(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Hi all, thanks a lot for yr advice. It really helps.
Btw, Merry Xmas & Happy New Year 2009 to all.

Cecelia, we should exchange hubby manz....until the Oscar test is done.

Poshicon, I stayed in Woodlands. What about you? Sorry I forgot that you posted that in the earlier thread. Dont worry, you should be ok. If you are worried, just go to Dr Ang earlier for a check.

sheryl
thanx for concern hee
well i am still puking n feeling queasy..
but i shld tink its getting better
cos i managed to stretch my eating time fr 2 1/2 hour to about 4 hours now.
but last nite puke n v gassy again
brup out all the pukey smell
end up bo bian drink some coke thou got caffine.. jus about 50ml.. to make myself feel better. realise 100plus dun help in removing the smell...

how bout u?

Hi BabyEthan

My first kid was oso perfectly healthy. I still asked the doc is it first kid normal, 2nd kid shd not have high chance of DS. But he told me each pregnancy is different. When he explained my risk percentage after the NT measurement, i was so scared off cos it is even lower than the background risk based on age. I will try to stay positive and wait for the clinic's call.

HBB, mine depends on mood one. seems a bit better, bt like today i puke twice after lunch n dinner. after puking, i feel much better.
btw, i am gg to see my gynae tml. will update u guys abt bb progress.

Merry Xmas ladies!!

sheryl
wow can see baby again hee... take care...
im tinking of getting an appt to see gynae nxt week instead of mid jan cos tat day i fainted. so tot mayb go earlier to check out my BP

mummies, can i join?

Mashy: my details are:

Nick: Pretty Bunnie
Birth Order: #2
Gynae:Dr Fong Yang
Hospital:TMC
EDD: 7-Jul-2009

At this stage, I'm still feeling crampy but it's improved from the earlier stages that I was having cramps every 2 to 3 days. I have to aviod carrying heavy things and cannot walk to much. My social life is nothing much to begin with so mostly I stay at home to sleep. Can't really play with no 1 cuz can't carry her =(

Dr did ask if we wan to do the amniocenthesis, but we haven't quite decided. I did it before with my #1 but i'm not sure if I wan to go through it all over again :p

had my check up on Tues.

Baby is about 3.5 cm..
so push forward EDD a little to 20th July.

can see lil bb's head and body.. cute!

No.1 did not follow us to the doc cos its her nap time.. sigh..

I'll be doing my DS scan on the 6th.

HBB did you choose your scan package 1st or you make you choise on the day of the scan?

Dr. Tan told me that if the scan is no good then she'll require me to do the blood test.. I tot we have to decide on the package 1st.. cos that's what i did in my last preggy ...

maybe procedure has changed.

wishing all Happy boxing day!

Morning mummies. Happy Boxing Day.

I've been craving for fried oyster with lots of chilli since Christmas eve. But hubby doesn't allow me to eat scared got food poisoning from the oysters.

Hi Mommies
Hope u all had a wonderful Xmas celebration!

sheryl
Update us tonite ok?! So happy to be able to see bb again.. Can't wait for my turn on Mon..

sunsweet
u must b thrill to see ur lil one in the scan hee

ehhh mine seems to b a package. cos apparently BT is more accurate.

Happy Boxing days to all mummies.

Hi Sunsweet,
Must be really great to see detail shape of baby. I'm going for 2nd gynae vist tmr, hopefully can see something more than a black spot...

Sigh, now down with flu. 2nd time in the first trimester. Hope baby is alrite....

<font color="aa00aa">Hi mummies,

sorry to interrupt.

I've a Brand New Clarins Stretch Mark Cream to let go. if interested, do PM me. thanks!</font>

hi Sheryl,
i've read ur note in the thread earlier abt the Oscar test, if you feel to do it then just go ahead. Just like me, i determined to do just to know...as my hubby also said he does not want a bb with DS.
However, after the test...i feel more stressed on the statistic result..."in high risk". Even though my Gynae told me not to get panic, he will discuss further on the next visit in Jan, maybe go for ammio fuid test (to have 99% accuracy) and the detailed scanned on 5th mths...but i was down and stressed tremendously since they informed me the result.
I'm praying hard for my bb to be healthy, my no.1 is so healthy, hyperactive and smart, i'm 36 this year, i'm trying to think of positive...like one of mummies above said, bb with DS is rare...
I'm a bit regretful to do the Oscar test now, spent almost $450 for it and giving me now the dilemma, the result is not 100% accurate...anyway, i'm just praying hard that God will give me a healthy bb since the bb inside me is so active, keep jumping up and down during every scan.
i told myself, if i ever get pregnant again after this bb, i won't go for Oscar test

Please PM me if anyone is interested to order capella s705 stroller in bulk, need at least 5 orders! Can get it at $260 nettOG selling at for sale at 296 now..

