(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Hmmmm, seems like we mummies all love jap food. Maybe the next gathering with our bbs can be a jap place

to realy bf
alot of thg to sacrifice
evenn when gg out, sleeping or eatign food we dun like (but gt for the milk)
no joke
wat to do
for the goodness of the lil lmoo moo cowiessss we must hang on yea!

i miss sashimi.. i also miss my stilettos.. and coffee.. and lying on my tummy..

ok ok, i better stop thinking about those things now! keke..

Yup HBB, but we all were eating cooked food! Next time we muz all feast on raw food when we can. But it'll be quite time away i guess....hahaha

Kitty, HBB, Sam, Coolkero:
Actually, I violate the rule abit, I had sushi & sashimi few times during my pregnancy.. and had Yusheng at CNY too.. My MIL tried to stop me but I sneak to eat. But I am very strict in eggs and meat that are not fully cooked, so I sacrificed the medium rare steak and ya kun soft cooked eggs since preg.

Enchante, I also miss my stilettos, and my sex & the city night-outs too!!! sob sob

Another food/plant that my hb stops me from eating is yam because he thinks that yam is poisonous, though I think my mil also don't really entirely believes him either. So I googled it, and yeah it is poisonous for some species of it, but the ones we eat should be okay when cooked/boiled. Guess it mattered more to him than to me, cos Teochew really love their or-ni (yam paste), but I listened to him anyways since I was too lazy to check it up.

Milo I think got malt leh, saw it on a poster in Mac's promoting the drink with the mention of malt.

kim
i do violate rules
depend on situation.
but i jus eat a lil bit esp recently sicne doc say ok to pop
so dh allow mi 1 to 2 pc when we go jap restaurant.. at least if kenna food poisoning.. onli need to pop the bb out no need worry bout m/c

yes u said it my medium rare steak!!!
js now i went to hav lucnh w dh
then i ask for well done the waiter was like.. ehhh that wun b v nice.. haaa but wat to do??? LOL

coolkero
i also haa
i guess so long as ur milk supply establish then u start drinking will b ok liao
since now the concern is the supply

hbb
cannot eat raw food? i asked my gynae, he said ok to eat liao. going to hv my salmon spree after my confinement.

kitty
mine's not exactly laptop. it's the netbook. hb brought it here for me knowing i'll be bored. no tv prog at this kind of timing on weekdays. can't be sleeping whole day too... keke

kimberly
will see how lor... my milk came in last night. that's why feeling v v full now. like what the nurses here said, got to bully my gal a bit n refuse her some sleep to make her drink.

HBB!!! I just checked Milo listed "Malt extract (contains Barley)" as the first ingredient!!! I have been having milo with lots of fresh milk all these while woh!! I wonder if this "malt" and the Maltose are related?!?!?

enchante,
I miss my Kopi Gao too...heard if want to BF, also cannot take Kopi too.. sigh.. so i think I have to hold tat for sometime..

BBEthan, the nurse there so cute.. Well, I think you can express and keep for later, dun deprive you gal lah, so heart ache leh..

bbethan
he is ok w u eating raw food when bf? then good lar
some gynae r v liberal while some r not... haiz..

kim i not sure leh

jamie
the kopi milk might prob keep ur bb awake lor haha....
duno if drink aft feeding bb and wait for nxt few hours then feed again works anot
since caffine stay in body for quite long rite?

Re: sashimi

I was asking my jap colleague if jap ladies in jap still take sashimi when they are pregnant.

She says yes.. but she mention maybe the fishes there are more fresh then what we can get from here.

So we can only envy the jap mommies having to enjoy their sashimi

fluffy sheep/jamie
now can drink coffee liao i tink
cos ehh bb more or less develope and no worry bout they cant absorb nutrients
jus wat i tink la...

aft birth i tink if realy need.. jus drink lor..

i feel soemtimes hor.. if we get too deprive and stuff liek coffee which can wake 1 up.. might b of good.. at least not so pek chek when u r tired?

drink it liek aft u hav already feed bb
since gotto wait a few hours before nxt feed.. hopefully it helps =)

HBB,
ya lor, caffaine stays in your body for as long as 3 days I think.. thats why detox needs at least 2-3 days.. haha.. Tats why I find tat bb very active when I drink tea cos I think keeps her more "alert".. haha.. but i try to drink it in the morning a cup a day only..

