(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Sunnyduck, wow Scotland, my alma mater is in Glasgow.. Must be cold and gloomy this time.

Welcome to the thread Bluez! 3rd one, thanks for helping Singapore! Do update us with your details, Mashy is the one helping us.

Lamagier, I felt so sorry for your cousin!! I AM EXTREMELY ANGRY WITH THE DOC!!!!!!!!!! We tried many years for this baby too so I can imagine the devastation.. Perhaps you can find out the name of the doc and we shall tell all the pregnant women NOT to visit this doc!

Kitty, oh, so you are teacher!! Tough being teacher these days I bet.. So honorable!

HBB, I thought to try too cos I also v vain pot.. Will check for the company then post here.

MrsC, did you get your new car? (just a joke to your hubby, tell him he can collect those plastic bag that comes with the hard disk and wrap around your belly when traveling to prevent the radiation..keke).. When I was trying very very hard for Yoda, I almost thought to do this when I travel cos I travel so much in my last job and usually fly between here and USA direct and to go to NYC may mean flying over the North pole which has lots of radiation..

peanut

i did not get any newborn clothes leh... all were hand me downs from my 3 yrs old cuz...(all were mostly for 6mths and above babies) also the only set that i got for my boy was 0-3 mths... but it met with the same fate as the nb diapers.... :p had to keep them away after only a month!

mashy

hahah... at that time as a new mummy i did not actually believe what others told me.... :p also did not have the forum to turn to:p hahah now i can fully agree with what you say!

lamagier

hahah that was my last pregnancy.... for this its a dream only!!!! so far i have also gained 6kg as per last dr visit a month ago!

Re: baby drowning at birth

could it be baby swallowed amniotic fluid as he was being delivered due to distress and prolong labour? coz i do know that this can happen if the waterbag has burst for a long time and the baby is still not delivered... but if that is the case then should have a c-sect! was the dr slow to do suction for the baby on delivering?
wah like that which dr was it? hahah think we will avoid this dr in future! so scary!

Lamagier, I seriously hope it's not KKH, cos their dispensary also cock-up my friend's medications before!!! Can you imagine she was not aware and took for 6days while she was breast feeding! My apology to those who are with KKH, they do have superb facilities and equipments but I heard too much about them that give me chill.

Loshita, I was very blessed, I felt bb at the end of 1st tris! Like water bubble flowing down inside my tummy.. Now that Yoda is bigger, the feeling is like twitching inside tummy. Sometimes he kicks, sometimes he stretches, when he stretches, the tummy becomes lop-sided, very funny..

loshita
if u r worry go n see gynae ok
that time my baby liek not much movement for a day and i went to see gynae aft tat
could see she moveinside jus i cant feel mayb small movement
nonetheless always play safe n go have a check... life is too precious =)

lamagier
mayb u are tired out fr the funeral or dehydrated tat y got giddy spell
drink more water (it suppose help improve a bit of our blood pressure) n dun walk ard too much ok... maybe eat some sweet or drink a can of soft drink for the sugar level to balance out

kimberly
sure do let us know the company name yea

btw i know wat u mean by the chilling stories about kkh... tat y my dh n i emphasis alot on the doctor.. cos hw confident and 'zai' of the doctor is very impt. at the crucial timing they ought to know wat is the proper thg to b done..

talking bout bb movement
sunday bb gav me tsunami on tummy for near 10 mins
sure looks funny
my tummy have the shape of waves fr left to right n bk to left again
feel v good haaa.. now ask bb give mi tsunami again she refuse =(

Lots of update after logging in after 3 days. Good read ups.
Weight Gain,
Hi Sherryl, I gained about 5kg so far and I am at my 24th weeks now.. But you are right, Dr Ong told me I am gaining weight too fast too.. Well, am trying to control eating ice-cream and such. I am abit more fortunate cos I do not have much hunger pangs but i tend to like sweet things now! Which I am so afraid tat I will get GD..

Curtis,
I think you are in a better state than me, the last time i weight, i gained about 5kg and baby about 500g only!! I am now hoping my baby absorb more..

