(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Sunsweet,
Don't know leh, sounds like baby's stretching away. I woke around 5am today too, can't sleep no matter whatever sides I switch. But yesterday morning, sitting partially upright with pillows stacked behind/slumpping position was the only way I got some shuteye too.

Nowadays more and more difficult to sleep and difficult to get up, feels like the weight pulling at my sides. Going to sleep with baby still stretching away is just miserable. Sleeping on my back doesn't help much either and I've been noticing as expected of later stages of pregnancy where the tailbone area seems to get a little protruded/more fleshy I supposed, as the baby descends. So prolong resting on the back brings on the aches too. Don't know how man, trying to bear with it as much as I can, still seems like such a far way from delivery.

sheyl, my doc also give me ventolin, he said to help relax the womb so lesser contraction. but he said to stop taking when i reach 35 weeks, i'm in my 34 weeks now. i only take it when i am going out or need to do a lot of movement at home like packing. if just bedrest at home, i wont take it unless i feel the contraction. rest more, sit whenever it's possible and put your legs up. jia you till wed, a few days only...

kittyng, thanks for replying on CL. my dilemma is she is not from agency, my hubby was asking me to call her to ask wat to buy so he can get ready. i was actually planning to call her nearer to my due date. hmmm, can i ask u if your CL will get ready the list for you or we have to wait when she comes then bring her to buy??

Sheryl,
Dr Ang also gave me ventolin.. I saw he gave a lots of mummies too. I think he try to delay and prevent give birth when he is away.

coolkero

Re:CL

u can do either way, u can call and buy some herbs in advance, or u can wait till she's here then go and buy. I've called my CL and gotten a list from her to get the stuff already. Will prefer that she's at home taking care of us rather than going out shopping.

coolkero,
i am in my 34th week too. Gynea also says to stop taking next week. i think u r right, i should just take it when i have cramps. Else i have to take 6 pills a day! Crazy!
Do you think we will delivery earlier if we stop the pills?

enchante, i heard one mommies from this forum mention that she stop ventolin and next day deliver, hehehehe....i've been ordered bedrest by doc since i have spotting. and doc say after my 35 week he'll give me green light to walk about, but now tummy so heavy and so tiring, i dun think i'll enjoy shopping that much already, hehehehehehe.

coolkero,
oh dear, u better rest more ya. So you can carry the baby to at least 35th week. i don have any spotting, just some cramps before. i can still walk around fine and thrown in some shopping for good measure too haha! and I have a dinner this evening which i don intend to miss.
think i will follow ur advise and prehaps just take 2 pills a day.

looks like u might deliver anytime next week! you must be excited!

Gina,
I feel the same...but bo bian, dun want to take the risk.

Jamie (lostsangel),

yes I took durian once only.. but don't think it contribute cos I took very little.... must be the cheese and beef that I took frequently ; )

thanks mashy, hehehehe...take your advice just called her. she thought i pop already, hahaha, she say she call me tomorrow cos 2day last day of her confinement and the baby crying.

enchante, i'm still enjoying pregnancy now, hehehehe....hope baby can stay longer till near due date. and now school holiday so my #1 can stay at home also, got to spend more time wif her first. but at least my hubby takes care of housework cos of bedrest, hehehehehe. so i'm cherishing my "QUEEN" time till i pop haahahaha.

Wow...congrats Beverly for delivering 2 healthy bbies :)))

Elijah's mummy: Jiayou, jiayou!!!

HBB: Tks for the info on SCBB. They didn't tell me that I've to pay $2.6K. Who did u liase with? Maybe I shd just call them and setup an appt to see them next week.

Last night I had thai food and my bb was pretty active kicking me cause I hvn't been taking spicy food due to heart burn. Anyway, tried the tom yum soup and the lemon steam fish, its was really good and I didn't get any heart burn. Thank God!

Did some washing on cot sheets, towels and some bb clothes. Haven't pack my hospital bag yet....

thanks for all the encouragements!
hahah actually dr was saying i can enter any time now but will be induced... so am still waiting... rather wait then induce baby out.... :p
hahah he was saying that coz am putting on weight like there is no tomorrow! hahah

koko

i got the same info when i met up with the scbb personal....

hmmm now am wondering if will be tonight coz.. the hardening of the tummy is getting more frequent but rather painfree... just harden but only feel heaviness down there no pain... :p

HBB
Yea rite.. let her miss u & quick quick come out to see u..
Btw, photo collected? Share w/ us @FB if u dun mind

Jamie
Thanks! Yea, I also dun wish to stress out myself. The most I boh chup & close one eye for these 2 mths & settle everything when I come back from ML. My baby still 1st priority as for now.

