(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

lamagier - i'm not just feeling big, i'm starting to look big. i'm 20+ weeks with twins. yesterday went for lunch with friends whom i met last week already, and they all said i grew since last week. i also find that i have to loosen 2 buttons from my maternity pants. so am definitely bigger.

anyone know bout breast pain and itchiness? lately feel my breast a bit itchy,and seem like the nipple little swallone and pain.. feel the breast a little hard hard.. wat should i do to make the pain and itchy lesser?

enli
mayb u wan to change to a non-wire bra alreadi? mayb bcos ur breast is producing milk hence will feel painful. itchy also cannt scratch. bcos was told will cause stretch marks.

pprincess & Mashy

thanks.. is it watever moisturise can be use? yesterday went to watson and look.. saw this brand name butter... for nursing de.. can be used mar? the itchiness and pain is really making me sick..

Lamagier,
Dun run with so many things on hand, you might lose balance..be careful now.

M gng to taka fair tmr as detailed scan is at Mount E, just nice can hope by both taka and robhinson.. Just bypass Isetan this morning and surprising there isnt any crowd at 8.30am.. in the past, the queue remain till 10am to get in..

Have been experiencing hair loss recently.. sob.. i had thought it happen after delivery.. will i be bald by then??? sigh..

Hi Mashy, bestberries,
haha, my sister is trying to bet with me how long it will before I can't see my toes when standing straight. Wah.... can't imagine how big tummy will get in the last trimester....

Hi Enli,
I can give you my palmer's coca butter and another a tube ofstretch mark cream (green colour tube, forgot the brand) if you want. i bought at Watson and not suitable for my skin =( waste $$$. Just let me know if you want it Any mummy who wants it, just let me know.

mrsC
my fren experience lots of hair loss after gifing birth. and when i went to cut my hair last month, the air stylist was telling me that due to hormones change, we will experience hair loss during and after pregnancy. duno haf to do treatment and wad.

Hi MrsC,
Thanks. I'm trying to avoid bringing home laptop these days =p
About hair loss, I saw on Discovery Home & Health that preggy ladies can either get increased or
decreased hair loss during pregnancy. But definitely get hair loss after giving birth. I'm noticing decreased hair loss currently.

haha, one of my colleagues who just returned from her maternity leave passed me a jar of mummy's milk poweder to fatten me up. Very sweet of her.

lamagier,
I started to feel big too, these 2 weeks can see my stomach obviously liao. my hb everyday say nowaday baby comes out to play earlier hor,(last time only can see tummy at night) my bro in law yesterday also comment my tummy looks big now. i can feel the extra fat at my waist now too....

lamagier
try not to run animore liaos. since we are startin to bcome big around the tummy area, which we may still not b veri used to. also may cause us to flip or trip easily. i alwaes try to walk faster instead of running.

re: tummy
my tummy is on the higher side. so, my roundness is kinda funni. it's bigger from jus under my breast and onwards. but near the pubic area not much of the big ting.

Mashy,
Hi, this robinson give different customers different reason.. My gf told me they said they only sent to top shoppers; They told me they only sent out 50,000 so that the store will not be over crowded...

And I just spent more than 20k with them last year when I moved!!! Got my mattresses and beddings, not to mentioned other household items and apparels.

Re Beef:
If you are craving for Medium Rare which we cant take now, go for medium well instead of well-done. 1. Well done: Grayish-brown with no sign of pink.

2. Medium well: Mostly gray-brown throughout, but with a hint of pale pink inside.

3. Medium: A more pronounced band of pink in the middle of the steak. However, there should still be slightly more gray-brown than pink coloration.

4. Medium rare: Warm and mostly pink to red center. Firm on the outside, soft and juicy on the inside.

5. Rare: Cool or warm red center. It's nearly like raw meat, but obviously cooked on the outside.

6. Very rare or blue: Red, cool, and practically raw. It's barely cooked for the true carnivores amongst us.

7. Raw: not cooked at all.

If you are cooking it, try using a frying pan or the grill pan ( I got mine frin Ikea), very little grease, panfry each side for about 3-3.5mins covered) for a steak that is about 0.5" in thickness. For the grill pan, you can also pany fry 2mins, flip to the other side, then flip back to make the "cross" grill mark on both sides again. Watch the heart to avoid well-done.

