(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

pris,
but my SIL probably will not be visitng my mum. My bro only mentioned that he will bring the kids to visit my mum over the weekend.

and my sil mind is already made up. she won't change her mind.

bobo
i tot preggy is bigger than anything?? lol... heng i dun eat with my pil... to them, eating out is waste $$$.... but the food they cook... aiyo... i think my dogs oso wun eat... :p

next time tell ur hb.. ur bb wanna eat this or that.. hahaha.. i do that all the time..

pris
not true lar.. not ev adopted child is liddat...
my ex bf de mum is a adopted child.. she is really v good example to her kids.. to me, she can be a v good mil coz i was with her son for 4 yrs... n we hv v good r'ship... too bad i did not get together with her son.. but she complains to me abt her DIL... n move back to HK liao.. kakaka...

pris.. my MIL oso an adopted child.
she was very closed to her foster mother de...(n the family close to 'porpor' oso).... but i duno, she's just very weird..wans lots of attention from the son, daugther n husband...but ya..in a weird manner (at least to me..weird n overboard manner)... n my FIL is such a bossy MCP!!!

pink
sometimes i oso dun tok to my bro.. we talk thru my mum... he got weird character coz he is the only grandson/son in family..
i only hope my parents dun get into any health prob in future.. else headache ar...
since ur bro give away liao.. dun bother with ur SIL le.. not worth getting angry hor

Hee my mom?she doe sher own stuffs....so does my dad.....they go singing/line dancing/trips with friends etc......too busy to take care of garndchildren etc.... akkakakak

sigh tas... my hb towards me... ok de.. like last evng..before collecting my nachos at clementi (we were too early).. i said i hv cravings for xing ren hu (almond paste)..n he brought me to anchor point to eat.. juz for that niah. n some other cases oso la...

but sometimes when the parents oso cm in picture.. den he will kao tao to them le. ya lar..he's filial.. it's good too. (hopefully kids next time will like daddy like dat.. filial la..) but then.. sometimes i still feel the parents overboard.. n hb too obliging le!

anyways.. nw..im slowly showing my colours.. hahaha.. ya, im a bitch..so wat!

bobo, the problem is mil's adopted mum gave each of her own children a private apartment and she did not get any from her and she has to work really hard helping her adopted mum when she is young but her adopted mum's children have good lives.

bobo/pris
my fil oso give into my mil... it is like he cannot have extra $$ in this pocket de... she will raid his pockets n wallet after work evday n take all the $$ away n he keep quiet de...
sometimes he wanna buy stuff for my ger or give $$ to my hb to buy things for my ger, oso cannot... then my hb give him $$ also hv to give outside the house else MIL will take de! that y she is the devil to me... haha

bobo..
ur hb filial lar.. but must hv his own mind too lar... bo bian de... that y i always say PIL must be automatic

mashy
my hubby told me that he used to have asthma when he was young... for me i am very healthy since young (rarely get sick, atmost headache or 1 day fever). so i am a bit worried if baby got asthma cos of his gene, especially this is our first child (read that firstborn's rate of getting asthma is higher?). i've never have pets like cats or dogs before so really donno how i am gonna cope with those 2 cats in the house while taking care of baby.

pegsfur
yeah actually i read from those website u posted last time when i was doing research about it on the net. kids might benefits to grow up with animals but the problem is how old does baby have to be before that happens?

those are not my cats, i dont live with them now and also dont know how to handle them. to them i am just a stranger and to me they are just 2 cats that might pose danger to my baby if we ever move in. especially newborn can be really fragile...

also, since they dont belong to me, i am in no position to insist they get rid of them ofcourse. Or lock them up in cage most of the time. who knows how much stress my mil will give my hubby if we were to lock them up in cage most of the time like what pet hotel do. previously when we were living with her, there were times when she scold/yell/scream at hubby cos she dont like what i didnt do... like wake up 9 am every weekend like she insisted when people my age could just sleep in (ofcourse it is another story when baby is around, have to wake up early to care/feed baby). Hubby get scolded by her then came into the room and scold me cos his mom scolds him for something not done by him... ended up our relationship got worst lor... thats why we move out and rented a room.

hubby did say things like just give the cats away... but ofcourse if he does, he will get it from his mom and i think it will make our relationship worst again. not to mention it wont be good for baby if both of us are always in a bad mood due to mil... not to mention, FIL always smokes in the house. I am very worried what if the smokes get into the room and harm baby... haiz...

conclusion is mil's place is not ideal for us to live in. Altho my hubby might heartpain his money and blame me for overprotecting baby and being so paranoid. Better to overprotect than regret when something do happens. Now I am just planning to rent a master room for long term (till we get our flat!) and dont get confinement nanny (cos need another room if want to hire one). Not really sure how things will go but hopefully it will be ok since finance is not good now and rental keeps dropping.

aircon or no aircon
for no aircon, then how are we going to survive during confinement month? someone told me to sleep in aircon but like at 25 degree celcius. not so cold and not so hot... since i cant on the fan or expose to wind during confinement month.