Elijah's Mummy, I wish i can be like you too!! Your weight gained is excellent!

Hi kimberly,
The bb drowning case happened to my cousin's colleague. She didn't mention the hospital or the gynae. I'll go check with her.

Yah, I was feeling scared when I heard about it. Already so worried about miscarriage in the first trimester. Finally tahan all the morning sickness and pregnancy aches, if anything happen to my bb, I don't know what I will do. My cousin said her male colleague was more devastated than his wife....

Hi HBB,
I'm now munching on breakfast bar & drinking milo. Hopefully the giddiness will go away.
haha, your 'bb tsunami' description is very funny. Like the ad on channel U about bb moving in tummy. maybe your bb doing kallang wave =p

Re: BB Movement
Hey girls, I found something I could do to make Yoda move-- I turn on my ipod, and place on ear piece on my ear and the other on my belly button.. He will dance to the tune. I don't know how much the sound travels to him thru my "think skin" and amniotic fluid, so I adjust the volume according to my own hearing needs. Perhaps you can try this to see if yours would do the same..

Yoda loves music, he was dancing to the tune of the sound track of "Slumdog Millionaire" this morning. I pray that he will inherit mommy's good voice cos my hubby can only sing "Star Spangled Banner" and those he made up with his thoughts.

lamagier
ya lor realy v funny duno wat she is so excited about... buti rem i was reading the daisylock stories to her before tat so mayb she gt excited with the vocabs haha

kimberly
try not to put the sound too loud via the head piece
i rem mrs wong was mentioning nt good for their ear drum.
if can use a normal radio will b better
so now ur bb can dance to tune.. so good... hehe

actualy up til the very day we deliver
anythg can happen to bb also
nothg is for sure
jus tat chances are lower when we advance to later stage
got friend bb suddenly no heartbeat at week 35 also
and gotto induce to get the dead baby out
very sad...
1 at week 20plus got infection down under and did not know.. and end up affect bb and had a m/c
realy unpredictable
so if we find anythg not very right. be more kiasu.. go n see gynae asap..

Lamagier, sorry to mistaken the person, ya, do let us know.. {{{{{hugs}}}}} to the couple.

I can understand the pain of loss, both my cousin and his wife has Thalassemia, and their 2nd child had Thal major and died after birth. It affected them so much, now they wouldn't want to try anymore. In your cousin's colleague's case, it's 3rd party )and one we trusted) that caused the death, so it's no excuse at all.

Talking about Thalassemia, those of you who experienced dizzy spell has Thalassemia? I have and I was told dizzy spell is common amongst Thal carrier.

(Thalassemia: 地中海贫血, common amongst Asian and those from Mediterranean. Couple of the same Thal trait has 50% chance of having kids with Thal minor, 25% chance no Thalassemia and 25% chance of major Thalassemia. 2 major thal could be, 1. baby will die during infancy; 2. constance blood transfusion.)

It's always v sad to hear of babies that are so close to full-term, but don't make it in the end. Some time back, a friend's wife had difficulties during labour and lost a lot of blood. Both mother and child did not make it. Really really heartbreaking.

We definitely should pay attention to our body's signals and our intuition if we feel something is not right, but at the same time, we must also try to keep a positive attitude and not keep thinking about tragedies. I find myself more sensitive these days - when I hear/think about such sad stories I just want to cry, but must stay positive!

HBB
I also experienced the "tsunami" thing few times
Very cute horrr.. like the ads in TV few mths back.

We'll watch HK dramas every nite before bedtime. Everytime bb hears the Cantonese conversation, she'll start to respond. I guess it's really more to whatever we like, the bb could feel it too. I find this whole journey very exciting & amazing! Tomolo will be my 3rd wed anniv & so glad we finally could celebrate it by 3 this yr

sunnyduck
Yup, agree with u.. very heartbreaking but must keep positive attitude.. also trust your instinct! In my 1st miscarriage, I knew it few days before the bleeding & before the doc found out.. It was still very early stage but it hurt lots!!! Can't imagine those who loss theirs with almost full-term

Elijah's mummy,
i envy u!!... i tink u r like my fren.. she gained oni 7kg or so during whole pregnancy and u never see her putting on any fats..aft she gave birth the tummy deflated immediately.. wen we visited her in the hospital the next nite.. she was alrdy in her normal size..

kitty,
i think its alright for u cos u r underwt in the first place? i think that 7kg so far is a gd weight gain and u r rite, i think it means bb is eating well..

