(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

lamagier, haha. I bet should be after week 28! U not twins right?

I just realised I can't see my public hair anymore! Need to rely on mirror to shave. LOL!

Lamagier, I asked my friend to check if the Britax is suitable for new born (you knw some car seat is from 0-3 but end up very big for new borns and poor bb look so not supported).. But he said he alsready left. My distant relative in USA said accdg to her research, Britax is the safest car seat, I don't know how and base on what she said this. Initially I tot to buy car seat carrier then upgrade to car seat when Yoda out grow the carrier but if this Britax is good for infant, I may not get the car seat carrier..

Sheryl, my gf gave me this contact, I have not called.. Her name is Nik, 98342584. Gf says she is very good. I am not sure of the charges, if you do use her, post your comment k?

Kimberly, ur steak and baked veg recipes so detail and yummy... i'm drooling and dreaming liao. I MISS THE SOFT AND JUICY STEAK!!! ERRRHHHH!!!!!

Kimberly, ur nightmare made me wan2 cry
It will NOT come true ok.

Peanut, to tell you the truth, I sometimes eat the things we are told not to, e.g. sushi, smoked salmon (small portion only).. that day at Mezze9, I was served a slice of medium rare beef, I still try to eat the dark pink part, but left the "bloody" part aside..

I oso drink, on Mon, I had 1.5 glass champagne and .5 glass red wine... I had a small sip of my hubby's beer at bala the other day, and another corona at Siloso beach...

In my 1st trimester, I had a cup of earl grey and a cup of vanilla tea..

My confession for food abuse..

Peanut, thanks for comfort.. I see some of us have more nightmare or bad dreams.. I do too, and I also cried and woke up many times or heart pound very fast when woken up.. I hope this wont cause bb's heart to race.

gals, any idea if drinks like ice lemon tea, mos burger milk tea, green tea or the bubble tea has caffeine in it? heard fr my friend that tea has caffeine. e drinks listed above happens to be my fav drinks.

kimberly, i will let u noe if i am using her. yrs is a malay massage lady right?

Hi Sheryl,
I think all the above has caffeine, but definitely not that high as to make you go above 300mg/per day limit. SHould be ok to drink bah.

I'm still on my daily 1~2 cups of java. pprincess, don't scold me... I'm intensively looking at number and spreadsheet the past week.... And I'm engineering-trained, not accountancy-trained... Need caffeine to keep me awake and alert...

Sheryl, yes she is. Btw, all tea has caffeine, only tea (commonly found) that does not is Chamomile. But Chamomile (camomile) is an acquired taste, some like some dun. I like it as it is and other like it with honey, which to me, leave a sour after taste.

Note on use of honey, especially Manuka honey: DO NOT add hot water like making tea/coffee, use only warm water as hot water kills all the antioxident in the honey.

Chamomile/ camomile: from Chamomile/ Camomile flower, great for relaxation and insomnia. Some brand has scent like roaches and some are milder (usually from teabags); Some has a peppermint taste to it (Marmalade); Some has mild scent but good flavor (like in most cafe, say, Coffee bean & tea leaf).

Hope you like my recommendation.

haha. me too, in engineering field. so I guess more believe on facts and data rather than myth.

But I muz say, u quite brave woah! I everything also dare to eat (moderately) except for raw/undercook.

Hi Lamagier/Kimberly,
Check out Britax Companion infant car seat. It has a good rating on safety; but probably cos of that it's also quite heavy. Ideally it's supposed to work for up to 22 lbs and 30 inches. But we used it for abt 6 mths before moving her to a Britax Marathon cos she prefers to sit a little higher.

Wahh, this is weekend is gonna be a busy one man! Most of us heading to taka sales, isetan sales and not forgetting the IT fair too!!

Wuhoo...get ready for some hot spending...

