(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Hi Mommies
My clinic just called up on my Strep B test result. I have bacteria there so they said doctor will put drip/antibiotic during normal delivery
The nurse said no point treating it now or earlier, as it could come back also. Is it common case? Any mommies come across the same? So worried it'll affect my baby if I opt for normal delivery.

LS
so logn as u got the drip during labour its fine
mygynae gave me some notes on this strep B thgy
it happen to both men n women
dun worry =)

Tea
Hi any mummies here who still drinks tea/coffee? I drink a cup of tea everyday without field.. Am thinking is it becos of the tea drinking thats why my bb not putting on as much weight as other bbs?? Cos caffaine will kinda stripped away the nutrient? anyone has any ideas?? Oooh.. I will feel so bad if its true!!

Well, after hearing some of the mummies here on their hb, i realised that to let my hb go soccer for 3hrs is okie la..haha.. at least the rest of the time, he is accompanying me.. Not easy for HBB and BBethan especially.. really have to be more independent.

HBB, i just create FB a week ago. super new in FB. can help to add or guide me? *mountain tortoise*

Do you still have the list who is who again?

i will pm you my email shortly.

jamie
i stop coffee/tea until 3rd tri...
jsu resume drinking occassionaly
i tot its ok now to drink cos bb is almost develope liao hehe...
and i dun take everyday. mayb tat is y my girl growth slow down also (better dun let my dh see this =p)
it is true caffine will hinder nutrient absorption. so long as ur bb is of safe weight is fine i guess

since i got married i already used to such life.. tat y i took up alot of other thg to fill up my life.. so im still 'quite ok' w dh nt ard... when i had terible MS in 1st tri he also hardly ard n i home alone for days hehe... i cannto complain since i also come fr same line as him so tend to understand why is he not ard so often more...

LS,
Dun worry, my friend she has strep b, you just have to make sure and let the nurses/hospital knows tat u have strep b bateria and ask for the anti-biotic drip, cos sometimes they may overlook. My friend and her bb are doing good.. her bb will be 1 yr old in Jul! heehee

Hbb,
Oh dear.. I am really getting abit worried.. I think I will stop drinking tea for the time being and see if there will be any significant weight increase fr BB or not.. I hope its not too late....

Vaccination
Have you ladies start thinking of what vaccinations to take for your bb? I was like reading this magazine which talks abt vaccination and apparently, there is several to be taken.. Hmn.. 2nd time mummies, what vaccines did u let ur bb take the last time? can rem?

Babyethan,

I'm from the august thread. Happened to read your post. Well, I guess communication between husband and wife is very important. YOu shouldn't just accept things like that either. If there's anything you're not happy with, better to thrash it out with ur hubby. Coz marriage is a long process after all. But of coz now that we're pregnant, we tend to be more sensitive and vulnerable also.

jamie
if u can tahan dun drink then dund rink lar... hee.. else so long as bb is healthy can liao
not all big baby are deem healthy also is more like luck also
dn read too much into it ok... stay positive!!!

Jamie,

Don't worry, I take english breakfast tea every morning without fail since day one of pregnancy. In the midst of the day, sometimes i'll take cold green tea too. Weather too hot, can't be helped.

gilian
u can search for our grp under jul 09 mums n babes
or u can add mi as the above email i gave twinkle then add fr thr

HI Jamie,
I've been drinking coffee since early pregnancy till now. Usually drink two cups everyday without fail..(cause been a coffee addict since years back and really can't kick on it..else feel super duper sleepy) but did manage to cut back to 1 cup during first trimester. Now back to 2/3 cups per day. Since u're drinking 1 cup only, should be fine cos I ever asked Dr. Ong and he mentioned 1 cup a day is fine. My bb was also under weight initially..but it has now caught up (took quite a bit of durian lately) Was at 1.5kg at 31 wks check. What's your baby's weight right now? I guess as long as Dr. Ong says its ok, should be fine.

Btw, just curious, any mums till 33wks of pregnancy who still does not have linea nigra? Just wondering if its normal not to have it..forgot to check with gynae.

<font color="aa00aa">Sunsweet</font>
In advertising field, creative area.

<font color="aa00aa">Jamie</font>
It's okay to take tea, just not in heavy consumption. It's the high tannin levels in tea that prevents the absorption of iron, so not so good to drink too much, in case causes anaemia. Guess during pregnancy, we need to boost our iron levels, and iron not very easily absorbed by the body, so doctors usually advise to cut down tea/coffee.

