(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

sheryl

i recommend Yen Ping from KKH. She's really good and helped me alot compared to Mrs Wong. Mrs WOng told me to give up and wished me better luck on my next birth!

wah, since so many posted abt the regulations... i think i better double cfm again.. but i hope its okay!.. cos we booked the trip during Natas n my hubbie is nw on course till end April..don think we'll b able to change if they don allow.. means.. my $$ will go to the drain?... =(

Jeslyn - get your doctor to write you a letter that you will carry with you during check-in and on the flight itself. It's a v simple letter that states your EDD and how long you can safely travel via air. If you have further doubts, it's best to check with the airline. I have a friend who flew to New York at 7mths+ and no one even realised she was pregnant cos her tummy was quite small and hidden by her winter coat...

Morning Mummies!

Hadnt been in for a long time as I was so busy at work.

Jeslyn,
Regarding travelling, Im currently 23 weeks and my gynae allows travelling from now till week 32. He even gave me a letter to certify that I am fit to travel. And I'll be leaving for BKK next week.

Hello Mummies!

Someone offered me seat in the train today! *Happy mood*

Koko, i went kaki bukit last sat. Services really *shake head*.

elijah mum, mind i asking.... is it true that if we breastfeed, our menses flow wont be regular?

so many mummies going on babymoon
all taking the last chance to travel before the babies come.

I am also headed to Japan this weekend for 2 weeks
, even bought new trackshoes for comfortable walking.

The KKH antenatal classes are not bad, just went for my 2nd class.

wooo...a lot of info to absorb!!! gosh! full of valuable info in this thread!

bao bao, hope the food is clean there...haven't been there for ages...when r u gg? i am aiming for late april...

kitty, maybe u go for a short trip? eg sentosa or those farm stay in spore?

so much info on breast feeding etc!

anyone had been looking for baby carrier?

I was wondering those combi ones.. which infant can be carried horizontally is a better option or those sit vertically ones is better?

Hi All MTB,

Just came back from my babymoon at Phuket. Heading to Cameron in 2 weeks time.
Travelling on plane so far for me was ok. The stewardess took extra care to take care of me like getting pillow and blanket.
As I looked big for my 5th mth, the staff at the check-in counter did ask how many mths I was. But they did not ask for my doc's letter.
So, if you can go for a babymoon, do go. Enjoy n relax.

Wanted to bring my gal and PIL for a short holiday too b4 #2 is born.. but dunno where to go leh..

BKK now quite messy.. dunno safe or not...

Sunnyduck, I did no try the pump yet, but I am sure it's not going to be very quiet as the motor is small (the smaller the motor, the louder it is according to the web). I spoke with a friend over the phone while she was using her PIS, quiet ok but probably not the quietest. Honestly, I think PIS is still the most preferred.

Loshita, will squeezing by hands result in sagging and wrinkled breasts? Sound quite scary woh.. Furthermore, the milk has contact with air, still safe to store?

Lasies, if you are afraid the low milk supply, can take Fernugreek. I got mine from Guardian to standby cos my friend who was so confident she will do total breastfeeding ended up with little milk so she recommended me to buy just in case.. (Guardian running a 20%discount now)

Devilene, wow you are so blessed! CAn got there and shop for bb supplies too!

Re: travel
I am still waiting for the doc's approval to travel to Phuket next weekend. Apparently, I will need a letter from her if I can.

Hey Twinkle, I'm going to tokyo, hakone, kyoto, nara. This is babymoon part 2.
Hubby and I popped by taipei for a short weekend 3D2N trip about 3 weeks ago. Taipei is very fun and the food is very clean also, I kept eating street food, and drinking bubble tea (tastes different there!), tummy also increased in size!

Sunsweet, I was also wondering whether to get the Combi baby carrier that seems to double up as a sling also. I like the babybjorn, but hubby likes the combi baby carrier.

i think so far the best place to shop for bb stuffs is china.. cos most of the factories are there.. and its dirt cheap if u go to the whoelsale places.

E.g. my hub bought socks for my gal. Each piece is only S$0.20 which is RMB 1 each..

but its is beijing and of cos the shopping condition is not shopping center style.. keke..

re: Oversea shopping
my KL girlfriend told me even when there is the Malaysia sale, bb products r not cheaper than Singapore..

Few places I know are: BKK; USA factory outlet, esp Baby Gap, B 'Gosh, Cater (good and soft materials), and other branded bb clothes, Polo RL, Tommy H.. etc); China, a friend passed me some that are imitation, not bad quality if you don't mind the labels are being cut off..

Hi Kimberly,
Yeah my intention was to shop for my precious little one.
But like what Sunsweet said, dunno if BKK is safe though!
There was this story that I heard lately that we have to be careful while shopping at BKK airport duty free. Always check if the cashier puts additional stuff in your bag when paying. Cuz this guy, when he was paying,noticed that the cashier dropped a packet of cigarettes into the plastic bag together wth his purchase. He thought it was free gift and left the shop. Shortly after, he was approached by 2 policemen, who accused him of shoplifting and send him to jail. From there, the policemen demanded i think RM$20000 or so for his release. This guy, who is a malaysian, approached the msian embassy to help but was rejected as the embassy replied that they have no relationship with thailand. Then that guy called his family to raise the money and was released after "paying" the fine.
I am not sure if this story is true but it's always better to be safe than sorry. I will definitely refrain from buying anythign from the airport duty free.

Devilene, such scary story.. I have no doubt it's real anyway, no harm to make ourselves more alert.. My God, if it's true, it;s the 2nd case that Malaysian embassy didn't help their citizens.. Thanks God we are not from there..

