(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

tas

oic. Since he paid 80% for it... Well, your FIL is very good already. At least he promised to give it to your hb. I think if he really detests your hb, he prob won't bother and will still split it with your hb's brother. That's why there's so many court cases abt the father willing the house to everyone even though there's only 1 son paying for it.

tas

use olive oil. That's the best. Just put a bit of olive oil on her scalp. Let it settle a while first. Then use a fine comb and comb thru. It should come off after a few times.

tas, I look for the picture then show you the link, I have the rabbit, bear, heartshape and star shape ones. I am looking for disney characters ones for egg mould. Can get the quail egg mould for me as well.

Pink, how about get your mum to stay with you, since bb is coming too, she will have another grandchild.

Cloudme, yea.

thks tas & mashy,
my brother charater is the weaker type. His wife takes preminence over everything. Both my DH & BIL will never allow something like this to happen. How can an only son, leave a elderly, frail, handicap mother to stay on her own?

Now my SIL is saying that my brother can stay put with my mum whilst she moves out with the kids. But this will only create more strain on my brother.

Actually, I have already planned to move in with my mum next year. Due to certain reasons, my move cannot be sooner.

Really hope that now I can fast forward the time to August so that my baby can bring joy to my mum.

mashy
actually FIL is okay to HB de.. just that MIL act behind the scenes to create conflicts... my BIL was very angry when he found out that FIL gave the house from hb... thus he psycho mil to make my hb pay them back the 20%... v messy story... in the end, FIL cannot do anything but to give the house to HB coz HB showed them the bank records n CPF records of pymt for the house n this hdb flat...
anyway FIL already say the HDB will go to BIL...

re: cradle cap..
okie later i grab some olive oil...

pris
okie.. got it... but roughly wat is ur budget? or i follow the pricing which is found on the malaysian webbie? those mould are cute!!!

pris
the egg mould is those frying pan ones or the one on the webbie for boiled eggs de? i blur liao...
din know got such thing as a boiled egg mould

pinkmama

haha, this is the other pt of view. Remember all the complaints from the DILs abt their MILs? All ILs said the DILs dominate over the MILs and snatch their sons away.

Maybe u might wanna talk to your SIL and see from her pt of view too. While she's wrong to leave an old handicap mother alone, is there anything that made her wanna make this decision? You are the daughter and not staying with your mother. So u may not see what's exactly going on in the household. Like you said, your mother has become hot tempered due to her condition. Do u think she might have taken out on your SIL all the time until your SIL finds it so frustrating? Imagine having someone ranting at you all the time over every thing. What your mother tells u may not be the whole truth either. My grandma keeps complaining abt my stepmom (& my mom when she's alive) and I can tell that there's a lot of untruths in them. Old folks tend to exaggerate. Some even resort to saying that their DILs are not feeding them.

I believe in every situation, it takes 2 hands to clap. So don't blame your SIL so early yet. Talk to her and find out more.

mashy
BIL is in army, just started serving his NS half yr ago... he is 1988 de...
HDB is completely paid up by HB liao looo...
he is just unhappy that we are "getting" the apartment and he is getting the HDB... he never use his coconut head to think who paid for the house... that y my Hb had to bring out the bank/cpf records to shut him up... else he will instigate mil further...

pink
I agree with mashy... sometimes old folks tend to exaggerate abit here n there... n prolly ur bro is sick n tired to be stuck in the middle..
not many people these days are willing to take care of their PILs and prolly she felt she has already done her part over the last few years...
i know of many families who just dump their loved ones in homes just coz they are disabled...
maybe try to talk to ur SIL n ask her to tahan til next yr then u bring ur mum over to stay with u..

tas, it is for hard boiled eggs. My ds loves them haahaa. I dun mind getting another set of bear and rabbit, can use to make mooncake too. the heart shape and star shape can get in SG. They are very cute.

mashy,
agree that there is always to sides of the stories. I am a DIL myself so I know what's its like to face a MIL. I guess the bottomline is that the tolerance level of each individual.

Although my SIL has her own car, she never once offer to fetch my mum to any of her medical appts. Always depend on either my bro, my sis or me to fetch. And she is a SAHM. She doesn't contribute a single cent to the household and like what my DH & BIL says, she really lives the life of a tai tai. Everyday dress nice nice and go out. One kid is in full day child care and the other is taken care by another maid. And when my brother is not around, she don't even bother to instruct the maid what to cook for my mum. I witness it cos I happen to be there one lunch time and realize my mum was eating leftovers. What pissed me and sis off is that she is "living" off my mum in a way. My bro is only a civil servant so his pay is no way enough to support her lifestyle. ( my brother helps my mum to handle her rental incomes so we are sure she "siphon" off $$ from there).

pinkmama
sorry to interrupt... if u r angry abt ur sil,, how abt the idea of fetching ur mum back to ur place and stay with u instead? since u are oso going to have a grandchild? and therefore can give ur mum some joy as well

sorry, for these kinda case, i always feel sorry for the caregiver/caregiver's family.. it's not easy living with an invalid or someone requiruing a lot of help at home.. bystanders can make alot of comments on what they see on occasionally visits.. but usually it's the caregiver n family who have to suffer everything, everyday.

