for no. 2 & hope got xtra to give to no. 1.

pegsfur, i am abit skeptical abt CL from agency cos my fren's CL ran away after 2 weeks without informing her, leaving her so lost then. And she thot engaging from agency should be safer....

You might want to get referrals from friends who engaged CL before at least u know their patterns n work behavious before employing.

piggy,

I think wyeth got our number from Mrs wong's class .... remember dat day they let us try their milk and got a free sample pack? We filled up a card b4 collecting the sample.

mashy, oh dear... there's this horrid fever bug going around. Infact serene only recovered from it 10 days ago... hope he gets well soon!

,mashy

Oh hope he recovers soon.

pegsfur

I'm being charged $2k for my CL. Private one.

tulips

I'm interested! Hmm.. But I think I'd rather get the $338. The milk bottles are what size ah? I can't recall liao.

Hey Mummies,

For those going down to place the orders for Ameda Bundle Deal with Mumsfairy @ motherhood fair, just quote them that you are from the SMH Aug'09 Mummies Thread then they will note down. So if end of the fair we have > 5 orders, they will automatically send us the 3 bottles pack during delivery (cos this is a special offer she offering to us, & she wans it to be hush hush)

Jul, the bottles are 4oz which can be used to fix directly to the pump. however if you are getting the set alone, there shld be no other freebies liao.