Hi mummies!!!
Happy boxing day!!! It has been quite sometime that i got post here.. I was in taipei for a holiday.. But.. This holiday wasnt a good one as i was having gastric infection during my stay in taipei and am not taking any medication. I am very worried about my bb's condition now. I will only be able to reach singapore tonight and will be seeing my gynae tmr morning. I really hope that this infection will not cause bb any harm. Else, i'm sure i will be at a lost... Frankly speaking, till now, my tummy still dont feel well..

Hi Sunsweet

There are 3 packages, 1st one without BT, 2nd and 3rd one with BT. Dr Tan did not ask me to do the ultrascan alone, I took the 2nd one straightaway. Nw waiting for BT result. I tink the 3rd one's BT can be done only in 15th wk, 2nd one 11th to 14th week.

Hi hkbb

i am in same situation as u, 1st bb healthy and i am 37 tis yr. Like u, I am determined to know cos we r worried that our bb has DS. I share your sentiments and dilemna as my ultrascan result not good, now waiting for their call abt BT. So I was worried since tue. But guess due to holi period, I have to wait for a few more days to knw the final result. Later on, if the result still not satisfactory, then gotta think of amnio and its another worry. Guess pregnancy is worries all the way. But we should try our best to stay positive and pray that our bb are healthy :eek:)

hkbb: i'm going to be 36 next yr. My number 1 I did amnio cuz the DS marker came back as 1 in 92. Unfortunately I had the aunty in the clinic to deliver the news to me and she totally got no EQ. I cried for a few hours. so I called back and luckily the other nurses picked up and consoled me. After much considersation we went for amnio. But this number 2, I am not sure. this pregnancy is a lot more different and I get cramps (no spotting) all the time in varying degrees of pain. so we are thinking, 1 test that is 90% accurancy or 1 test that is 99% accurancy but higher risk. Strange thing is, this time round my gynae took a lot more time to explain the risk of amnio. last time was "just do it".

my sister first baby DS marker came back as 1 in 23. She was so traumatised by the whole thing she refused to do the same test for her second baby. Thankfully both are normal.

Pretty bunnie, so will you be doing for yr no 2? Btw, the DS marker is given after the amino test? So, yr sister still keep her first one even though she know the stats? N bb turns out ok? Coz i read in some thread that the DS stats show high risk, bt there r cases whereby e bb is fine n healthy during delivery....

Hi mummies, i went to chk on bb today. So happy as i saw bb head, body, hands n legs.
My little one is now at 6.35 cm n I am 12 wks 5 days preggie. Bb is lying comfortably in my womb, heehee!

I did a blood test to check for HIV, thassmalia (think this is not spelt correctly) n the neck thickness test. Can any mummies here enlighten me abt this neck thickness test? Are we able to tell e results of this test on e spot? I learn fr gynae this test can capture abt 70% of down syndrome too. Today my mind is in a whirl, so i didnt ask much questions. Gynae asks abt the oscar test n we told him no though half of my heart still wana do e test. Think i give it a good thought this few days n go back to him next week if I want to. After 14 weeks, i wont be able to do e test liao.

HBB, it be gd to go see yr gynae earlier if you dont feel well. meanwhile, take gd care n rem to always grab a seat around to rest if u r giddy.

Hkbb, i am sorry to hear abt e test results. is e results inclusive of both scan n blood test? meanwhile, try not to worry so much ok...i know its tough for u. try to keep yrself occupied. when is yr next visit?

Thanks Hopper, Pretty bunnie for your sharing. I'm also kind of...leave it to God and just pray that He will give me a healthy bb.

So Pretty bunnie: your #1, you did the ammio fluid test? how the result at that time, is it true accuracy 99% and ur bb delivered healthily?

Maybe i have to opt for that test...haiz...

Sheryl: thanks, yes the result they informed me based on statistics of both BT and scan. I was traumatised down right after receive the result and the next day. I pray everyday and feel better everyday, I pray that i give this bb to God to take care...
My next visit with Gynae in the 2nd week of Jan, before the CNY, i will discuss with my Gynae more in detail.

sheryl
I tot OSCAR is inclusive of blood test &amp; neck thickness test (via ultrasound)? So u already did OSCAR right?

sheryl
the neck thickness plus the sign of nasal bone will be able to give an estimation for the calculation
the sonar will ask u to sit down and she show u wat she printed out.

she will start w our age and risk.. then slowly she will show u the calculation and fr the risk increases or decreases.
then follow by blood test which result b out in 1 or 2 days

LS &amp; HBB, i did the neck thickness test. Its via ultrasound. That is also when I check the growth of bb n hear his heartbeat.

After that, i did the blood test to check for HIV and thasmalia. My gynae threw two tubes of blood. I dont think that equates to the oscar test right? I am so blur, dont even know what tests I did. Aiyo...

I rem the gynae telling mi that the neck thickness test will give abt 70% accuracy n the OSCAR abt 90%. He also told mi i will know my results in the next visit. If anything wrong, thn he will call me.

For me,I'll be doin the OSCAR test in my next visit on 15 Jan 09 - ard my 11th and 1/2 weeks. Both hubby &amp; me are very sure that we wan to do the test. Being able to conceive at 26 yrs old, we very much hope the risk level will be very much minimized...