For Fillet Mignon (about) 1" or more in thickness, you can lower the fire and fry for 3.5mins one side and about 4mins another.

Marinate: simple, just little salt and worchestershire sauce, rubbed thru the beef for about 20mins. If you like it peppery, ground the fresh black pepper over the steak.

serve with boiled potatoes or salad or baked veg.

Baked veg: selection of veg with different colors, spray little olive oil, sprinkle salt and place in a glass baking dish and place in oven. bake till veg is soft yet not over cooked.

Bon appetito!

Hi loshita,
Seems like midway through 2nd trimester, all our tummies start to go on growth spurt =)

Hi pprincess,
Mine's the opposite. Heavy tummy below, still reasonable on top. Hee, realized last night when I lie down flat in bed, can feel solid bb bump below belly button area, above belly button still flat. Very funny & weird...

kimberly
wah, thanks for the info! u mus realli know how to cook or eat! hahas. will ask for medium well in the future

lamagier
hahas! i feel mine weird, u feel urs is weird too. i can feel baby's bump above belly button sometimes and wonder, baby got so big? cant b mar. think our belly button will b popping out veri soon. mayb within the next 4 weeks?

lamagier..

how much u wan to sell for ur cocoa butter? breast starting to feel pain.. haih.. last night cant sleep well because of the itchy and pain...

any mums has low plecenta?

after my detail scane my doc told me the sonograher syates that my plecenta is quite low.. sigh.. anyway to encourage the plecenta to move upwards?

Kimberly:
thanks for informing about the Robinson sale. I didn't receive any mailers so I thought it hasn't started.

Sunsweet:
my placenta is low too, but gynae says don't worry, they will still grow and move up. I think rest is important to encourage it to move upwards.

RE: Breast itch
I had breast itch, how not to scratch????? but I agree that moisturize can help to reduce the itch..I get it almost every night..hiazzzz...

Kittyng:

RE: Baby movements
why count baby movements 10X????

RE: Diapers
seems like a lot of mummies using Nepia & pampers

Just visited a friend yesterday, she gave birth to a baby girl and weighs 3.324kg, such a cute little girl...looking forward to seeing my baby soon :)

OoOOoo!
Seems like lotsa mummies gng down to the Taka fair today yah?

I'm gng next Monday after my detailed scan, hopefully can also know gender. It has been a pretty long wait for my HB! Hahahah~

princessbaobei, my belly button has already popped out! *faintz*

Pprincess, ya, I love food, any kind of food. Thank God Yoda did not give me any cravings.. And I love to cook, esp western meal cos it's simpler and no waste for small family. I used to think it's cheaper to cook at home, but though it may not be that way, it's suits your health needs.

Sunsweet, how preg are you and are you expecting a girl? My MIL had placenta previa when she was expecting my SIL, according her, studies showed that this is very common in expectants with bb girls. I had low placenta, but doc said by the time the womb starts to grow bigger, the placenta will "move up" if it doesn't then it is call placenta previa.

There are other names for different position of placenta, make sure you check with your doc if there is implication with delivery naturally at the later stage of pregnancy. My MIL had to be on full bed rest at her last 2 months, she said, by the 2nd weeks, you are very sick from lying down the whole day... Wish you well.

I had a bad dream this morning that my Yoda was not moving and I went to hospital, my doc was not around, another doc found him "not eating" and has no heart beat, I beg them to help me revive him but doc said if revival is successful, he will be retarded too, so I ask them how, and they say I just have to leave it be.. I cried and woke up... I told Yoda this morning that he has to continue ingeat what I ate and not to make mommy worried, he responded with couple of kicks..

Kitty:

hi kitty, remembered u told me the sonographer gave you a cd of all baby pics after the detailed scan? I nver get one leh...she said its only for the 3D scan which can be done at 28 wks...instead she just printed 2 pics for me..

