(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

kimberly
Yeah hope all of us got plenty of bm
Btw, u bought Medela Mini Electric Dual Pump right? For that model, will the bm go into tubing parts (those that not reachable for cleaning)?

Does mummies experience pain in the tailbone?

I had that when I walk,and the pain got worst when I stand for just a while.
It only feel better when I sit or lie down.

kittyng, depending on when your due date is, 32 weeks is about 2months from EDB in July, which means latest would be May. Doubt we will get the green light to go serious travelling.

Besides, I'm forecasting that I won't have the stamina to walk much, if on any holiday, it will involve a lot of sitting down, lying down, and very low physical activity for me. Any prolong walking for me these couple of days is killing me with pain in the pubic ligaments after that, so I'm trying not to push my luck too much, scarely later I'm the one suffering post-pregnancy.

LS, I already got it.. Think the milk has to pass thru the tubing and thru the valves into the bottles. I also dunno what to do for cleaning of the tubing.. Gotta send more post here I think (keke)

When the box was opened, the bottles and tubes and shields are packed in a zip log bag, so I did not open cos I think they are all sterilized.

Kitty, all the best for your exams (exams???)..

hey mummies, i'm back frm my detailed scan...
a lil disappointed.. spent abt 45 mins in there but doc Ong cldnt see the bb face at all.. he wasnt cooperative.. Doc said tat hes totally faced down first time when we tried.. 2nd time aft much pressing n shaking he turned a lil but covered his face with his hands.. n e 3rd time he jus practically covered his whole face with both hands.. =( so we gave up, but doc said hes a sleepyhead.. cos hes sleeping n no matter how much we shaked, turned n pressed.. he jus refused to wake up n move.. ='( so sad, didnt get to see his looks.. oni his EAR.

anw, wanna ask u ladies.. how much did u all put on so far? today i checked at e clinic n i put on another 2kg..so far, i've put on total of 8kg in this pregnancy le.. but my food intake is little.. i wonder where all the weight came frm? plus e nurse told me "hope tat yr glucose test will b fine... cos u put on alot of weight.." n frm jus now.. i've been worrying.. really hope nth goes wrong.. =(

today wasnt as gd as i expected.. *sigh

Jeslyn, dont worry, I already put on 11kg (me at 25wks now).. doc and nurse didn't say to watch my weight, they say I am ok.. But your bb really cute. Now hopefully he'll be the same after birth, so he rest more, you rest more too!

Sheryl, I do experience pain if I stand a long time (which is not very often), but these days I lie down alot feel so lazy, like after every meal, I must lie down or I feel weak and heavy.

thanks Kimberly.. im at my 24th weeks now... yah, tats wad i told my hubbie.. hopefully he'll be liddat wen he comes out.. cos my hubbie's fren's wife jus gave birth not long ago n his fren told him ytd.. his bb wakes up every 2hrs every nite... n hes not getting enuf rest..

well... i really hope all goes well.. =(

Sherryl,
i didnt manage to arrange on the 20th for the glucose test... cos they told me we have to start as early as 8.30am.. n 20th is taken up... haha.. so mine is on the 30th instead.. but im thinking maybe aft this appt, for the other appts we cld meet up at Mount E.. cos Doc Ong said aft tis there'll b no more tests alrdy?..

Jeslyn, ur bb juz as shy as mine. keke.

Dont worry too much. i already put on 9kg (now 25th weeks).

These are the estimate breakdown of total weight gain :
- placenta (9%)
- baby (38%)
- blood, extra fluid (22%)
- amniotic fluid (11%)
- womb, breasts, buttom, legs (20%)

Twinkle, thanks for info..

Jeslyn, my friend's newborn slept so much in the night (last feed (BM) at 11 then sleep till 5am still not awake to have another feed) that he and his wife got worried... It lasted for about 2.5-3mths then he start to wake up at strange hours in the night..

All MTBs, have you heard of a company that will help you process the placenta after birth of bb, and they make into capsules for your consumption to beautify your complexion? (Ok, some of you will say eek!)

twinkle,
yah lor.. i felt so funny.. imagine my doc say saying to him "bb look here!! come bb look at the camera!!" den he turned back n told me" he dowan to see the camera leh, not friendly one.." hahaha.. den next moment when he covered the face with both hands, doc said "hes imitating ultraman" den i rem..my hubbie loves watching ultraman, although i don.. maybe he follows the daddy? *shrugs
and thnks Twinkle, for yr info.. i mean, im not so worried now den..

