(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Elijah's mummy,
The no bathing/hair-washing rule will really be the biggest problem for me. Also, I HATE drinking longan/red date tea and I hope I can escape that too. I guess I can compromise on everything else. That's why I hope I can find an understanding CL lady. I also hope my mum and MIL don't nag too much - this is another thing I have to be mentally prepared for!

I have not really been following any other 'rules' of pregnancy esp regarding food and activities. It will be a 'culture shock' for me to suddenly have to follow all these confinement rules, which sometimes don't make sense to me.

HBB, congrats congrats! so happy that you managed to see bb gender.
hope i cn see mine next fri. I will be 16 weeks next mon.

Annie, welcome here! congrats on your preg. I used to see Dr Soon too. She is a very nice n motherly gynae. However, her charges are a bit steep. Hence, change to another gynae.

Re: Cloth diapers
Cloth diapers is gd as it helps to prevent diaper rash. But i also agree with the mummies here that cloth diapers is a whole load of work... have to soak, wash, dry, fold etc. Haha! Think the washing cost will end up the same as disposable diapers. Lets all source for disposable diapers... who knows we cn purchase in bulk n get gd discounts.

sunnyduck

hahah for me the no bathing/hair-washing rule was really a killer.... so i came up with this weird logic that as a hakka descendant, hakkas don have this rule. only that they need to bath or wash hair with the herbs. :p
as with the longan/red date tea... well instead of drinking it hot i drank it warm or at room temp. there is really no way to force me to drink hot drinks! :p hahah this was all done without mum or mil knowing. in front of them all is followed according to tradition! heheh

Annie: i see dr fong on 15th floor too! one of these days we can arrange for tea if our visits coincide!

massage: I just waiting to turn 4 months - cuz tt;s when i can start prenatal massage! this is the same lady which did my post natal massage the last time, so at least i know her lah. think it's $50 for 1 hour, but transport to my place, i not complaining. got some one else cheaper $40 for 1 hour but ... can start from 6 months onwards only =(

HKBB/ HBB: i'm going for my amnio next wed, before CNY. so good excuse for me not to do much visiting :p maybe i will just nua at home and sleep! just hope everything will turn out well :p

elijah: i cannot not wash my hair cuz i got oily scalp. so i washed my hair every 2 days and then blow dry with hair dryer. CL never complain cuz i more fierce than mer :p as for showering, i will spash the herbal water then proceed to soap myself and then rinse off with normal hot water off the shower head. cuz the herbal water STAINS!!!!!!! once i forgot to rinse the floor and my floor (marble) was stained blackish ... haiz. learnt my lesson after that.

i like the hot red date tea but sometimes, esp in the afternoon when i was so hot, i cannot ... drink ...cuz already water dripping off me!

pretty bunnie

hahha that is why she was never able to get me to drink the red date tea hot! :p
haha i not so fierce mah and my mum and mil did give specific instructions on what to do so.... hahah

Re:Cloth diapers

I tried to use cloth diapers for my #1 before, when it stain with the yellowish stool,it's really a hassle to wash and can't remove the stains!
I stopped using very soon and change back to disposable diapers! But I stick to those better brands like pampers newborn and mamy poko when newborn cos for their softness and good quality.And always apply nappy rash cream can also prevent diaper rash.

Now got drypers newborn maybe more economic.Other brands will need to wait till they upgrade to size S then can change cos some brands only start from S Size.

Look after baby already so much things to do! Still need to wash cloth diapers!