Tas, more than 25 degree... u mean 26 degree ah? or better for baby if it is lower than 25 degree? *confused*

Tas/Pink,
hahah yes i am lucky to have an easy goin MIL she dote on my HB most but when we say we goin to have our own flat she ok too so i respect her in a way we go back every wkend for dinner.. but my own mother is the problematic 1 so i am not lucky jus opp situation from most of u gals here keke..

Fatbobo,
i was ther yesterday too n i was v early also heng the nachos seller there 5-10min earlier keke...

Tas & Bobo, haahaa, I will tell dh, he can eat with in-laws, I go eat what I want haahaa. Most time dh will go with me when I am pregnant with Kai haahaa during weekend.

My mil also not automatic type, take dh as a car driver.

pris, she's got a bad childhood n youth n watever...
but in a way at least yur FIL is a 好人..

sighz.. bad childhood.. my FIL's childhood.. errrh. i tink he was brought up in a very strict family.. den.. duno lar.. so nw like.. he owas wana give the best to his children.. watever he can afford.. he buy n give n watever. tinking to give them a good life n all. (n i tink he EXPECTS them to be filial and 24-孝 kids to them... but i feel it's too much sometimes oso lor..

dun talk abt kids la... dat time he oso spend so much money.. wanting to spoil my dog.. den sekali my dog bite his hand damn jialat.. he omoz wanted to send him off to SPCA to be put down or watever.. (we quickly bring him over to my place).. my FIL like.. he feels that he 'put in so much'.. he expects good return kind!

MIL.. i duno hw to say lar! super sticky lor. dun wna say too much le.

reira

i switched on the fan and opened the windows during my confinement. C'mon, u do need fresh air leh. I didn't switch on air con coz i don't like my throat feeling dry in the morning.

Reira:i find that boys get sick easily
my girls o far only2 times....once is roseala which almost all bbs hv and other is this time in hkg...change of weather mah.......

when young my brother hv asthma...me nothing at all le till now.touch wood kakakkakakak

my house no aircon so i also hv to bear with le...

reira
i survived w/o aircon during confinement... those strict rules says no aircon...
i mean dun on aircon all the time.. not good for bb oso... best is on fan with ventilation lor...

yesh.. bb shld not be in aircon rm less than 25degree de... nurse n PD will tell u that..
even if i on aircon, normally i will set to 26/27.. for the cool air coz my this stupid rm can get v hot due to poor ventilation design if house

weishy

so long as someone in your family has asthma, your kid will have chance of getting it. MY hb and I also don't have asthma, but somehow up the line, some uncles have asthma. My boy also has asthma.

mashy, sometime I think her adopted mum did not give her is also she can be quite calculative. i know from her, all the other kids have good life but from her adopted siblings are different story like they also help out.

Pink, my mil's favourite is 2nd bil and fil is my dh. Fil dotes on my Kai haahaa, Kai cares about him too haahaa.

Re: eating out with in-laws

When i was preg with #1, I still remember my FIL insisted on eating at one particular restaurant. It was very crowded and we had to wait over an hour for a space. As u know, preg women cannot go hungry one. I was like dying there but my FIL kept insisting on waiting for a place.

Just last week, we had to wait for my SIL & her hb to come for dinner. They didn't warn us that they'll be late and kept us waiting. Thankfully my hb asked them what time they said they're coming after waiting for a while. We were shocked to know that they were coming so late and my hb quickly went to find food for me to eat first.

Pris

If it's her own children, even if calculative, will also give right? So it's really coz she's adopted lah. In the chinese society, adopted children are always treated 2nd class citizens unless they are the only children that they have.

pink
tat y i invest my time in my ger ger lor.. hahha
ger more tie xin i guess...
somehow the world has changed liao... boys seems to be the married out one.. whiles gers bring hb in.. lol...

i dun wanna stay with DIL woh... dun wan giv my boy headache... will find my own activities... i m not a ball to be thrown ard..

pris.. nw clementi under big reconstruction.. i oso duno whr hv those tong shui to buy. haha. better not take chance.. hahaha.

piggy..i sms-ed shyna, he (i tot was supposed to be a she?) said still at admiralty..so i proceed to eat something first.. den he told me he reached le.. then i left anchor point.