Kimberly,
serious? wah..den it mus have been a huge change to yr frens.. hmm, my supervisor's girl always took her feed at abt 10 or 11pm and den will oni be awake in the morning like 6am when she was a bb last time..so my supervisor was telling me sometimes the timing we sleep affects the bb somehow too..=D

kimberly

hahah that sounds so much like my boy! hahah i can only pray and hope that no.2 is the same! i cant imagine how to cope otherwise!

jeslyn

unless you are in the obese cat, you don have to worry about your weight gain!
here is how much weight you should expect to gain
Profile Weight Gain
Normal-weight women 11.5 to 16.0 kg (25 to 35 lb)
Underweight women 12.5 to 18.0 kg (28 to 40 lb)
Adolescents 12.5 to 18.0 kg (28 to 40 lb)
Overweight women 7.0 to 11.5 kg (15 to 25 lb)
Obese women 6.8 kg (at least 15 lb)
Pregnant with twins 16.0 to 20.5 kg (35 to 45 lb)

can see more at this site
http://www.wyethnutrition.com.sg/$$Weight%20Gain.html?menu_id=53&menu_item_id=7

1 thing bout breast milk is we must b discipline in pumping or latchingit must be very consistent if u want the supply to b thr n of cos increase as well..
if the frequency is always not consistent.. supply will b def low

so try to hav a fix timing to pump

kimberly i have heard of this companyt hat take pur placenta and dry them and make theminto pills fo rus
i was actualy quite keen to try haaa (vainity sake) but i forgot which company is it leh

Thanks sam, seems like i can only afford to go for a short getaway across the island if muz travel in may.

hee...kimberly, not me taking exams lah....hahaha, but me setting exams.

Jeslyn, dun worry k. I belong to the underweight category and my last scan, i only gained abt 7kg when i was in my 24 wks. I hav been eating quite a bit but oso walk & stand a lot....wonder whether that's the cause of my slow weight gain hmmm.

kittyng

no worries, everyone of us is diff and each pregnancy is also very diff! hahah i remember that for my 1st pregnancy i only gained 4kg throughout the whole pregnancy till the day i delivered and the dr was not even worried! so its ok to have slow weight gain. baby's weight gain being normal is more important! as long as baby is growing each time you see the dr, it ok already.

kimberly,
I am not sure if hand pump will make the boobs saggy or not, also never tot of tat the milk expose to air before. may be check with my fren later.

Sunsweet,
For HK depends on where you want to go, I normally go for 3D2N only. I miss the dim sum tehre.....

weight gain is always an issue ya...i also gained a lot of weight...3kg over 3weeks! maybe that's why i am having knee pain now...backache just started...nvr know pregnancy isfull of aches n pain b4 delivery!

envy u, elijah's mummy...

kitty, my dr only gave approval to travel till late may...u hv to check w yr own dr...

jeslyn,

No worries,we can always fix another date for the next appointment...hee..

Plus i put on 9.5kg fr the first mth until now,which is 24weeks.doc ong did told me to keep a lookout for the weight gain,but i did told him,abit hard,as if i dun eat,the nausea feeling comes.so i told myself,just eat well,and dun be bothered abt the weight gain,,hee..

twinkle

heheh... my boy was 3.725kg when he was born... haha straight after delivery i was 58kg! and i was 67.9kg before i delivered.....

kittyng

yah... am gaining so much more this pregnancy! have gained a total of 6kg as of my last visit to the dr leh... and that was a month ago. cant bear to think of my weight now! :p seems to be putting on 2kg per visit so far!

Oh elijiah's mum, your boy has a gd weight

I feel it's gd we are gaining weight cox meaning the bb is eating well too. I wish to gain more for the next few mths.

Hi All...

I'm new to this thread, though not new to this forum nor motherhood. This is my 3rd pregnancy =D

How's everyone getting along with their pregnancy? I, for one, am super tired all the time... =p

3.725kg is alot. The most amazing part is that you only gained 4kg, that means you actually lost your own fats is it? How did you manage that? envy envy... your #1 had such good weight!

Me too peanut. Which part of your body aches? Mine mostly concentrates at the waist. Sometimes really feel like bringing my big pillow to my office to put on the chair to support my back....haiz

Welcome bleuz! Are your #1 & 2 boy or girl?

elijah mum, so your #1 manage to "squeeze" into NB diaper that time? :p

kitty, i'm so tempted to go for pre-natal massage leh.
anyone ever try before? Any good recommendation?

back lo... sob sob. If too much walking, hip ache too.

As for the tailbone, aches badly when I lie flat to sleep, pain immediately gone when I sleep sideway. Kinda different from sherryl. BTW, tailbone is the little bone inbetween our buttocks right? googled and it was explained in Wikipedia the 'final segment of the human vertebral column'.