Loshita,
i think u better check with the doc just in case.. like wad lamagier said, we dono wad is happening inside till we go back to the doc for ultrascan.. so i think jus for the safety of bb and assurance to yrself, its best to go back to the doc n check..

Sherryl,
serious? 9.5kg.. okay la..im jus 1.5kg behind u.. haha.. u are right.. our weight is Dr Ong's top priority now.. haha

MrsC,
yah! hubbies ultraman fan.. don have toys but all the VCDS n DVDS.. *shakes head* i dono wad to say abt him.. hahaha.. mayb our husband can hit off toking abt ultraman.. yrs is a girl not so bad.. mine's a boy, i cant imagine him coming out n watching the ultraman VCDS with daddie and playing games with him.. i think i'll faint cos now i have to scream at 2 ppl to stop gaming.. haha.. im the same as u, gained 8kg so far..=(

Jamie,so good that u oni put on 5kg.. mine was every visit 2kg for the past 2 months..now total is 8kg frm preggie time till now and bb is oni 600g.. im oso afraid of getting GD..=S

BB Drowning: oh no, i cant believe there are such cases when the doc don even know when to carry out C-section.. i hate docs who are like tat..real irresponsible. i agree with Kimberly, cos i've been to KKH's gynae before for the pain in my tummy, they kept taking ultrascans each time i go but they kept telling me theres nth wrong.. in the end they jus gave me painkillers each time im there.. i felt its ridiculous cos as docs shudnt u be tryng hard to find wad is bothering the patient instead of giving painkillers to her jus cos shes complaining of unexplainable pain for the whole yr? SGH is worse.. gave wrong injections for 1 whole yr.. =S tats why i don really trust govt hospitals anymore.. *sorry to those who are with the govt docs.. =X

HBB,
haha.. i like yr tsunami description of yr bb.. it sounds so interesting.. n Kimberly, i think yr bb must be very interested in music!

Helo Kimberly.

Nope, we decided to just stick to taxi for the time being. Might consider again later part of the year..

My hb even joke to have me in radiation suit! hah.. that a good suggestion, will propose that to him.. :p

Kimberly, Thanks for your infomration about Thalassemia,.. Hmnn when we did the blood test for HIV, there is also this test right? SO our own medical report will show if we have this condition right?

Sunnyduck,
So sad to hear about the mother and child who did not make it due to major loss of blood. Quite scary.. wonder how did that happened? Heard from experience mothers is that when we are nearing full term when we are about to deliver, we can really feel the fear looming at us.. is it true? Any mothers who can advise on this?

just back from seeing doctor, can see my bb movement liao. doctor said very active. and I saw the 4D scan of my BB liao. now she is 475g, i just gained 4.5kg till week 22th. When i complain i can't feel the BB movement, doc said i may only able to feel it next week. Phew, at least now i feel much better....
one more thing, seeing doc in KL is really cheap. only RM100 though with 4D scan and one month supply of calcium and iron pill and they save the image in your thumb drive (luckily i always travel with thumb drive) everytime i see doc in TMC at least cost me $130+ without medicine and one ultrasound printout.

Jamie - the friend was not v close to me so I didn't hear the full story. Think there was an issue during labour with the placenta and the cord rupturing or something like that, created a lot of blood loss and they couldn't save the mother in time.

The fear possibly is due to a sense of losing control? Because we can prepare so much for the birth by reading and through antenatal classes, but ultimately the way it progresses is not something we have full control over; even doctors cannot predict how safe or how long the entire delivery will be.

jeslyn
Thank u
I guess most of us gain around 7-9kgs here. I'm the same with u, 8 kgs. Dunno whether it's average weight gain or we all here big eaters? hehehe
But I just eat as per normal leh..

loshita
Glad that your bb is fine! Read that the bb movement will be strongest during 24-28wks. Hang on there, u're on the wayyyy.... Wah RM100 with 4D & meds is really CHEAP!!! I'm wondering how much 4D scan here? Thinking to have one too. Any idea? Can really see bb's face clearly?