Noelle, thanks for info.. you think the companion is comfy for new born huh? I think my car is the highest (higher that Toyota Fortuner), so Yoda better be fine ;)

If I don;t get that then I would get the Maxi Cosi (yet to find out about the safety standard) car seat carrier and get the Marathon when Yoda out grow the carrier.

Sunsweet, it;s a Jeep Wrangler Unlimited.. you may be asking how I climb up.. it;s really high, but I found a trick (Hee hee).. I still think it;s safest car.

sheryl
I'm having lower backache too especially on the left side. I couldn't stand on my left alone. The nerve pain is killing. Maybe we're getting heavier now & I also always sleep on my left (read that it's the best position for both mommy & baby). But sometimes after sleeping on 1 position for long time, it could be very uncomfortable. Few nights ago, I woke up at 3am & tried to sleep on my right side. Guess what?! Baby was complaining! She kicked me once & I just ignored. Then she kicked me vigorously until I gave up. Turned back to my left

took half a day off from work today to shop at taka baby fair. Was kinda crowded even at 3pm. Got the avent steriliser, avent bottles, stroller and car seat. Im definitely going back again for more stuff and it is really exciting looking at all those baby stuff as a first time mum!

Noelle,
Is britax car seat better than recaro? I bought the recaro one at an offer price of $268 and it supposed to be good for newborn till 13 months. I hope I dun regret buying it!

Sunsweet, saw the Prado, it's almost as tall as my jeep but easier to get on the car. I would've gotten Fortuner or Prado too.

I am not tall, only 1.6.. But my hubby is 1.9.

I used to drive a Nissan Sunny, always got bullied, now most car give way to me cos my car really powerful, if anyone switch lane in front of me, they have to have good pick up. I had a dream one day that my car literally ran over a Lexus... (hahaha)

Mine is a bit too manly, men asked me about the car, the make, the price, the 4WD... I prefer the Jeep wrangler, cuter for women driver but cant to take bb around.

Re: Infant Car Seat
We bought Britax Companion based on various reviews we read on its safety features. But I can't say it was the most comfortable car seat for DD, cos she didn't like the head rest. Oh well, we couldn't try out the car seat before buying; we needed the car seat for her to be discharged fm the hospital :D

Another thing we like abt this car seat is that it's easy to install and once you get it into the car, it clicks lock quickly to the base.

One thing I would take into consideration, is about car seat compatibility to your vehicle and the stroller.

Has anyone check out Graco SnugRide? Heard it's quite good too.

Kimberly,
Britax Companion weighs abt 5 kg without the base. I had a hard time loading the car seat with DD in it, and not forgetting, getting it out later on. So think abt how it'll work for you and your SUV

Devilene,
I can't say if Britax is better than Recaro or not, cos I've not seen a Recaro. Though infant car seats are meant to fit baby up to 1 yo, that was hardly the case for me and most of my friends. We had to move on to a bigger car seats before the year mark. You've already bought it, so make good use out of it. I'm sure your LO will like what mommy has chosen

Devilene, where did you see the recaro baby car seat? Isn't only miki marketing the only distributor at $600+? That shop sells mainly car sport seats.

I disagree with dh from buying bcos I had the impression that Recaro only good for it's brand name on normal sport seats, not on baby safety. Please educate me. What do you think?

Hi Noelle,

I agree with you, I better make good use of it since I've already bought it. I like the design though as it is very compact-looking.

Peanut,
Recaro seats are marketed together with Maclaren strollers as they both belong to same company (that was what the sales girl said).
My hubby and I werent convinced at first but then the salegirl did a live demo on how user friendly and safe the seat is. Recaro can even be used as a rocking seat with a curve base. Furthermore, it is german-made so shld be technically sound. Well, seriously, I am not sure how safe the seat is until we really use it so now im keeping my fingers crossed that we made the right choice.
Take a look at Quinny seats. I was almost bowled over by its design but then hubby insist Recaro seat and Maclaren stroller are much more economical and less bulky.

