(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

pegs: my body also not in proportion. Bust is one dress size smaller than hips.

So i buy dress ah jialat. I bought a dress recently. hip just nice but bust cannot lah! Too much extra cloth! I think either i go alter the top or i got get a boob job lor..

jul,
Hahaha .. if i suck in tummy i'll be very breathless.

baby s,
Boob job sounds good!

babys

Aiyah most women are like that what. I can squeeze into M for top but L for bottoms. The hips & thighs are big & the butt is really round hahaha. That's why I don't look that good in pants. I look better in skirts / dresses

pegsfur

Haha u funny

But now I can't suck in tummy. Flu lah, already blocked nose. If I still suck in tummy, then cannot breathe already haha

I'm still mulling over what school to go to for Sam. I wish there were a good school directory where we can select area, type of school, childcare/kindy, budget & presto! List comes out

Jul
just so it. If not u wait till he go pri 1 still haven't decide. There's no best sch and diff styles suit different kids. U won't know till u try.

Celine,
today we went down to TB control unit to check etc... even if we kena from the maid it non contagious 1 n jus need to take 6mth medication anywya like i say if they allow the maid to discharge only my FIL n SIL will be in the house till the maid fly back anyway now the maid cant be discharge still so i cant do anything also... jus feelin damn stress n fedup...

Morning mummies..

Grhh so angry this morning on way to work with shayna. I was just behind this mother with her lower primary daughter.

They were walking towards the lift also. When the mother saw me walking towards lift pushing shayna in pram, she quickly push her girl into the lift and quick quick press the 'close door' button!! Idiot!

She dunno how its like to be a mother of a young child meh?! I hope someone gives her her dose of 'consideration' today man..

Jul

if u can't decide which is best, then go for the most expensive that u can afford. My mil who is taking her dip in childcare said, there's a compromise in the qly of teachers and no of teachers at cheaper cc. If they charge u cheap, it means they can't pay better to attract good teachers. Look at pat schhouse. Half their teachers are grads. Most other schs' teachers aren't grads. Mainly o level only. So u pay peanuts, u get monkeys. There was an article in st yesterday on cc raising sch fees and they mentioned abt the teachers.

Babys
there are always pp like this. And those able Bodied pp trying to squeeze in front of your stroller so that they can get in the lift but not u.

mashy

I've already decided to send him to a Montessori. It's just that I don't know what schools are available in the Toa payoh area, near my MIL's. So I was wishing for a list, then at least I can go see the school. Can't be drive around the area & look for signboard that says "Montessori" right? *scratch head*

jul: thats what i did leh when looking for a playground for shayna. (just playgroup, not exactly require montessori)

DH and i drive around looking out for banners and when i am on the bus around the area, i'll look out..

babys

Har? Really have to drive ard ah? *feeling lazy*

mashy

Thanks, I'll try to do a search.

Yup am going to a trial at Ykidz, but not now coz Sam & I are both sick. Can't go & spread to other kids right? Gotta wait till we recover sigh

Jul

don't just wish for a list. U need to do legwork and more research. Check out kiasu parents. I'm sure they have some resources there. Spend more time looking for the sch than pretty dresses. :p

understand its a bit weird to ask for this list...

any mummies still kept the list of wat are the things we need to buy for our newborn and the dateline? i remembered the other time someone shared the list..

would reall appreciate if someone can email it to me @ [email protected]

Janice,
I think I did..check n send u later if I have it

Re: car seat
Can put in front passenger seat?
If put back seat, put which side?

RE:car seat
can put in front seat provide is front facing and the passenger seat no air bag.

if back seat i would put behind the driver seat.

shayna's car seatis behind passenger's side. Safer.. (cos the kerb is on that side mah. traffic flow is on driver's side).

Sharon

I've 2 car seats behind. Hahaha. Left one easier access to the kerb, drivers' side is safer coz drivers' instinct in accidents is to swerve to protect themselves. So their side will be safer.

hmm.. mashy, yeah very true.. never thought of that.

but if driver is alone with the child, easier for driver to help child or see child if on passenger side also..

Ovann's carseat is oso put behind passenger's side, cos like wat baby s said, easier for the driver to jaga kid.

staycation
Planning 1 next month on our anniversary ... was thinking of staying at Marina bay sands. Anyone stayed there b4 or been there? Anything to shop around and is food there expensive? Heard there's a 'high-class' food court there rite?

sharon, car seat in the front is ok if there is no air bag in front. Yup agree with Mashy, the best place for a car seat is the seat directly behind the driver's seat.

babyS, think when driving, it will be hard to help the child... so usually i just leave the kid to scream/yell etc till I park ha ha

pegs: yeah got a high class food court there.

there are more atas shops there lah.. the not as atas shops that i saw was prob adidas..

OMG!!!! Montessori for Children costs $1k per mth. No subsidy! And still haven't included uniform, materials, misc, etc etc!!! Faint

babys

My fren just told me got subsidy if registered with MOE or MCYS. I better call & ask details. But still.. $700+/mth leh *sob*

thanks all!
i also tink behind driver seat would be better but just cant see the child
so its not illegal to put car seat in front seat

baby s,
Suaku me still haven't been there to look around
Tempted to go to casino but $100 entrance fee is a spoil sport .. haha. Was thinking of Hard rock or festive hotel at RWS too but it's like we dunno wat to do there (not a fan of thrill rides when ovann is still so small) other than swimming?

jul,
Why do u want to put sam in montessori leh?

pegsfur

Erm.. in a nutshell, I find that Montessori is suitable for him lor. I read up a bit of the Methodology and it seems very impressive. Many parents in Singapore are also very "on" abt their Phonics & Maths. So I figured, just put Sam there lah, then he can their Phonics & Math & things like practical life & sensorial activities which I think may help him in his development. The kids there are given more freedom (within limits of course) to choose what they want to "study" at their own pace.

