(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

mashy, yes the teachers just want easy way out, but i have a fren whose daughter born on xmas, initially very blur in class but she catch up very fast as she went to k1 and k2, now in p1. and my fren who is a teacher say although it seems like girls pick up faster in terms of speech and reading, but boys will eventually even out by primary 3.

kittyng, hmmm...agency also good ahhh, take care of everything, hehehe, i'm using my friend's CL. will know tomorrow wat she wants me to get. hehehehe, but my mil insist on showering with ginger cooked water, i hope the CL wont find it troublesome, so scared they have conflicts later.

HBB

are u catering food? Coz the catering ones come with danggui. I remember how yucky it tasted.

coolkero
i tink CL wun find ginger cook w water ma fan lar
cos they r suppose to cook herbs w water for u to bath anyway =)

the menu i saw onli 1 or 2 time the soup is w dang gui
i wun take the item with dan gui
the rest of the item r w/o danggui

i love the taste and smell of dang gui
even pre preg days i cook dang gui w chicken or porridge. jus tat since i wan to bf and so i am avoding it at all cost in case risk my supply

coolkero

yah lor, mine is a boy somemore, so doubly slow. He only started opening his golden mouth to talk at 2.5yrs old! Will need to wait till later before he finally catches up. That day he was singing a song happily with actions from the moment he leaves sch till he fell asleep for his nap. So the next day i asked the teacher if she taught this song. And the teacher was so surprised that he could sing the song coz he was wandering thru out and didn't sit down to sing the songs with them.

Jamie, my other girlfriend who went KKH pte/ 1st class (I dunno the term) and I compared our consultation and is indeed no diff and somethings she had to pay more.. and they screw up her med which she took while BF her bb. She was so furious.

HBB, I have good feelings for her too! She kept saying "if the blood test is positive..." so I kept reminding her it's positive! Even her nurse also told her to have positive thoughts! But I must say, the nurse at the clinic was very very motherly and very comforting. Gf told me that nurse is the most caring nurse in the clinic, she held her hand in the theatre cos hubby on here, and the nurse told her, "ok, don't be scared ok? I hold you hand ok?"

kim
thats a v nice nurse
this is wat i call nurse hahaaa... some nurse r so unsympathetic lor!

coolkero can eat water melon in small amt liao =)
i even took mangosteen haaa

Mommies, I just remembered, my friend said we can also use rice wine to wipe our body during confinement. She said she did not shower every day, so the days she did not shower, she wipe down with rice wine. I think it'll be expensive for me cos I only like the rice wine with rose scent..

HBB, mashy & kim, u are really great! Can buy the herbs and boil them yourself for confinement. Really salute you all! I know nothing abt all these, as well as the recipe so leave everything to CL.

Jamie, i m still taking birdnest now...taking it once every 2 days.

kitty
oh i ask the medical hall ppl then write down the quantity needed =)
anyway i do not intend to take alot of herbs
i also gg to ask gynae nxt week during my last visit if he ok w me takign ehrbs
cos some gynae do not agree w the mummies taking herbs

Have any1 heard of the place call ' yuan zhong xiu'
dh say they seem to hav names giving service.. wonder if its good anot

baby's jaundice level has finally come down after 1 day under the lights. now she's so sleepy she doesnt drink much. poor girl. n poor mummy here with 2 big boobs waiting for her to empty. hope her jaundice level jsut stay low. will try to upload her pic when get home. not very used to using laptop to type n upload stuff. but wonder if i hv the time to do all these once i get home. enjoying my stay now cos can really sleep n eat n sleep n eat
no #1 to disturb me but missed him terribly. haven't seen him for 3days.

HBB, my mil very very pantang on cannot touch tap water leh, so shower water must wait until it's cool then can shower. last time so hot i cannot tahan, mix wif tap water quietly. brush teeth also must use cooked water....

mashy, your boy is a smart boy, i guess he's the type who like to observe in class probably shy (so teacher thought he dun know), you have to praise him more when he perform at home, hehehehehe.

kitty

hhaa, u must have accidentally added me in. I know nuts lah. Just take order from CL. haha.

I didn't really take much herbs during my #1 confinement except for the 2 week catering service (Totally yucky!). If i'm not having CL, i will prob just order normal food. But since i'm having CL might as well make full use of her. :p I heard from my friends who used her as CL that her food is yummy. So looking forward to it.

kim
agree with jamie that sometimes private end up charging the same amt as govt hospital.. Mt E does IVF too and im sure not so much hassle and trouble, and most probably the cost around the same or mayb jst slightly more.. You can ask ur gf to enquire.

