(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

pegsfur
no lah, not giving mil's cats away. most prolly will put them in pets hotel for 2 months then we move out.

Tas
I dont think she bring them for any jabs leh... haiz now i am thinking doing confinement myself liao. decided to move to their place cos can get confinement nanny mah... but then come to think of it, not worth it to risk baby wor.

bento
waa i like the other egg molds. currently only got the star and heart shape de. but i always fail at making the shape leh. somehow i always cant find eggs big enough for the molds.

EH? now SG daiso is $1.50? not $2?? *confused*

oh i know a place with nice vinegar trotters.. u know before SIM and ngee ann poly.. got one funny, isolated house like that that looks like temple.. inside is actually a family run old kind resturant.. their pig trotters quite nice

reira
must hv jABS ON E CATS.. THAT'S E BARE MINIMAL
they talking abt japan daiso

pris
i been pestering him to tell... he tight lipped.. so angry w him.. i will slowly pry frm him n let u guys know

Tas,
Now i changed my mind le. better dont move to their place. i rather do confinement myself lor... or see if got cheap 3-rm flat to rent for 1-2 months. if not donno how much have to spend on those cats... haiz!

actually what are the jabs for? how often to get those jabs? *no pets so very sua gu*

taslyn

Me no like that leh. I prefer those sesame oil chkn type. I also dun like innards. I hope I dun HAVE to eat innards for confinement

How come ur HB keeps the location of the stall a secret???

Anyone knows what food is gd at TMC cafe? Me gog there for lunch. They have confinemnt soups right? Hmm.. dunno which to try.

reira
against cats illnesses lor... i not sure wat common diseases cats hv... dog take annual jabs..
puppies take 3 jabs in 1st yr...

cat cage cost ard 4-500 if i dun remember wrongly

taslyn

Thanks! Ok I go check out the food. Just now so hungry, woofed down a pc of bread. Waiting for HB to fetch me so we can go makan.

jul..
coz the uncle closed his stall.. then reopened.. hb took a long time to find e stall walking ard cck to find when i had #1... so he v secretive lor... childish lar...

admiralty mrt food court has v nice sesame chicken... hehe

reira,

No lah .. i dun mean u gonna give the cats away. I meant u just need to do some research/reading on cats/babies to know what's exactly happening, instead of listening to hearsays abt cats harming bb.

It could be as easy as just buying the crib net to cover yr bb's bed so as to prevent the kitties from jumping to bb's bed, to strictly restrict the kitties from entering the room e.g. always remembering to close the door since u said the cats roam freely.

If u r going to board the cats, it's costly. And if u are gonna rent a flat, u r going to fork out money again, and i think it's not easy to get a short-term rental leh.

taslyn

Haha so he wants to reserve his hero right ah? Can't blame him since he tried so hard lor.

Amiralty MRT is waayy out of the way for me lah. I stay Sengkang leh haha.

jul
lol... i think so bah... think he walk ard for 2-3 hrs.. combing from teck whye, cck central to yew tee... :p
but i will coax it out of him.. haha

pegsfur
ya lor. have to fork out a lots of $$$. But then I dont know how much germs those cats carries and what threat they will bring to my baby so really scared leh. Maybe I am just being overprotective bah... but better to avoid than exposing baby to threat and then regret it later lor... Not to mention those are not my cats and I have no idea about their characteristic... those responsible for them only know how to talk and no action done.

so now i am considering to just rent a master room outside and do confinement myself. Don't know how i will be able to cope with it but no choice... baby's health > my health! hopefully my baby will be easy to take care hehe

are you all considering to buy a cot or a playpen for baby to sleep in? Today's paper there is a Taka ad on a baby cot + high chair, from $700+ reduce to $400+. Not sure if its worth buying.

pink

wow! Penthouse in Bt Timah! Quickly ask your SIL to move out! Pack your bags and shift over. Then rent out your current place.

Reira
Seriously, nowadays, a lot of kids have asthma. And one of the things they're allergic to are animals' fur. U decide for yourself. Esp since they aren't even your cats to begin with.

Re: Pets
Will you give away your pets if your child is asthmatic?

reira,

That's why i say, go do some reading up
Did u read the links i posted yesterday? They are pretty informative on how to handle cats & bb, and wat kind of germs/bacteria cats carry.

You know, there are so many people who chose to give up their pets whenever they learnt that they are pregnant without doing a proper research and understanding. They just chose the easy way out.

