(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

eh, i have exterior piles too even before preggy days..so far no issue with constipation since preggy except during week 6-8, other that that it's smooth. Did ask my gynae if can remove it during delivery since it might tear but he said to only remove it two months after wound heal. Hope it wun worsen after delivery cos mine quite bad but didnt cause any pain or blood so i just leave it alone.

Been feeling cramp like feeling at the top of my tummy since yesterday morn after breakfast. It only happen for a while and goes off..yesterday even have "growling" sound so i think it's gas but not today. Think i better monitor cos my colleague told me her ex colleague experience contractions two week before heading to hospital cos she tot it's just norm tummy pain/stretch till it became unbearable and realise it actually contraction..

hmmm

HBB

paper not the problem..... oh no remove only 2 mths after wound heals? hahah i tot this round can do together... :p

hahah... now i no longer know if the weather is hot anot... air-con has been on 24/7... :p

mrs c
i alsow orry aft delivery esp natural delivery will pose a prob to the piles since the stick fr the V area might 'poke' into the piles =(

jasmine
haa i also tot can do it together HAHAHAAA

re: delivery package at KKH

i jus came back from KKH from signing up the delivery package. wan to check wif all of u, for those who are seein at TPS, did dey tell u that if u sign up for classic, u will not b entittled to see at TPS animore and instead will be transferred to the specialist clinic. meaning clinic A,B or D instead of TPS?

i went for the financial counselling total twice. once at the admission office, once at TPS, both didnt mention that if i choose classic i cant see at TPS animore. however todae when i went wif my dad to sign up for the classic package, was told by the staff that once i take up classic, dey will review my case and transfer me to specialist clinic and i can no longer see at TPS animore. am veri confused.

can someone enlighten me?

Red dates if put too much will be sourish.. also if kept over night it will be sourish.

for red dates tea the lady at the medical shop told me the following receipe:

Hong Zao (Red dates) -about 15 pcs
Nan Zao - about 5 pcs
Hei Zao (Black dates) - about 8 pcs
Tang Shen - 3-4 sticks
Bei Qi - 4 pcs
Dried Longan - some
(optional Du zong) abt 5 x 5 cm slice

Boil with abt 2.5 Lts of water.. for consumption whole day...

hehe.. found this.. http://myculinaryjournal.blogspot.com/2006/10/nurturing-new-mum.html

Black Dates tea :
Plain water is a no no during confinement period. So new mothers would drink this throughout the day.

Ingredients :
12 red dates, pitted
15 black dates
15g dried longan flesh
20g tong sam
1.5 litres water

Method :
Combine all ingredients in a slow cooker and boil on slow heat, preferably overnight.
Serve the tea warm as a drink to the new mother.

Black Bean Herbal Soup

Ingredients :
1 black chicken (600g)
50g black beans, pan-fried without oil

Herbs
15g wai san
15g kei zhi
15g tong sum
15g pak kei
10g dried longan flesh
6 red dates, pitted
600ml hot water

Seasoning
1 tsp salt (optional)

Method :
Rinse all the herbs, longans, dates and drain.
Gut chicken and wash thoroughly.
Cut into four pieces. Rinse and drain.
Put all the ingredients into a double-boiler pot. Add the hot water.
Cover and double-boil for 2 1/2 to 3 hours.
Add salt, if preferred, and serve soup hot.

Steamed Herbal Chicken

Ingredients :
500g chicken or 2 drumsticks
1/2 tsp sugar
1 tsp light soy sauce
1/8 tsp pepper
Salt to taste
1 tsp sesame oil
2 slices old ginger

Chinese herbs :
25g or 2 tbsp kei zhi — washed
20g tong sum
20g hwai san
2 pieces pak kei
5 red dates — stones removed
10 pieces dried longan flesh — washed
1 piece greased-proof paper

Method :
Clean chicken and marinate with seasoning.
Heat wok with 1 tbsp oil. Fry ginger until fragrant. Add in all the herbs and 2 tbsp hot water and stir for 2-3 minutes. Dish out and put aside.

Double fold greased-proof paper and place on a deep dish. Put the chicken in the centre then pour the herbs over. Bring the four corners of the paper up to the centre and twist to seal, then tie with a thick string.

Bring a steamer with water to a rolling boil. Place the deep dish with the bundle of herbal chicken to steam for 1 - 1 ½ hours. Top up the water in the steamer if necessary.