HBB, mashy, Sam, Coolkero, Enchante, Gina & Yen

Thanks so much for the info on ventolin. On the card, it was indicated as ventolin. But the one he gave me is salbutamol which is the same as enchante. Now, I have a funny feeling that he gave me that to delay my delivery. Hmm.... sigh! I didnt took as what was instructed. Supposed to take twice a day. But only took once for the past few days. Mbe, I should be gd to take as per what was instructed. I dont want to be delivered by the covering gynae.

Yen, are you taking as per instructed? Did he ask you to take 2 pills daily for the next 1 week?

Sheryl,
I have to take 3 tablets daily... how come?
If based on EDD, u shld take more tablets than me right?
I taking as per instructed because my tummy very tight and got some backache this few days.

Ventolin,
I am asked to eat only 1 pill, 2mg each, 3 times a day... I think some docs really have different ideas on when is the best time to stop the ventolin.. For me, my doc says stop at week 36.. cos my medication will end then.. Oh, in way I realised that quite alot of mummies here experiencing some kinda contractions as early as week 34 and still doing well now! Am so glad in a way that I am not the only one and it does not necessary means that we may pop any time.. thank GOD!

coolkero

haha, think that's me. I had contractions just a few hours after i stop the ventolin. Happened to me twice somemore. The 2nd time, we just let the bb come out. First time on Christmas, 2nd time on New Year's day. :p

hehehehe, so mashy it's you...how did u stop the first contractions? so your #1 is a new year baby ahhh...hehehehe, can your #1 join in the last year batch for school or consider new batch of the year???

coolkero

they put me on drip and gave me some more other strong meds to stop the contractions. I had to stay in hospital for 2nts for that. sianz...

Yah, he's a new year bb and joined the earlier batch. But hor, a lot of probs at sch, coz the teachers aren't very receptive and keep telling me to send him to the later batch 'since he can choose'. His development is of course slower than those born from June, but the teachers all want the easy way out lor. Kind of regret letting him out on NY's day.

Congrats to BBEthan & Beverly!! So excited for myself and the rest.

Went to SGH with my girlfriend from Brunei for her embryo transfer. Wow, govt hospital it very different from pte ones, after the t'fer, she had to go to the pharmacy to buy all the prescribed drugs, then gotta go back to the CARE clinic for consultation.. It's so easy in pte, where nurse will just prep everything and advise you there and then.

Mashy, can share what are the herb your CL advised you to buy now? I spoke with mine last night, but like not much to buy woh, herbs dry stores are red dates, blue dates, dang shen, gui yuan, herbal pouch for bathing, sesame oil. She say also to stand by ginger, zhu yao (is it kidney or yao rou?) good fish.

Mashy, my girlfriend had chose to have the c-section on Jan2, now she regret cos she felt her girl is wasting 1 year just bcos she decided to delay 1 day. By the later time, your son's brain devpt will have no different from those who are a year older (like my cousin's kid). Don't let the teachers' comment affect you k?

kim

this is the list of stuff she asked me to buy. Amt wise u'll need to ask your CL coz i think each one uses diff amt. She told me ginger don't need to buy so early if not spoil. So will wait till later.

龙眼, 红枣, 黑枣, 北芪, 党参, 当归, 南枣, 淮山, 茯苓,川芎

i was kidn of chicken that when i suppose to due no contraction
so when my doc gave me the nephidine to take 3 times a day for 3 week.. i took onli once n chicken out cos could feel nothg on tummy aft takin the pills
so scare it affect me on the delivery.
keep finger cross

but for those who realy gt bad contraction one i guess jus take to play safe lar. thou 36 week is safe to pop already but if gynae not ard also risky...

koko
i tink the lady told mi bcos i asked =p
i am the everythg also will try to ask kind esp when it comes to $$$$$ LOL
the 2.6k is when the donor siblings need it (subject to availability)

LS
yet to collect leh! they say not ready yet =(

kim

yah, i also know that he will catch up later, but his teachers are not giving him any chances too.
I changed his sch becoz of that (after the principal kept asking me to move him down), but after i changed sch, his new teacher also asked why i don't wanna send him to N1.
But glad that the teacher is finally seeing that my boy knows his stuff, he's just weak in fine motor skills which can be brushed up with practice.

kim
i tink sgh mayb they dun hav aprivatised section
in KKH under the pte oone, we pay and collect medication at the same counter

Wow thanks Mashy, your list is more sophisticated than mine.. Ya, I think I will get the ginger at a later time too, cos friend said of bb had jaundice, we have to delay the intake of ginger. But I think I will get your CL's list, in case my CL had omitted some..

