(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

blessed

detailed scan just lie down there and let the sonographer/gynae scan lah. Very long. I did it in TMC and it was so freezing cold there. You'll know if your bb's body parts are average or abv average size. My boy's head was so big that it went off the chart. Hehehe.

mashy
went off the chart?! then how? LOL. i tink the doctor will joke abt it when it happens lor. but it also shows tat baby is growing well right.

kitty, cecelia,
yah, I'm ticking off the days till my next appt...
I want to see baby....

pprincess,
(*high five*) I'm more hardcore. I still need 2 cups of coffee a day to feel human and to function

Mashy,
You have any idea if TMC clinic open for detailed scan on Sunday? Cos husband just started new job, can't take leave on week days. I'm on course on Sat. Husband wants to see baby at detailed scan... My gynae's clinic is office hours one.

mashy
hahhas. u damn bad leh indireclt shot ur hubby =p but as long as the child is healthy that is the best news for us liao

lamagier
try to cut down on ur coffee! i nw alreadi cut down on mine liaos. hahs.

pprincess,
I tried going cold turkey. in first 3 months. Totally couldn't work at all. Gynae said a cup a day. Magazine and otehr online material said 3 cups. So I try to cap it at 2 cups. Sigh... Else cannot concentrate... bad especially I deal with many many numbers and stare at computer the whoel day

lamagier

I ever did it on a Sun. But it was an emergency case and I had to pay extra call-back fees. It's like twice as expensive. Anyway, no pt lah. If i can remember correctly, my hb wasn't 'invited' to see the bb at the detailed scan until all the measurements were taken. He just sat at one corner of the room. Anyway, the detailed scan looks exactly like those 2D scans that our gynae use, notihng much to see.

pprincess
aiyah, that's the truth mah. Even he & my MIL acknowledged that fact.

Phoenix,
so u now not working? I still got #1 to support. Got childcare expenses etc. So can't depend only on my hubby's income alone

Cecilia, i understand yr disappointment. The last time i went to see my gynae when i complained of some sharp pains, the ultrascan she did for me was so short. She oso did not give me any photo of my bb so i was quite upset. So next time every appt, i'm gg to request hee....

Sheryl, glad u are feeling better nw. My cough is still around...haiz. Do hav a restful wkend

lamagier, i thought TMC clinic not open on sun? My detailed scan can oso only be done on wkdays. Can only apply 1/2 day leave.

i feel tired & back start to ache. but I'm not the activite kind that will do exercise. anyone got lobang for massage for pregnant ladies coz I don't think normal massage can right?

Hi mummies, I'm having my detailed scan on the 19th of Feb. We're a bit nervous cos our #1 was born with a congenital birth defect that wasn't picked up till after birth so we're praying all will be well this time round.

elijah'smummy, take care of ur back if u shift furniture, try not to do it lah, place an order for hubby to do it after he comes back. hehehe, i was actually thinking to revamp my #1 room, to get an extra cupboard and a bed for CL to come stay later, but my MIL making noise saying can only do it during the last week of pregnancy and i cannot be there when they moved the furniture, izit an old folk's tale???? then how to decorate and get ready for the baby's room???? hmmm

mrsc, me too been waking up 5am ++ and after that light sleep, even if i cut down water at nite, still wake up around the same time, yah i think the baby is awake around that time ahh, pressing the bladder to wake us up, hahahaha. but in the day time, i also have been going to the toilet more frequently, sometime i just went and still have the urgent feeling to go 5 minutes later, aiyoh, really a hassle, dun think can go babymooning at this stage.

btw, now that all of us are in the second trimester together, suddenly i felt wat u guys are mentioning about our gynae visit becoming monthly and we miss seeing our little ones during ultrasound scan.

lamagier: i went cold turkey for my #1 cuz i can down 4 to 5 cups a day easily. it was bad for the first few weeks cuz i keep having headaches, but now no longer anymore ... didn't get back on coffee after i give birth cuz i was brfeast feeding so i guess managed to stay away ... coke was a sub for a while but ice in the end was the craving I needed to satisfy everynite ... i'll finish the entire tray of ice and everynite must make a fresh batch :p

coolkero: basically in ur pregnancy, cannot move furniture cannot do renovations, etc ... common sense i guess, in case of accidents? get ur hubby to do it as much as possible. when i was preggy with #1, my part time cleaning lady and my hubby did the moving of furniture ... i had to be in another room to stay out of the way.