Be careful when there!

so malaysia and sg prices is same?? cause i check from malaysia webbie, their stroller seem alot cheaper leh.. anybody know is there is a place in JB to shop for bb stuff??

Kimberly, yeah I will. If this story is true, it really disappoints me that such a thing occur in thailand. I thought only happens in msia.

sherryl

heheh... that really hard to say as for me i only had my menses once... after that din have menses at all and on the 4th month found that i was preggy so...... heheh i wont be the best person to tell you leh....

hbb

yah... heard that the PIS was so good from my gf that i was so tempted... went to get the manual one then at first tried the manual one already in pain... but thought that i was using too much strength to pump on my own... so asked her if can connect to her motor... then tried the lowest suction power... wah!!... was so painful... heheh after that i only stick to my avent pump... :p still have that madela harmony pump in the cupboards.....

Hi Kimberly,

Phuket was ok, too commercialise. But overall it just a relaxing trip so din do much. Did quite a far bit of walking, did mani & pedi, facial, massage, eating...etc...
Wanted to go to the beach but heard jellyfish season. And it was raining some of the days.

Tulip,
Where you stay? I havent book anything since I havent get approval from Doc.. Our friend, also Yoda's bb sitter is going with his girlfriend, so hubby thot we should take a short break before I becomes too big and at the same time go check the work on our boat.

Heard ticket is not cheap about $700 on SilkAir. If so, we have to d/grade, take Tiger Airways.

Hi Moo,
Thanks. Isn't the discharge supposed to have a fishy smell? What about the colour? Mine is light yellow, non-itchy but i think its smelly.

Moo,

Buy the good quality ones more exp compared around,

as long its for wearing not consumption, i'm ok with China made..

Moo,

Buy the good quality ones, those which are more exp compared around,

as long its for wearing not consumption, i'm ok with China made..

Hi ladies, speaking of beach resorts, anyone has suggestions for where to buy maternity swimwear? Don't feel like exposing my belly so I won't wear my bikini anymore, but my one-piece is getting too tight. Was thinking of a tankini...

RE: China clothes.
So many US-branded clothes that are imported here are also made in China! I think as long as it's not going to be eaten, and if we wash the clothes beforehand, it should be no problem.

I love the clothes by Le Petit Bateau (French brand, they have a counter at Taka), esp the girls' clothes! The quality of the cotton is really v good. But they are so SO expensive, I can only touch but not buy... heh!

Sunnyduck, just go with your bikini, you look great! I go to Sentosa every Sunday afternoon with mine, no body gives me strange look..

BabyEthan
What is the price range like? Do you think it will fit all the way to the last month? I don't mind investing in a good quality swimsuit, esp since after delivery we tend to have some flab left over for a while... must motivate myself to swim more!

Kimberly
I shy leh... my weight has not just appeared on belly but on hips and all around and I feel flabbier... Plus I think the top part of my bikini does not provide enough support.

Sunnyduck, ya, saw that brand, both my MIL & I love it, but after checking out the price tag, my MIL's eyes became so BIG, her tongue longer than I ever saw before. ;p

Are breast shells & breast shields the same?

About breastpump, when'll be the right time to invest one? If we buy now but later no breastmilk, how ah?

sunnyduck
i think i paid abt $150 for it. i chose 1 which i can be used throughout the pregnancy and can also be worn after preg. like what u said, there'll still be some flabby ones lingering around :p

hi sunsweet

i am worried abt the dye...

hi devilene

if u think the smell is unusual, better c yr dr..sometimes discharge could be due to what we eat..

LS, My gf (mentioned earlier) invested in the Medela PIS and have very little milk (think she is stress and her confinement nanny didn't take good care of her diet).. She took Fenugreek, she said it helps although she also told me until now, her supply is not meeting the demand.

Secondly, dun stress too much, you'll have milk! I believe I be blessed with abundance and overflowing (amen)..

Moo,

i think many of the things we buy in market now are made in china regardless it branded or non-branded.

So when you do the pruchase in china, you judge it yourself whether is of good quality or not.

The ones my hub bought were good and real cheap as compared shopping in neighbouring countries..

So if i could shop overseas for my kid, I probably go to china haha..

My mother's friend who lives in Shanghai sent some newborn clothes to me - the quality is actually quite good, don't think the dyes are a problem as they are white and pastel yellow but I agree with Sunsweet that I would buy clothes from China too if I could!

Babyethan - thanks for the tip on the swimsuit! I'll try popping by one day after work this week.

Hey, I found a small patch of dark spot on the inner right cheek, close to the nose.. and I also found cellulites on my thigh...

RE: Ankle rotation
Hey, I did the ankle rotation last night, and great! No sense of getting cramp!! Thanks!!

RE: Mix-looking Asian bbs
Hey, I am not sure if travel to Ang-moh country during pregnancy will make bb look mixed but I do find Asian kids who are born in Ang-moh country do look different from those born here too.. I also remembered a pilot friend's 2nd daughter has Asian feature but Ang-moh skin with hair are tinted, ashy brown. His wife said she loves chocolates & cheese and drinks only goat's milk. Do you think these affects the baby? Who knows the kid was "made in" some Ang-moh country (shrug shrug).

Yup kimberly, i oso think the ankle rotation helps. I hav been doing that exercise quite freuqently & my cramps are a lot lesser nw

Moo, i oso wish to travel to somewhere near if time permits. Can we still travel in jun? Cox that's the only period i can travel. Anything b4 that will be exams