Bigger Stomach
Hi, do you mummies find that your stomach is getting bigger these days? I find it so myself.. it seems to grow bigger suddenly over the week.. I take my hats off to Beverly and bestberries who are having twins. I already cant breath/walk properly and I think twins will be even worse off than those who are singletons..

jamie
yes for mi the caffine effect is about 2 to 3 days
so i monkey ard for 2 to 3 days aft i drink coffee or tea hahaa
i certainly dun wan my girl to monkey ard for that long!! hhahaaa

my friend say my tummy bigger but i dun see a diff myself hee.. 1 even say
din see mi for 2 days suddenly tummy drop lower already

Jamie, my tummy is v stretched and always out of shape, so i guess my bb's head still not engaged cox he can still move around.

But my tummy got some stretchmarks already at the bottom....regret not applying the cream enough earlier

HBB, kim, i also bend the rules a bit, i love my medium steak. but if too much blood then hubby will confiscate. hmmm, ok no more milo for me, change to ribena.

HBB, wat u cooking 2nite, ahahahaha....

like hbb n kim i mst confess i took salmon sashimi and yu sheng too during the cny period and the worse was i forgot abt me being pregnant and my hubby oso forgot and i had a medium well steak too during my 1st trimester!!! kekeekekek

But i was very careful wif wat i eat once i step into 2nd trimester.. hope not too late..

Jamie
Kopi is ok still but not the typical kopi gao u take from kopitiam coz those r very high in caffiene and high in coloration.. Doc advise me to take the 3 in 1 which r more diluted in caff and deem it ok even if i bf.. Or nescafe/UCC instant coffee with fresh milk is another alternative...

coolkero
steak w loads of blood is the yummiest...arghhhhh
today my dh n my day off
we had lunch out today (his treat to mimolette) and dinenr will b w my family to advance celebrate father day hehe...

but i am jus tinkin of cooking my pasta sauce now to freeze for my confinement bf
duno wan cook it today or over the weekend haaaaa

yan
till now u n bb are ok.. means everythg was ok.. no harm done! hehe

gina
some ppl body is weaker.. cant take the watermelon n liang stuff or risk having m/c
for mi while i now my body can take it.. my dh stilld un allow mi and i still avoid cos my pregnancy was quite a miraculous one so we try to b kiasu and protect the baby hehe

ang moh also take all funny thg when they preggy.. event ake wine! and they hav no prob
so i guess if ur body ok w it.. jus go ahead =)

Peanut
No prob, i guess as much.. I hope i be like ur gf can lose 1kg every session.. I have put on like 24kg so far!!! Horrendous rite.. Was 43kg now 67kg.. Really pray hard if i can get to 45-48kg i be more than thankful already... hahaahaa All my friends n family really teasing me about the huge amt of weight i have put on as i have nev hit over 45kg in my life..

Gina
Dont know the cost thou, coz i do know quite a few couples are doin it with my gynae so thought it could be comparable pricing.. I only know its a much faster process when doin it at private.

Note: Hospital tends to serve Milo as tea break beverage.. so if you are not keen on that skip it

Also get your hubby to prep the red date tea at home and bring to you when u have delivered cos for those who are practicing not drinking plain water, you have to start drinking red dates tea only from Day 1..

sheryl, yeah, diarrhea or loose stools a sign of labour. I'm having it recently too, but I think that's bcos of my increase in fruits and vege intake. Did you change your appetite lately?

kittyng
My stomach also out of shape.. bigger and out of shape.. haha.. But i think its cos the bb moves.. I can feel her body cos one side of my tummy will be harder than the other side.. and sometimes its lopsided..

Yan,
Ok, thanks, maybe to give in to my craving, I may take 3-in-1 kopi and dilute it.. :D

Oh SIANZZZZ! Didn't know that cannot take raw food during breastfeeding! There goes my date with my gf whom juz given birth. We were missing out buffets, sashimi etc during our pregnancies that we made our husbands promise us to go for a big feast at Shangri la buffet after confinement. SIANZZZ liao.

Sigh, I do go a little nutz/feel frustrated when I'm in the midst of enjoying some foods that I like and then have someone interrupt me saying not good for bb. I think by now we've gone thru enough misery avoiding our favourite foods for such a long time, breaking the rules for that once/twice in the 8 months so far isn't going to break us.

