(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Hi Everyone!

I'm new in the forum. 1st time pregnancy in my 1st trimster. a lot of things I'm not sure. hope all of u expert can help.

Table Update - Those whose EDDs/gynae info are not in, can update pls?

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick </TD><TD>Birth Order </TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD> EDD </TD></TR><TR><TD>rainbow</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>hkbb</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr. Fong Yang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Babyethan</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Tham KF</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>1-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Han Bao Bao</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Prof John Tee</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>2-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joyce</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>dorisq </TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Sim Lee Ngor</TD><TD>TMC </TD><TD>3-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>jasminechen</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>3-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Enidmummy</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>4-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sheryl</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>7-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pretty Bunnie</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>7-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>HKAZ</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>DR KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>9-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hopper</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>10-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>mbb2</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Watt Wing Fong</TD><TD>RH</TD><TD>10-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>poshicon</TD><TD> #2</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>10-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ning</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>11-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>LS</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>11-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazelle</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>11-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>FOZ</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>12-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>MrsC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>14-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>bunbun</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>15-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>blessed09</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>15-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Beverly</TD><TD>Twins</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>15-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>pinklilies</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>15-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>cecelia</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr James Lee</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>20-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jaz23</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>21-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>kai</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Koh CH</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>23-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>lamagier</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>25-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>angelsky</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>DR LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>26-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunnyduck</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Wee HY</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>28-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mashy </TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>precious</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr AL Lim</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>4-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>Josey</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC/Mt A</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunsweet</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>kittyng</TD><TD>#1 </TD><TD>Dr Madeleine Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>December</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH/TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mypreciouskeagan</TD><TD> #2</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Poshicon, since yr EDD is on 10 Jul, just wondering why you are doing yr OSCAR test so late... onli on 8 Jan?

Tracy lazy, sorry to hear abt yr loss. Do take gd care of yourself n have a mini confinement.

HBB, I am officially in my second trimster today... 13 weeks. Yipee, so happy! Time flies. I think its second trimster for some of us here.

Re: prenatal education
I also havent done any prenatal education currently. Too busy and tired with my #1 and work. I used to listen to those bb music when i was having my #1. It was soothing for me n bb then... sets myself n bb to relax.

Josey

Sorry to hear abt your loss too! Take care!

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick </TD><TD>Birth Order </TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD> EDD </TD></TR><TR><TD>rainbow</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>hkbb</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr. Fong Yang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Babyethan</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Tham KF</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>1-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Han Bao Bao</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Prof John Tee</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>2-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joyce</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>dorisq </TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Sim Lee Ngor</TD><TD>TMC </TD><TD>3-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>jasminechen</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>3-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Enidmummy</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>4-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sheryl</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>7-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pretty Bunnie</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>7-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>HKAZ</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>DR KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>9-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hopper</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>10-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>mbb2</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Watt Wing Fong</TD><TD>RH</TD><TD>10-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>poshicon</TD><TD> #2</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>10-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ning</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>11-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>LS</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>11-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazelle</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>11-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>FOZ</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>12-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>MrsC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>14-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>bunbun</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>15-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>blessed09</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>15-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Beverly</TD><TD>Twins</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>15-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>pinklilies</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>15-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>cecelia</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr James Lee</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>20-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jaz23</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>21-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>kai</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Koh CH</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>23-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>lamagier</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>25-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>angelsky</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>DR LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>26-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunnyduck</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Wee HY</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>28-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mashy </TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>precious</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr AL Lim</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>4-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunsweet</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>kittyng</TD><TD>#1 </TD><TD>Dr Madeleine Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>December</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH/TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mypreciouskeagan</TD><TD> #2</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

My EDD is 23 Jul

May I know besides Down Syn test, wat other tests will we be taking in the weeks to come? My DS test is mid-Jan.

Hi Josey &amp; Tracy,
So sorry to hear abt your loss, may I know if miscarriage always comes with bleeding or sometimes there is no bleeding?

Just went for my OSCAR test this morning. 3 tubes of blood taken &amp; scanning done. Baby is very very active, keep moving its limbs in the air. Could be a backstroke swimmer in future
hehehe.. The sonographer didn't explain much &amp; I had to ask her about everything from how many weeks i'm at now, how's the scan, etc. She didn't wanna reveal anything &amp; just said wait til' tomorrow together with blood test result. Is this normal? I know some of u got to know your scan result on the spot right? Anyway, hubby saw she kept measuring 1 part (which is bb's neck thickness i assume) &amp; it's 0.167cm. Bb's lenght is 6cm plus. I'm at 12 wks plus. Hope everything will be fine!

tracy lazy &amp; Josey,
I'm so sorry about your loss. Take a good care of yourselves as for now!

Hi mummies,have been kinda on my peak of MS now I guess..Am in week 10 to 11...phew really buay tahan...

