(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

HBB,

wow so soon can see gender already
keke

so exciting.. hear from you soon

sunsweet i duno can see anot leh gynae nvr say a word bout gender haha

another mtb she jus 1 or 2 week earlier than me but she knew her bb gender long ago... so i am keeping finger cross haaa

ralphine
duno leh.. this mtb scan near 13 weeks or earlier
then the other mtb she gotto know by 15 weeks

im in my 16th liao so hope to know soon haa

i guess its by luck bah. some times bb can show off soem times bb cannot haha

Sorry a bit off topic.. but anyone know a good maid agency to recommend? Planning to get a maid who has experiences in looking after newborn.

HBB
Hope u could know by today! Update us ok? Last Mon, my gynae tried to tell us the gender also but he said the position of baby caused the scanning not very clear. He said so far couldn't find the "balls"
so COULD BE a gal. Can only confirm 1 mth later in my detailed scan. I wish for a babygal. How bout u?

LS
I think it is so exciting to find out the gender..
I am hoping for a babygal too.. Let's hope HBB gets to know baby gender today

HBB, update us if you can get to know ur bb gender ok? all mommies and mtbs are exciting to know

My last scan at 15weeks, i purposely ask my Gynae if he can try to see the gender, he tried but he said he can't confirm anything, still early and not very clear...

LS,
I'm not sure where u stay ? I stay in the West, tried out JPB Group at Bukit Timah shopping centre where there are a lot of Maid agency. JPB has very huge source of maid data for you to choose. I'm waiting for my new maid from there hopefully coming before CNY.
U can surf maid data draftly at www.jpbgroup.com. I think they have a few branches
The fee for new maid was $188 with 2 free replacement. Hope it give u some tips to shop around

Yen, if you have cough and phlemph, dont eat chicken which will make it worse.
Any mummies heard about it ?? i didn't know until...few month ago i've got cough and a few colleagues told me. I realize it's true. I tried not to eat chicken for a period of time... my cough which prolong for 1month, disappeared

re: weight gain
haha... me gain 14kg for #1 preganancy, bb is about 3.2kg

now, @ 14wks... gain about 2kg le... seow liaoz... hopefully, i will go back to my pre-pregnancy weight like my #1...

Re: Confinment lady n massage lady
anyone booked yet??? any recommendation???

anyone know if it is good to have massage at this stage? I really feel aches all over and would love to get a good massage.. any recommendation?

ralphine
Yup! Very exciting indeed. I find galgal more adorable & could doll her up. Generally, not so "tiao pi" also. Hope we get what we wish for
Remember to update ok?

hkbb
Thanks for info! I'm staying in East but dun mind to travel if the agency really has good service. So far, how do u find their services in terms of keeping their promises as per contract & if replacement required? I scared those irresponsible agency that will end up drive us mad instead of helping.

Hbb, update us ok? heehee... so excited.

Mummies, hubby n i dont mind either gender. Healthy is all that matters! Wana a girl since i have a boy liao. Bt, my #1 wans a di di to play with him... Was thinking a boy is gd also. Can save lots of money! Coz, for mi, I sure spend a lot if my bb is a gal.

Hi Ralphine,
I go massage package at E-Medi Spa, just above City Link, in front of Marina Square. But my masseuse told me not safe to massage till after 4-5 months.... I learnt a bit of 'tui-na' before. Foot got pressure point that will affect reproductive system, so steer clear of foot massages too. You have to try tahan the aches for the next few months...

Try go swimming. I felt a lot better after that, relieves the weight on the back and stretch stretch a bit

Ralphine

you can try to ask hubby to help. give a rub down on the aching areas every night. i find that that helps till we are at least 5 to 6 mths before going to spas

hi ladies, I'm annie here. 1st time mum, join this forum to learn more things from you all....! i think i really know nothing abt baby yet. EDD on 1st July.

I got pregnant immediately after my wedding is held end of Sept. in fact, i only know i m pregnant ard week 6th, kinda of suspected it cos i miss my menses. it was a big shock cos i was never ready for it and we never plan for baby. in fact, i was thinking to give birth like 2 or 3 yrs later after enjoy the "honeymoon period" with my hubby. now honeymoon shorten to 9/10 mths only..haa.

last yr was busy browsing through singaporebrides website, this yr so fast at singaporemotherhood site!

juz got to know mine 80% highly suspected is boy...actually prefer a girl as girls can doll up or more obedient(?)... nvm lah, try again next round.

my gynae is Dr Soon Siew Bee from Paragon level 16. she was highly recommended by a lot of my lady collegues.