Although I thought I was safe to eat just a tiny bit of celery last week for dinner, and in actual fact I didn't even eat it, just put the sauce from the vegetable stirfry into my rice, I was having contractions-like tummyaches the whole night. That made me a little scared. Seems like I really need to learn my lesson well sometimes too. Geez, just frustrating...

peanut/rest of mummies who wan to eat raw food
check w ur gynae/PD bout it 1st

i was fed w very discipline info on raw food when bf tat y i shared that cant eat
if ur PD n gynae say ok and u r comfy w it.. ehh jus go ahead lar... hehe

sam
ehh even e sauce fr the vege stir fry gave u contraction??
OH MY goodness
u know aft i read bout u saying celery make us hav contraction.. every time i see celery i feel like buying LOL

Talking abt raw or not fully cooked food, I took half boiled eggs when I didn't know I was conceived. Ended up, body auto rejected, puke and diarrhea badly. I never have this problem with half-boiled eggs at all. So I reckon, your body really may give you signs when you ate something that you are not suppose too.

HBB,
yar, celery is one of my favourite vegetables. Until that one time I was having tummyaches for most of the night from my vege soup with celery in it, I googled it and found it to cause contractions, I was staying away from it. Didn't expect the sauce can also give off the same degree of effect.

Hi all...anybody know confinement food recipe? I'm not familiar with this and I won't have the CL. Is there any website that I can refer to, what to buy, then how to cook, etc?

BF: if drink coffee or alchohol, how long it will stay in the body? or how many time we have to express out the BF and throw?

HBB, but I think your info is right. Afterall, uncook food are more prone to bacterial attack, so if we consume them and pass on to bb, that's not v.wise. I usually believe in scientific reasons, rather than myth. So is my gynae, even pineapples and watermelons, he said that if really have to eat or accidentally ate it, it's ok, just moderately. But he strongly forbids raw food and herbs which are not prescribe by professional physicians. I still need to thank you for sharing
else I'm going to overlook.

ETirto
basicaly confinement food.. is loaded with ginger n cook w seasame oil

so u fry egg with sesame oil n ginger
fry rice also w the above.

some ppl do not eat chicken n egg for the 1st 7 to 10 days for fear that wound will have pus.

Black fungus aka wood ear
is good for the 1st week to 10 days of confinement as it help tp purge out the stale blood fr ur body.
mix it in any stir fry veggie or steam fish when u cook will be good
some ppl add it into the vinegar pork trotter as well.

steam fish with mushroom top w ginger n sesame oil is a gd dish to eat daily if not jus pan fry w the same old ginger n sesame oil

brinjal is a gd dish too for u to move ur bowel as we tend to scare to gek when we go toilet... its full of fiber.. sure make thg smooth (as confirm by my sis when i cook for her)
i usualy cut the brinjal n steam it for 5 to 10 mins. then i cook the gravy with abalone sauce and mince pork. then top it over the steam brinjal =) u also can use fish paste but i avoid using that cos i tink quite salty

can blend 4 to 5 tomato into puree then add mince meat in to boil n eat w rice too. v yummy!
but if bb gt jaundice u might wan to avoid this dish 1st

Thanks a lot HBB, will save it inside my cookbook. Where to buy black fungus? is it sold in plastic, dry kind, then have to soak first is it? Then the steam fish, any fish is ok?
How about all the herbs that you all talking about...I remember somebody write in chinese character but I cannot read chinese leh. I'm a chinese but Indonesian, so I'm totally blur about the confinement. For my #1, I just eat anyhow and got 1 relative know how to prepare and help me with the cooking with lots of ginger and sesame oil. But without the herb thingy...one of my friend said she took 1 whole chicken with the herb soup everyday, then she said got lot's of energy. No wonder I was easily tired after my #1 was born. May be I didn't do the confinement properly.

Etirto
can buy black fungus at ntuc
buy the big one
yes u r right need to soak it before use
i will eat threadfin for confinement or salmon.

is ok to do w/o herbs
i belive more on balance diet than supplementing w herbs =)
if u wan herbs and duno much bout them jus go to the medical shopp and ask them for the prepack one
dun let them know u r indo chinese lar.. else they sure chop u one
jus say wan those prepack herbs =)