Sherly, nice to know your baby is well...and good that you went for the tests too ; )my next appt is on Jan 5 for the blood test.

looks like most of the mummies are entering into 2nd trimester already..cool...anymore MS for you guys or has it stopped?

Did you all did both NT scan and blood test? I'm contemplating only 1 and may go for blood test though if done combine has higher accuracy. My test is this fri in my week 12.

Hi Blessed, my MS seems to be lessen, able to eat more stuff now though still fussy over the food.

Bra: I hv start wearing non wired bra now that it's getting uncomfy w wire cutting into the flesh. Furthermore, it's getting sore and tender and at one point it felt like someone pinching me from inside!

Hi tracy lazy &amp; Josey,
I'm so sorry about your loss. Hope both of you will be blessed with another little bundle of joy soon. Do take care of yourselves.

Hi poshicon,
Your ears also blocked?!? How do you control the fever without panadol? My fever will spike above 38oC the moment I go longer than 5hr without panadol. Been sleeping through the flu and pretty much can't eat anything. Lost 2 kg the past 2 days.... Water parade also no use....

I read somewhere that underwire bras block milk ducts, so best to wear non-wired ones as soon as possible. I already made the switch a few weeks back. Got non-wired ones from Marks &amp; Spencer and wearing my normal sports bras.

I'm thinking get leave or mc for tmr too. Avoid the office for as long as I can. Afraid baby might be affected cos I took so much flu meds in the first trimester...

Hi blessed,
I think I'm out of the MS period since last week. but can't really differentiate MS from flu symptoms....

Blessed09, I didnt do the oscar test. I only did the neck thickness test via ultrascan and blood test to check for HIV n thalasaemia. According to Dr Ang, the oscar test is the blood test and that costs $200.

Mrs C, the NT scan has 70% accuracy and OSCAR blood test has 90%. For me, I did the NT scan last fri and I am still thinking about the OSCAR blood test.

LS, dont worry. I am sure eveything will be fine for you. My bb's neck measurements were also about there n gynae says the results r ok.

sheryl
Now I understand what u mean. There r 2 types of blood tests we're talking about here
Thanks for reassuring! Will update u all again tomorrow.

sheryl
Hahaha.. The one u did was only for HIV &amp; thalassemia. Another one is for OSCAR to combine the scanning &amp; mother's blood in determining risk.

tracy lazy &amp; Josey
HBB's post of "trying again" reminds me to tell u both that miracle does happen! Dun give up hopes! I also strike again the very next cycle after my MC. My LMP was actually the day I MC. I know only time will heal but just have faith &amp; keep on trying!

LS
u r right! miracle happen!!
i got block tubes and dh SA not good.. and eventualy i strike!!
so anythg miracle can happen to every one
Hope 2009 is a better year for all !!!!

Hi Tracy and Josey,
Sorry to hear abt your loss, like other mummies, pray that you have faith and don't give up. Rest and relax now and...try again.
I was very tensed for one year and failed during that period, i conceive when i put my mind "i give up, i have to leave it to God"
Take care yah

Hi Tracy and Josey,

Sorry to hear about your loss. I myself had gone through 2 unsuccessful pregnancies before and now I am pregnant again. As mentioned by some of the mummies here, don't give up and try again when you are ready.

At the moment, don't think too much and rest well. Do a mini confinement if possible.

Take care ya!!!

hi beverly
ya the course i am gg is pretty ex.
oh yes im gg for the KKH one too
cos is diff kind of program hehe =)

Dear Mummies

I'm in my 1st trimster,going to 2nd soon in 1-2 weeks time. What are the things I should do or look out. My EDD is 21st July

sheryl: no the marker comes from the blood test. My sis did the scanning after the blood test to measure the thickness of the neck and her gynae assured her it's no problem. Her kid born ok. Second kid, she didn't do the blood test for the DS marker, cuz she said she didn't want to put herself through that! second kid also ok!

HKBB: u also seeing Dr Fong Yang rt? You can discuss with him about your fears. I did read up quite a fair bit first before I decided to do the amnio. At that time, me and hubby didn't think we could deal with a DS baby so we wanted to be sure. Dr Fong did the amnio for me and it was relatively painless. As usual he was trying to talk to me to get me to relax. but I will reply "ok i'm not going to talk liao" then I just clasp my hands tightly and close my eyes :p He did say 1% chance of miscarriage if i do amnio, but we still haven't decided yet for #2. Typically if Dr Fong do, it will be on a wed, then u need to bedrest for the next few days. at first i tot no big deal but the pain/ soreness set in on the 3rd day, so that's when I guai guai stay in bed :p

Anyway Dr Fong very good to talk to, so discuss with him if you have any questions or doubts.

finally got the call from kk. as expected, the result was not good, high risk, 1:47. I was traumatised once i heard this from the nurse. I tried hard to control my emotion and sadness as i was working when i received the call. they got me an appt to meet the doc tmr to discuss further. from wat i read, i knw the next step is either cvs or amnio...i just couldn't stop thinking why is it so..how come my 1st kid is healthy and active and face such dilemna now...