hi annie

i am seeing dr fong yang at level 15. hahah maybe we can even meet for tea after seeing the dr.... but that is if we can find child friendly places. as i am a sahm and my boy follows me everywhere.

as for babies
hahah i also did not plan for this second one coz my first is still very young. now he is only 10mths+
don worry. we all learn things as we go along.... heheh am still learning with my boy.

i got a Question to ask
... anyone going to put our jul babies on cloth diapers? what is the experience? coz my #1 was totally on disposables ( there was this seller that was doing bp for diapers and i got really good deals, so bought in big big bulk then... now cant find the seller anymore and no more lobangs

elijah and lamagier

Yeah.. i cant wait to go to spa.. i am a sucker for massages.. lol.. I am afraid hubby dunno how to rub and then hurt the baby instead.. my shoulder is pretty tense up

Swimming? with bikinis and show off my little bump? haha.. I am not a fan of swimming and i dun like public pools.. i guess i can give it a try..

Annie,
Congrats! Well, it is meant to be!

welocme annie!

elijah's mum

unless you're going to have someone wash the diapers for you, else i say forget it. hehe. It's really too troublesome.

elijah
was talking to my hubby about cloth diapers.. it will be a no-no for me.. coz time consuming to wash and also need to change very frequently.. I guess a price to pay for laziness?! haha..

If someone knows where to get good deals for disposable diapers.. we can all tab on it since we are all in July..

Ralphine

me too. i also just signed a package with true spa but now..... oh i just get hubby to do my shoulders and back ... so should be quite safe no front or tummy area. oh and he does it with me sitting up.

mashy

i got this sense mini washing machine from my aunt (seems its for baby stuff) would that help?

re: cloth diapers

was talking to hubby and we were discussing about the bumgenius but its a super big 1 time investment at the start that is why i am asking for opinions

Hi Elijah's Mummy & Ralphine,
Haha, cos I learnt 'tui na', the husband didn't, so I find no point get him massage me.... he also not sure where the correct pressure point is. So use 'comfort therapy'. I got him to just rub my back in circular motion, like some times eat too full will rub tummy in circles. At least he won't overly exert strength, press wrong pressure point and cause pain.

elijah's mum

DOn't think that's help at all. U need to soak all the diapers. If they poo, u'll have to rinse off or scrub off the poo first before soaking. Then wash etc. Too ma fan. Unless u have a maid who can do this, forget it. And she'll have to devote a fair bit of her time doing it.

Hi all for the welcome n congrats messages too!

let me know if any cheaper buy on disposable diapers too!

elijah,
i m a member of true spa, cuppage branch too! but i havent try out the prenatal massage yet.
so urs is Dr fong yang at level 15... so near my gynae!
my next appt is on 14th feb, Valentine day..LOL. :p
i told my hubby liao, this yr i want him to plan something special....dun care, cos i still have the Valentine mood....next yr when bb is out, maybe dun have V day mood liao.

hi Annie, warm welcome onboard, it seems ur EDD same with mine 1 July. So early you know the gender ?? mine is still in the mystery !!

hi LS,
U can check their web for their branches, it seem beside Bukit Timah, they have at Katong, Hougang, Elias Mall and Woodlands.
So far, i feel their service is ok, contract is clear, they keep their promise even though stimes i have to call to remind as in case they forget...they have a lot of customers, everytime i visit, the're always alot of customers at the agency. They've huge source of maid datas for me to choose
Regarding the maids, depend on whom you choose and mainly on our luck.
For the few visit at the agency, and when i shopped around for maid agency last time, its also depend on the person who served you, some i can't even want to talk another round.
The location also important so that if there're anything related to the maid, save the travel time. U can shop around, i just feel it's convenient when i go in their web and search maid thru biodata and see maid pix also...from their, i noted down maid code to check with the agency, save me a little time sit at the agency to go thru all the biodata...which their source is huge like i told u

Their fee is affordable, not sure how much now, but last time i paid $188. I'm getting a new maid as replacement, i know they are processing thru the insurance co. and MOM when they log in maid details, they mailed to me to inform

I've heard some small agency also good on their service, thou sometime go there ...no biodata avail...

annie

oh mine is this thursday! heheh hope can see the gender. i want another boy! VDay.... hahah thinking what i can do as i will have to plan where to place my boy! hahah last year we just lazed at home after his work coz i was so heavy tired and swollen that i just wanted to stay at home! but did managed to cook up a candle light dinner for the 2 of us though. hmmm maybe can do the same this year... if i can put my boy to bed early! hahah dream dream!

mashy

thanks. haiz then i really got to source and source again! haiz no more $13 jumbo pack for diapers sob sob!