Jamie, I'm not sure what tests were done when you sent your blood for testing, I know ususally 5 tests are conducted, incl hep, cholesterol etc. For me, I have cells count, platelets, hep, HIV, Rubella, Cholesterol etc. The last thorough one I did was before pregnancy, when wanted to have the Cervical Cancer vaccination injections.

Hi loshita,
Glad your bb is ok. Wow, it is really a lot cheaper to see doc in Msia then in Spore

hi Jeslyn,
You mean SGH gave you wrong injections for a year!?!? Oh my....

mummies, i was reading thr this thread of the few sad stories ard us. its indeed sad to lose yr bb near to full term. i can reali imagine e pain... for me, i was already feeling terrible when i lost my previous one last yr during 6-8 weeks of pregnancy. cried n cried every day and it took me so so long to recover. bt, i am glad to be blessed again n i am treasuring each n every moments of pregnancy now.

Lets all be positive. learning abt other ppl stories will make us all aware of what to do n note... I am sure all mummies here will see our loved ones in our hands in July.

jamie,
i think normal blood test they do not test for Thalassemia, unless you request, my hubby is thalassemia carrier. therefore when i did my yearly medical checkup, i request doc to test on this. I have to pay extra for this test. When i know I am pregnant, we did inform gynae hubby is carrier but since he is minor and I am normal the most is my baby is minor carrier too.

LS,
It depends on the ankle the doc take the picture. I can see my baby face, can see baby mouth is big like me,
but the nose is quite high.
If i am not desperate, i think i won't see doc in kl but was very surprise to see the clinic so well equipped.

Sheryl, wow, you are very strong.. I felt so sorry for a fren who lost hers at 6wks too (she waited 2 hrs before she was attended to at KKH.. Well, although not totally hospital's fault), her bb was supposed to due Jul12, just a day before yoda. I want to meet her but I don't want to remind her of her bb when she sees my tummy.. So we sms most of the time. She told me she is feeling nausea these few days, and hope her mensus won't show up, so I am praying for her.

Furthermore, she wanted to be pregnant so that they couls use the bb's cord blood to save her brother in law who recently diagnosed with Luekemia.

Loshita,
happie for u.. glad that bb's doing well!.. i didnt know tat msia's docs are so well equipped!=D

LS,
same as u.. im a normal eater.. somemore these2 months i dropped in appetite.. but gained more wt instead.. tats weird rite?..haha

Lamagier,
yah.. SGH gave wrong injections for a yr.. i oni found our when i see doc ong at Mount E, gave them the name of the injections i had for the past yr and he told me its a wrong injection.. sth that wld make me lose most of my pregnancy chances if i continue..

Kimberly,
yah..everytime i speak of it.. im really fuming abt it.. =S haha.. anw, i will pray for the best for yr fren too.. i know its a painful thing when u lose a bb.. =( n shes very totful oso.. to actually wan a bb so tat the bb's cords blood can save her bro in law.. all the best to her..=)
god will bless all nice n wonderful ppl..

HI Jeslyn,
What!?! They screwed up so big time?!?! Luckily it wasn't any serious life threatening problem or cause any permanent side effect.

And I think now is the time when bb grow very fast. That's why even if our appetite not so good, high chance weight still carry on increasing. haha, for me, I take it as a reassuring fact that bb is growing (cross my fingers and hope the weight is not prely due to me increasing weight)

Hi HBB,
My sugar loading didn't work. Still giddy... (*o-o*). I try sleep earlier the next few days and rest more. If still giddy, then ask gynae when I go for my 6-month checkup this sat =(

lamagier, i'm also having dizzy spell, so i always have sweets in my bag. try eating more during the day and drink more water to keep yourself hydrated. btw, feel sad for ur cousin's colleague's loss.

