(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

hha i got this joke from my frd..

shen1 er2 zi3, yi3 hou4 ye3 shi4 nu3 de3

translante if you give birth to a son now, when he grows up, he will belongs to another woman (wife).. haha

well its quite true in today's context.

lamagier
is realli true tat daughter shows more concern. son are mostly there for more impt ting and more 'manly' ting onli. and also daughter after marry off also will make the effort to come back wad. actualli i tink is almost the same lor. son haf some points which the daughter can make up for it.

bestberries
icic
im nw in my 21week+ going to b 22 weeks tomorrow. my pain is kinda bad. tink mayb need to confirm wif my gynae when i see her. the thought of 'pre-term labour' realli scares me sometimes.

esther
sittin on the nerve? got such ting wor. hahas. baby alwaes anihow sit -.- my bb have been my alarm clock. alwaes 'poking' around 6am in the morning. my colleagues sae it's gd. but i sae nt gd. bcos im supposed to wake up onli at 630am.

Mashy, what you doing for your bb's 1st mth?

Princess, my hubby decided long time ago to make all our wealthy friends donate to charity under Yoda's name, that's why I did not register for any gift for Yoda, and for the full month, I initially dun want to celebrate but last night, there is a thought that come into my mind that I want Yoda to have the blessings from my relatives cos I did not have when I marry my hubby since I made my wedding v v small.

Elijah'smummy, you have such sweet parents!! I think I will do full month and not the 100days or 4th months since I wil have help from nanny, plus I think I may shed lotsa hair since I have not now.. Thank you and Mashy for the info on looking more tired after full month..

Coolkero, faint spell due to low sugar? I realized I started to like sweet drinks with my meal woh.. last time my girlfriend told me to avoid sugar during last tris cos bb will grw too big and becomes difficult to deliver..

Sherryl, I was thinking of having the celebration in Straits Rooms in Fullerton, but I wonder if it's abit too much for full month celebration???

MIL... When I had my episode, my MIL came to stay with me for about 3weeks, and I think it's really better idea to have them not staying under the same roof.. She insisted she will help me with confinement, but told me she doesn't know where to buy the ingredients for making confinement food or even Asian dinners. When I took her to the wet market, her eyes, nose, mouth all squeezed together cos she thinks the sight is disgusting (so I can forget about the fish and green papaya soup lor)... I sound her out on the night feed which I may need help with, her facial expression changed immediately.. I am here trying to save money for my hubby since I only earned 40% of what I used to after preg, she wont even wash her water glass, and everything is to be done with dish washer.. and on the day the cleaning lady come to clean the souse, she decided that "it's not nice to have her wash the dishes" while all these while I have been picking up the washing after her!!!

And because my SIL is a medical doc, everything is "ask Erin" (my SIL's name)..

After all said, I still love her (she is like my own mom, I love and get angry with her). I called her last night and we chatted for almost 1hr..

And she won't visit until Yoda is more than a month, so she'll miss the full month celebration (sad..)

My hubby is the last "man" standing in his family line.. I guess that's why he love to have a son, so the pressure is off..

Hi mashy,

I agree with you, cos i feel that my PILs are also very "Zhong nan qing nu" and during my wedding, they engaged an MC, kept talking abt having a grandson, grandson.. never once mentioned about granddaughter.. sigh.. but I am having a baby gal this time.. Surprisingly, am not very stressed up at all, cos my PILs seems to be very excited over a grandchild despite is a daughter.. so I dun feel that hostile towards them. Infact my husband and myself do not plan to have another kid to try to see if we got a boy..
Sigh.. But having a boy and a gal is really a "perfect" family for me... Anyways, see how 1st.

Btw, pprincess, the website u gave, the cakes looks too beautiful to eat it! I like it, will definitely try it one day!

twinkle
no lar! my alarm ring at 630am i alwaes wait till 7am then wake up and prepare for work! hahas. my boy mayb telling me to wake up earli so tat i can haf my breakfast earli bcos he's hungry? =p

jamie
yea, looks veri yummy hor? mayb i should get 1 box for myself to admire and eat =p

hi pprincess & MrsC,
haha, my bb is lazy bum. Never wake me up in the morning. Most active just before I go to bed. Gone case, next time will have hard time getting her to go to bed.....

pprincess,
Hope your gynae will be able to find the cause of your hip pain..

lamagier
yuppies. hopefully is jus normal cramps and will go awae soon! bcos i dun encounter any cramps till nw. so it's rather weird tat my leg no cramps but hop crap until so badly =x

twinkle
my baby dun kick me actualli. onli at the startin i will feel the kicking. but nwadaes never kick animore. instead jus feel that baby is moving around and brushing and pushing against my tummy tat's all. but it's not veri hard. jus poking poking. mayb bcos i light sleeper lor. tats why will wake up. hahas. my colleague say tat im lucky my baby dun disturb me in the middle of the night!