Sabsab: u got PM? if yes, tomm i PM you my massage lady contacts. tomm my second appt for pre-natal massage ... so happy muahahaha ... my body ultra achy today.

one of my colleagues shared that she was very upset with her gynae throughout her pregnancy so i asked her why she didn't change gynae? she said cuz she took the package liao ... so i guess if u really not happy with your gynae, i'm not saying to shop around, but you may wan to change to another one since this gynae will be supporting you throughout your pregnancy. basically my colleague felt that her gynae wasn't supportive and didn't not take the trouble to reassure her (her baby was very small and her gynae told her dwarfism and it's her genes).

blessed, thanks for sharing. Mine is on 27 feb n my gynae review is after the detailed scan. i agree its a long wait. i guess all e mummies here cnt wait to see bb at each n every of our gynae visits.

Kitty, take gd care of yrself ok... try to drink plenty of warm water.

Cecilia, perhaps next visit onwards u must ensure that whatever u want to be done is done or ask... like yr ultrascans n yr questions to be posed to gynae. meanwhile, dont tink so much n look forward to yr next visit.

Lamiger n pp princess, do try to cut down on yr coffee and coke. i aso love coffee n coke. but ever since i knew of this preg, i never take these two drinks, i try to ren as much as i can for bb sake. bt still take tea like ice lemon tea, green tea, peach tea etc...i did it for my no 1 too. i cut down totally on coffee n coke. After delivery i was craving for coffee n coke n other food which i miss during pregnancy.

Thanks sheryl, i hav jus bought a hot flask yest that i can bring everywhere i go to drink warm water
It makes my throat less itchy.

Just came back from gynae. Bb is now 10cm and growing well. Tried to see boy or gal but end up see like never see. Coz when look from the backside, got nothing. look at the side like got something popping out. So gynae said 70% chance gal, but i think if something popping out, more likely it's a boy. Can only confirm at my detailed scan on 21 Mar. Such a long wait. sigh.

kitty
It's to test for gestational diabetes. U won't want to go thru that if possible coz it's a terrible experience.

Hi Mashy,
Humm, then guess guess the husband can only see pictures of the ultrasound since he won't be able to accompany to detailed scan.

Re: Caffeine
Sigh. I'll try to cut down....

Re: MS
Blessed kitty cecelia, your MS totally gone? Mine still on and off. Very sian. Wanted to go wjalan jalan at McRitchie today, end up MS so slept the whole afternoon away

Oh ok...i see
How come your husband cannot join u when u did yr detailed scan, mashy?

Lamagier, my ms is mostly gone. But bloatedness is still there, jus that no puking only. Appetite is a lot better nw. Hope yours can go off soon.

helo,

Just had a trial class of prenatal yoga this afternoon with Colleen simmonds. A nice german lady who also teaches at Mother & child at Tanglin mall. As her class at HV is much smaller, it's pretty relaxing with rooms to stretch and move about. My joints are stiff up after 4 mths of non exercise and i felt so lethargic after the class.. Most prob will sign up for a month to relax my muscle and improve my posture and breathing.

kittyng

can, but have to sit in one corner coz the sonographer busy measuring & checking the organs mah. Then she's ready, he'll just see the normal stuff lor like those scans in the gynae's clinic.

Lamagier, kitty,

I experienced my 1st very horrible right calf cramp on Sat midnight. As my bed is very low, I can't even stand up on my own. Gotta wake my hubby up. Just wonder if he not at home, then i will die of pain liao..
Yday forced myself to do some squatting exercises and stretching, and now having jelly legs.. What a day to start with..

Cecelia,
You alright? Oh dear, that seems pretty early in teh pregnancy to start cramping so badly. Hopefully you didn't cramp last night.

You getting enough calcium? Got drink milk? Drink 100 plus? Cos I know cramps can become more frequent if not enough salt or calcium.

Jillian
can share what kind of congenital defects is that? I'm still worried abt my bb after my NT scan. Though risk level of DS is considered to be normal, i can't help but worry as the neck thickness measurement shows it's quite thick.