Herbs
My mum works in tis industry as a wholesaler to the local medical halls. According to her, its during pregnancy that we use dong cong cao and bird nest.. Its used during tis period for us to bu qi and give us the energy and stamina in aid of our labour coz thats when we women get really weak from all the lost of blood and many other factors.. If we bu well before labour, she was telling me everything will be quite smooth and wont have much trouble recovering fast during our confinement, hence she say no need dong cong cao and birdnest during confinment rather just the basic herbs used is enough.. Hope tis info helps..

Oh dear! Thanks to HBB, I just remembered Muffingirl asked me about the malt tea that depletes milk too..

Muffingirl, sorry I cant really recall your qn, but here's what I know: the malt tea is made from maltose. just melt 100g maltose into 2ltr water, bile till maltose dissolved. This is for those who does not want to BF to ease engorgement. Nothing mentioned about malt in other form. So I suppose other malt drink (Holicks/ Milo) should be safe when we BF.

bbethan
did u bring ur pump to hosp? try pumping out the milk yea=) good chance too establish ur supply hehe
rest well!!!
ur #1 not allowed in the hosp?

Kim,
I think I will shower everyday! if not, i will wipe myself with soap or perfume scented water.. haha.. I think its me, I perspire easily and gets stinky fast.. haha Oh yes, I hope your gf is successful too! Good of you to remind her to be positive, I think its very important to stay that way too cos its only the beginning of the long process..

HBB,
Ya, i am very heaty now.. went toilet to do big business yesterday.. very painful and got blood.. think its constipation, today went again and feel painful too possibly due to the abrasion.. sigh.. I really need to stop taking heaty food.. Am going to stop chilli too from tonight onwards.

hbb
yuan zhong xiu has a few branches right? one at chinatown, parkway, etc. i find his verry commercialised. not too sure good or not.

haiz... wasted $148 selecting a csect date. now got to spend another $100 for naming. naughty gal... :p

HBB

yes, have seen it ard. I think vivo has 1 branch. Usually u'll see the shop adorned with lot of crystals and there's a tv outside showing some fellow talking.

bbethan
great that your bb's jaundice is coming down. Enjoy your stay at the hospital! SO when will u be discharged?

coolkero
yah, agree that he's shy with outsiders. My cousin asked me if he even talks! Hahaha, he does but just to us.

Hi Kitty/Yen,
I dunno why cannot take birdnest.. haha, seriously cos my MIL says dun need already.. so I never get to eat them again.. According to her, cannot eat anymore cos i will get too "bu" or heated or.. seriously I know nuts abt all the chinses herbs.. I just eat whatever she gives me.. I also never knew that birdnest is "bu" i tot its just good for skin and lungs..
Anyways, I taking white fungus now, which i heard its also very good for heatlh. I really dun mind the change in diet. :D

coolkero
u gt Cl so no worries bout touchign tap water
im sure if the CL is a real traditional one she wun find it ma fan lar
dun worry hehe
ya for the very traditional even wash hand also must use boil water kind! but sg water too clean liao no need lar haa
jus tat old ppl they duno the real reason why is thr a need to boil the water 1st.. they jus follow
so since u gt CL
jus sit bk n relax hehe

yan
thanx for the tips
i tink i din bu well during pregnancy thou *sheepish* cos i onli take 4 to 6 times of dong cong cao haha
even dh nag me bout it...

kim
ya malt too i rem u said.. duno bout horlicks leh but its too sweet for mi thou...
milo contain malt?

my gf told mi everytime she take bird nest the nxt pump session she gets more milk
duno hw true!!!

but i know stuff like oats, banana giv thicker milk

hbb
i didnt bring pump. i scared got over supply. cos my gal only feed 3hrly. LC advised me to see how first. if really extra, then pump out. if not, let the body adjust. cos if pump will stimulate more n later v diff to reduce. they r now very full but luckily not blocked yet. hopefully she'll will be less sleepy soon cos now don't need to be under the lights anymore. so will slowly length her feeding time.

we scared #1 will be very sticky to me n fuss when we bring him here. plus now i'm still recovering fr my wound. dun want to carry him or let him accidentally kicked into me. so decide to leave him at home. if hb can come to visit me early today, will try to bring him here cos today feel so much better.

jamie
aiyo better stop ur heaty food liao! time to drink coconut hehe

but birdnest is not bu leh
is more like "zi run"

bbethan/mashy
har?! so commercialised one? then i dun wan liao... will hunt for others then

HBB, i'm so happy to hear we can eat watermelon, i've been missing it since i was pregnant. the next thing i miss is sushi, my that horrible hubby always order and eat in front of me when we eat in sushi tei, soo irritating, cant wait to have a big feast of sashimi after confinement!!!!