When done, remove dish, open up the bundle and serve hot.

Ginger Wine Chicken

350g chicken — remove skin and cut into bite-size pieces

Seasoning
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
a dash light soy sauce
1/2 tsp sugar
1 tbsp rice wine or Wincarnis tonic wine ( or DOM)

1 tbsp oil
1 tsp sesame oil
5 slices old ginger
10g wood fungus (mok yee)
3 tbsp ginger juice
1 cup Wincarnis tonic wine
1/2 cup hot water

Method :
Soak wood fungus in water for 30 minutes. Drain and cut into slices. Marinate chicken with seasoning for 10-15 minutes.

Heat 1 tbsp oil and 1 tbsp sesame oil in a deep saucepan. Fry the ginger slices till fragrant.
Put in wood fungus and marinated chicken and fry for 5 minutes.
Pour in ginger juice, wine and water, then cover the saucepan and allow to boil for 5 minutes. Lower the flame and simmer till chicken is tender and gravy is fairly thick.

sunsweet
ya the red dates is the main thg
usualy i onli make red date w longan for confinemnt onli

thanx for the recipe =)

pprincess
i know if we opt for classic then after we pop... the gynae who will check on us will not b the same gynae we see at TPS.. so i tink thr is a difference in classic or premier package..
i wasnt even offer classic.. they offer mi premier straight away and i ask bout the classic one
end up i still take premier cos i prefer my current gynae to check on me

mashy, yes i am having loose stools & dirraheo since thursday.

yen, dr ang told mi to take 2 tablets a day le. not sure why there is a difference?

HBB

didnt know it's like that and im not prepared to pae for the premier. bcos premier u need to pae the deposit right ont he spot. so i jus sign up for classic. as classic doesn require u to pae deposit on the spot. jus pae the deposit when u admit.

the staf there also didnt explain clearly the both times i ask. nw make me look like idiot. but duno why isit so that if we take classic we cannt see back our gynae or at TPS. it's a veri stupid ting.

Back from my checkup. I'm borderline GD. So durian, ice-cream etc are no-no from now on....
Did my strep B test too. I think my gynae is good =) no discomfort or pain during the test.
Amniotic fluid suddenly went from good last week to low this week. Gynae predict probably will give birth in about 2 weeks, baby at about 37 weeks.... Expect baby to be about 2.5kg at birth =(

lamagier - 2.5 kg at birth is good what. why you sad leh ? and only borderline GD, so after popping will be alright already, nothing to worry right ? i wish my twins can be 2.5 kg at birth....

HBB,
thanks for the info...so u mean the CL wld know wad to cook n wad not to right?..haha..

so far, i hasnt had piles b4.. n i hope i wont get it..=X but from preggie till now, had a period of constipation n now its more to like able to go to the toilet on an almost daily basis..*esp each time aft meal* i eat lots of fruits n drink lots of fruit juices.. so maybe..thats the reason? those who have piles mus tk care ya.. cos one of my parent in the CC was hospitalised tat time due to her piles burst..n she told me tat she had it b4 or during pregnancy..so she say if can, mus try to cure early..if not aft birth, sometimes quite dangerous as they mite jus burst anytime..n will be very painful..

Lamagier.
Borderline GD shud be okay la.. jus rem to cut down on yr sugared stuff lor.. =) don worry..BB will be fine too.. =) stay strong yea?..

ya lamagier dont nd to worry ya. just try to cut down on sweet stuff in the meantime. u r reaching towards the end of e pregnancy already. 37 weeks is aso ok for bb to be out.

Re: Homemade rice wine
I just bought homemade yellow rice wine from a medical hall in bukit batok (recommended by my sister) for $13 a bottle. If anyone wants the address of the shop, please PM me. Cos I remember some mummy posted that it's illegal to sell homemade wine.... Don't want to post the address here and get the shop owner into trouble.

Hi bestberries,
cos typical singleton is about 2.8kg-3.5kg... i took so much durian and mummy milk and my singleton still so slight...

Doc said having GD also higher potential to develope diabetes later on in life compared to normal people. Worst part is I don't fit any of the symptom of having GD (excessive weight gain, bigger baby, larger tummy), so I'm guessing if I really develope diabetes, it will also be harder to pick up on the symptoms too...