Hi Sunsweet,
Last time my qigong coach taught me 'dan tian' rub clockwise is to 'bu' the 'qi', rub anticlockwise to dissipate the 'qi'. So I always rub clockwise =p and maybe cos I'm too used to it, I find it funny to rub anti-clockwise

ok rub clockwise meaning rub from left to rite circular motion?

sometimes i feel by rubbing our tummy will help in burping loh.. *gross*

i feel a lot of gas trap in my tummy.. need a good rub to dispel it.

hkbb
I called the Elias Mall branch just & a lady called Jenny was very friendly. When I told her I only need the maid around June/July but wanna know more now, she didn't sound unhappy at all. She asked for my number & said I could call her back after searching on their biodatas. The agency fee is $288 now. I agree with u about their wide selection of biodatas & even find someone who seems to fulfil my criteria. Well, it's still a bit early but will definitely keep them in my shortlist. Thanks for recommending!

Hi sunsweet,
my clockwise from left->right =p
I sometimes bored while watching tv also rub, hee, don't know if baby will be massaged or not

just a question. any one looking for the bugslock brand of mosquitoes repellent? its the wristband styled ones. my friend say that she can get in Malaysia at $4sgd.

also is this good as this is new to me but i also see that there is a bp going on for it at $4.50. your opinions? that is before i make a decision to buy this. :p coz there is a moq to hit. also there are limited colours that she can get.....
like to know if its good before i get for my boy. heheh otherwise i will be wasting money again :)

hi Mummies
im back

the scan today fast fast chop chop.. i din even ask any qns.. my mind BLANK hahahaaaa
BECAUSE

i tot i saw the "BALLS" on the scan.. then 1 sec later the gynae say.. its a girl ... 90% OMG
its a dream come true!!

nxt appt is 6 weeks leh.. tsk tsk.. but gg detail scan in 1 mth time hehe

wow... HBB, congrats!!

I want a gal too. but i got a very strong hunch that this time another boy again. my gynae tried to scan the last time when i was 14th week. couldn't see. next appt will be next fri. hope can see then.

jasmine,
i didn't engage any CL or massage lady the first time. this time seriously thinking of getting one especially CL even tho hubby not very keen.

for massage lady, i think there a few quite popular ones in this forum... Mdm Sadiah, Rokiah, etc. But i think they also charge much more.

babyethan

to me its a definite must coz that is the only way to have a good rest and getting our wacked up bodies post delivery back into shape so that we have the energy to look after our precious bundle when we need to.

that's what i think too. i was very exhausted during my confinement the other time. but hubby is not comfortable wif another person living wif us. and the fact that we don't know what kind of person she will be. I share his concern but trying very hard to convince him. Hope I can find a really good one like yours.

Hubby and I have also never had a maid so it seems strange for us to have a stranger living with us. However, I think it'll be quite useful to have a CL esp for first-time mums! It will allow us some important time to rest.

I don't really think I will follow the confinement 'rules' that much, I basically need someone who is experienced with babies and can help with some light housework for the first month. Hopefully can find a CL who can be understanding about my needs. I think a maid may be more stress for me - training, checking on her, etc.

sunnyduck,
we r thinking of getting maid too. when i go back to work, MIL definitely cannot cope wif 2 kids. Now i'm thinking whether shd get 1 before i deliver or wait till confinement over while on maternity leave.

me too... i don't follow all the rules. looking for someone who's pro-breastfeeding, cooks well and is able to share how to take care of baby especially if he/she's going to be a difficult one like my #1. My boy was crying all the time and refused to sleep on his own. Had to carry him all the time. At that point, I'm totally lost and don't know how to handle. It's really very stressing.

I think in the next 6mths before I deliver, one of the most crucial things for me is to become mentally prepared for the baby. Of course we will be very happy with the baby but there will also be times of frustration and stress. I can get very moody if things don't turn out well so I am trying to mentally prepare myself for the fact that babies sometimes don't behave the way you want them to!

I'm hoping to just stick with a CL for now; as I will probably be a SAHM in the first 6mths, I'm going to see how I cope without a maid. I may get a p/t maid instead to help out with household chores only.

sunnyduck

hahah i did not really follow all the rules at all for my 1st confinement.....
1. bath everyday(with the herbs though)
2. washed hair every 5 days(hahahh this is after getting the confinement lady to agree with me that my hair stinks!)
3. played on the computer for at least 4 hr a day (heard that we are supposed to spend all our time in bed and not out of our room at all!the computer was in the living room)
4. no long sleeves clothes or pants (too hot for me, made a compromise when the aircon is on though)
5. no liver or animals innards!
6. minimal liquor in any of my foods

hahah, this is just some of the things that i broke the rules with.