(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Sunsweet:

RE: diapers
new born uses so many diapers??? Gosh...then roughly how many packs do you use in a week/month?

RE: Cot Mattress
Can anyone recommend me what type of cot mattress should I buy or look out for?

RE: Stuffy Nose
Got them even from 1st trimester, thought it was my usual sinus but its been so long since then and i'm still having it.

ive been feeling that my baby seems veri veri low down near the vagina area the whole morning. isit normal and ok? getting worried bcos lately haf pain. then nw the baby is so low and not sure isit okie. can still feel baby moving. but it's all at the lower part. cant feel anything in the area above the pubic area. all seems to be below and at the pubic area lor.

koko

can use abt 8 a day depending on your bb and of course, if there's any accidents. U'll be using a lot, so don't bother counting. I usually buy in bulk coz too much of a hassle to keep going to the supermarket. Each time i'll get abt 4 packs. At first I used the good ones, then later figured that since the bb change diaper every 2-3hrs, no point getting an expensive one. Don't even have time for diaper rash. Hahha.

Mashy:

LOL!! you are right. just wondering for a start how many should I buy? Cause some people were telling me not to buy too much as the baby may be sensitve to the diaper.

koko

for me that time i did not know what type was good so i went for the branded ones that were on sale... hahha. but also bought 4 pack each time. :p

think that there is a bp going on for s size diapers. can go check it out.

pprincessbaobei

I think best to head to the gynae if u feeling this way... Hmm.. isit pushing down on ur pelvis area? If it is, then best to consult the gynae.. If its not pushing, could be the baby happen to be position there for the moment, try monitor today... hmm im also monitoring my baby kicks now as very worry wats happening to him inside after tat fall...

Just to confirm, the taka bb fair starts tomorrow rite?

Elijah's mummy:

no neeed to get newborn size? Size s is the same?

Geez...I sound so silly asking this question :/

Any idea about baby cot mattress??? type I should get?

Hospital would usually use Pampers newborn which is exp... anyway they will provide a pack.

So for me, my #1 used 1 pkt of Pampers, 1 pkt of mamy poko.. then realise like Mashy say no time for diaper rash so choose Pet pet size s. after a few weeks.

actually napier not bad too, nice and soft, so i tired 1 pkt.. just that new born size needs to be ordered thru the distributor not availalbe at NTUC. and i feel napier newborn size quite big.. so can last quite a while.

yes taka fair and iseatan sale starts tomorrow.

i guess would be packed.

Size S slightly larger then New born size.. but different brand will have difference.

for cot mattress, I just buy the normal ones so if really dirty, will then buy new one..

Didn't really buy those latex kind cos anyway baby will sleep with me in aircon.. so not much diff..

Pprincess, when I was at beginning of 2nd trimester, Yoda was too low, and I had a threaten miscarriage. Friends say to tell him to move up and not to get mommy worry.. Every once in a while he will still venture southward and I found that laying down more helps to "bring him up". So these days, I worked till 3:30pm and go home for nap, and if hubby is not in town, I will lay in bed after lunch on sat..

Re Stuffy nose
I started having super sensitive nose 1.5yrs before I was preg and rely on nasal spray. Had to give up when I was preg, and suffered until I found that (for me) sleeping on my back relieve me from that. I also gave up all the sexy nighties for long sleeves cotton top and have been ok in the day. Only time when nose becomes stuff is whn I am tired, stuffy nose and watery eyes which I don't prefer.

But I must say, indeed the immunity sys is lower during pregnancy, I had flu in the beginning of 1st & 2nd trimesters..

Now, anyone know if it is safe to go for IPL bikini line hair removal when expecting?

koko

for me that time my boy was born at 3.725kg leh... so i could only squeeze him into the newborn size for a week... after that i could barely put the tabs on so i used s size instead. actually the size all depends on your baby. hahah if like mine that its s size for you loh. hahah but now that all the babies around him are into lsize he is still stuck at m size leh... l size still to big for him and will leak.

koko

the reason why u shouldn't buy too many for a start is coz u don't know how big your bb is going to be. Some bbs are born big, so can skip the newborn size. Some are petite, so must use newborn size. S size usually start from 3kg and above.

Yes, some bbs have expensive butt. Heard they must use the expensive ones else will get nappy rash. But i think if you're very diligent in changing, then it's ok. That time i got those with the pee indicator and once the colour has fully changed, i will change the diaper. And on top of that, the poo diapers changes too.

Nepia has bigger cutting. Huggies cutting are one of the smallest. So also depends on your bbs' butt. My boy has a small butt, so even though he's already 3yrs old now, he's still wearing L size diaper pants. Some of the bbs i know start wearing L at 1 yr old coz their butts are huge.

Im goin to see my gynae tomorrow morning and then head to Taka tat is if everything is alrite.. Taka or Istan fair better? any idea?