Only con I can think of is.. most people worry that they can't fit into traditional schooling when they go to Pri 1. But figure he has another 20yrs of schooling to "fit in", what the heck lor.

Pegsfur stayed there two weeks ago. My children loves the pool and the bath tub. My 2has never been so clean coz he had his bath like 5x a day-_-"""

But the stay had an unhappy ending. My sister's wallet was stolen from her room in tower 2. But the hotel found it like 3 days later claiming that it was actually discarded at one corner of the room and then another story saying that the wallet was inside the safebox!!!! How honest!!!

So please be careful with your belonging!

Bbngg

then did your sis get the money back from the hotel? Coz there's this innkeepers law that makes them liable. They gotta
compensate u.

bbngg,
Oh, u meant u stayed at MBS or RWS? How much did u pay for the stay?
Hahaha ... u r so funny when u said your kids hv never been so clean

jul,
I c ..... maybe u can find those pri school which has no exam for pri 1 & pri 2 if u later scared sam can't fit in after montessori

I've been thinking recently .... wld ovann cry when he attends pre-nursary cos no parent accompany
My mum said he won't while i'm not so sure.

sharon:: i have a seat at the front passenger's.. n the other at the rear behind driver's. i'll normally sit (uncomfortably) in the middle n helper on the left.

we did not de-activate the airbag at the front though. although most ppl say shld not have it. (to me.. airbag is to save our lives...anyways.)

i had checked with LTA & TP on this. there is no legislation at all on whr we shld place the child seat. the guideline is normally frm the manufacturer of the child seat/car.. eg, for newborn to certain age/weight to face rear. rear facing child seat shld not be on the front passenger seat, etc. in fact, there r ppl who put child seat (front facing) in the rear centre too.

so it's really up to individual's preference n gut feel. hehe.

i like to tink too that behind driver's is safer.. cos drivers will like avoid their side in emergency.... but there r oso many cases where drivers actually 'sacrifies' their own safety to protect the family or the passengers. but anyhow......

mashy,
haha you damn funny! if dunno which school just choose the most ex! :D

jul,
montessori is ex because of special education needed by the teachers and the materials :p

fatbobo,
thanks...
if u put both car seats at the back, then ur car becomes 2 seater nia...heheee
if got 2 kids really need a bigger car next time

sharon:: hehe.. ya lor.. 2 children..still can tong abit la.. but i tink if there were 3.. n esp all still young.. den either hv a bigger car.. or hv 2 cars.. or i take public transport n meet them at destination liao! lol~

i ever tot of putting both seats at the rear.. helper will squeeze in middle..but she's tall n L size... but then agn.. Mattea doesn't like to sit at the back..(n Keona doesn't like to sit in the front!!! haha.)

oh btw.. last nite Keona vomitted her milk + sm dinnr ard 9ish-pm.. n we quickly bring her to KKH.. took 2 xray on her head (oh, cos she had a fall in the aftnn..a big baluku on her right forehead).. so anyways, xray result ok..no fracture, but still need to keep close observation for next 72hrs.

weird ting.. when they had milk last evng.. Mattea vomitted first! then Keona vomitted, but much more lar!

Fatbobo

the reason for deactivating the airbag in front when u put the car seat is that the air bag can snap the kid's neck in two on collision. So better deactivate it. Many time accidents are beyond our control and we don't know when it will happen. The airbag can only protect adults but will kill children because it's too strong.

pegsfur, stayed in MBS two weeks ago.

My #1 will tell me after we came back from dinner, "mummy, I think I need to bathe again cos I am dirty!!!"

My aunt got us 3 rooms as she has points to redeem.

mashy, celine

I know it's more expensive coz of the special materials & certification needed, but I didn't expect it to be SO exp *hiaz*

pegsfur

Er.. I thought all kids would cry? Just that some stop crying earlier & others later?

No lah, if he fails his exams in pri sch or what.. or needs time to adjust, it's fine with me. I don't expect him to be high flyer scholar or what. Average can liao.

Fatbobo,
Prob not feeling well..Ryan suddenly had fever n I'm on urgent leave...
So cute! One like sit front, one at the back..less headache for u!

Mashy,
Haha...

Re: whiny kids
Ryan has been super whiny recently...anyway to stop it?
Is it a phase or? Gets irritating at times
Dun get Wat he wants, he whines or cries with tears!

mashy:: i know some ppl will see it that way abt the airbag. but to me is.. the child seat is a huge bracket.. the bracket itself would act as a blockage/barrier to the airbag getting 100% smack into the child's face. i see the airbag as a 'cushion' to protect against shattered glasses or watever 'flying' into the child's face. that's my personal point of view la. so we did not de-activate it.

Tomolo there is quite a number of open house for pre school. They are opening registration for 2009 kids...I was checking out the fee and some are quite high (for those 3 hours kind). I am keen to look at Kinderland but seems like their fee is on the high side... The child care after subsidy seems to be the same as the 3 hours kind of class....

Any suggestion or where you place your kid for the pre school?