Thanks Yan for info, my gf just did her embryo transfer (I pray all positive and no need anymore cycles).. She said she claimed $1.5k from govt cos she is Singaporean and her hubby is not so 50% of the 3k subsidy (pte hospital dun hv this), and claimed from her CPF 6k, so she paid about $500 for her treatment and the rest of the storage and freezing, and insurance is not included, (ya, IVF bbies needs insurance, in case it's multiples which usually due early and require ICU etc)

HBB, the rose scented one is call the "mei-gui-lu", friend asked me to use this for making the rice wine and it's about $25 or $26/bot. I got from Giant (vivo).

bbethan oic
hope ur girl will start drinking more soon hehe
u lucky mummy! got milk supply already! no need to worry manz...

rest well for the day..tomolo u can go home liao heehee

kim
oh mei gui lu
hee
ya its ex lor but smells v gd leh
nvm lar
jus for the mth.. spend on it nvm make urself happy haha

coolkero
if u bf.. also gotto b v careful of where u eat sashimi cos actualy not v encourageable... but i feel can eat .. jus be careful
mayb aft eating pump the milk for the rest of the day n throw away jus in case =)

hbb
Dont worry , got take abit better than dun take.. I didnt take much too, even thou mum was forcing it down my throat sometimes.. I think i ate more durian than any dong cong cao or birdnest.

jamie
your mil mayb rite, the main time to bu is during the 2nd trimester, and the 3rd trimester is to take it slow and easy already according to my mum.. Fungus does the same trick as birdnest totally as kim say "poor man birdnest" wahahahahahah.. I eat the fungus thru out the whole pregnancy to save cost if not everyday eat birdnest can go bankrupt..

opps mashy, hahaha...i agreed gd to leave everything to CL.

Coolkero, i oso miss sashimi. That's wat i told my hb too that i'm gg to eat the whole salmon fish up after delivery. But my hb not as bad....nv eat in front of me before haha

yan
hahahaha u so funny leh...
my dh lar say i no eat dong cong cao so much so my girl 'so small'
i told him thats the idea.. i scare she too big for mi LOL

Coolkero,
same! I miss my maguro so much, but since the first visit to the gynae when my hb asked the gynae safe to eat sushi a not, knowing that's one of my favourite weekend treats, I wasn't allowed any raw fish, or deep sea fish by him. Eating sushi is feels like a waste since then, what is going our for sushi without sashimi?

oh HBB, u mean if bf still cannot eat raw food isit? Din know that...lucky u mention. Will take note

BBethan, u brought yr laptop to hosp? Envy u to hav so much milk....your girl so lucky!

Kitty, your fav is salmon? My weakness is swordfish very very bad cos may have mercury content. I "eat revenge" before my ET cos I know I'll hv to abstain until bb's born.

kitty
ya
preferbly no raw food(even half boil egg for some ppl) cos samollena bacteria will b pass to the milk when we bf.
so if u realy do eat.. jus pump out n throw
waste some milk better than waste money gg doc for bb or risk bb life
deep sea fish also
liek sam mention cos of the mercury content might not b good for bb

kim i love sword fish also hee but i guess aft birth if realy eat sashimi can onli eat salmon liao =(
ok lar better than nothg haaaa

Yeah...kim, i love salmon SASHIMI! Was looking forward to eat since gg to deliver soon. But so sad after hearing wat hbb said...nvm, since already "ren" for 9mths, doing it that for a few more mths wun be that bad i hope.

RE: raw fish
I think we ought to save this page for our kid to see so they know we sacrificed so much out of loving them. (pats on shoulder to all moms)

yah sam i agree no sashimi no kick eating sushi, seeing my hubby eating sashimi ahh in front of me some more....must ban him from eating in front of me already. but at least now eat the cook ones wif soya sauce and wasabi is better than nothing lah.