HBB & Kim
Welcome to the piles club.. heeheehee.. im so bad... I had piles from a young age, mine is genetic as mum got it real bad.. she has gone for the op to remove since but it stil comes back.. Mine was bad as its internal so once poo it comes out and have to push it back in or else its really painful..

Remedy
Ask for those bullets from your gynae to insert.. normally 3-5 days it will do the trick.. n if real painful use extra cream to smear on the piles.. since preggy, i had problems pushing it back in at times so after washing it clean i use olive oil on a tissue to push it back in.. its quite effective so far as the lubricant glides it in.. hope tis can help you ladies..

Been nursing a cramp in my right arm this couple of days. Lifting stuff and exerting strength with my right just gives me a numbing ache above the elbow. Been to the gynae this morning for my 36weeks checkup, and she thought I might possibly be sleeping on my right, but I said it might be poor circulation from working at the com with a lowered wrist.

Got weight issue today, put on 2kg in the last 2 weeks, kinda embarassing cos I had to take my weight again before going in to see the gynae, she probably thought I registered the wrong weight. Got these inquisitive looks from the patients near my gynae's and LC Cheng's door looking at me with the nurse checking my weigh. *argh* So I'm in need of walking exercise everyday after dinner. lil'Joie put on 0.6kg to approx 2.8kg now, and the doc said we are good for natural delivery in 4 weeks. Told me that there will be internal examination every week now, and did my strep B culture today too. Hmm, she said the baby is down, and we can't see her head either on the monitor, though she still facing my right. Guess it's time for me to get on those fours more often to swing her around.

pprincess
i guess bcos those who wan to go TPS realy is wan exclusively 1 gynae to attend to them thus they hav such 'ruling'
i did nt know classic no need pay deposit on the spot thou...
so end up how?
i tink normal clinic can still see yr gynae rite? jus tat waitin time is v long

lamagier
dun b sad.. bb is of good weight at 2.5kg
jus a bit smaller than usual
so long as baby is healthy n can deliver safely its realy alrite =)

jes
ya CL will know wat to do and wat not to do
the onli irritating thg i can tink of is they r not pro breast feed haaaaaa
if they realy duno wat to do for u hor.. can ask them balik kampong liao lor

yan my piles nt painfuk jus tat is swelling n irritating me liek gt a pc of thg stuck thr LOL

i gt weird tummyache today duno isit the nasi lemak or otah i ate tis morning

Lamagier,
It'll be alright. Hang on till the 37 weeks. With good feeding after the baby's out, the lil'one can put on weight like other babies too.

Avoid food/drinks with loaded sugars, and probably monitor carbo intake, as excess carbo do turn into sugars. Go for the high-fiber foods like whole grains, or brown rice which digests much slower. Practice reading nutrition labels when you go supermarket, it'll help you to monitor what goes into your processed foods. I'm going to try out some organic cereal I bought from CarreFor today (kinda sad after my checkup today too, but need to watch what I'm eating as well)

Jes,
my hb's sqn at sembawang. urs? :D

lamagier,
currently i'm in week 37. est weight for bb now only 2.3kg. my gynae told me as long as bb over 2kg is safe.
i personally dont like durian but i ate quite alot during my pregnancy hoping bb will gain more. hmmm but it looks like i'm the one gaining instead. haha.

anyway is just an estimation. plus minus. who know bb might be even heavier when pop?

re: baby weight
yeah, dun need to worriew so much abt bb weight. my fren was told that her bb is underweight. end up durng delivery the bb is so big that my fren cant push out the bb and haf to b vaccum out instead. doc est bb to be abt 2.3kg at birth but bb came out to be 3.3kg at birth instead! such a big difference! small bb is okies. can alwaes nurse after tat :)

HBB
i also didnt know that classic didnt need to pae deposit on the spot till i went for the financial counselling on my last appt. end up i take classic lor. bcos everiting is done except for me to sign on the package form. and me and my dad both didnt haf the cash at that ime to pae for the deposit.

but i dun understand wad TPS haf such ruling bcos even at specialist clinic u are also seen by the same gynae as well as it is also under private. jus that the scanning machine will not b in the same room and u haf to go another dept for the scan. not sure hw isit gonna work. and if it's gonna b more exp den at TPS, im sure gonna complain. as at TPS, my consult + routine urine test and scan s onli abt $74.90.

