(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

zen
i only bought one pack of 80s x 3 angel wipes from JL incase my boy might be sensitive towards the wipes. I opened and used one pack. quite good.

sharon
i bought angel wipes from Orchard JL.
when my mom was still around, she was the one who wash my undies for me. even if got blood stain cos of menses. maybe cos she has been doing that since i first had menses, so i dont find it weird haha.

disposable underwear
which brand is comfortable and cheap?

piggytoh
i forgot if Mrs Wong got mention about cradle cap or not liao haha

nursin bra
so far i only got one! planning to get 1 more since i will use normal non-wired bra at home. so far i havent gained any cup size leh (not that i want lah). so hopefully during BF-ing still can wear.

nipple confusion
the mommy who recommended my CL to me let CL bottle feed her newborn and doesnt seems that her baby have any confusion wor. infact, after CL left, baby refuse to drink from bottle, die also must latch on if the mommy feed her.

feeding at night
if my baby is the type who wake up in the middle of the night, i will also stay awake to feed but will sleep in the day instead. haha i love to stay awake in the middle of the night de. very easy for me to not sleep until like 5am. *vampire* Then in the afternoon, i gets sleepy easily even if i actually slept from 12am - 8am.

Sharon, we need the original marriage cert, NRIC of both parents, notification of live birth and the completed BD13 form (both these from nursing ward.)

HI all,
finally get to login today, was so busy with works, just wonder, is anyone still drinking milk powder?

Reira, I will still prefer to latch on during 1st 2 months coz drinking thru bottle is faster and some baby will refuse to latch on after taking the bottle. And latch on will increase the milk supply and also for the bonding.

Yen,
i also prefer dry net 1 but ok la can keep for future use heng my kolig gave me 1 pack of pureen 1 if not gotta go n buy liao..

Reira,
disposable panties i buy from NTUC the cotton type got diff cuttin also u can go n take a look..
i got friend who latch in the day bottle feed at nite n no confusion so i tink depend on the baby also..

Sharon,
if u wan to register the birth cert at the hosp u need to being the marriage cert..

yen, what ur friend said is true... but only more applicable when bb is older cos when they are 1-2 months old, they almost poo after every feed, so even in middle of nite they may poo 2 times. Ur Mamy Poko diapers will be very wasted like that leh... my girls when they became about 4 mths wore the Mamy Poko for 12 hrs thru the nite.

thanks pris n piggytoh

regg,
im still drinking milk powder for pregnant women

sharon,
i saw the angels wipes at the JL in jurong point. it's at the 2nd level JL.

any feedback on the various wipes? i'm wondering if i shd buy a pack of angels & pigeon to try out to see wats the diff. if they're both too thin, then prob next time switch to J&J.

re:nursing bra
oh no! i bought 1 size bigger & 1 cup sized smaller instead. totally opposite.
pre-preg i'm 70C, then 75C, now 80C. getting a bit tight alreadi, now hooking on the 2nd hook sometimes the outermost hook. was thinking i shd grow to 85C in the next 2 months. so i bought 85. but they onli come in B cup so i bought 85B. but it's cheap. only $9.90 at JL. brand is eternity or impressions. not nice-looking. it's only meant for functional purposes. haha! i bought 2 pcs. intend to wear it at home. maybe will go mothercare to buy another 2 pcs to wear when going out.

re:disposable panties
i bought 4 pkts to use during confinement. not sure if it's enuff cos i dun intend to wear my normal panties. my mum will be doing confinement for me & i'm not going to ask her to wash my panties. the sales promoter recommended me the normal sized panties cos she said the one for expectant mothers is way too big for me. she said unless i'm those XL size, if it's too big, when we place the maternity pad, i won't feel comfortable. since i'm a 1st-time mum, i jus heed her advice. she also told me another preggy woman just bought a dozen pkts & i can see tat stock is running low. there're 2 kinds for the normal kind. another one is low-waist which is much smaller. brand is impressions also. $4/pkt.

ladies:angel wipes at JL sale is $5.50 for 3x80s pack and $6.00 for 6x30s pack

Kikilala:hv u started ur makan trips already :p welcome home

Havent been free to post anything recently. On the topic of nursing bra and panties, I recently bought some so can share.

Bought 3 nursing bra from Marton Bell at Vivo City. 2 was on offer, them at 2 for $17.90. Material not too bad, is non-wired and feels comfortable. Also bought a better quality one at $19.90.

As for panties, I bought this stocking like material panties from BHG today. According to the salegirl, it's very stretchy and esp suitable for pregnant mummies for us. Best is that you can just gently wash with water. Sold in a small tube, 3 for $5.90. Now on offer somemore, so about $4.80 only.

As for baby wipes, bought pigeon wipes 3 packs of 80s at $10.90. Also bought from BHG.