RE: CHEEZE MELTZ
quite nice leh.. i had the beef with some chili.. i love the chili part..but hmmm shld order for more spicy in future.. KE SHI..by the time i eat..abit soggy le.. n the oil come out le, so abit oily oso.. (but shyna did 'warned' me earlier, put too long might be oily or cant rmbr bcos of wat.. might be abit oily de..) tink chicken shld not be as oily bah.. duno.

pink

We were just saying we might become monster-in-laws who torture our DILs last week with all the scary MILs stories. Hahhaa. Just remember to treat your DILs well next time since u can't control how she behaves. And remember to give them some space.

air con
my room's aircon onz the whole nite leh? the boy's sweating like a pig if it's not onz? i oso dunno how to break out of this routine now.

during confinement, my room air-coned at least 12hrs a day.. no choice, that rental flat ventilation bad.... then it was in the peak hot period... feb-march..

last time before bb comes. we oso dun usually onz aircond

smurfy
if it is just at night still okay... last time i am in aircon almost 24 hrs... office aircon cold like fridge.. then drive oso aircon, once reach home oso on aircon...

now i dun dare liao.. lesser probs with my health too..

smurfy

My boy was born in jan. That time kept raining and raining. But he still sweat like a pig. Weird right? So he had his own dedicated fan blowing at him when he sleeps.

re: sweaty kids
my ger oso super sweaty.. even with a big big fan blowing at her... then her head will smell so sour.. lol...
i think it is normal for kids to be sweaty since their heartbeats faster n all too...

mashy
i think for bbs tends to sweat alot?????????? dunno why soo much sweat.. then he got sensitive skin... so i heart pain just switch onz air con to solve the problem.

taslyn/mich
do u girl/s sweat a lot oso?

mashy, in fact, mil's sibling treated her very well but mil is the one always complaining and I know she also complain about me to them since those aunts will come and tell me be nice to my mil etc. I have been really nice to her until she tried to ruin my relationship with my mum.

smurfy...
yesh mine can sweat buckets with fan facing her...n blowing at her exclusively... n the fan is those 16" ventilator which u see at those shops n they put ball on top of the fan to show u how powerful it can blow type...

pris
ur mil insecure lar... i think from young she feels that she is the extra one bah

Bobo,
i tink tt man is not shyna.. i tink in tt thread got pp mentioned BIL or wat not v sure.. i din order cheese melt cos i dun take beef n the chix is shredded chix so i suppose will be v dry but i loved the cheese dip yummy..

pris

Her siblings can treat her well, but still 'xin li bu ping heng mah' since they all got a pte apt and she didn't get any. That's why might have already affected her mentally... :p

mashy, maybe, but according to her adopted sisters, only the sons got apartments. Then her adopted sisters all married really well so they can get private apartments. Think mil is the jealous time, see what other have she must have time.

bobo
some ppl is like that one lah hehe include me lor. example, if treat the person super nice but that person backstab me, ofcourse will be angry mah.

mashy
but, what if the wind get into the room? isnt it like we already expose to wind? or u make it so that the fan never blow at u? *head spins*

Tas
currently my room hor... damn hot de leh... even tho we open the window and fan... still very hot. whereas outside is like cooling cooling... my room is still like in sauna.

hahaha i totally agree that the world have changed. daughter will still stick to parents and bring hubby back, whereas son will go to his wife's parents place!

mashy.. that was somehow like what i go thru last wk'n oso... KNS.. (for my belief.. i dun wana touch crab during pregnancy lar.. i know CAN eat.. but i chose not to mah).. FIL wana go for crab beehoon at this old n dirty (tink very popular) coffeeshop at corner of geylang lor 35. fine, it's ok, i can eat someting else de mah..no prob. but then, that day.. they dun hv fish, so i said.. nvm lor..i eat rice n vege can le.
wah lao aeh.. den the stall owner (damn farking garang kind.. if some of u been there n know abt him).. he then pass some very insentive remarks.. which made me very upset!! he like said pregnant cannot eat shell stuffs meh? [hello, hw i know yur shell seafood clean or not???] he said he has some customers, came n eat just before deliver, else confinement cannot eat..blah blah blah..

i was damn upset. i was already so hungry, he bloodi h*ll dun go n prepare food still talk cock there! to me, different ppl hv different believe mah.. n some ppl even hfta avoid rice, carbo altogether leh.... u juz respect lar!

my FIL laughed with him.. n kind of like agreed with the f**ker!

i was so angry.. den my hb came back (aft parking the car) asked me what happened.. (i felt so wei qu) i even teared abit.. n said loudly in hokkien.."is i hvg baby or U hvg baby" (to the stall owner.. but he was no longer ard la) den hb calm me down.. n i even leak out some vulgarity out! (bahaha.. paiseh..cos i really too pissed le... i said CB..but softly lar) i hoped my FIL noticed when i scolded CB.. this is the first time i flare in front of them.. hello, not dat im dat nice n obliging like their son can.. im a bitch de lor.. den dun force me lor.

anyways.. i oni had vege n rice.. n 2 prawns.. (the prawns like not so fresh lor)...
oh.. den dat night.. aft dinr.. my tummy was so painful.. i cldn't purge at my In-law's plc, so my hb brought me hm.. wah kaoz.. as soon as i stepped home.. i dashed to the bathroom.. guess what.. within 3secs.. LS n vomit AT THE SAME TIME!!!

bobo, I dun take rice when I have kai coz it will cause me to puke no stop, imagine my mil told dh where got such thing one. So I took and puke at her place the whole nite only with one mouthful.

Dh told her, see told you liao and you must make her so sick.