Loshita,

remember to ask the sonographer to let you see while the scan is abt 15mins..I was just lying there for her to scan without seeing the screen as I thot I might get a cd at the end of the day...at least you can enjoy abit longer ; )

sunsweet,

my plecenta is a bit low but my gynae said no need to worry since it's only 20 weeks and it might move to upper position.

Hi Kitty, blessed, loshita,
I did detailed scan at gyane's office. Scan for very very very loooooonnnnng....... Took the whole day and 4 scans to finish...... Gynae only gave me 5 print outs. No nice nice CD of bb ultrasound pics....

winnie_mummy
wish u all the best for ur detail scannning next week too! everyone of us who still doesn know baby's gender are anxious on the next scan date =p

kimberly
yupies, it used to be cheaper to cook a thome in the past, but not nw animore. but like wad u sae, it is more healthy to haf home cook food. but im nuts at it. so i can onli eat tabao food. hopefully still got enuff nutrients for my baby.
i tink tat this is the moment where we will b hafing alot of weird dreams. jus try to relax. ive dreamt twice tat im hafing a boy. dreamt once tat my water burst suddenly and ive to deliver the baby immature and was told it is a weekend so no doc to delivery haf to delivery at home! my colleagues all say i tink too much.

Bestberries & koko,
I did get the 20% the give to members during the 2 days preview and the $5 rebates cos first thing I did when I go on the 1st day of sale opened to public was to go customer service and find out why all my sisters and I have been left out. Then I told them they should extend the privi to me. I told them I was so looking forward to this sale (honestly I have been)!

Well, for sake of saving, I have to make my skin really thick. I have decided that if they cant extend, I will wait for the June Motherhood fair (which may be abit late)..

When I arranged for the delivery, I thank the store manager for the extension and request that they do not leave me out in future.

(Secretly, I still "sayang" about not having enough time to shop, I left out some items, baby monitor, beddings, frying wok, claypot, hand-held blender, underwear, shoes... I didn't win and they did not gain either..)

I was told that i will have a CD for the detailed scan and if the bb is in good position, can print the pic on the CD for extra $30. Will see how tom..

Gosh..just finish a big pack of thunder tea rice..wonder my bb has fatten up since the last scan..Woke up with numb palm again...now it affected just the 1st three fingers and stinging pain on the area underneath the thumb..contantly telling bb not to press on my nerve..

like to join all the july mummies here. =) i'm so excited hee
i am having a boi boi.....just did my detailed scan last saturday and bb is 300g....should have joined this thread earlier so that i can get to know you gals earlier.....my gynae is dr fong

mrsC
i wan to haf the thunder tea rice too! im a hakka hence haf been eating since young. but then stop as my grandma is too old to make. and since preggy, i wan to haf alot of hakka food! but SG hardly sell hakka food

RE: Part Time Helper
Does anyone have any recommendation for part time helper?? My part time cleaner just resigned and I'm looking for one now. I'm staying in punggol.

Hi zksl, Welcome to the thread, I am also new and have been hooked, I love these girls! remember to update with Mashy, I think she is really great to make effort to updating new members.. I went to other threads and somehow I don't find one like her.. we are truly blessed to have her!

MrsC, I like to know what Thunder Tea Rice is and what does it do for bb?

Koko, my part time cleaning lady (Chinese PRC) is 90421915小芳. She stays Yishun and goes everywhere, S$10/hr. Good in cleaning but may not be so good for ironing.

Yah boy!
I wanna noe the gender so that I could get some stuff during the Taka bb fair, if gotta wait for another 4 weeks more, the fair would have ended already!