PPrincessbaobei
Ya as kimberly said, its definitely worth checking out at the gynae if u r constantly feeling the pushing down as it could be signs of pre term delivery or threaten miscarriage.. Pls take care..

Hi Kimberly
Best not to do IPL during pregnancy. The skin doc at my facial place told me to stop IPL & infra-red treatment during prgnancy. Went to research online also found most websites with relevent information discourages IPL during pregnancy.

Thanks Lamagier! I was so tempted to do it cos I am so not comfy anymore...

Any cheap & clean waxing place to recommend? Read Strip, still thinking..

kimberly & yan
thanks for sharing. luckily im going for my scan tomorrow and seeing doctor on fri. cross finger tat nothing happen.

kimberly
aniwae, during pregnancy cannt do IPL at all. bcos ive a complimentary IPL service at the place where i did my waxing. she say can onli do after delivery.

yan
i check wif a few mummies, dey all say that taka baby fair is a better choice with better bargain. ive a 50bucks voucher for taka. not sure whether can still use during the fair?

Kimberly,

I think shaving is still the best for this time...in fact I have always resorted to shaving as i find waxing too painful..my threshold for pain is super low! ; )

Princess,
I do have the same feeling at times too..will have the urge to quickly pee, but it does not really prolong...its kinda a on and off feeling..better to consult gynae if yours continues..

kimberly
im doing at strip. i went once and find the staff tat did for me veri polite and nice veri informative also. but hor, the job was not well done. some are not being pull out and ended up abit spikey for those not pulled out totally. i onli went once. previously i email their enquiries email and was told to look for this staff by the name of siew theng at wheelock. but on the day i went she was on leave.mayb the next time i went look for her, tink her skill is better.

blessed09
ive been going to the toilet every 15-20mins for the whole dae. i tink baby is realli quite low and pressing on my bladder. so irritated -.-

mashy
then i better bring along. can save me 50bucks! hees. bcos taka ting kinda exp and im also saving money, so all the while never touch my voucher. nw is the time. but provided i know the gender then i can buy tings lar. so everidae ive been telling baby, mummy can buy ting for u if u let mummy know ur gender! hahas! hope it works =p

pprincess

u wanna try the cat crawl? I find that whenever i feel this way, I just need to go on all my fours and lean down. Maybe it's gravity or something, the pressure isn't that great after that.

koko,

u can always buy the diapers after delivery, for my #1, she's only 2.68kg at birth and when discharge from hospital only left 2.4kg, she use new born size for one month then only upgrade to S size. and I remember the first few month bb gain weight very fast, so S size only used for 1 month or 2 months I upgrade her to M size liao. My opinion dont buy so many diapers at the first few months as bb weight change very fast, then later after 1 years old their weight wont change so fast can buy in bulk if there's good deals.

mashy
nw in office cannt cat crawl -.- i was telling my colleagues and dey all sae cannt imagine me doing cat crawl. hahas. but mayb can try later after i reach home.

RE: Cot Mattress

I bought the bb cot matress from kiddy palace, forgot the brand, it's very famous one, it's safety bb or what, inside got hole so bb wont be stuff even in tummy down position. think it's $188 if I'm not wrong, I bought during 20% storewide discount so quite worth.think robinson all those department store also carry this brand.

kimkurek,

actually for second time mummy, I wont need to prepare so much things for #2, just that I'm too curious want to know bb gender early.

for #1 I bought unisex color cloth for her, so most of them can wear for #2 nomatter boy or gal. only need to buy some new bottles/teats, the rest things all can use recycle one.

diapers:

my gal use pampers and nepia, the rest brand I tried like pet pet/mamypoko/fitti/NTUC house brand all gave rashes and some of them leaks, so I stick to day time use pampers and night time use Nepia for quite long time already, now my gal 19 months day time already diaper free for about 4 months liao. only night time need 1 piece of nepia, quite saving now.

pprincessbaobei

Im also goin to the toilet heaps now as bb is sitting at tat position... Think no need worry since from wat u say its not pushing down... Its jst the bb weight wen its sitted in that position tat makes us feel tat way i think..

I been feeling tat way for the past few days too, always running to the toilet.. haiz..

anyone going to taka sales? I'm going tmrw morning

Diapers:
Actually can order 4packs of Nepia online n they will deliver free. Don't worry about the size. As long as the pack is not opened, can change sizes with them. They are flexible on this.

me goin tmr afternoon arnd 12pm... think they open only arnd 10.30am onwards rite... can provide the nepia hotline.. thanks

Koko, Robinson sale already started.. last Friday.. I went the first day for public cos I didn't recv the member sale mailer (GDI, first time they did this to me and when I was so looking fwd to it, so angry!).