Hi Sheryl,
I am sorry to hear about your experience but I am also extremely glad and happy for you now! So do concentrate on getting there and lets all stay happy and positive!

Oh yes Mummies,
I found a shop at AMK central where they sell baby clothes a set for S$1.90 only! (Sorry, i cant rem the blk no. will check it out the next time i go). Its not too bad but I think the materials may not be as good as those sold in NTUC.. which i heard from mothers that they made of soft and comfortable cotton material and it cost about S$4.90 per piece..
Have you all bought something already?

Hi Loshita,

Thanks for your info, i thought I saw the name of the test in my report.
Nonetheless, I will go and check it out tonight when I get my hands to the report at home.

Jamie, wow, that's great news for current economy.. remember the address or may be you can describe the location/ landmark around.. Don't mind more if it's good quality and price. Can use for daily wear..

Sheryl...

hmm.. sorry for reminding the sad things..but.. i saw u wrote down.. u lost ur previous bb during 6-8 weeks of pregnancy..can i know..how u found out? or any sign? because.. i am new in these... i really feel sorry and can understand the feeling when we know our bb cant survive.. be strong..

I'm back from my checkup this morning. Wow... I've gained 8kg and will be 27wks tmrw. Gained a steady 2kg every 3wks. I thought it was a lot but gynae said it's a very good gain. Baby is now 939g heavy.

Recently, feel a lot of movement and stretches on my upper abodomen. Then realised that it was becos baby's legs are on top.

Kimberly/ Jamie,
Thanks a lot. It was not easy for me... I took a long time to recover from e loss. I was so worried during my first trimster too. Bt I always tell myself to stay positive and happy for the sake of my bb gal. I did it with the encouragement I gt from hubby, family, friends and also some advice in this forum.

Kimberly, sorry for the loss of yr friend. Will pray for e best for her.

Enli... it was in the past. Now, I am happy and of course hoping everything will run smoothly this time round till my EDD in July.

My bb was not growing for my previous pregnancy and the sac was also in a odd shape.

Sheryl, sorry to hear abt yr incident too.. but don worry for god has blessed u with another lovely child.. tk gd care of yrself kays.. n yup, stay happie always!! =D

lamagier/loshita,
yah.. they screwed up totally..wen i first heard tat, i got so worried i wouldnt be preg.. so we decided to try immediately aft we got married.. n of cos, thank god i got preggie. if not, my parents in childcare n my cousin was telling me to sue SGH.. =S

BabyEthan, Welcome back. Looks like you have very healthy weight gain..

Sheryl, thanks!

I got this from babycentre:
Hello Kimberly

25 weeks pregnant

Your baby is responsive to touch now. You can have fun with him by trying to tickle his foot when he kicks you or by lying on your back and rolling from side to side, to see how he reacts. His eyelids open around now and his heart is beating so strongly, it may be heard with a stethoscope.

All, I am so tired from sitting down so much, I think I am gonna go home now.. Nite!

Hi Sheryl and all mummies,
Hope all our bb will be safe & healthy.

Hi coolkero & HBB,
I'll try to increase my water intake and see if it helps. The thing is I'm pukey today.... =( Only can take a bit of water at a time else will puke out. Another MS day...

Hi Kimberly,
You're working in country with diff time zone? I also want to go home too... A few more hours to go...

seems like most mummies are able to feel the movement at the upper abdomen.. mine still below the the belly button and even lower..

How I love this forum & this pregnancy
Always read something that also exactly happen to me during every stage/week. From when we had our nauseas, bloatedness, cramps, OSCAR test, detailed scan, bb shopping, bb movement & now bb response

This morning I just fount out how to make my baby "poke" out my tummy (before woke up from bed). I normally lying on left side but before I woke up, I'll stretch & lie on my back. That's when bb will complain & poke dunno which part of her out. Quickly grab hubby's hand & he said it's her elbow. I tot it's her punch. Dunno what exactly was that

Without realising, we're almost done with 2nd trimester & some of us r already in 3rd trimester. Until now, I love the 2nd trimester & hope the next 3 mths won't give much troubles as well
JIA YOU all mommies!!!