Pretty bunnie,
now can start prenatal massage? I've booked my massage lady for postnatal. She does prenatal but she said can start only after 28wks.

Cecelia,
I realised that cramping is due to sudden stretching of legs at night while sleeping. Not sure if it'll help to consciously remember not to stretch too fast.

Re: Annual Mum Congress
Hi Mummies, I called them on Friday to find out more after my cousin told me about it. It sound very interesting for first time mum. I was talking to a friend yesterday over gathering that she recommend me to attend the Prenatal class from TMC, and ask for Wong Boh Boi coz she is very good.
Looking at the agenda for the talk, apparently Ms Wong Boh Boi is giving a talk on that day. I think it would be good to give it a shot. I have signed up as Abbot Family Rewards member to enjoy the $12 instead of $15 hehe.. I have just signed up for the event

Gd morning!I wore a loose top n bigger size pants today. Dont look preggie at all, miss my tummy... usually some tops cn show my tummy, some dont.

Btw, is it safe for us to start pre-natal massage now? I didnt do it while i was expecting my no 1.

Cecila, hope u r feeling better now...

cecelia
not sure where is ur bed located & whether it works for u. but for me if i haf cramp. i will normally press my feet on the wall flat and push my weight against the wall wif my feet still on the wall. something like to compress back lor. still lying on the bed thou. bcos my bed is jus next to the wall. and i will tell myself relax relax. not pain not pain. then slowly the pain will go off. before i got pregnant also haf frequent cramps in the calf area. and once i jus couldnt relax & even cry and ask my bf to wake up to help me. and he jus push my feet back towards my direction also and ask me to relax. he sae the more tense u are, the more ur muscle cant relax hence the worst the pain

Re: cramps
When do we start having cramps? As early as now from what Cecelia encountered?

Sheryl,
I am dying for a prenatal massage..I have very tense shoulder and sometimes backache.. I think I will wiat till I reach 20 weeks..

Re: Cramps
Cecelia, suddenly remembered. Don't sleep in too cold room too. Cos cold muscle tighten. Easier to get cramps. If you cramp easily, then better get husband to accompany you if go swimming. If cramp halfway, got hubby to save you =p

I also not quite sure when exactly cramps start. But my preggy friends usually complain to me about cramps in third trimester. So I deduce it's when you put on a lot more baby weight?

Hi Sheryl, ralphine,
My regular masseuse said only massage 6-7 months. last time told me 5 months... Husband said if erally bad then maybe go look for those postnatal massage ladies, ask if they do prenatal or not...

Mashy, HBB,
thanks for sharing...hmm ok will await the scan then..cant wait to see baby again esp last round, I must have lie far up the bed and could not see the screen properly.

Lamagier,
my MS is almost gone too. But I cant take milk like Anmum and Friso...will puke shortly after that...so have out it on hold now thou..its more of Magnolia Fresh Milk now...

Hi Ralphine,

I had a friend and cousin who recommended me about Mrs Wong Pre-natal class at TMC...

I feel like giving it a try,and intend to give them a call within this week..

But afraid that i might be too early for the registration,as I am now only in my 17th weeks.
Is it too early for that?

Coz i heard that Mrs Wong class is very crowded since she is very popular..

Babyethan,

Yar, the cramp start exactly once I stretched my leg straight. Tend to have this habit when I'm sleeping. The cramp is soooo horrible, tat on Sunday i can still feel the soreness of both my calf, like anytime going to strike another time..

pprincess,

My bed got nothing at all surrounding. Thank goodness my hubby was at home. Tink next time when he not around, I will sleep at his place, cse at least I can pull the window grill for support. Kind of phoebia now to sleep..

Lamagier,
Everyday I will drink HL and soya milk lei.. Haiz.. Guess reali must start back some exercise slowly now to strengthen my muscle and bone. I started with squatting yday.

Anyway, 2day just feel so weak and nausea. Like floating around, with sore leg some more.. :p

I had a mild leg cramp about a week ago, at my calf area. What helps me whenever these occur (I used to get them on/off even before being pregnant) is to immediately flex your ankle so that your toes are pointing towards you. It seems crazy to do it while you're in pain, but the cramp stops v quickly after that.

