(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

FOZ, maybe you can try massage your gal's back when u put her to nap or sleep. maybe put some calming or body lotion, my #1 love it when i massage and would fall asleep faster cos they become relax.

LS, look at the bright side and dun think too much now, cos i read that they will give u the drip 4 hours before delivery and it will greatly reduces the risk pass to baby. did u ask doc will it be better if u choose c-section???

http://www.babycenter.com/0_group-b-streptococcus-screening_1647.bc

Hi mummies, the threads are moving really fast. Finally managed to read all...

First of all, my congrats to mummies who hav popped: Poshicon and hkbb!!!
So happy to hear that both mummies and bbs are doing well now.

I'm back fr my gynae visit this morn. BB is now 2.85kg @ 36wks, has gained 0.15 since last week. Got my strep B results too
but bb's head not engaged yet.

Sunsweet, thanks for the list of vaccination pkg that bb has to go thru.

HBB/jamie/sam, i oso suffer the same fate as u all for hb always not around. Used to hav soccer on wkends but managed to cut down not bcox of me but bcox of work...haiz. Oso kinda used to it long ago due to the nature of his job. But sometimes, jus feel helpless abt it. Anyway, i'm sure we can all tahan thru this period

Lynn, u are so lucky not to get the linea nigra. Mine so dark and crooked
Haiz...heard it's gg to take long to fade off after delivery.

Tmr finally going for a short break with my hb at sentosa for hotel stay. Going to enjoy myself to the fullest before bb comes

Re: ML
I hav decided to take ML oso 1 wk before my EDD. Thou wanna spend more time with bb after that, dun wanna hav any "happenings" in the middle of my lessons... hahaha, can't imagine that.

kittyng (kitty_ng)
Enjoy yourself tomorrow w your husband at sentosa! Sounds good!

Lynn (lynny)
I hope your bb will turn soon! Still got lotsa time, so not to worry!

Okie, gotta go for my dinner appt soon!

gina

that is good! heheh at least he is good to you now!

mashy

hmmm... will look out for that for my boy... he is still in the 2 naps a day thing... maybe coz he is 15mths? hheheeh but so far he have been napping for 2.5 hrs each nap and sleeping through the night from 9pm to 6.30am.....

heheh hope with the new baby and the night feeds, it wont disrupt his routine.... if not we would really be having our hands full!!!!!

Sorry to interrupt. Anyone keen to purchase Avent IQ Bottle and baby food warmer ? I've a brand new one unused . Willing to sell 30% cheaper off the usual selling price in the market. Pls PM me if interested. Thanks.

sunsweet, I think no need to worry that we will go into labour at work. Early signs of labour first what...if get regular contractions or water breaks....still got a lot of time (at least a few hours!) so don't think we need to panic.
Water break...someone will clean up the mess heehee, not us!
Don't even need to tell colleagues, just tell them - something is not right with belly...going to see Dr!! BYE!
Even if it is false labour, I think the Dr will give us MC to rest at home from then on.

just for laughs:

THE NEXT SURVIVOR SERIES

Six married men will be dropped on an island with one car and 3 kids each for six weeks.

Each kid will play two sports and either take music or dance classes.

There is no fast food.

Each man must take care of his 3 kids; keep his assigned house clean, correct all homework, and complete science projects, cook, do laundry, and pay a list of 'pretend' bills with not enough money.

In addition, each man will have to budget in money for groceries each week.

Each man must remember the birthdays of all their friends and relatives, and send cards out on time--no emailing.

Each man must also take each child to a doctor's appointment, a dentist appointment and a haircut appointment.

He must make one unscheduled and inconvenient visit per child to the Urgent Care.

He must also make cookies or cupcakes for a social function.

Each man will be responsible for decorating his own assigned house, planting flowers outside and keeping it presentable at all times.

The men will only have access to television when the kids are asleep and all chores are done.

The men must shave their legs, wear makeup daily, adorn himself with jewelry, wear uncomfortable yet stylish shoes, keep fingernails polished and eyebrows groomed.

During one of the six weeks, the men will have to endure severe abdominal cramps, back aches, and have extreme, unexplained mood swings but never once complain or slow down from other duties.

They must attend weekly school meetings, church, and find time at least once to spend the afternoon at the park or a similar setting.

They will need to read a book to the kids each night and in the morning, feed them, dress them, brush their teeth and comb their hair by 7:00 am.

A test will be given at the end of the six weeks, and each father will be required to know all of the following information:
each child's birthday, height, weight, shoe size, clothes size and doctor's name. Also the child's weight at birth, length, time of birth, and length of labor, each child's favorite color, middle name, favorite snack, favorite song, favorite drink, favorite toy, biggest fear and what they want to be when they grow up.

The kids vote them off the island based on performance. The last man wins only if...
he still has enough energy to be intimate with his spouse at a moment's notice.