Very miss seeing my bb now..Hope my next scan will come soon..

May God bless us all.

Hi Sheryl,

Sorry for late reply. Have been down with cough and flu! Coughing all nite long when sleep! Seen GP, given me antibiotics for my throat and DMP syrup(Pink syrup). Not much cure though.

I'm staying at sembawang. Me so far so good, will wait till next visit to see Dr Ang for the OSCAR test.

anyone also went to Isetan private sale yesterday? Me took leave went in the morning already super crowded!
Thot of get CNY clothes for myself but nothing suitable.No mood to shop very long like last time due to pregnant now. But bought a few dresses for my gal CNY.Very tempt to buy something for my new bb but think better wait till stable and when I know the gender first then buy anything.

mbb2,

I same EDD as u 10 Jul. U alry found out the gender so fast! Usually gynae can only see the gender at 4 mths at least leh..

Me yesterday bought Clarins Tonic body treatment oil for prevention of stretchmarks.Gg to start apply from now. Have been using when I have my first child. No stretchmarks at all. Recommend to all mummies here.

I haven't tried other brands, or other good reviews of other brands can share here?

Hi hkbb, really hope your baby will be fine. I guess all mommies can understand how stressful it is when there is any possibility that baby might be harmed in any way.

Wow mbb2, that's really fast to be able to tell the gender of bb!

Hi poshicon, same thing here. Down with flu and temp of 38.7oC. Just came back from TMC 24hr walk-in clinic. Waiting time slightly less than 30min and cost me $151.... Expensive antibiotics....

So annoyed. Flu breakout in my office and a lot of 'cough-ers', especially the guy sitting next to me. I kept asking him to go see doctor, he said 'flu only, not AIDS what'.....

Just went for gynae appt this morning too....Baby at 2.8cm at 10 weeks. Is this considered small? It was so amazing to see baby wriggle arms and legs. Hopefully the fever didn't cause any harm to baby....

Poshicon, hope u r feeling better. do take gd care n drink plenty of water. gt more rest too. when's yr next visit at dr ang?

i also bought the clarins tonic body treatment oil today at taka.
just started applying. i heard gd reviews too... hope it works on mi coz i still hve a bit of stretch marks from previous preg. Hoping e new ones will not come after i apply this. I must take gd care n be pretty mummy even after giving birth to bb next july. Hee!

lamagier

You should tell your colleague SARS also flu and it killed so many pp. Just because SARS is over doesn't mean that a new mean virus can't appear.

Hi poshicon, i saw the sale on tv. So crowded! Hee, i try to avoid crowded areas nowadays cox tend to feel giddy when not enough air. U feeling better today?

Mummies to be, wat prenatal education hav u started with yr bb? Care to share? I'm totally lost...hav been reading up only...

Hi HBB, long time nv see u. How hav u been?

I'm trying to listen to music before i sleep too. But i think music i like, my bb may not like.

kitty if the music is soothing kind
then nxt time whn bb s born and is cranky it might help to calm the baby down whn the same piece is being played

im doing fine hehe.. transition to 2nd trimester now hehe

Spree for maxi cosi tori car seat good for 0-4 years old @ bulk purchase price, also on still spree for capella s705 stroller closing soon..pls PM for info

Hi Mashy,

I'm thinking of going to my boss and tell him to tell those inconsiderate people off during the department meeting. Been having fever for 3 days straight, feel like strangling the guy who passed me the flu bug, but don't think that's good education for baby...And irony is that guy's wife and brother are doctors.....

Hi HBB,

I still got another 2 weeks to go before going into 2nd trimester. Can't wait for it to be over then I don't need to fear so much for baby everyday.....

Hi lamagier and kittyng,
I suddenly down with fever 37.7 degrees in the afternoon. Funny is cough is better but got flu becomes severe and lead to block ears!Then when nap I can't stand the fan blowing need to cover blanket completely. Managed to sweat out. I can't take panadol cos will hv rashes.

Lamagier,flu cannot take it lightly. U better stay away from ur colleages to prevent it from getting worse,especially we now pregnant.

Hi Sheryl,
Glad that u also tried the clarins oil.I like the scent like ginger smell. My next appt is 8 Jan. I may changed appt to earlier date.

I haven't done any prenatal education at all. I also don do all these stuff when I got my first one. I just be my usual self after work watch tv and sleep. Likes to listen to chinese pop songs when I take MRT instead. I guess I'm not doing enough la.Work already so tired and came back got to take care my gal, not much time for myself too.

I saw so many pregnant mummies at the isetan private sale that day! They really can shop!Guess they also want to get the best deal lah,ha ha! I can't tahan very long. Can't concentrate looking at my own clothes like last time. But I don't want to waste my trip so still go for my gal's stuff.

Anyone knows when to start wearing maternity bras? I been wearing my usual wired bras but seems like not very good for pregnancy is it true? Cos I also wear when I have my first child for very long then wear non wired bra only after given birth.
Then if wear non wired bra how to wear spagetti strap pregnant top?