LS
It's ok de. For my 1st preg, i also tested +ve for strep B. Didn't take any medication. Only put on drip directly when into labour. Gynae also said no point taking medicine earlly as it can come back anytime.

Daph
Thks for the advise. We know communication is impt and we did talk abt it. It's just that sometimes with the hormones at work, I'll just flare at him abt neglecting me. But when I'm more rational, i know i shd support him cos that's the nature of his work. If i were him, would have wanted the same kind of understanding too. Cos i know he's also pressurised by his boss.

Lynn (lynny)
Hi, you are right, Dr Ong says coffee, he only limit me to 1 cup a day for 1st trimester.. then I cannt rem the rest liao.. haha. For tea, i think he says not more than 2-3 cups i think.. Yap, cos Dr Ong prefer smaller bbs cos I think its easier for us and him to deliver during labour. haha.. My BB weight now is abt 2 to 2.1kg and Dr Ong says is fine. Where do u go for your reviews? Mt E or 10 Mile junction??

Hbb
I took 1 cup a day cos really cannot tahan.. I tend to want to fall asleep at work when I dun take either tea or coffee..

Sam
My iron levels are good.. just afraid tat bb do not absorb the nutrients.. Oh your line of work can be really quite stressful and takes up alot of time and committments to meet the dateline. Well, its good that you are taking some time off after delivery.. More time to bond with ur bb.. am sure you will not regret that. :D

Hi Yen,its not a must. Bt Dr Ang will do for those who has Strep B history or who asks abt Strep B. I did it since I read abt it in forum &amp; e test is not too ex either.

Jamie &amp; Sunsweet, I am afraid that I pop earlier too. I am taking my ML abt 1 wk plus earlier than my EDD. Hope I dont pop in office, coz quite embarrasing if water bag burst or gt blood discharge.

HBB, got it! thanks! Silly qns to ask...so i have to add all mummies one-by-one or not necessary? I just post my nick in. Can u all view? Pls pardon me. I'm so dumb!!!

jamie
hee thats hw i started my tea in 3rd tri also.. if i am out whole day i prob will order 1 to drink so tat my day canlast longer and it usualy work
hee.. prior before tat.. i puke everytime i try a bit of caffien stuff... guess bb knwo when to let mi drink n when not to haha

twinkle u can jus post thr ... those who wan to add u will send req to u hee... else u v busy leh LOL

Sam,

you do print design? If so, next time my co. needs design job can ask u..keke

Re: Strep B
I think i'll ask my doc to do the test again.. cos i still have discharge since the last time she check but she just say i do not need any treatment.. dunno why.. i remembered the last time My gynae gave me some med to take... will dbl check again.

Re: Vaccination Schedule for Non Hep B carrier Mums

At birth - BCG and Hep B (given b4 discharged)
2 mths - 6-in-1
4 mths - Booster for 6-in-1
6 mths - Booster for 6-in-1

-or-
At birth - BCG and Hep B (given b4 discharged)
1 mth - Hep B
3 mth - 5-in-1
6 mth - 6-in-1

(5-in-1)= DTap/Hib/IPV
(6-in-1)= DTap/Hib/IPV/Hep B

15 mth - MMR
7 Yrs - MMR

Common Optional jabs
1. Rotavirus vaccination for below 6 months old
2. Influenza vaccine
3. Varicella (Chickenpox) vaccine at 15-18 months
4. Hepatitis A vaccination
5. Pneumococcal conjugate vaccine
6. Human Papilloma Virus vaccine (Girls between the ages of 9 and 26)

Source: http://childrenimmunisation.com.sg

Twinkle,
Dun worry, ya, you can either add all mummies one by one..or just wait for the mummies to add you as friend. Just take your time okie. :D

HBB, thanks! Hopefully during my ML i have time to explore FB more. :p
So any mummies who want to know this blur sotong like me, add me! If not i think i will have chicken hands &amp; legs adding. haha.

Sunsweet,
Thanks for your list of vacccinations.

Strep B test
I did my test at week 28.. and i asked doc if i need to do again. He said dun need.. even though I told him my discharge sometimes are coloured.. He told me coloured discharge are not so much of a worry.. But if it itches below or it has a strong stench.. then there maybe infection.. For myself, I will see how, if i still dun feel good, then I will ask for strep b test at week 36 at my next review with him. Also I checked with the clinic nurse regarding the coloured discharge, she said that sometimes, its due to our body hormonal changes.. well... that are just some of the information that I had gathered.