If the last man does win, he can play the game over and over and over again for the next 18-25 years eventually earning the right
To be called Mother!

kitty
yea we can tight over this period w hubby busy at work!!! jia you!

fluffysheep... ya monday gg for my appt... my appt at 3.40
u?

cool: u can discuss with your doc. He gave me some dates to choose from, then i picked one of them lor. timing, if you wan a certain slot, extra charges all around from gynae to hospital charges.

FOZ: thankfully my gal quite easy to sleep with for now ... her bed time will not go beyond 10pm. I keep the routine the same. let her choose a pillow, dim the lights, give her milk, and then settle down and dim the lights somemore. if she not interested in sleeping, i'll off the lights and I won;t talk to her. I also play the same CD everynite (those supposedly to help u to relax and sleep type) ... i won't bother bargaining with her if she doesn't want to sleep. I will juet tell her ok then I go and sleep, turn away from her and tuck myself to sleep. tonite she was sining old macdonald to herself but i ignore her and was sms-ing my colleague. next thing i know she already asleep. i am thankful that my gal is relatively easy to look after, just hope #2 will be like her too.

Hi mummies, jus came back fr bugis village from a durian feast with my parents. Hahaha....so tempted by wat u all said until i can't resist.

Thanks jamie
Going to swim tmr and suntan a bit.

My hb these few days hav been asking me whether i wanna choose c-sect cox he scared i cannot tahan the pain. Haiz....but i wanna try natural birth leh if not, may not be able to experience again if wan only 1 child.

anyone knws if bb move then aft tat part of tummy harden .. is it consider contraction? or jus movement?
not whole tummy hard.. oni partly say half

Peanut, if wanna ask for epi got to ask fr the start right? If later, then may not be able to ask for it oso. Is it a matter of luck to see how fast your dilation is?

HBB, i oso always feel hardening of tummy on one side or both sides....then middle is soft. Sometimes i suspect is the head or the butt.

coolkero

hahahah!!!!!
i had a good laugh over that and shared it with hubby!

pretty bunnie

haiz my boy only sleeps after latching on.... i still have been unsuccessful in curbing it.... though there are nights that he is so tired that he will fall asleep on his own.... cant bear the cries!

Any mummies attended the KKH antenatal class for care of baby and parentcraft.

I'm wondering what is covered during that lesson as I won't be able to make it for that class. So wanted to know what I've missed.

BB california Candelula cream
Hi mummies, I have decided to get it on the webby.. Its so ridiculous expensive at Watsons, selling at S$29.90 when its selling at S$17.90 in the website..

gina (fattyg)
Dun be so sad ok, stay positive and look forward. Am sure your hb will be excited when your bb pops out. :D

For those mummies going to TMC to deliver, are you are aware that if you choose 4 bedded, the hospital will most prob. upgrade you to 2 bedded. cos' the hospital has more 2 bedded than 4 bedded room n most of the time the 2 bedded are not fully taken up..

For my #1, they upgraded me to a 2 bedded room & I paid for the 4 bedded room charge

kitty/raphine
ya so i duno if that is braxton hicks anot leh...

fluffysheet oh tats early hee
liek tat no chance to meet u leh..

Mashy, you are so lucky... your boy naps & for so long. my boy is aso the same age as yrs bt he doesnt nap. He wakes up at 7am daily on wkdays & slp at abt 8-9pm. On weekends, he wakes up abt 9am & doze off by abt 10pm.

mashy

hubby say that the ear plugs are a good idea! :p

HBB

we did the bottle thing for 3 weeks and he would wake in the middle of the night to puke... not sure why though... pd could not give a good explanation for it too.... as in pd was not my normal one but the one across the street from my place. will bring it up to regular pd when we go see him next...

IT/PC Fair
Anyone going for the IT/PC fair this weekend.. I am afraid if i go, I will faint due to the crowd.. haha..

Sleep
My husband told me that I actually snored last night.. and I never snore! I think I am really really exhausted cos I have not been getting good sleep for the past 4 days.. I rem that I read somewhere in the earlier thread that it is pretty normal for pregnant ladies to snore at their 3rd trimester right?

mashy
nurse to sleep also will get decay teeth
wat i suggested was let him drink fr bottle before he go to sleep lar..

jasmine
i tink is psychological
mayb u wan to try feeding all his milk feed w milk bottle fr now on... dun show him ur boobs even when changing clothes.. make him forget bout the boobs... tat was about how X wean off the mummy's boob also

snoring
my hubby was snoring so loud last night i cldnt fall asleep at all until dawn, and this morning he had the cheek to tell me i was snoring very loud and wanted to take video. imagine me with lack of sleep and hearing him say this, want to smack him

elijah's mummy
maybe u check with yr PD on the reason why he pukes at night when u bottle feed first. when i wean off my boy from latching, i also gave him the bottle before sleep. in middle of night, he'll want to latch but can see it's for comfort only. so i gave either water to drink or pacifier. slowly he got used to it. now my problem is how to get rid of the pacifier.

if worried abt tooth decay... one way to minimise is to let him drink some water to clear away the milk residue in the mouth after the milk feed.