RE:Confinement nanny

I'm also intend to get a CL for my #2. Cos #1 I did not engage. My mum can't help me much and I got to do alot of things on my own like bathe baby etc.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick </TD><TD>Birth Order </TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>BB Gender</TD><TD> EDD </TD></TR><TR><TD>Babyethan</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Tham KF</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD></TD><TD>1-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>hkbb</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr. Fong Yang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>1-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>rainbow</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>1-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Han Bao Bao</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Prof John Tee</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joyce</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>2-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>dorisq </TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Sim Lee Ngor</TD><TD>TMC </TD><TD></TD><TD>3-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>jasminechen</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD></TD><TD>3-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Enidmummy</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>4-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>anabellegirl</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Sim Lee Ngor</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>7-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pretty Bunnie</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>7-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sheryl</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD></TD><TD>7-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>HKAZ</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>DR KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD>9-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>poshicon</TD><TD> #2</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD></TD><TD>9-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hopper</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD>10-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>mbb2</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Watt Wing Fong</TD><TD>RH</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>10-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazelle</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>11-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>kittyng</TD><TD>#1 </TD><TD>Dr Madeleine Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>11-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>LS</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>11-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ning</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>11-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>FOZ</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD>12-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jaz23</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr. Koh C.H</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD></TD><TD>12-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yen2007</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC/Mt.A </TD><TD></TD><TD>12-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>helpme</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD></TD><TD>13-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>MrsC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD></TD><TD>14-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ralphine </TD><TD>#1 </TD><TD>Dr Peter Chew</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD><TD></TD><TD>14-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tay</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>14-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Beverly</TD><TD>Twins</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>15-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>blessed09</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>15-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>bunbun</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>15-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>pinklilies</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD></TD><TD>15-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>koko51sg</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Chan Kong Hon</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD></TD><TD>18-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>cecelia</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr James Lee</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD></TD><TD>20-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunsweet</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD>20-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>SabSab</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Chen Chern Yi</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>21-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dawnnie</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD>23-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>kai</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Koh CH</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD></TD><TD>23-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>tulips02</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Ang Huai Yan</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD></TD><TD>24-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>lamagier</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>25-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>angelsky</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>DR LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>26-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Preciousthots</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>27-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>yammummy</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>27-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>candyc</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC </TD><TD></TD><TD>28-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>coolkero</TD><TD> #2</TD><TD>Dr KL Tan</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD></TD><TD>28-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunnyduck</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Wee HY</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD>28-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mashy </TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>30-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>xman</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>31-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>precious</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr AL Lim</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>4-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>Annie</TD><TD>#!</TD><TD>Dr Soon Siew Bee </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>1st July </TD></TR><TR><TD>December</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH/TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mypreciouskeagan</TD><TD> #2</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Just to share, my cousin told me if the 6-8 weeks scan of the baby is long means boy, if is more to round means girl. Dunno true not. Any mummies care to share with me the scan of those who have girls, is it true if your 6-8 weeks scan is more on the round side. This time my is round so i really hope mine is a girl this time. My boy's scan last time was long.

HBB
Congrats! I'm happy for you!

Re: CL
My mum is going to be my CL. She is pretty lenient as during her time, she also bathed. She told me that it is impossible not to shower! So I think I am safe about showering.. and I am going to turn on air con all the time. I am someone who is scare of hot and I get cranky and I cannot operate above my operating temperature

Oh ya.. no one replied if we can eat pineapple tarts?

ralphine
in my opinion pienapple tart is ok
cos it been cook
the enzyme n acid all gone plus the added sugar
but in TCM point of view we shldnt eat.. but i dun realy believe in tcm
i believe in eat in moderation... and so.. i am gg to bake my tarts later hahaaaa

Morning ladies...
Back to work liao, still cough cough cough. Hope can recover soon. Dun want to be sick during CNY.

Ralphine,
I already eat fresh pineapple liao...hehee. But everytime I eat I feel very guilty.

yen
my aunt told mi can eat a bit of fresh pienapple if realy gt craving but not too much
so i guess its ok bah
also depend on individual body
some of our body can take it while some cant.

Congrats HBB with your dream comes true !