I demanded that the store extended the member discount to me and made them gave me the $5 rebate every department I went..

I didn't have too much fun there cos I was feeling tired after 3.5hrs and did not buy some of the items I had planned to...

I am going to check out the Taka sale tomorrow after work..

kimberly - did they give you the $5 discount ? sometimes i dont get too, but too chicken to ask for discount :p

i'm going taka sale tom after work too. wow, looks like a lot of ladies will be there

kimberly
yes!!! i missed the sale too. Went yesterday and saw their mailer there. The private sale for cardholders was last week and I also din receive any mailers.

Btw, i saw Robinsons selling NUK bottles in bundle packs. Think for those who are planning to get it, can consider.

kimberly

I called and asked robinsons before why i don't receive certain mailers. Apparently, they only send to u if you have made recent purchases there. Once u stopped shopping there for a while, they're drop u from the list.

Re: Taka Sale
Yippee, From tom till Sun have extra 10% off for card members. And free delivery is for purchases above $200.

Hi mummies, finally i hav some time to come online to read all the threads....so tight up with work these days.

Lamagier, cecelia & blessed, hifi!!!! So happy that we are nw enjoying the punches & kicks fr our bbs

Cecilia, my hb oso told me to count at least 10x bb moves daily. But i find it so hard to monitor...

Blessed, i din go for the sat's workshop. Wanted to go to baby hypermart last wkend but again was occupied by work that i could nt go anywhere...haiz. So glad u hav decided on the stroller.

Heard many mummies gg down tmr to the takar fair. I probably can only go down this wkend.

pprincess, enjoy your detailed scan tmr & hope u can get to see your bb's gender

Re: cloth diapers
I've bought 2 packets of cloth diapers (total 22 pcs) for my 2 boys. Plan to use disposable one at nite only to save $$$. Find it ok to use cloth diapers when helping to take care of my nephew. Not so troublesome coz we will wash the cloth diapers with washing machine. If worry about the poo, just use nappy liners...

Re: disposable diapers
Went to Cold Storage this afternoon and found that they have promotion for mamypoko S size diapers @ $16.90 for 1 pkt (48pcs). Not sure if it is cheaper coz it stated that usual price is $19+. Maybe I will buy some to stock up.

re: detail scanning at KKH
can i check whether dey will gif us a copy of the report? or they will onli gif a copy to our gynae and if we wan then haf to request from our gynae?
also wan to know whether the sonographer will gif us the scan pictures of baby? or do we haf to request from the sonographer? ive alreadi miss 2 times of my babies scanning pictures and so sad abt it. anibodi can advise?

beverly

u have twins leh. Using cloth diapers???? Poor washing machine. Your nephew is not your bb mah, that's why it's ok to use. Coz you're '3rd party'. When it's your babies, u still have to feed them even if u don't bathe them yourself. Well, u can try lor.

And i don't think 22 pcs will be enough for your 2 boys. Coz for cloth diapers, u will need to change everytime they pee/poo. So assuming u change 8 times a day, 22 pcs are only enough to last u abt 1 day for the 2 boys.

pprincess

they will give us a copy of the report. We paid for it remember? Has, the pics will all the scan pics be consolidated in 1-2 pages.

mashy

we paid for it ah/ i thought we onli paid for the sonographer to do the scan for us =x im veri worried tat i wun get the pictures again bcos the last time i went to see my dr, i ask my fren who also see the same gynae whether she will auto gif the pictures. she sae yes, so i went in never ask, end up dun haf -.- then another fren who went after me on another dae sae the doc auto gif her. damn sad. not sure isit bcos im single and no husband wif me hence dey thought i dun need the picture.

Hi mashy,
I remembered you once recommended a Britax car seat model. Could you let me know the model? Trying to shortlist a car seat to buy =)

Re: Feeling BIG
Hi mummies, I've suddenly been feeling huge and clumsy recently. Just feel bloated all over, even though physically no water retention. Tummy starting to become obvious too. Today was chasing after the company bus with bag, laptop and newspaper in my hand and bb in my tummy.... Felt super frumpy and must have looked really silly... sigh...
Any mummies also starting to feel 'big'?

Hi pprincess,
Don't feel bad. Hope your detailed scan later goes well.
Maybe ask the sonographer if will get picture or not, just to remind the sonographer =) Hope you get lotsa pictures to bring home today

pprincess

then just ask for it. It's your right.

lamagier
I bought the Britax safe & sound, can't remember which model. Taka is having a sale on Britax Safe and Sound this weekend leh. Only $189! It for birth till 18kg. And if you have Taka card, another 10%. Good buy! When i bought mine, it was abt $220 after 20% discount.

lamagier

haha, i've only been feeling bigger. Not big. U haven't experienced big. Hahha. It'll come soon enough, that's when u hope to get the bb out asap.