Now BHG having 20% discount on most of the baby stuffs too.

Anyone checked out the Motherhood exhibition? Any good deals?

Re: Disposable Panties for Confinement

I wanna get the cotton ones. More comf, esp when we need to stick the pads right? But just wondering if we shd buy maternity ones, or normal non-maternity ones?

Maternity Pads

How many do we need ah? Can we use normal sanitary pads? I still have a few packs left.

sharon,
check wif u, for the napisan, u bought it at which ntuc? JP 1 or the one at the new extension? can napisan be used on coloured clothings as well?

jul,
u're still awake at this hour? i also hv the same questions for the disposable panties & pads. heehee. any idea which brand of maternity pad is good? i dread the thought of having menses again..... sigh...... prior to preg, my menses always a lot & full 7 days. sian....

zen

Hehe cannot sleep leh. Maybe too happy it's finally Fri 2moro! haha

I dunno abt good.. but I heard the cheapest brands are Pureen & Mothercare hse brand? I think I wan the softest & cottony type. Dislike the plasticky net type like Whisper lor. Prefer mpore Kotex type of texture pads.

Actually yeah, I dun miss have periods. I get terrible cramps the first day, & I am very very tired on the 1st day too.

Cotton Non-maternity Disposable Panties

I saw in Guardian Pharmacy. $3.95/pack. But forgot if it's 5 pc or 7 pc liao.

Hi Morning All

Went to motherhood fair yesterday & saw that Mumsfairy is selling Ameda @ 338 (set only) or 399 (bundle). And they are kind enough to let me prebook 1st with a 150 deposit & send to me nearer to EDD. Those who are interested might want to go down & reserve.

babymaking, pls drop my order. Apologies....

There are offers for Huggies as well. Quite a good offer with some freebies.

hey tulips

thks for the lead abt the Ameda pump - if that's the case, i will drop the BP also and head down to the motehrhood fair.

reg, I'm currently taking Anmum.

Ladies, how do you know what diapers will suit your new born? I bot a few NB Huggies packs during the last fair and after that I didn't buy cos I'm not sure if suits by bb.

Morning! TGIF!

tulips

So that means I can book now, but have delivery nearer EDD. Plus warranty also nearer EDD? Foc delivery?

Ooh...

Hi babymaking, yes, head down n find out cos the bundle that they giving for the handsfree pumping is really good.

http://www.mumsfairy.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=25&Itemid=31&productid=12

Think tis is the set but we get extra 2 bottles in the bundle.

Hi jul yes, you book now, then they deliver nearer to EDD & warranty starts on date of delivery. Yup, they absorb the free courier.

Maybe whoever is going down can ask for better deals for us Aug mummies. heheheh

Oh btw they having a purely bfeeding workshop on 10 Jul & I have booked for it. Hope can help me to succeed & last longer in bfeeding.... Those who are interested can sign up at the fair itself.

hi nicole, i got the bundle cos i find the handsfree pumping is really a good method. Dun need to hold on to the bottles & cause backache.

morning ladies

Jul,
Disposable Panties:
i bott at NTUC for $3.50.

Maternity Pad:
be4 the thread is dissolve it is best to use maternity pad if u wan to use norm 1 pls buy cotton 1 but may not be as thick n big as maternity 1.. after the thread is dissolve u can jus use norm pad.

Nicole,
dun buy so much huggies i receive a lot of feedback tt huggies cuttin dun suit asia baby hence leak so might not suit ur baby so jus buy 1-2pack to try first.

tulips

That sounds good. Actually personally, I dun think the handsfree & breast shields sound like a great deal. $61 more for these, which I may not want. Very interested in the $338 for pump alone tho.

tulips

Oh they're not individually wrapped! No wonder so cheap lah hor?

piggy

Were they 5 in a pack or 7? Sounds cheap hor? It's maternity panties or normal size panties? Pre=preg I already need to wear size L coz big butt & hips lah haha.

thanks piggy, any other brands you would recommend and how do you guage what's good for the NB bb?

tulip, did you get the milk tray and the Fridge to-go cooler bag as well?

jul, initially when i saw the price of the set alone, i also juz wanted to get set only.

but after they demonstrated to me how it works, i tink is a fabulous idea which frees our hands or we can slp whilst its pumping away. (maybe i too gullible & got conned by their sales pitch) hehehe.....

Jul,
i bott normal L size 1.. they even got diff cuttin din check if they have maternity thou... it 5 in a pack now got promo 2 pac at $6.15..

Nicole,
actually i din buy NB i bott size S cos if ur baby is 3kg+ at born they might outgrow v fast somemore hosp usu will gave a pack of diaper so i only stk size S cos 3kg onwards can wear. i bott mostly Pet pet n mamypoko(highly recommended by friends).. NB usu change a lot of diaper so use cheap brand will do..