Tas, follow the RM price. I think I will also go see what Daiso have in SG when I am back haahaa.

Daiso in Japan is only like S$1.05.

smurfy
oooo... so that is how it works...

pris:
oie.. i sure grab for u de.. so KAWAIII... i oso wanna make for my ger... (actually more for myself.. so cute)
will look out for more boy boy styles ones for Kai.. haha (coz i m v prone to hello kitty.. haha)

pink...
sigh headache lar liddat...
she cannot temp go ur sis house to stay either?

pris
u wan the sushi maker oso ar? it looks v cute too.. hehehe...
i m so new to all these "gadgets" but now must stock up liao... to keep my kids happy n make them eat their food next time...

Tas & Smurfy, when I am in Japan, I went crazy over all the cute kitchen stuff haahaa.

Pink, try to make the best out of everything, what you see might be only 1 side. Ask your mum to get the maid to cook for her.

pinkmama
that's the most common excuse everyone gives ;)... so if u cannot bring ur mum back or look after ur mum... then ur brother n his wife gotta do the job and u just gotta gives one eye open n one eye shut...tell me abt it, my mum complains the way my auntie looks after my grandpa... but who are we to interfere.. we do no face the issues the caregivers face day in n day out...what can my mum sees during her occassional one visit once a week or once every 2 weeks compared to 24/7.. it takes alot to live with these invalid ppl..

pris
:p me not into these.. i just found them cute. kekekee... i am pure lazy. i just all ingredients into my boy's porridge now. :p.. luckily he's not a fussy eater so dun need to think abt all these fancyful food

pris,
yup,agree may be only one side....anyway trying to work out an arrangement with my sis, like weekdays stay over at her place or something.

we are only worried that all this stress to my mother may trigger off another stroke......

Tas, see what you can get, I also want some hello kitty. The sushi, which one?? I want the waffle maker too but only US has the mickey character one.

pinkmama

U mean she has 2 maids? Coz if 1 is taking care of her 2nd kid, who is taking care of your mom? As an invalid, I'm sure she needs help with bathing, changing etc.

As a SAHM myself, I feel rather indignant when pp say I don't contribute a single cent to the household and still expect things in return. It's not easy being a SAHM leh and it's also not abt the money. If that's the case, then SAHMs status are really down in the dumps coz we don't contribute financially to the household. There should still be some basic respect regardless of whether she's a SAHM or not and it shouldn't be used against her.

Civil Servant can earn a lot of money too you know. So don't make assumptions. I know you're anxious abt your mother, but you have to be objective in this matter.

Hahah, your case reminds me of the 9pm chinese drama on Ch8 now. Like the Ann Kok's character. Yah, she goes out dressed nicely and everything. But is she really idling and not trying to help her MIL?

Reg the lunch, it's just 1 lunch. Did your mom insists on eating leftovers? Coz i know there's some old folks who think that it's a waste to throw away leftovers and will insist on eating them.

Re the fetching, I also won't fetch my MIL unless there's really no one there to help. It's her children's duty to do that. All the children should take turns to help take care too.

pinkmama
another excuse ;).. if u bring ur mum back home, i'm sure that ur pils would be kind enough not to stayover... or even better still, they can talk with ur mother... so that she's not that bored at home as well

saw mil yesterday. think she hates the school holidays coz then she won't see the kids everyday. Anyway, she told me she dreamt she was looking after 3 girls...1 5mth old baby, then the other 2 are my girls. Hmm, my last 2 preg she also dream of girls, so maybe this one also girl. If so, my ah ma going to nag at me to have another one...she gian boy until dunno what.

Smurfy, haahaa, maybe coz we were outstationed in Japan for a while, then all the mummies do really nice bento so I also learn to do for Kai haahaa.

Pink, I will always tell my mum, take it easy. I know it is hard to be a dil with my mil. Told my mum, your dil is also someone's precious dil.

pinkmama,

I sort of agree with smurfy ... was watching the CH8 9pm show where Ann Kok's MIL was starting to have dementia and its really nerve wrecking. I hate to think that i had to take care of my mil next time if she becomes like dat too, cos as u know, i hate her becos of all the things she did to me.

