(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

HBB,
Dun worry, i think your strep b test shd be fine. :D

Twinkle
Added you as friend already.

Hep B Vaccination,
For those who chose Mt A packeage, I think there is a free BCG & 1st Hepatitis B injection for baby DURING HOSPITAL STAY ONLY if baby's condition permits.

Sunnyduck,

the medical hall ppl told my MIL take like 2-3 slices of pao sheng then put in 1/2 a chi bowl of water and dbl boil it for like 1 hr.. then let the child drink the water.. can add to milk too..

but bec of its strong taste my gal didn't like it so was difficult trying to trick her to drink it..

jamire - thks hope our bbies catch up last min

muffingirl - ignore these ppl. i have 1 old spinster colleague also said i look so big at 6 months and she thinks i'll pop in office. so Wu Ya Zui.

coffee - my doc said 1 cup a day is fine. i asked him abt 3 separate times, and he keep saying 1 cup is ok. so i still drink every now and then

durians during confinement - heard somewhere that breastmilk will have durian flavour. true or not

hbb- ha ha your bb so cute, like to drink soup

elijah mum, icic.
i always see a long queue outside even before the clinic opens for the day. ha.

oh thanks! let me know when convenient to collect from you. email me how much is that.

hi sry for d intrusion. i'm actually fr d aug thread.. but i'd jz like to enquire.. normally as soon as we enter our third trimester, how many more checkups n scans r dere gona b?.. wld appreciate ur replies.. thnk u.. =)

Sunnyduck,

i guess depends on the child . some will take anything some will reject anything.. keke

my gal only cooling drinks she takes happily is Barley.. and not those chinese barley but the normal barley which is not so good for young children. medical hall ppl says too cooling for young kids.. so if i boil it have to dilute it quite a bit.

sunsweet

try mixing chinese barley with normal barley. The medical hall pp said to mix ratio of 2 Ch barley:1 normal barley. It makes it easier to drink and doesn't taste as bad.

Fidzzy,

For your estimation...

You still go for the monthly check till about 34 weeks then bi-weekly which is 36 and 38 weeks , then after its weekly till you delivery.

schedule is about like that if you have not complications..

Elijah's mummy
So far the PD that i bring my boy for jab which is cheaper than my usual PD at SBCC @ Gleneagles is at Tampines St 81. U want to travel there? So far, i only compare the clinics around my area. Cos i dun want to travel too far for jabs. Otherwise the savings all go to transport already.

Sunsweet/Mashy
So the normal barley is more cooling than chinese barley? I always brew that for my boy. This reminds me that i need to cook for him tonight cos tmrw he's going for his MMR jab. Btw, heard that fever from MMR jab will only come in a few days after the jab (can be up to 1 wk later). Means i need to give him the barley drink everyday?

Gina,

wow 1 cm dilated.. if u want earlier labour then can still go walk walk with care.

else dun walk too much keke.. walking + gravity will help to dilate faster!!

Today i also have smaller appetite, dunno why.. maybe baby had enough of food for the past week so asking to stop else mummy become a fatty bom bom.. No hope liao

I've been getting backaches everyday recently. And realised that my tummy has been tight for a number of times recently. Not uncomfortable though. Is this common?

Also are yr babies moving as vigorously as before or more gentle now? Dun know why this few days, i dun get those jerking wavelike movements anymore. It's all very gentle n subtle until sometimes i wonder if she's moving. anyone has same experience?

bbethan

yah, for MMR, the fever comes abt a week after. I find no pt giving since it's 1 week later. diff to control. So i just give him paracetamol when that happens lor. My PD said it's nothing to worry abt. It's just the body's natural reaction.

Normal barley will give phlegm, so better not give too much. And when u boil barley, the moment water boils, u've to stop the fire, coz it can turn to heaty after that.

mashy
really? i didn't know abt it turning heaty after boiling. i have been keeping the fire on for 1hr after boiling. if not, dun hv the barley taste leh. cook barley drink is also an art huh?

trying to minimise the fever cos nowadays the weather is so hot. With fever, sure makes him v v uncomfortable.

Fidzzy,

for me my Doc did a growth scan + placenta scan (cos i have low Placenta) on my 34th week check.

i think it might be so for the rest of the mummies here..

ouh ok.. so dat's abt it for d third trimester, included dat dere's no complications hor?.. okie dokie..
thnx vry much..
dat info helped alot =)

My friend was 2cm dilated.. but she is ok, she only delivered like 2 weeks later.. Gina, ok dumb question but when you are 1 cm dilated, is it painful?

BbEthan (babyethan)
Ya, am also having backaches lately.. one of my colleague told me that having backaches can also be contractions.. scary..
BB movement is depending.. Sometimes, she moves nonstop for 2 hours, jerking, some days gentle.. I think its pretty normal.. But everyday, sure have movement. Maybe ur gal getting more gentle? :D

bbethan

yah lor, i also didn't know boil barley got such 'xue wen'. only found out later thru the forums too. There's barley taste coz u add the barley when the water is still cold mah.

Hi mommies, good afternoon! I spent like the past half hour scanning through the thread, this thread is moving faster and faster! Barely able to catch up. Just spent 2 hours threatening, coaxing, rocking, yelling, bribing, patting, screaming, etc. trying to put #1 to nap. How unproductive, aarrgghh!

FOZ,

My MIL gave up coaxing my #1 to sleep these few days.. haha

I know its tough job.. when i take over on weekends I just exhaust my #1 much during her waking hours.. then she will nap with me.. haha

evil me..

sunsweet/FOZ

actually that should be the way. Once she's exhausted, she'll nap. very often they don't nap coz they haven't expended all their energy. So FOZ, next time your #1 doesn't wanna sleep, just get up, do lots of strenuous activities, sure will sleep like a log. My boy is still napping. 3.5hrs already. Hitting 4hrs soon.