Hi LS,
Glad that you found the JPB maid agency with wide range of biodata and that Jenny was approachable. If you only need in July then maybe you spare couple of month before that to decide and select maid. Some good maids' biodata gone very fast there, the good maids are selected fast, maybe by other maid agency's customers. All the best yah

I also still like gal even though my no.1 is a gal. But since my hb is an elder son, i wish to have a boy for carrying their surname as they wish

Pretty Bunnie: All the very best for your amnio test, Dr. Fong will do for you at TMC ?
Mine schedule is on Tue next week, 1 day earlier than yours, at TMC...haiz...very stressed. I pray everything is fine for my bb

woa...discussing abt pineapple...make me craving for it now so early in the morning...can't tahan, maybe i will have to take a little bit during lunch

Great.. i can eat my pineapple tarts!

I love pineapples too.. and talking about fresh pineapple makes me crave for it too..

any other CNY goodies that we have to avoid?

ralphine,

I think i'll avoid sweeten drinks during the festive period.. too much sugar is no good..

however basically i'm eating any goodies that my palate allows me to.. cos now my fav. kuay bankit tastes weird to me.. so i guess it rally depend what i'm am going to stomach

HBB,

congrads on your dream come true..

sigh my next check-up is 3rd Feb.. its a long wait....

hopefully can see gender as well

Re: Shifting of furniture

I know that when u need to shift anything in yr house... the preggy mum should not be present at the scene...

Re: CL
My experience w CL.
Initially i tot i can handle my #1 infant w/o a CL, but back home (2nd day) I was overloaded w the numerous things that i need to do and hubby need to work on the 5th day... didn't dare to ask my mother to help me (b'cos she's old and she's not very confident too). Therefore, aft a serious discussion w my hubby, we decide to engage CL from agency and not freelance type... hence on the 3rd day we called up the agency to find us a professional help (CL) and the agent May brought her the very next day, she was reliable and experience w confinement matters... Luckily she's also not too old, abt 44yrs of age and took care of all night feeding of my infant &amp; does my household chores and keeping my home clean and tidy. our family members were very impressed and appreciate the great help. My #1 was 3yrs old already. Therefore, I was already anticipating engaging from the agency again for my #2 confinement aft CNY

hi sheryl(Lailai), so you used to see Dr soon, actually i still dun know Dr Soon prices is steep till you mention it! cos i am 1st time mum, my lady colleagues strongly recommend her so i just went straight to her. didnt do any other research as still not mentally ready for baby yet that time.

But i got this colleague who used to went to KK hospital for gynae,have to take leave n end up waiting long time, so she went Dr soon in the end, but say her prices are stil okie compared to KK hospital. i m not sure...this is what she say.

=====
Pretty Bunnie, i got v oily hair too. i dun care..after give birth...i will wash my hair everyday..

=====

sorry i m v sua ku, can someone explain why we need to drink hot red date tea?
=====
i dun care too, i love to eat pineapple tarts! esp it is CNY now! :D

hi Chen Candy (candyc), can share with me which agency you went to? i am thinking to get one CL too.

or anyone can advise where to get CL?

think a lot of my bonus will go to baby costs this yr...didnt expect it till i read the major costs involved..

Yes, Chen Candy, pls share your CL agency! Really need to start planning for this. I know a lot of other mummies share their contacts in other threads in this forum but if I can't get a contact, I'll need to go through an agency. Thanks!

Re: Red dates tea,

Suppose to help to "bu' as red dates &amp; longan are heaty and will "bu" blood.

some ppl will add other herbs in their tea .. which i dun.. suppose to bu Qi as well.

some also say will help in lactation... this i'm not sure cos as long more intake of liquid = better lactation ..

Many of my colleagues warn me not to drink plain or ice water as will cos wind to be trap in the body and likely end up with a buldging lower abs.

So I just guai guai listen loh... drink Red dates tea from the moment i wake up from delievery...

Eh why some of you dun like red dates tea?
actaully i quite like it and drinks abt 1.5 -2 lts everyday..

Heh, I am one of those who don't like red date tea. It's the smell of the longans and the fact that it is so sweet! It also leaves a funny feeling on my tongue. I have disliked it since I was a child.