Bestberries..
haha, your hb is good.. this is called "er ren xian gao chuang"..

Working pregnancy clothes
I dunno about you working mummies, but I think i ve come to a point of desperation.. No more clothes to wear.. everything is getting tighter now.. and I have to repeat the same shirt i wear on mon and again on friday.. haha.. I feel like shopping for new ones since its GSS, but I only have 2 more weeks or 1 mth go only before I pop.. Hiaz.. really dunno what to do.. Do u mummies have this problem?

Jamie
me too... some clothes just got uncomfortable to wear in this weather. so i also recycle those more comfortable ones. n most of it has become short/ tight due to the big tummy. so sometimes can see a bit of my tummy. if u r willing to spend some $$ for the next few wks, can consider to rent from Maternity Exchange. Better than buying. For me, i just bear with it since i only have abt a wk or so only.

jamie
mayb u can buy those normal outfit but looser one instead of maternity ones? cheaper too hehe

bbethan
i do heard tat we need to rest/sleep more for bb growth.. but i did not sleep much either cos cant sleep.. like u ..about 4 thour fr 1st tri until now.. max 6 hours or lesser.
so far bb seems ok.. ur bb weight also quite ok rite?

bbethan

i got rid of my boy's pacifier in 3 days. He was throwing a tantrum and flung his pacifier away. So i fed up, tell him ok, then throw in the dustbin. After that, when he asked for it, i reminded him that it's in the dustbin. He remembered, but whined a bit. Took abt 3 days for him to stop asking for it ever again.

Some of my friends cut away the pacifier and handed to their kid the broken one. Works well too.

Jamie (lostsangel)

I have the same problem too. I have currently have 2 work pants with 2 work tops and 2 dresses. I wear them every week.. luckily fridays can wear jeans if not i will be like you.

Sometimes if I don't feel like wearing the dress, then I will have to repeat the pants again.

I didn't want to buy new ones coz there is only 2-4 weeks left. may consider renting from maternity exchange if i'm desperate.

Jamie, Fluffysheep,
Maternity Exchange is having a GSS promotion for rental - $129 for 4pcs for 4 wks rental. Works out to be $32.25/pc. They're also having sale for some of their items, have been thinking of going down. Incidentally, if you have friends who are also pregnant but not going to pop soon, you can share the package with them. Was considering doing so with my SIL who is also pregnant.

HBB,
wow your sleep hours are really quite little.. and u still seems to have so much energy! I tot my sleep hrs are bad.. I sleep at least 6 hrs a day and I think its really insufficinet for me.. I also try to nap in the noon on weekends.. haha.. cos i used to sleep at least 8 hrs of deep sleep.. but after pregnancy, got disturbed sleep cos need to go toilet and pee etc.. haiz..

BBethan,
I am really reluctant to rent from ME, cos its also very expensive.. Haha.. I will go see see look look, I saw Spring Maternity having 50% off for some of the maternity clothes, maybe I will get 1 if its not too expensive. :D

Hi Gillian Lew,

Me too. I opted for 4 bedded rm for my #1 and was upgraded to 2 bedded and paid for the 4 bedded rm charges.

Hi Gina,

Not true abt straight line for linea nigra means boy... cause my linea nigra is crooked and i am carrying a boy. for my #1, my linea nigra also crooked but my #1 is a gal..

HBB,
I did read also that babies also practice a bit of self-preservation. Since night and day makes less significance to them, when energy level decline, they tend to go sleep mode to conserve energy, so not really sure it affects the weight. Of cos the amount of sleep we have as mummies will affect our mood lar, so we get enough sleep, also feel less miserable with the pregnancy, feel and eat better too?

HBB
My gal's weight gain has slowed down. Last wk only gained 100g when in the past, she gains like 500-600g every 2 wks. So i was thinking if due to lack of sleep. My boy has been sleeping later n later these few days. Thanks to my MIL who puts him to 2 naps in the day with the last nap around 5-6pm
By the time he sleeps, i need to rush to do the housework. And by the time i finish n sleep, it's almost 1-2am liao.

Jamie,
consider getting those that can double up as nursing clothings. Can at least use for a few more mths if u intend to bf.

Mashy,
ur boy is quite old already right? mine only 18mths, i doubt he can remember n understand that well if i throw/cut in front of him. I tried hiding it away, he will look desparately for it and fuss non stop. Quite pek chek to see him being so cranky too.

Bbethan

I weaned my boy off the pacifier when he was 18mths. :p Many of my friends did it even earlier than that. So the kids actually understand more than u realise.