Lamagier,

Actually it's all right for u to attend the funeral and rituals. Cse me too went through the same things one and half month back. My MIL dare not disapprove or anything, cse I was crying uncontrollably. She only asked me to take care of myself during the long journey back to Malaysia.

During the funeral, the monk and my family members asked me to wear a long red string tied around my waist with a pair of chopstick and ginger tied together with the string- to prevent any bad luck throughout the whole 3 days ritual. Then try not to stand so much or kneel down when u doing the prayer to prevent water retention. I'm always sitting down on a chair..

You take care k..

kimberly

probably just a buffet for relatives & close friends. Our last count on relatives (already discounted many who won't come) is 80 pp!!!! So many. sigh. we've big families. So maybe we'll need to cater for 100 pp and buy cake vouchers for my hb's colleagues & church friends.

Thanks Cecelia,
Yah, I remembered you came back from Msia and was unwell. I'll be going to the wake tonite then see what instructions the elders have

Re: in laws...

think we all have our own stories to tell...

bestberries

yap your MIL is right if only have 1 child! but you are having twins leh.. and if they both want to nurse at the same time then the breast friend is a good but... for the singletons then i think it would be a luxury... but also heard comments that its a life saver.. coz bottom pain, nipple pain then if waist area also pain how to survive?

hahah i wish that my MIL was like yours!!! mine is super money minded loh!!:p

heheh my hubby is also only son,.... but in PIL family there is only 1 gal and 1 boy leh... hubby is the elder...

Lamagier

its alright to attend coz my granny passed on in dec'07 and i was preggy with my boy too... MIL kept super quiet about it coz i think if she had made any noise i think i would have probably have told her to shut up... heheh never answered her back before but there is always a 1st rite... :p

that time the elders and all made me keep a set of house keys on me at all times. but for all the prayers and stuff i could only sit out and watch... hehe that time so good was definately treated like a queen! imagine the grand uncle serving me drinks and food!

wah stories bout in laws haa...

im still considering if I shld bring my gal back to my grand parents in law house aft full mth to inform them of her arrival lol
cos till date my in laws dn even noe im preggy

so I guess im 'safe' fr being control by inlaws for nw.

Hi elijah'smummy,
haha, I'll probably be busy keeping an eye on younger cousins, folding joss paper or serving drinks and peanuts (if my husband lets me). My maternal family very large and also a lot of family friends etc, so I guess a lot of need to chip in help here help there.

Sorry to interrupt.

I have a set of Medela Swing Just bought on 19march.
Warranthy Still with me.
Bought $469 its with Cooler carrier bag

All Item
-Medela Swing Rp : $369 Condition 9:10
-Cooler Carrier Bag (4 bottles in bag) Rp : $109 Brand New
-3 pcs bottle Rp : $35.90 Condition 9:10
-Purelan Nipple cream 37gBrand New
-Diapers Dispenser bag.Brand NEw
-A pair of baby leg socks Brand New

Willing to let go $380
Onli use less than 5 times.As good as brand new.
Price negotiateble
Collection at Bukit Panjang

Kindly Email me at [email protected]

2288402.jpg
2288403.jpg
2288404.jpg
2288405.jpg

Been reading yr posts abt PIL. I gt mine to tell also, but didnt share coz I am not feeling well today... too lazy to type. Having sore throat and feeling feverish. Been feeling so tired e entire day. Its only noon n I still hve half more day to go at work. Arghhh!

pprincess, mine woke up ard 5plus to 6am everymorning even weekends..can feel it moving around my tummy, can feel and see the lump on my tummy when i lie flat on my back.

Abt hip pain, i had that joint pain at my right hip couple of weeks back. My gynae say it's norm , might be expanding that y the pain. I too had issue climbing out of bed at time, like old woman , must hold on to something to get up.

You mummies are really early toking about full month celebration when our bb are only 6 mths in our tummy! hehe..

Hi Kimberly,

Hmm,how much does it cost to hold the full mth celebration in the straits ballroom at Fullerton?

I am now thinking of the venue.For cakes wise,roughly know what I want,just the venue which is disturbing me.

Wonder where else is a gd place for the full mth celebration then?

Princess, My SIL says the pain may be due to stretching of our bone to accommodate baby's growth, but still better to ask your doc..

HBB, I think you want to bring your bb back to your Grandparents in Law, they'll love it, you cannot imagine the happiness when you see the happy faces from the older folks, it's priceless!