We wouldn't know what goes on between your sil and your mum but i guess that's secondary. The most impt thing is to settle your mum's problem. Since you can't move in with her, is it possible to hire a maid to look aft her temporarily till u r able to move in?

mashy
yes. the household has got 2 maids. And they live in a penthouse in bt timah. she has her own car. and she doesn't work. she is not the caregiver to my mum at all. we all swear to it that she doesn't lift a finger to handle my mum. Even when the maid looking after my mum goes on her off day, its me & my sister being the maid for the day. She and the other maid never even help. She even "pyscho" her maid to the extent that the maid says she don't want to look after old folks! And she's out most of the time.

At least the Ann Kok's character, she does the household chores.

pegsfur
the issue is not about caregivers. we already have a maid looking after her. Its her sanity we are worried about....cos her everyday joy now is looking & playing with her grandsons. If that is taken away from her, I wonder how its going to affect her mentally.

i dun watch channel 8 shows arr!!.. i speak from real life example...

even if the sil do not help out in the caregiving's duties... it's really boring to even stay with old invalid ppl.. u can stay there for one day.. but one week.1mth and forever is two different things.... it's really demoralising especially if the ppl is not soooo close to their heart (Especially the inlaws)..

even maids i interviewed who were ex-sin who had prior experience looking for invalid person requested not to look after eldery for her next assignments!

pink, for me, I will fetch my pil as he also suffered from strokes but recover but movement is slow but not my mil since I know she is always out for mj.

Dh just told me that if we are back, get a MPV so we can bring my fil out. I told him yes but dont ask me to ferry mil for mj.

Smurfy, I love all those cutter haahaa.

pris
most of the mummies who are able to do these kinda bentos r SAHMs,... coz really need a lot of TLC to do these bentos leh....sooo many things to prepare and wash just for one lil snacktime or meal :p... then again, i, is pure lazy type :p

Smurfy haahaa I used to decorate and arrange my bentos for dh and myself only when I was still working haahaa.

Pink, children learnt by looking, so your sil will have her turn when her kids turn out this way too. So for myself, no matter how difficult it is to deal with mil, I will bring ds to visit them as long as I do not stay with them.

pris
this one lor.. the link u gave mi?
http://www.nst.my/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=1&products_id=244&zenid=f56ea39c77eb251f34af8dd8b5ae4ae6

pink
it is really not easy to take care of an invalid 24/7 de...
my uncle's PIL.. FIL has parkinson, MIL has severe dementia.. all their other kids are in US... so my uncle has to take care of them on top of taking care o his kids.. my cousins still v young all in pri school only.
my uncle always hv to worry abt his kid's safety coz his MIL ever run ard the house w chopper... He also has 2 maids... one to look after kids n the other for PIL...
my mum even commented that my uncle never bother to look after his own father but has the time n effort to look after his PIL...

prolly ur SIL go out evday to avoid having clashes with ur mum bah... we are not her, so we dunno what she thinking too right?

of coz having said that, ev family got diff situations n problems lar...

pris
my mum suffered 5 consecutive stroke so she is now paralysed on the right side. Its a big blow to her cos she used to be a full time career woman. Its hard to be confined to a wheelchair. but I am very glad that she has found her savior in God , so at least that's an outlet for her.
my dh also very kind. know that next year we staying with my mum, so offer to change his beloved car to a MPV.

silently reading this morning.

wow the bento so nice, makes me wanna eat too.
dun know will i make e effort to do these for my bb..

sil/mil:
after birth, me also will be SAHM staying with mil, with a maid. Haiz.. dunno what will happen, n wht sil/bil, will comments.
Hse work/ Cooking sure is maid doing lor, huby also gving mil allowance la.
oh, btw, my mil is working..
jus that i will be looking after bb...not giving $$ n do hse work, cooking etc..

pris
is okay lar... small thing niah... no worries
lol...

smurfy
i think making those bentos really take time n effort...
but i guess i m that kind of person who will make lar... jsut to see my kid smile? but not do it evday lar... will die de... hahaha i oso not that hardworking

Tas, so you leaving today for Tokyo??

Babyjon, haahaa, my ds will ask me to make. Like this couple of weeks, his dad is making his lunch box, he complained it is not as interesting.

hmm.. i love to do nice nice cute cute things.. but sometime lazy.. hehe

will see how,when bb start to eat soild food..
, i cant ask daddy do. daddy always oversea..
but..haha.. once a mth when he come back can ask him make for bb..

tasyln
then u can start reading those blogs n getting the stuffssssssssssss (especially when u r going Japan now).. best of all this thread got pris to guide u... i can tell u now hor... over my dead body i will do it... soooo much work :p but lucky for u, in future got maid to do the clean-up

pris
i always got one question har.. those bentos u all pack until nice nice..n take pic.. but when reached school, would the foods inside the get "mishaped" coz of moving around?? <- u get what i am trying to ask?

pris
flying tml.. 9.50am flight
later i gotta go ICA to settle some pp issues..

my DD seems better.. she playing with me, wan me to carry her... she was singing to herself just now...

my hb n i think she just wanna go hospital attention frm nurse n dr.. lol