Hi coolkero, i'll be doing wat mashy is doing too. Will prefer her to stay and take care of bb rather than go to buy the stuff. Anyway, my mum has agreed to get the ingredients for her to cook the confinement food. As for the herbs, i avoided the hassle of getting them myself, so took the pkg that the agency offered. It's a 1mth supply of herbs but think quite exp. So when CL comes, she'll bring everything over.

mashy,
seriously, i think sg is too competitive.. and the teachers are kinda like thinks its the easy way out for the kids to join the later class.. Sigh! I bet if its their own kids, they wont do it lor.. So i am with u, dun let them affect you. just know tat your boy is adjusting, coping better and improving in his work which is most impt cos its always difficult initially.

HBB,
Ya i taking my doc's advice to take the ventolin regularly till i see him.. Dun want to risk anything also I trust my doc to know my condition. Also advise all the mummies here to do the same, check it out with ur doc is the most impt cos besides yourself, they know your condition better than others.:D

kim

when i asked my CL if need dong cong cao or not, she said don't need. All these dong cong cao and ren shen are not for confinement purposes and thus not necc. The most important is Dom and Dang Gui. Dang Gui has a very wide range, got very cheap like $3.50 per kg to $40 per kg. So better to get a good grade one.

mashy
not realy leh
most of my friend took dong cong cao also
its good to bu the qi n etc

oh ya dang gui is not advisible if u bf

Mashy, ya, have faith in your boy. Also, I believe kids grew alongside with what is taught to them, if you put them in a fast pace, they'll still be able to cope.

HBB, I am not sure abt KKH also, but this making her walk back and forth, waiting for this, waiting for that makes me quite concern cos we were suppose to rest, rest, rest.. I rmbr my friend told me his wife just lay on bed, demand water, demand food, watch tv, go bathroom, lay on bed, demand water, demand food, watch tv, sleep, go bathroom... OF course I didn't follow what his wife practised and I even changed my bed sheets and got scolded by hubby cos mattress is super heavy...

kim
in kkh onli the pte suite is that convenient.. other clinic thr also same gotto go take medication themselves seperately

Mashy, my aunt told me to stop my dong chong cao at the stage, and said I can keep for consumption during confinement, so I will do that..

Gina, I agree with you on the birdnest, cos after the suffering from picking, I regretted buying, could have just buy the "poor men's birdnest"--white fungus..

kim
got leh i tink if u go under pte to do ur IVF then its prob different than the public one.. my gf did ivf via TPS one

but i tink at the very least int he usual IVF one they will onli ask u take medication aft everythg is done... wunask u go take thenc oem bk again for consultation n briefing...

i understand hw u feel manz.. suppose to rest cos jus did the transfer yet walking all over! and now w the H1N1 thgy ard i dun tink i wan walk ard the hosp so much also!!!

Kim,
I do not like the govt hospital of going to the phamarcy and get the medication and especially going to different depts to do different scans/test..etc.. But i guess, govt/restructure hosps have different process flow.. Used to work in restructured Hosps and this is one of the common complaints and feedback we get.. Worse thing is, u realised that sometimes, the amount u paid in private and govt may add up to the same.. I was initially using KKH services for this pregnancy but later change to private cos it is so much more convenient and I realised for the price I am paying, there is not much difference and private has better services, saves time, better care from my doc, do not need to take leave, my doc clinic can do most of the tests and scans.. THe only concern I have is that Mt alvernia facilities may not be as comprehensive as KKH..

HBB

thanks, i'll prob get her to make only at night lor and drink after last feed at night just like Dom. BTW, sheng hua tang also contains dang gui.

oh i di dnot buy sheng hua tang... in fact all the herbs i bought is individually pack one
those that comes in a set i make sure no dang gui too. i onli buy the du zhong pack meant for the waist.
the rest is ala carte.

Anyone still eating birdnest now? My MIL says dun need to eat birdnest now.. So now, she is giving me white fungus with lotus seeds! Very yummy too.. I think for most of us this month, cannot "jin pu" (take in nourishment) already right?

HBB, ya, cos the pharmacy has all kinds of people, and IVF very pte one mah, should just give everything at the clinic itself, make her run all over the shop, somemore have to Q.. but her procedure also abit diff from mine.. Her doc quite daring I must say, they waited till 4th day before ET which gives her higher chance cos by then the growth rate is more or less determined and her uterus lining also thicker, but having the embryos in lab for extra day also mean the risk of embroys collapsing (die).. I have good feelings for her.. Now I made my other girlfriends take care of her cos her hubby is in BWN.

jamie
i still take bird nest when i feel like it but not often
ya u r right now cannot bu already cos too heaty also

white fungus is yummy! yet to eat any thou.. mayb i shld start cooking some hehe

kim
I wish ur gf success!!!!! so exciting to know a new life is about to begin!!!