Cecilia, Lamagier,
Sorry to hear you loss, please take care.. I briefly heard about the red string thing, but still interesting to learn about this practice. I only know (before preg), my mom always say to keep a leaf inside pocket whenever visiting wake, then discard it after leaving.. Even at my G'ma wake I did that..

Are you talking to your unborn bb yet? I also spell to Yoda, so far, there are breakfast, dinner, bread, apple, snack, charawet (my cat)... I am so frighten that he'll have poor spelling skills like his daddy..

princess,
I have sharp pain too above belly button yesterday midnight and just now when I was having lunch. Just awhile only, my mum said is like that ger, then when i ask y previously dun have, she said everyday is different it shows your baby is growing....dunno true or not?

I want to check how many time you all go toilet 'bake cake' in a day. I need to go at least twice a day only can clear all recently. Previously was having constipation, 4 days only 'bake cake' once.

Hi Loshita,
Wow, 4 days bake once is really bad constipation.. But I think you should consult a doc if you are clearing more than twice a day. It all depends on how does the stool texture etc.. u know what i mean..
Seriously, my aunt goes bake cake twice a day and doc says she pretty healthy! So it depends..

Hi HBB,
You ok relations with your in laws? I told them after my first trimester. Cos I don't want them to feel offended that we never tell them and in case they feel we don't respect them. Don't want to cause any bad feelings.

Hi loshita,
I go almost very day. Coffee first thing (eh, though I know Mrs Wong says best is a cup of warm water best thing in the morning) in the morning does the trick for me. I need my coffee else teh day just will be crappy

Jamie,
mine one is not those watery or too hard type, just normal one but just can't clear all at one go.

Lamigier,
how many time in a day?

Wow so many stories about your PILs.. Thank God, I don't hv to worry abt that, MIL was a nice lady but she passed on.

Yesterday, I went to Baby Hyperstore and Baby Kingdom, gosh..the service at Baby Kingdom sucks. Won't be going back again. Was looking at the prams and considering to get a Quinny only Baby Hyperstore carries them but the sales was a PRC so she couldn't really explain well. When I went to Baby Kingdom, they only carry Combi and McClaren. My husband was telling the sales staff (guy) what we were looking for and he showed him one Combi model but was a really small pram and it didn't looked stable. The guy said it can be used up to 2 yrs only. I made a comment that it was too small and what happens after 2yo, I have to buy another pram, guess what the sales guy said. He said, oh that depends on how u train your child lor...if you train him well, then no need to sit pram liao.

As he made that comment, I turned away then other sales staff (2 aunties there) said, "they only looking for branded ones - Quinny lah.."

Geez, this is BAD bad service ...

loshita,

Was that yr normal pattern before preggy? If it is, then shouldn't worri 2 much. As long as it's still normal stools, should be fine. Unless, like damn hard type, then maybe u wanna dink some stool softener when u constipate for > 1 day as a prevention.

I was sent to A & E 1 month ago cse I was bleeding quite badly after baking 'cake'. :p But turn out everything alright.

kimberly & loshita
mine is not pain lehs. mine is cramp. tats why very puzzled. and lately also a part of my breast there also start to feel painful sometimes. tat one is sharp pain. making me feel so worried nw. -.-

loshita
i onli went like once every 2 days. max once a day. bcos dey sae if u on iron pill will definitely haf abit of consitpation. but then, i alwaes drink lots of water. so is normal lor. if too much or too lil should go see doctor.

Hi loshita,
Mine typically once a day. Just that I take iron supplements, so moving my bowels not as smooth as before & stool black black one =p

Hi koko,
Yah, that's pretty bad service. Behaving like their goods nothing wrong, problem is picky customer, like customer has no rights to choose...

hi Sheryl,
Take care. Hope you're not getting flu bug or anything... Yah, I wish it will be time to go home soon. Want to go over to my grandma's wake. My whole family there except me. Actually want to go at half day, mum told me after work...

princess,
I think he breast side is the breast is growing, that;s y you have this uncomfortable feeling, me too sometime feel that.

Cecelia,
before pregnant I have it once daily. may be i just keep track on the stool condition. if anything wrong will go to gynae.

Koko,
u r welcome. I bought at Taka fair at 798, then found that OG selling 100 cheaper wanted to refund but hubby said ma fan, then my other fren also wants he bought at OG at 699

no...cause i was only looking at prams. Baby Kingdom is quite small nothing much except for lots of Combi stuff if you are looking for that.

Baby Hyperstore sells madela, Pigeon baby clothes & toiletries on the level 2, playmats, etc.