<font color="0000ff">babymaking</font>, payment mode only cash or nets.

<font color="aa00aa">nicole</font>, i did not buy the fridge to go bag yet althou tempted to. But think i will wait till nearer to date when i am going back to work b4 getting (must see if successful or not). But after placing the deposit &amp; getting some info from them, i am more determined to succeed this time round {pray hard}. I got the milk trays as well.

for diapers, i bought Petpet S for my 1st kid. Cos pple was telling me dun start the newborns with ex diapers if not later they will not be used to the cheap ones. (hw true, not sure but my boy is ok with petpet till now) so for 2nd 1 will also be buying petpet. But i bought some huggies M size cos i wanted to get the free tent that comes with it.

regg,
i am still drinking powder milk if i remember...

Jul,
RE: cotton wool/balls...
we still need it as to wipe around the bb's eye area...

RE: Nursing top
can see if motherhood fair got booth selling or not..
cos i bought a few pcs during the earlier fair this yr...

RE: Nursing bra
can check out the JL expo sale...cos i gotten mine from there...not too bad...
may run out of size...
do drop buy if u ladies are going to motherhood fair...

Disposable panties
i bought the watson's brand...(this is the usual one that i got for travelling)
and a few pk from giant...

Tulip, i'm also quite worried myself too, esp me being a first time mum, read alot and hear alot that makes me worried if i'll be successful in BF
But i'll try and try
, the milk tray looks very interesting and useful also..

tulips, nicole

Oic, thanks for sharing abt the bottles, handsfree etc. Sounds good hor, regardless of whether I get the pump alone or with the extra set?

I vaguely rem the last Rob sale, some of the gals here mentioned the pump was gog at $350? But cudn't rem the freebies. And of course, no delayed warranty.

piggy

Thanks, piggy! I will go see see look look at NTUC. Maybe can pick up the Mamy Poko diapers on offer as well. And maybe a bottle of Napisan haha.

Oh how many packs of panties did u buy? I guess we wud need ard 28pcs at least for confinement? More if we change more than 1x/day hor?

cloudme

Can I use either cotton balls or cotton pads (the kind for cleaning makeup)? Or need to be specifically special sterile ones? I saw this pack of "sterile" cotton balls, was wondering what on earth "sterile" means???

U bot the paper kinda disp panties? I dun like the paper kind. Very uncomfortable heehee.

Jul,
i only buy 1 pack for hosp stay cos i dun really like to wear disapoable panties.. even thou is cotton but it v thin type dunno leh still prefer my own panties anyway i got confinement lady to help so shd be ok bah... somemore the maternity pad so big n thick wun really stain all over ur panties i suppose..

jul,

the cotton balls i got is from the pigeon...then later switch to normal one(got from CK)
"sterile" one are better cos it's hosp type they used...treated to remove germs etc...

nope the panties are the cotton type(suplace material) more comfy type at the "v" area...
think this is oop(out of production) already...

<font color="0000ff">Nicole</font>, i understand how you feel. Cos being a 2nd time mum, now i also scare that bfeeding is not successful. We have to be very hardworking in the 1st 2 mths cos that determines our supply for the future. So <font color="0000ff">GAMBATEI</font>..... Thats why i am trying to go for bfeeding class to find out more about good latch etc.

<font color="aa00aa">jul</font> robinsons selling at 350 for the set alone during the sales.

nursing bras &amp; tops
there are a few booths selling the above at he motherhood fair.

piggy,
good for u...that u got a CL to wash...

me if i wanna use my own panties...gotto wear gloves to wash them myself...
cos mil doing confinement for me...
she already said no helping to wash panties...

piggy

Oic. I dun really wanna use my normal panties coz I vacuum packed them away (haha), &amp; also b/c they are rather expensive &amp; I dun want them to kena stained or the CL to spoilt them.

I think I will get the cotton disposable ones (I figure thin = cooling = wun be so umcomf during confinement!). And besides, they are washable once or twice right? Shall get CL to wash them a couple of times then throw away.

Besides hor, I tend to stain my panties with normal period. So better play safe than sorry lah *hiaz*

cloudme,
actually hor even no CL i can jus put into laundry bag n wash so ok.. all my bra n panties i use laundry bag to wash ever since i preg wor so far ok wun out of shape..

Jul,
u pack away? den wat u wearin now? i am still wearin my norm panties wor...

cloudme

Thanks! I'll check out the Pigeon cotton balls then. And also the disp panties that piggy recomm at NTUC. So many things to buy!

piggy

Long ago my butt &amp; hips already expanded beyond my norm panties liao. Think it was ard starting of 4th mth? *sad*

I've been wearing Mothercare maternity panties (plain white or black ones, 5-pack for $18).