I am also puzzled.. cos the swap test came back,no yeast infection, no other bateria infection, no strep b infection. but colour of the discharge still coloured.. Sigh.. I am more incline to think its more like hormone changes then for me..

jamie

haha, there's no way he can let his parents 'take care' of me, coz i will protest. He knows i can't really get along with his parents.

yah lah, in a way have 'trained' him. Coz when he comes home, i throw my boy over to him. :p C'mon, i'm at home all the time. I also need a break leh. So when he's home, he'll do the dishes after dinner and then look after my boy while i rest. During the weekends, the 3 of us will go out together. Luckily he's not into soccer or golf. Phew! He used to play some tennis but ever since we have our boy, we hardly do that. If my boy is well, then we'll go to the park or go swimming. Must say that he's a very hands-on dadddy. that could be the reason why my boy is also very sticky to him. His only 'bad' hobby is playing computer games/Xbox. So had to restrict his timing and tell him that he can only play when my boy is napping. nagged at him a few times before he got it too.

BabyEthan/sunsweet

Altho we don't stay with his mom, he did say before that if i need to go out by myself, he'll just go to his parents' place with my boy. Then of course can wash his hands off taking care of my boy lah. Haha, but kenna protest from me, so he has not done that unless he needs to go out with me too. Anyway, my boy doesn't enjoy being with his parents. So it's a last resort for us.

I have to write a list of things for him to do with my boy, including lunch recipes before i can go out. sigh.

jamie
ya my d/c aso colored but I duno gt infection anot.. I din tell gynae aso cos no itch/smell.

c monday my results for strep b hw... hope is negative

<font color="aa00aa">Sunsweet</font>
erh, I'm mostly into digital, quite long in it already, so I usually don't do print cos I nv keep up with it anymore. But if you need contacts in the future, I can pass you.

<font color="aa00aa">Papaya fish soup</font>
Was frying my fish with ginger to cook the soup earlier during lunch, and the little one was poking around in the tummy while I take in the nice smell of the ginger and fish. Got an sms from Dumex some time back, that fetuses develop tastes and smells senses around 30 weeks, hehe wonder if she smell it too. Was checking on the progress of the soup just now, and she poke around again. 2nd time boiling the soup, 1st time was a milder brew cos I was testing the recipe, this time round, the aroma is much thicker. 1st time round, hubby very enticed by the aroma, ask me if he can drink a not, haha.

sunsweet, i ever checked with those neighbourhood GP they have those 6-in-1 child vaccination package.
However i called up a few PD, surprisely they dont provide package. Does that mean we have to pay per jab per visit? Izzit much more costy?

2nd time mummies can give your advise... Who do you turn to when your bb/child need vaccination or sick? PD, poly clinic or normal GP?

Twinkle
I know there are some clinics with package. But i've not found such yet. If no package, then is pay per jab. package supposedly to be cheaper i guess.

when bb is sick, i bring to PD. When it's vaccination, i shop around for the cheaper ones. goes back to PD for assessment checks.

yesterday went for check up, my sugar blood 3+ and my blood pressure is very high as i have heart palpitation history. doctor say need to observe. tomorrow need to go back again. if cannot control then have to induce when i am 38 week. any mummies experience same situation like me?

There are 5-in-1 and 6-in-1 at polyclinc is $340++ (if i rememer correctly)

Have to say that Polyclinc might not be much cheaper then PD..

So its good to check ard as well.

Yes. polyclinic not necessary cheaper and they don't do certain optional jabs like Rotavirus. So coordination in terms of timing of jabs may be a bit of a hassle.

Has been bringing my boy for his jab at PD. Only MMR will be bringing him to polyclinic cos it's free there.

HBB,

well dun know how to define "strong" but usually my MIL will make some pao sheng drink for my baby the day the before to prevent fever from developing..

I remember i took the 5-in-1 package at polyclinic, bec i brought my gal for the 1 mth Hep B.. but at the last jab they gave me a 6-in-1 jab so that baby do not need to have 2 jabs 1 for 5-in-1 and 1 for hep b.

Hep B jab can use medisave.. but not 5-in-1 or 6-in-1...