But at the same time, i'm also worried about the upcoming detailed scan, reallie pray hard for bb to be well & fine!

yes yes! So it's normal to have weird dreams at this stage? It makes me so much more tired coz i have been having dreams... EVERY NIGHT... =.=

Re: Low plecenta

Yup gyne did told me there's chance for Plecenta to move upwards as the wombs grows.. but my #1 preggy had no problem of such so i wonder how loh..

i always wake up by my own nightmare screaming,sometimes will cry until very sad.. really hate to dream of those dirty rat.. i don know why.. i am very scare of rat maybe.. so mostly in my dream.. i saw the big fat rat infront of me..

re: thunder tea rice
actualli it is jus a hakka dish. dun tink will do aniting to the baby? hahas. can try to google on the net. chinese is call lei ca hakka call it 'lui cha'

After looking at the scan results, my gynae did mention that the placent is on the low side for me, but does not reach the cervix, so natural birth is still okay. My detailed scan was done in the W.C. Cheng clinic, cost of scan was probably more expensive than I expected, but was done by Dr TC Chang, another gynae in the same clinic, and he gave us a run-down on the results, and a chart marks the development of the baby against average growth for various body parts (looks like the ones we had in health booklets when we were kids in primary school), so probably why it's costlier than doing at the sonographer upstairs in TMC, if the same thing comes out of that, I won't know either, just pay for convenience bah.

What's really cute, apart from the scan, my hubby who said he is fine with me choosing a male gynae if I want to, finally revealed to me that
in a teasing tone that he got mixed feelings about the part when Dr Chang was searching to show the gender of our girl, but forgave the doctor cos he has two cute sons in the picture frames behind him. I think I burst out laughing hearing that, luckily I went with a female gynae anyways. Men are so funny sometimes.

Just used my lunch break to pop down to taka for a look at the fair. Probably going down with hubby on the weekend to check out the car seats and strollers, I'm unable to manage shopping for those on my own anyways.

Bought some more baby wear, the button-front ones so easier to put it on, and rubber cot mat (haha called my mum before I bought it, cos I don't know how useful it will be). She told me that after baths, while baby might still be a little wet or damp will be convenient to place on for changing or just lay a towel/blanket to sleep on, easy to clean if baby wets the bed. Makes sense.

Do see quite a number of expecting parents buying cloth diapers.
Was curious looking at the cloth diapers and nappy liners, probably test hubby's reaction again when I bring him to see it.

There were free gifts for the big spenders from $200 upwards to $350 (blanket, plastic chair, and a playset (not sure, didn't look closely)

I just came back from the Taka fair. Total spent $350
I've got my steriliser n food/bottle warmer plus some diapers. For me, not much things to buy cos a lot of things can use again from #1.

Some deals that I could remember:
Huggies - NB $7.70, S $14. Buy 3 packs get 1 pack of pullups free. (Hmmm... i bought a lot for my #1, trying out the NB & S for #2).

Pigeon - 50% off original price for old bottles trade in.

Avent - 20% discount

Ameda pump - $350

Also saw some strollers (esp Combi) on offer. Didn't check out cos not intending to get 1.

Also, for Taka credit cardmembers, can get additional 10% discount during these 4 days.

hi Enli,
I take mrt from lakeside to go back home and stay near serangoon area. You prefer to meet at west or central area? We can just meet at mrt and I pass the stuff to you =) Can meet in evening

Hi Kimberly
I'm looking for Britax Car seat too.

Hi Winnie_mummy,
read it's normal for preggy ladies to have more vivid dreams then normal.
I also have lots of silly dreams. The other day dreamt I doing Amazing Race with my uni buddy, she stop to buy soft drink and I scold her... Also dreamt I traded my bb girl with husband's colleague's 2 year old daughter. Hahahaha

I'm heading Taka after work today to get the sterliser and maybe breast pump.. cos dun think at 6mths i have the energy to do much shopping cos at the moment i'm starting to feel so sleepy at work..haha

anyone with Taka card going this evening? heard there's memebers additional 10% disc.. can share the privilages?

Hi blessed, i took fish oil after my first trimster. its optional, but you can purchase it from our gynae if you want to.

I am feeling bb's weight strain on mi. Now in my 23 weeks, having backache n aso my legs feel so tired n cramp after walking a while.

Re: Bb fair
I should be gg to the fair on wkends. Bt gt to go for the IT fair at Suntec too.

Re: Massage lady
Any mummies know of a good massage lady who does post natal massage after our delivery? I am still sourcing for one. Can also share what will be done during the massage?