Peanut,

Sorry forgot to add on that you can find the recaro seats at the Maclaren and Quinny booths at Taka fair. All 3 brands are marketed by same company.

mashy,

haha…coz of having twins that’s why must save more $$$ for them :p
My mom is very used to cloth diapers so should be no problem as she is the primary caregiver for babies. My only worry is she is not used to twins (taking care of 2 babies at the same time). However, she told me first 2 weeks must use disposable diapers then after that change to cloth ones for day use. HB also promised to take 2 weeks leave to help and take care of babies and do house chores (including laundry, of course…hee)

hihi, anyone bought breastpump yet? if yes, wat brand??? for those intending to breastfeed exclusive, will u try to breastfeed direct or with pump too??? i'm debating if i should get one now or later after giving birth???

coolkero,

me thinking of getting breastpump now if not will be difficult to go and buy during confinement. may go for Avent. you?

coolkero

as per what i had with my boy... i will only use pump after the confinement month as the 1st month is to build the supply.... but then if there is engorgement its good to have a pump on standby so that can express and store rather then use cabbage leaves coz that way will decrease your supply.

hmmm beverly, my fren recommend medela electric pump, i check out web about medela freestyle, wonder how much in singapore, usa selling US$380. but the review say it's kinda noisy.

but i'll be using avent bottles, so i might consider avent breast pump also. elijah'smummy, u said can test out before buy, but how???

Went to the gynae for the check up today and lucky he said baby is fine and kicking inside.. He was worried more abt me tearing the placenta more than the baby as he say baby are generally well protected with water at 5 months now..

Went to Taka, wow... from the thread can see quite a few mummies made some damages on their pockets already on the first day at the fair.. I dont have the taka card thus didnt get much stuff as without the card it seems no diff from normal pricing..

Babyethan, for the trade in of the old milk bottles at pigeon, does it have to be old pigeon milk bottles or other brands is fine too?

Im sure alot of us are gonna enjoy the coming week with all the fairs goin on... Yippee

huh? taka fair price not much diff from normal ah? Oh no! I also dun have the taka card. Sian already lo...

I'm so looking forward to this weekend! Sat morning Detail scan (can see my baby again
, afternoon taka baby fair, sun morning IT show... waaaahhhh.

Peanut

I think these fairs will be a good deal only if you have their card.. But now isetan and robinson also having sales and im only with robinson so most likely will get the bulk of things from there to enjoy the extra discounts..

You can still get the smaller items which i think was quite cheap like the clothings.. and its fun jst being out there with so many mummies looking at the tinny weeny stuffs.. so its quite enjoying even thou not much things bought... sure u will njoy too!!!! Cheers...

Yan
the trade in of old bottles can be any brands.
Btw, i saw at Raffles City Robinson that if we spent more than $200 (if not wrong) on nursery stuff, they do free delivery and even offer 12mths instalment.... something for pregnancy only

coolkero
the freestyle is selling at $899 at the taka fair. It's so ex!!! I was told that the motor is the same as PIS, just that it has memory function and has some handsfree gadgets. The size is really tempting but it's really too ex for a pump.

I'm new here. This is my 1st post ever in this forum.

Went to the Taka bb fair today. Was rather sad that Combi strollers are not having additional discount. Only 10% with Taka card. Wonder if anywhere else has a better deal. Kind of like the one with Miracle Turn.

Baby ethan

The pigeon trade-in of milk bottles any idea besides taka anywhere else can do it? wow... the robinson deal sounds great, any idea when the sales ending.. I didnt receive any mailers even thou i did spend on the card recently... so no idea wats goin on... great tat the ladies here give so much info...

Madeline
Welcome ya... me oso new here... very fun and addictive talkin to the ladies here...

Morning Mums,
Dunno y, today wake up so early.

Sunsweet,
My placenta is low too, but not too low. Gynae comment still have time for it to change position as now only 20 weeks. But she said it will turn up naturally when the baby growing, however, if it still remain the same then I can't go for natural birth as the baby weight will push the placenta even lower. She said that's no way to make the placenta turn up, so ask me no need to try massage.