Wow.. so many mummies rush to have a hol b4 baby pop... hmm.. i know that international airlines accept pregnant ladies up to week 36 with doctor certification.. Regulations do vary from airlines but range are roughly from week 32-week 36 max.. Not sure about whats the allowance on domestic airlines thou... I used to fly for airline so that was the guideline given then, unless they change it now.. So for those who wants to travel, do go and njoy ba... kekekekekeke...

dh doesn't agree on pre-natal massage, tried to convince him to go to a renowned massager salon and he still refuses. haizz...

peanut

hahah... that is something even i wont know leh... i ate as per normal leh... in fact that time like now, i supper alot!

bleuz

welcome! hahah tired... you are definately not the only one! having to chase after my boy am wondering how come i can still put on weight as compared to when i was preggy with my no.1....

twinkle

what nb diapers... hahah we actually had a tough time clearing up all the nb diapers from friends and the hospital! even gave away 2 packs. he was on s size from week 2 onwards!

wah, then your #1 sure knows what to absorb and absorb well on your behalf! Well done #1!

keke, and yes, the new born rompers etc still can fit in after week 2? Or similar fate with the nb diapers? I have been buying 0-3mths rompers (currently bought 7 already, GOSH, I should stop buying).

peanut

i bought mainly 3-6mths & 6mths-12mths rompers. Coz the babies can usually wear the bigger ones. Just a little loose. Coz they grow so fast. If u have a big baby, can outgrow it in less than a month.

Hi...
Re: baby movement
If you can't feel baby movement for a day is it consider normal? do i need to see doc... I am very worry now

Wow peanut,really different from the pain I experience with this tail bone thing.

this morning,I simply had to hold on to my back and walk.The tailbone is killing even if I walk and it turn worst when I stand while waiting for the train.

It hurts on the left side of my back,which I had always sleep on the left.Does this had anything to do with it?Should I change my sleeping posture?

Hi loshita,
How many weeks along are you now?
I think if really can't feel bb move, best to check withdoc. Don't wait. Except for ultra sound and the device to listen to bb heartbeat, nobody can really tell if bb ok or not. At least get peace of mind if go doc and check.

Kimberly
I stayed at Millenium Resort Hotel in Patong.
It in the middle of everything so walking to anywhere was quite convienent. It connected to a big shopping center which have 3 facial salon offering facial at about 300bath. Quite good.

The basement of the shopping center also have alot of massage place cheap, clean n good. I did my back massagae there.

Now silkair so ex?? I booked mine for S$250 per pax all inclusive during the promo period in Feb.

Moo
I did Shoulder n Neck n back massage. Suppose to go Banyan Tree to do massage but it was too far from where I stayed.

Hi kimberly,
Yah, alexis my favourite too. Leah also very cute.

Hi Elijah's mummy,
Wow, it's pretty amazing that you only put on 4kg for your pregnancy. Weight myself yesterday. Already gained 6kg...

My cousin said her colleague's bb drownin the womb. His wife's cervix was not dilated enough and doc didn't call for c-sect. End up bb drowned. Said the couple tried for 8 years before finally managed to conceived... Feel so sorry for them...

Re: Giddy spell
Anyone having giddy spells? I already took my coffee, blood pressure normal, taking my iron supplements on daily basis. And am sitting down. Not sure why I'm still getting dizzy spells.

Getting pukey and feeling under the weather again after 4 days at the my grandma's funeral..... Sigh.

lamigier,
I am in 22th week. actually I am not so sure how the baby movement like, i just feel like got sth like needle poke my tummy. yesterday can't feel anything.

Hey jeslyn,

Ur hb is ultraman fan? Same as mine! House overloaded with his toys..luckily my bb is a ger or else if boy will fight w daddy to play his toys..

I wish to go for bbmoon too.. sigh.. hb felt unsafe to go cos said too much radiation in the air, not good for bb (my hb is a KS type), now is the best time cos it will not be crowded and airfare is at the lower price..

I m feeling achy everymorning when i woke up..also dying for massage.

So far gain 8KG since pre preggy days..

lamagier

which stupid dr is that? Should have found that the bb is in distress. Anyway, i doubt it's drowning bah, coz the bb breathes thru the umbilical cord. They only breathe thru the nose when they're out. Possibly there's water in the lungs.

Hi Mashy,
Yah, that was my first thought. How come doc did not call for a c-sect if bb is in distress? Not sure what exact complications happened, but my cousin said the official cause of death was drowning.

Hi Loshita,
I only started to feel bb move regularly around week 23. Usually it's just before sleep cos that's when I'm still and totally concentrating on feeling bb. But still best to go check if you are worried. At most is just spend some money and feel a bit silly at being paranoid, making sure bb is safe is most impt.