I think u can get most of the stuff from Cheng Soon...the shop at Chinatown..which is selling at a cheaper price.

Lamagier: Ya...I don't think as sales staff comments like these are helpful to customers, it just piss us off. That's why I just walked away without even answering him.

Loshita: That's quite a lot of difference. Baby Hyperstore had Qunny Buzz, Speedi and Zapp.

Anyone been to Baby Avenue at Balestier?

Twinkle:

the shop's name is Cheong Choon Store..sorry for the mistake.
Add: Blk 34 upper Cross St #03-132 Tel: 65323855
Look for: Ms Winnie Wong

My cousin said they do delivery for $100 and above. I haven't been to the store before but they've got quite alot of stuff - toiletries, diapers, wet wipes...

koko, I had almost similar experience like u at kingdom, the 2 aunties just stand there and no help at all, but my hubby dun like combi he thinks it;s too short for him (he is 1.9m) and look too lady for Yoda.. The helpful girl at BB Hybermart is now in Taka.

But I must say, I like the all wheels 360degree turn and the cooling seat for our weather.

My travel system is not trendy looking but v sturdy.. Inglesina ($838, comes with car seat carrier and diaper bag and I think also a foot warmer, which I will need when we go USA this X'mas), I would have bought the Peg-Perego but I needed the bb car seat carrier and had to pay $1300 for all items.

Koko & Twinkle, try to get stroller with push handle that connects (like combi) as it;s easier to maneuver with one hand (if needed). This is experience of our friend who owns a stroller that has 2 separated handles. My Inglesina is also twin handles, cos only the "Otutto" is loop handle, it'll cost me double of what I paid although there is an additional pram base that I can interchange with the stroller seat (but still not of use for me)..

My friend also asked me to check out the rain cover when buying the stroller, but I forgot.. so do ask the sales person k?

Happy shopping!

Loshita:
talking abt OG is it the one at People's park???

Twinkle:
Not sure what you are getting and I havnen't been to this one yet:

Baby Avenue
520 Balestier Road #01-02 Leong On Building.

RE: Stroller
Hey, I just recalled, a friend of mine told me there is a place along Balestier (near Ah Hood Road) that sells pram/strollers at a reasonable price, but I have not check it and accidentally deleted her sms...

Re:Stroller.. looks like Koko already got the info..

Twinkle, if you are not tired, you can collect stroller brochures from the hypermart then slowly shortlist what you need. I have lists of things friends passed me either thru sms or email..

But most importantly you should buy according to your need.. I think this forum is great avenue to hear from the experienced moms and decide on what suits you.

Kimberly: Tks! I wonder if its Baby Avenue?? I am looking at a old Quinny catalog 06' and they didn't hv Inglesina.
I have a Maxi Cosi infant car seat that's why I thought of buying a travel system. What's the weight of Inglesina when it collapse?

Twinkle: I didn't buy anything yet too :p Cause I don't want them to collect dust..LOL!!

thanks lamiger... i am counting down e time now. dread e hrs! seems like i am getting e flu bug.

u take care too. sorry to hear abt e loss of yr grandma.

I think I did see 1 Quinny Buzz at OG (People's Park) last Saturday. They were having the 20% off for regular items storewide.

I had dropped in on Cheong Choon before that (next door building anyways). 1 thing about Cheong Choon is that the shop isn't very big, and large items like stroller, cots etc, seems to be browsed mostly thru the catalogue infront of the counter. Probaby easier if you just give them a call and ask if they have stock for a Quinny and the price and just book an order for it.

Woot! happy! My MIL just ordered the two of us not to buy a stroller because it was to be my SIL's gift to her niece...hehe, can take it off my list now, just gotta say which one we want.

I also visited the Tai-sing showroom, and the saleslady did really impress my HB because she explained and demo-ed the Combis very well. Though some combis (the <$400 models) have been used by some parents to be a little wobby, I got to say the easy operation of the Miracle Turn kinda got to me, since I like to go on holidays at least once a year, and it would pain me if the stroller weight a ton.

So far travel systems have a weight issue for me. Not entirely sure if it is the whole concept of a travel system that is loading on the weight of the stroller. But the idea of travel systems was very attractive.

Sheryl, I think there is a charge for renting the room and separate charge for food from the hotel, I am not sure if there is change and I have not call to check..

Koko &amp; Twinkle, if you have yet to buy anything, it;s no harm to make a list of what you want so in case you got too tired to buy at the end of the preg, your hubby can help to pick them up. Can also wait for the next baby fair (Motherhood baby fair), 4-7June at Singapore Expo. Heard it's bigger and better..

I am collating all the bb tiems so I can decide on the furniture, still nothing done in bb's room..