Hi Jamie,

Reviews are at Mt. E. Ya I think he prefers smaller bbs cos at Wk 31 when bb finally shot up to 1.5kg..he advised to watch out my food intake and mentioned that big baby harder to turn down (currently bb still in breech position). How about your bb, is it also still in breech position? Really hope mine will turn soon.

I'm actually very curious to know if any other mummies still haven't got their linea nigra at Wk 33? Up till now, mine haven't appeared and am kind of worried and wondering if its normal not to have one. Any idea?

lynn

can only say, lucky u for not having the linea nigra!

My gal also hasn't turned at week 32. My gynae said unlikely for her to turn coz of her position.

sunsweet

he's now 3.5yrs old. he goes to bed at 10.30pm (dunno what time he sleeps though coz he sleeps with his daddy now) and wakes up at 7am.

hi mummies at kkh or sunsweet!Is there any toileteries they provide when booking A1 bed? if so what they have in the bag? pls let me know as it will help me to pack my hospital bag.
Sunsweet!
Bed booking done?

Hi Mashy, I guess I should take it that its not necessary for all preggies to have linea nigra? At least I'm comforted.
Thought something wrong with me.

Mashy, if u don't mind, can share what's ur dauther's position right now? Why does your gynae says its unlikely for your gal to turn? I thought they have up to 36 weeks to turn? Think someone posted earlier that second pregnancy bbs tend to turn later. So I guess maybe still got chance for ur gal to turn.

<font color="ff0000">Mashy/Sunsweet</font>
I am super impressed with the almost 4 hrs nap, mine has NEVER EVER napped like that before, maximum 2 hours. Not that I didnt try to expend her energy, but I was too tired to. Plus my maid can make her zzz so easily so I also tried lor...what a failure
Anyway she has been napping for about 2 hours now so I expect her wake up ANY moment...and since I promise her to bring her for a swim, I better go pack my stuff...

<font color="ff0000">Linea Nigra</font>
Yeah, <font color="ff0000">Lynn</font> you are very lucky not to have one, it took me at least 6 months after delivery before it fades into the background. Nothing wrong with you, girl!

<font color="ff0000">Ghost of Girlfriends Past</font>
Just booked the tickets to go pak tor with hubby this Sunday at Vivo City. This movie is a romantic comedy and I lluurrrvvveee romantic comedies. Can't tahan scary/violent movies.

<font color="ff0000">Phoenix</font>
Though I am delivering at KKH, I am also not sure what will be provided. <font color="ff0000">Sunsweet</font> please enlighten, many thanks!

lynn

she's head up and so's her legs. Like smelling her own feet. Her butt is at the bottom. My gynae said there's very little space for her to manuveur like that.

FOZ
How old is your gal? If my boy is at home with me, he usually won't take his nap. But coz he goes to sch in the morn, so by the time he comes home, he's tired like anything. When he was younger, i brought him to gym classes so that he can run abt and jump abt.

Phoneix,

my bed booking not done ywt probably will do at next check on the 23rd.

yup they provide toileties + face towel (2 yrs back was in my pack of toileties).. even for 4 bedded.

I think hospital bag u might want to bring
- a jacket (but i didn't use),
- clothes and receiving blanket for baby,
- a change of clothes for yourself upon discharge
- nursing bras and disposable underwear (But intially nurse will help you with the loop pads so actaully no need to wear haha)
- sanitary pads
- socks to keep your feet warm
- Powder to refreshen yourself if you dun intend to bath
- facial wash and personal toothbrush if you dun like those disposable ones

Pack for your hubby too if he is staying over..

of cos not to forget camera / video cam, batteries, phone and camera charger..

if you are registering birth cert during your stay.. got to bring your marriage cert, Saving passbook for the baby bonus

more or less like that i guess..

<font color="ff0000">Mashy</font>
Mine is turning 3 at the end of September 2009. Isn't it school holidays now? My daughter's school follow the usual primary/secondary school holidays system and knowing that she will be bored, I sign her up with JWT (Eastgate) which she loves. In fact, we were there this morning and she was jumping up and down everywhere. Her energy level is much higher than mine, I guess

Lynn (lynny)
You are one lucky babe not to have linea nigra, mine is kinda crooked.. wanna faint, I have decided to take a nice picture to keep as remembrance! haha
My bb was engaged at week 28 already.. recently just went for my 34 weeks scan, bb still engaged..

<font color="ff0000">Jamie</font>
Mine is also crooked! Mainly coz of my belly ring, I refused to take it out till it caused me much discomfort. Sigh...I probably won't re-do it, have done it twice already...and by the way, you cannot possibly have seen me in NHG, I joined them only in Jan this year!

FOZ,

I'm taking 4 bedder again.. anyway now is the "Any 2 visitors" rule.. so i dun expect the ward to be too noisy.. keke

stay 1 bedder i think the rules remains.. you gers check?

ok gers.. knocking off liao..

tomorrow company off
so less likely i'll be online... Dun miss me.. *puke puke puke* haha

have a nice weekend..

FOZ/ Sunsweet

I just put him in half day CC so no sch hols.
Better for me when #2 comes so that i can cope with him and #2 ard. She's a very energetic gal. So's my boy. My boy plays hard and sleeps after that.

When he was younger think before 2, he takes 2 naps, 2 hrs each time. But as he grew older, he kind of consolidated it.

FOZ,
Yeah, maybe you got a familiar "qing qia" look? haha
Seriously, I dunno why my linea nigra is crooked..I tot it looks so awful! Till now, my belly button is still inverted...

Hi Mashy and Jamie,

Thanks for the sharing. Going for review this Sat morning. Hopefully bb will have turned by then.