I'm trying v hard to break my bad habit of crossing my legs when I sit - it is a factor in leg-cramping and also varicose veins.

Found this link, hope it's helpful: http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/antenatalhealth/sleep/legcramps/

Sheryl
Don't worry. I also registered last week at 16 weeks pregnant. I'm taking Sunday class, next round classes by WBB starts on 22nd March

Hi Lamagier,

Wow,,thks for the info...If then,I better start calling today to check on the 22nd March class...

I intend to take on the weekends.Not sure if Sat there's any,I'll better call and check it out.

Hmm,how much u actually paid for it?Will u be delivering at TMC?

Cecelia,
You sound really bad. Yah, badly cramped muscle need some time to recover. Can try stretching your cramped calf muscles (very painful, but really helps). At home can also try apply heat to sore muscle. Can use hot towel or heating patch. I bought for $1++ per piece from Watson before

Yah, agree with sunnyduck. Sit up and pull your toes towards yourself is the fastest way to get some cramp relief. But if yours is the really bad one that keeps cramping every few seconds, just have to wait for the cramp to subside naturally.

Haha, I'm expert with cramps. Encountered a few times got severe cramps. Thigh (front/back), calf (front/back), foot start to take turn to cramp over a few hours. Doc just diagnose it as insufficient calcium, so drink a lot of milk then it will go away.

cecelia
u can see the webbie that the sunnyduck have linked
someting like wad im trying to sae. hahas. when u having cramp try not to get up and trying to stand immediately bcos u may fall! dun worriew so much. or u can wear socks like many mummies recommend. i normally cover my leg wif blankets so tat it is kept warm. duno last time ppl tell me is bcos sudden change in temp cause the muscle to contract hence will haf crmaps.

lamagier
cramps on the tigh?! i never haf that before leh. and wish i wun haf cramps on the tigh area. it mus b alot worst! nowadaes at night i onli experience abit of cramp-ing pain when i suddenly stretch my toes outwards and i will b jolt awake and immediately pull back, so no full-cramp will happen. LOL. but sometimes when i walk, i feel like it is going to cramp anitime soon. wif the tension in the muscle.

re: detail scan

I cant recall, but I know about 4-5 months there is a scan for the heart and cleft lip and then at 7 months, u can do the 3d/4d scan to see the face of the baby as well as the measurements and estimated birth weight. When I did my 7th month scan, I had a fright becoz my #1 was like below 50th percentile for almost everything. She was certainly born lighter at 2.81kg at full term, but her limbs are not as short as the scan states
. But nonetheless, it did gave us a fright and I went into eating frenzy.

Can officially say bye bye to my morning sickness. Phew. But cant help but crave for soft drinks. Not controlling myself as much as I did for the first pregnancy.

pprincess,
Hope you wun get thigh cramp too. That one is horrible. Calf and foot cramp still able to stretch to loosen muscle. Thigh cramp very very pain.... worse thing I can't find anyway to stretch muscle in thigh, so just have to sit and wait for it to go away.

sherryl

re Mrs Wong's class, u can book now for a slot that starts later. Better to start a bit later, else you'll forget everything by the time the bb comes.

cecelia
I also had cramps last night.
Sianzzz... totally spoilt my night. U have to do more stretching. Now that my hb sleeps with my boy at night coz he's sick, I've to handle my cramps alone.

Mrs Wong's class is very crowded and we're always just a mat away from other couples.

lamagier
yea lor. i can imagine tat. duno how to stretch also bcos in it's not at a joint where u can reali flex and stretch to relax.

mashy
do u know how much is the class? i saw in the webbie it stats week 20 onwards. is tat the class u all are mentioning?

ppprincess

i dunno leh. The one i attended is 3yrs ago lor. hahaha. Yah, should start after detailed scan bah else too early. Not attending anymore since I've got real life experience now.

But seriously, i find the class not that great, only useful for getting our hbs to massage our backs & getting the men to be more involved in this preg moment. Hehehe. Other than that, we picked up the skills as we go along. If u have a confinement nanny, can get the CL to teach u. Or u can just get Mrs Wong's 3 books to help u as u go along.

ANd I find the breathing mtds useless when faced with contractions. They're just too bloody painful.