i went to the specialist clinic once as i cannt make it for the time for the TPS clinic and was charged $55.60 jus the consult alone. an i doubt the scan will cost just $19 or so right. jus dun understand why dey haf such ruling and not made known to us til we sign for the delivery package. sigh.

aniwae, when u sign for the package, did dey take aniting from u? bcos the lady who attended to me seems quite new. as she doesn even haf a staff pass and was holding a temp pass by the HR. and she actualli return everi single ting that i sign back to me. she did took out a new file, supposed to file my stuff i guess, but end up she return everiting to me and the new file is left empty once again -.-

pprincess
i dun tink the normal specialist clinic is under private leh
r they?

err yes they return mi almost everythg but i cant rem if i did sign double and they keep 1 copy anot
mayb for u since u din pay so they dun need keep anythg?

HBB
normal specialist clinic is under private. only clinic C is under subsidised de.
ehs, tat i never ask, dey gimmie i jus take. until in the car den i realise. hahas.

Thanks mummies.
Yah, I guess I should count my blessing that no serious complications etc. Baby healthy, just slightly skinner....

Hi Kim,
I remembered you saying gynae showed you yoda drinking and sucking. Mine showed me my gal sucking on placenta today, supposed to be practising her breastfeeding moves =) Said it's an impt reflex baby needs to have... said one of the babies she delivered before couldn't learn to swallow and died after birth.,...

HBB
mine also PRC, but she speak english throughout. like 1 word 1 word de. and worst is, my dad duno english mar. so i talk to my dad in chinese. and she dun bother to translate nor talk to us in chinese. jus listen to wad i sae and dun try to help me or gimmie additional info 1 lor!

aniwae, ive a fren who see at TPS and took classic, she sae that she was being transferred to the specialist clinic! sigh!

am i too possessive ? yesterday my MIL said i buy too many clothes for bbies, and told me to stop buying. in my heart i'm thinking if you hadnt bought so many things in the first place it wld have been just right. i just dont like MIL to buy my bb stuff, cos usually its (a) UGLY (b) EXPENSIVE (c) MAKES ME LOOK EL CHEAPO. anyway today she bot clothes again for my bbies. i'm so irritated. told her why she still buy when she told me i got too much ?? arggghhh..... i feel like returning the stuff again... just like the hello kitty bag incident....

what do u think ?

Hmm..didnt know piles must push it back in..had it out for long time , almost numb to the feeling of hving "something" there..hmm..not dangerous rite?

Finally had my hair cut today..from mid back to shoulder lenght..my stylist do not recommend bob or page boy cos got natural wave so will be messy during maternity..at least can still tie up now..

bestberries
its normal tat u wan buy thg for ur own babies lar
cos u love them mah
prob ur mil is poseessive? haa she onliw an bb to wear her stuff? oops.. not tryin to sow discord.. but mayb she is overly keen to show her love to ur babies lor...
aiya u gt the right to buy! u no ask her for $$ wat!!!

ignore her ok...

mrsc
ya can tie up will b good hee then wun feel so pek check when hair fall all over face if cant tie

bestberries, i believe all 1st time mummies will tend to buy buy buy. somemore u having twins. everything buy must be double.

my hb been 'begging' me to stop buying liao.

woman dont shop, how to call ourselves woman right? :p

hbb, twinkle - yah i think i will ignore the stuff mil buys. and wear only mine, hahaha, then if the clothes i buy wear out then buy hers. so if dont get chance to wear hers, then can sell it off as 2nd hand. ngiak ngiak ngiak

hi, i have the following to let go:
1. 1 unopened tin of similac mum - $15. giving away an opened tin with purchase.
2. 2 packs of drypers size S (64pcs each) - $25.
3. Avent teats 2, i box - $5.50.

PM me to deal. collection at sengkang.

Went for my 37wk checkup today. No VE so far. My gynae said he'll be away next Wed til Sun
I'm so worried I'll pop during this time. It'll be my 37-38wks. The nurse said just keep fingers crossed cos' many babies born around this time. Haiz! HBB, I wish I could be like u now, to hang on til week 39 or even 40! Replacement gynae will be Dr Eunice Chua. Anyone with her currently? Wondering if she'd do episiotomy becos' my gynae (Dr Paul Tseng) won't do episiotomy. That's one thing I like about him!

Sunsweet
Thanks for the recipe!