I drink a lot of water normally... like almost 2 litres a day. Some ppl are not even allowed to drink water at all, but I think it is ridiculous. If the red date tea is not too sweet, I may drink some, but I certainly am not going to rely on it for my fluid intake. The dried longan smell is the culprit for me. Besides, I also don't quite believe in this 'adding heat' to the body.

I was told if C-sect.. better not take too much ginger.. else the scar will not heal nicely..

Also if Breastfeeding BB having jandice.. mummy should not take too much ginger and sesame

i dun like red date longan tea also...
it giv mi sore throat even now cos its sweet.
i prob will take brown rice tea w ginger

I'm probably from the "old school" cos i do feel better in taking Red Dates Tea...

basically i dun dislike this red date longan thingy loh..

I also try to follow the no bathing part. cos i cannot imaging having th suffer aches at middle age...

this time rnd i would buy more tonic for myself to take during confinement.. cos my last confinement i did not take much so end up quite weak.. had to take Bai Fen Wan all the way to norish myself until i've conceived.

HBB,

Not sure if you get sore throat from the sweetness or from the heatiness of the longan tea..

For myself, i'm also very prone to sore throat.. e.g.i take pre pack herbal soup with dang gui, i'll get sore throat, eat jackfruit also get sore throat.. if days are hot and i take sesame chix i will get sore throat.. sigh

However when time of confinement i am suprise the amount of "heaty" food I could take and no signs of sore throat...

My mum told me that during confinment we can take a lot of tonic cos the body is weak that's why i dun get sore throat / pimples from eating so much of it..

Well in my 1st pregnancy i didn't believe it so did not really buy a lot of tonic for myself but after i've been thru it i realise it's true.. and so this time I'll get more tonic stuff for myself..

many older folks will say confinement will make or break you.. so its a good chance for the weak to norish themselves..

hi everybody, I am 2nd time mum and new to this forum.
This morning i had my 1st trimester test and the scanning. I could see my baby was eating and moving active in my tummy... soo happy to see that.
Now i just have to wait till next week for their call of the result. Hopefully are all good.

sunsweet
i have no prob with herbal soup or even fry chickene veryday nothg will happen but stuff liek chocolate, sweet thg giv mi this prob.. v bad one end up with sorethroat which get so bad thatit comes w headache.. cough n etc w alot of phlegm so def cos of sweetness not the heatiness

i hav a very heaty body to start with

yes i do understand confinement is the period where need to bu else thats it.... so i guess i gotto bu in other sense liao. else the sorethroat will b nvr ending
tat is 1 of the reason why i cant take sweet thg.. sure gt sth prob w my throat...

Hi mommies, this is recipe of the red dates drink which my CL used to brew it for me..

红枣茶:
红枣(20-30粒)
党渗
龙眼干(10-20粒)
黑枣(5-6粒)
苟拘子 ( 20-30粒)

Brew it for at least 2hours before drink. Uhmmm, i don't find it very sweet for me, maybe there's others ingredients besides Longan added to it bah...

yen
thanx
cos i heard fr other mtb say 1 of them cant take but i forget which one..
then again i wun b taking much haa jus find out 1st jus in case hehe

I have 2 Brand New tubes of Elancyl Stretch Mark Preventive &amp; Reducing Cream to let go cheaply. Over-stock as i will be due in Mar09. Interested, pls PM me for price &amp; collection.

Back from my Oscar scan. I'm low risk =)
Sonographer said baby super cooperative, in correct position, stayed still. I was done in 10mins. Sigh, but was really hoping to see baby move...

Sonographer said 12weeks 5 days very early to try to detect gender, so didn't try to look for it =p Dr Chan said the same thing too, so I guess I will only get to know the baby gender next month, provided baby is cooperative.

Dr Chan also don't encourage me to jog=( Said if weak cervice, the pounding may cause miscarriage. I just bought new track shoes. Sigh. Guess have to put it into storage liao......