hi pretty bunnie

mind if i ask , your sis did the measurement of the neck thickness after the BT marker? i thot the result is a combination of the measurement, age and BT?
did yr gynae previously advised u to do CVS or is it more common for mummies to do amnio instead?

tracy lazy n josey, dont think about it too much ok? i agree with what the other mummies say. miracles happen. i also had a miscarriage before this bb....now whats most impt is to take care of yrself n do a mini confinement. u can build up yr health n try again.

hopper,
agree wif HBB, go n discuss wif gynae abt what he suggests. still have a chance that baby is healthy afterall. don't give up hope.

i'm anxiously waiting for my gynae visit this sat to find out the details too. blur me didnt ask the nurse what's my risk level even tho they told me normal result.

Oh... 13 wks is trimester 2? my MS still hitting me. so sianz. my #1 has diarrhoea and is refusing food &amp; milk. so stressed up taking care of him. sometimes just forgot that i'm preg wif another 1 inside me.

Hopper

Apparently amnio is safer than CVS. Guess since you're already done the earlier test, might was well go ahead with amnio. No pt worrying till u give birth.

Gals, gd morning! i had a bad fight with hubby yesdae. We were still arguing over the oscar test. We didnt tok at all this morning too. I think both of us reach our max.

My neck thickness test is ok n gynae told mi to consider opting for oscar. it has a higher detection rate. stubborn hubby insists no need... i am young (currently 27 years old) n hve a healthy son. kp saying my son n our parents time also dont hve this test n we r normal. he thinks its a pure waste of $! i am seriously fed up n dont understand what is in his brain. I merely want to chk to get an assurance. he keeps citing my gynae's words not to do e test... in which my gynae didnt even say that. stupid guy!

sheryl
dun upset k... if ur gynae say neck thickness ok mayb ur dh feel its ok and assured liao...

tat y opposed ur considerration of gg oscar... cool down and see how lar ok.. ur baby will b healthy one =) dun worry...

Sheryl
Don't be upset. Sometimes gynae just want to make sure that everything is alright, hence suggests other tests. Pray over it, and believe your bb is going to be strong n healthy.

sheryl
Always rem that if the prob could be solved by money, then it's not a prob! We could always earn it back. If I were u, I'll just go ahead with my own $$$ becos' I could see u really want to do the test right? Otherwise, u won't be fighting over it...

My clinic just called &amp; my OSCAR test is ok. I'm at 12wks &amp; 4days. Bb's lenght 6.22cm &amp; bb's neck thickness 1.7mm. Thanks God! Really hope that everything will turn out well for all of u here!

Sheryl,

yeah, i agree with LS too...just go ahead with the test if you really want to have some peace of mind..I know sometimes DH just cant figure out wat we are going thru..so dun worry much...tell him nicely that it means alot to you..

LS

errr... Actually if the neck thickness is ok, is there a real need to go thru OSCAR? Since it has such a lousy risk assessment? I've already known so many pp who got a high risk for DS during OSCAR test but all turned out fine. If you're so adament abt having some statistics, might as well go for amnio and u can even find out your bb's sex. At least it's more accurate.

HBB
Thanks for the link! Will buy one soon i think

mashy
As what I've mentioned much earlier in my post, it depends on one's level of comfort whether or not to do OSCAR. It's all about choice &amp; decision. Regarding if neck thickness is ok then no need to go for OSCAR, i'm really not an expert to advise. For me, I want to know earlier whether my baby is fine or not, so I just go for it. And I dun see why I should go for amnio first (by paying more &amp; risking my baby) where I could have chances of having a fine baby (from OSCAR result)?

HBB
Wahhh really?! That's lots of diff! Will ask hubby to order online cos' he got special shipping account with low rate when purchase from the States (amazon is one of US webbie right?). Thx for info!

LS.. actualy if u dun mind i burn a set for u lor since i got the 4 pcs liao HAHAAA
but some ppl prefer original one lar..

i burn a set for my sis also

Hi Mashy!

What should I do to be part of your list? This is the 1st time I joined a forum, cause totally lost of what to do as a new mum. but thru all ur dialogue I've learn a few things.

My Gyne is giving me a test to check on DS is the test the same test that ur mention "oscar test" what would they do during the test? How much usually they charged? Coz I've check from some other forum on remark of my gyne. remark is that she is expensive.

so on the 3 jan I'm going to see her but 4 jan I'm going japan for holiday so she advise me to do the "test" when I'm back from the trip, so I would not be worried during my trip.

Dear tracy lazy &amp; Josey, sorry to hear about your loss. Do take gd care &amp; dun give up ok!!!

HBB, thanks for the recommendation. May i know wat parenting course did u sign up?