There are so many benefits of kids growing up with animals, both health wise and character wise, but of cos, i oso understand your point of view of wanting to protect yr bb. But of cos, if your budget allows and u r able to find a short-term rental, i guess that's the best for both you & bb (& the cats!)

Tas,
the brand is I'm Toy. Original price is 764.90, now going for $429. Comes with a) high chair & table b) foam matteress

Mashy
Haha!I don't think my DH likes the idea.

Pris,
Kai use cot or playpen when he was a baby?

mashy,
no that's not what I meant. DH is ok staying with my mum, but he is the "big man big idea" (say in chinese) type. He would rather my mum moves in with us than we move into her house.

pink

but think abt the benefits! Can rent out your current place so it'll be paid on its own. And u can save the money.

And is your current place bigger/smaller than your mom's place? With a kid, it's better with a bigger space. Somemore there's a maid too.

Pink, Kai used baby cot till 6 months and he got lots of bruises from hitting the frame even with the cot protection around so we switch him to playpen then to his twin size bed.

hi pris,

the cookie cutters hor...u bot them at BHG? trying to find more cutters as i only have the mickey and minnie ones....btw, how old is Kai? Thinking whether i shld start my gal on cookies but scared of the mess :p

the bentos look so gorgeous...makes me inspired...

Yup, 1 of the things kids are allergic to are pet's fur, or rather dander. But then again, dust mites is the most common trigger of asthma compared to pet's dander, along with others like pollen and smoke.

Last time when i was living with my MIL at her house, i get sneezes, running nose and teary eyes every now & then. Went to see doc and he asked if i have pets. I said i hv a dog, and he said it must be the dog and asked me to either remove the dog, or keep her out of my bedroom. I cldn't bear to keep my dog out of the bedroom, but i restrict her from coming onto my bed.

The sneezing & running nose didn't really cure even after medication. Few months later, we moved to our new house and my sneezing & running nose stopped completely. I realised what's causing the sneezing is the incense my mil burnt every nite & day, cos at our new house, she din do it as often.

So u see, dun condemn the pets first. Find out the cause and get help from there.

Mashy,
i do see the benefits. may consider it as an alternative, but I need to think how to settle my ILs as they stay over quite often at my place.

my place is definitely smaller than my mum's. as for the maid, I will have to hire one myself before bb comes. Then when I am at work, I will alternate bb & maid at mum's & ILs place.

Pris,
so it doesn't really make sense to invest in a cot? cos bb may keep hitting the frames and probably can only sleep in it for couple of months before outgrowing it?

Mashy,
I think I also incline towards no air con....but do u put a fan for air circulation?

pegs
i agree lar... but cats are not like dogs... cats like to jump ard and they shed like mad...
reira oso mentioned that she is not close to the cats to begin with.. then worse right? i think she mentioned that the cats ever scratched her too...

pink...
let them sleep w.o aircon.. dun let it be bad habit else evwhere u go must find aircon...
beside for bb. aircon cannot be more than 25degrees..

mashy
u talking abt this?
http://www.toyhobby.jp/commodity_param/ctc/+/shc/0/cmc/4904810317395/detail.html
y here selling ard 3000Y??

pink, no air-con for kai or bb.

ino, Kai started playing with cookie dough from 1 yr old, he used to help my mum and I do pineapple tarts. The photo is when he is about 2plus, he handle the kneading of the dough from the start of making the cookies, I just give him the ingredients and handle oven.

pink

haha, u won't need to settle your ILs. Are your ILs 'nomads'? As in they're rotated among the children? Or they just stay at your place for weekends but they actually have their own place? Coz if they have their own place, I don't see will have any prob settling them. They just don't come, that's all.

Then it's better to shift to your mum's place. Coz really, u will need more space with a kid.

For me, my parents stay with me and I'm already thinking that 3 bedrooms are not enough. I will need to settle my #2's sleeping arrangements when he/she gets bigger. And there's of course no space for a maid either. My living room is now doubled up as his playroom too.

mashy
my dh is the only child and only son. so naturally, ILs very sticky to DH. Furthermore FIL travels often, that's y MIL stay over.

Actually my place has 3 bedrooms too. I intend to use one for bb & maid, and the other for IL or MIL if they stay over. I don't have a spare maid's room either, so if my mom comes over with maid, then all have to squeeze into one room.

pink

oh, your mom's place only 3 bedrooms? Thought most penthouses will have 4bedrooms. It's going to be a squeeze.... If your mom shifts over, then your MIL also no place to stay anymore.