Blessed, Lamagier,
The sonographer scanned the baby for us to see first before she started measuring. She able to scan the gender to show us as BB very cooperative. When she told us is BB gal, we have no response just nobbed head, then she found no fun cos no reaction from us, haha later then only she found out that we oredi knew the BB gender. She then turn the monitor and scan for the measurement, only hubby able to see everything i just rest there. hubby said he said BB mouth kept open and close. the whole scan take about 15 min. they gave me 2 copies of report with the summary, comparison graphs and some ultrasound pictures, gynae said sonographer just picked some pictures to print out to show doc the important parts. The detail scan cost 80+ after FBI and my previous amnio test discount. BB weight is 301g, normal. My total weight gain is 4kg for 20 weeks.

Re: Taka Fair
I went taka fair after my detail scan. Bought Quinny stroller, they are having offer now which is $888, with maxi cosi infant car seat is $1088 other places are selling either $1169 or $1160 and additional $239 for maxi cosi infant car seat. after the additional 10% taka card discount, it is only $800. I think it is a good deal I save at least $360. There was another MTB also buying another quinny model but she dun have taka card, she used mine and paid me cash. so she saved another additional $68.

I bought some fisher price toys too. Nearly bought at the fair, but I lazy to carry too many thing so I went upstair to shop first, who know I found that upstair toy department have 30% discount from regular price for fisher price, playdoh, playskool, bob the builder, thomas and fren only on 12 mar, and with additional 10% discount. final price is cheaper than babyfair.

wanted to buy some Avent milk bottle but they are not selling BPA free bottle at this fair.

Medula PIS breast pump is selling at $699 with some free gifts together with it. Didn't buy any breast pump cos dunno whether I will have milk to breast feed or not after deliver.

Then I also found that the bumbo chair is selling at $79 and they stated the original price is $120+. This chair I remember I saw a few time when I shopped and all this while regular price is $79 and now they stated original price is $120+, feel like they are cheating although there is 10% for taka card.
So i think no matter which company baby fair, we must know the regular price before buying any so call discounted item.

Hi loshita,
You are really early. Wow, you really did your hoework before heading for the taka fair

Hi LS,
You OK? Your back pain sounds really bad. If really back pain, maybe go check with gynae see if your gynae can do anything to help?

Hi Pe@nut,
(*wave*) Hee, fellow engineer.....

loshita
u are so earli! but i cant get to sleep also, been tossing thru the night and waking up everi few hrs. sigh

re: taka fair
it was quite messy and not veri organise wif lots and lots of people. for stroller, onli those more well known brand are there, else i guess haf to go kiddy palace which haf more variety. in the end didnt bought much. jus bought many rompers and such.

mashy
im expecting a boy. pls update. thanks!

Hi Coolkero,

I'm going to use the Medela PIS advanced breast pumps that I've bought with my first child. I was using Ameda hospital grade pumps before receiving the Medala and was very comfortable with the switch. Wow, the pumps are really expensive in S'pore!! I don't think I paid more than US$280 for mine. I have yet to use it here with 220V, hope they will work well with a converter.

Another good accessory to hv for breast feeding moms are the nipple shields; great relief during the first couple of weeks ;)

Hi Devilene,
The Recaro car seats look great; so cool!! Thanks Peanut for the link
I think the Young Profi is infant car seat model. Uhhh, I like the Recaro Start 0+/+I (convertible) too. Nice choice!!

noelle
yuppies! the sonographer is veri gd and my baby is veri cooperative. hahas. she even let me choose which 1 i wan thou. but there's no weight indication in the report on how many G is my baby.

Gd morn gals, had a hectic day yesterday so didn't manage to come in here for long.

pprincess

congrats on your boy!

Re: Quinny Buzz
They're having a sale on Quinny Buzz at OG. Selling for $699. It's in today's ST.