Had my 37wks check today too...sad that my bb's head is still not engaged. But gynae said most of the time, bb's head will be engaged near to delivery. So i'm praying hard that he will cooperate
Haiz, my gynae was shocked to see i put on 2kg in a wk. So i'm gg to cut down my durians fr now on. BB is est to be around 3kg now....really dun wan him to be too big.

Lamagier, i think 2.5kg sounds gd. Usually it is only an estimated weight...bb may come out to be heavier, so u dun worry too much.

kittyng,
short update, my bb still in breech position. sob sob! my gynae said will help to turn him manually next week. hope he cooperate. successful rate 60%

any mummies has experience letting the gynae turn their bb manually? care share?

Bestberries, better to have more than less. like what sam says, mbe u shld flash what you like bb to wear & get her to buy. ;p

Twinkle, my gynae nv say she'll help me. She jus ask me to wait patiently.... We hav 3 more weeks to go, so let's try to sweet talk our bbs as much as we can. JIAYOU! Hope yr bb can turn down soon.

bestberries, i think as mothers, we always give our best to our bbs. How to resist buying things for them??? Sometimes it's jus hard to get the message across, esp the older generations hav their own way of caring and showing their love. Jus accept it as a token ba

LS: Paul Tseng is my doc as well. I'll be seeing him on Monday before he goes away. Been having lots of BH and I'm in my 38week so if the baby decides to arrive when he's away, he's getting Dr Lai to cover for him since I'm delivering at Mt A instead of TMC.

Dr Lai doesn't do episiotomy as well so I'm quite ok if he has to deliver my baby.

hi there.. sry to bother u mummies so late at nite.. mummies who r delivering at tmc, do u noe if charges for birth order oso applies dere?.. like for eg for 4 bedded i understand we hv to deposit abt $800, but since dis is my 4th kid, will i hv to pay more den dat?..

ladies - ok i guess i will try to do some catalogue flashing... except now i'm home bound dunno where to find catalogue. and i guess also more better than less... well worse come to worse i'll sell it off at ebay and make some pocket money *grinz*

ls
dun worry.. bb will guai guai wait for gynae Come bk one

kitty
ya some bb onli had e head engaged jus before popping

do ur relvic rotation! it will guide bb into e pelvic area!!

I dn tink gynae can do anythg to make them engaged bt to turn or chg position, its possible.

HBB,
hee, I'm guessing prob be your turn to pop next....

Bestberries,
Hahaha, yah can sell off. Else have storage problem....

Sigh... My turn to have home 'falling to pieces'.... Was cleaning the kictchen sink and 'blur blur' pulled out something that I wasn't supposed to... Now the husband is out buying spare piping to repair the sink...

LS,
Hope your baby will be patient and wait for your gynae to be back.

kitty,
Hope your baby will get engage soom. I'm crossing my fingers and hope baby will come out slightly above 2.5kg. My colleague was saying his daughter weigheg 2.5kg at full term, now cute and chubby, so no need to overly obsess over baby weight. Hope he's right.

Jillian
Wahhh u're 1wk ahead of me
I've been having BH also, sometimes could be quite intense but at times not. I'm also choosing Mt A so I hope the covering Dr shud be Dr Lai also. Probably Dr Paul tot I'll be delivering @TMC. I'll call the clinic tomorrow to confirm. Thanks for this important info! I hope your bb guai2 & could wait too

HBB & lamagier
Thank u both! Really hope so. I didn't have a good sleep last night thinking about this. Now that everyone wishes bb's head to be engaged & doing pelvic rotation exercise, is there any way or exercise to delay bb from coming out? Kekekeke

HBB
What week r u in now exactly? 39wk plus I suppose?

HBB
remembered u saying u had asked to change the dishes from natal essentials containing dang gui right? i just had my first meal delivered today. then i realised that there wer quite a number of soup n dish with danggui. not supposed to hv it right? yest my mum didnt know that bf cannot take danggui, cooked me mee sua with kidney n danggui. can really feel the effect liao.

what else in the menu did u change? i only asked to change liver n no chicken/egg for 1st wk/.

a bit disppointed this round. now they dun serve their soup in those porcelain double boil container. n their red dates soup no longer in the thermal flask. all now packed in plastic containers and put in thermal bag only.

LS: Yes call and check with them tomorrow. I've heard a lot of good comments about Dr Lai so if he is your covering doctor then don't worry