(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

dyva
mine aso gt push fwd.. I eddy on 28th hee

did my NT scan yesterday bb was 'dancing' in thr. everythg seems normal
nw wait for blood test results
'donated' 3 tubes of blood lol

Have you all been putting on weight? I know the recommended range for the whole pregnancy is 12 - 16kg or something like this. I've already gone up about 1.5kg and I'm only 8wks+.

Think it has to do with the increased appetite. Even though we're not meant to eat 'for two', I still have the urge to eat more nowadays. If I don't eat every few hours, I will feel nauseous and giddy.

sunny duck
I prob gain a bit of wt I lost bt overall still is loss of weight

no worries bout e weight gain yea. its normal hee
if u worry bout excess gain maybe cn try eat healthily.

Dear all mummies to be

Hope i can join the JULY 2009 group. 1'm currently 8 weeks pregnant and am seeing gynae Dr Yvonne Chan at TMC.

Anyone feeling super bloated all the time?
I started getting bloat, body ache, breathlessness and fatigue from 3-6 weeks. Then suddenly switched over to nauseas and giddiness. And now the MS fading away. Anyone whose MS also comes in 2 parts like mine?

Just to check if anyone still exercising. Felt really bloated and fat and went jogging and swimming and felt pain at right side of lower abdomen after that... Sigh.... don't know is it the fetus complaining...

hi lamagier, welcome!!!!

wow, you still exercising, solid man
. actually can even cycle during pregnancy, but that is provided prior to getting pregnant, you have always been very active at sports, then you will probably have the stamina to continue with low impact sports like cycling, swimming and jogging, but if previously if lazy like me, very anti exercise then all of a sudden wanna do all types of exercise then its not possible
. I did take up pre natal yoga for my #1 though.

I also feel bloated and fat, or rather am bloated and FAT. haha.

Hi Lamier,

Did your gynae give you any guidence on exercising? I believe you can exercise but in moderation and light exercise. High impact exercise like jogging are usually avoided for most during the 1st trimster as we are still at our vulnerable stage. Brisk walking is still fine ,same goes for casual swimming. It's normal to feel bloated and fat cos it's mostly gas.

I'm intending to continue my exercise routine after my 3 months when i'm more stable. Will most prob head to gym for walking on treadmill or cycling..

HBB, whats NT test? Is it the oscar test? So u do a scan n drew 3 tubes of blood? Wow, thats a lot. Keep us posted of the results ok? Btw, are you still having MS now? My MS subsidied recently...not as severe as before. Still have the nausea feeling this morning bt didnt threw up.

Poshicon, pls take gd care of yrself. You may want to monitor and call up yr gynae to check on the bleeding.

Lamagier, welcome! like what angelsky has said, better dont strain yrself if u r e non-active type ok? You may want to keep a healthy diet instead?

sheryl
ya i tink shld b oscar test.
the scanlooks good. now oni waiting for BT i tink they will not inform me until the nxt check up unless got anythg wrong.

actualy is 2 tube of blood.. then they took 1 more for the hiv, thelessamia n etc... cos they din take for mi initlay as they dun wan to poke mi too many times.. how considerate! i beginning to have more faith in KKH haha

my MS subsided slightly but depends one .. if i eat wrong thg i will have a bad day fr morning till nite...
usualy mine starts after 3 LOL.. duno y ... but i know i cant take meat now.. cos seems like the stomach cant digest the meat even aft 8 hours.. and then iw illt hrow up the meat at nite... horror!!!
i eat popiah almost everyday cos thats the onli few veggie i can stomach. heng can eat poapiah .. else peng san
i tink u r like me.. MS subsiding slowly.. jia you yea!!

hi mummies, went for my checkup on friday and saw baby's heartbeat already...gynae even let me hear the hearbeat...am 8 weeks preggy now and EDD is 24 Jul...gynae said next appt is blod test...

Sheryl,
how abt you? done the blood test already?

Babyethan,
yup, me too having lotsa craving for spicy food..But am quite bad when it comes to breakfast as I really cant eat much...

I was relatively active. Even compete in dragonboat race at 4 weeks pregnant... Told Dr Chan but she didn't say anything. She said ok to jog, but some website states not good. Same for sit ups..... But I was really itching to sweat it out, and cannot go steam bath or sauna......

My EDD 25th July (4th June in the lunar calender). Anyone same day and at TMC? Haha, can visit each other...

hi all mummies

yeap, no MS is good but afraid of weight gain :-(
but not to worry to all who have MS, i heard it is a sign of healthy baby.
and talking about excercise, i used to be very active like jog everyday but now i stop all the exercise, cos as first timer, i am not sure about the conditiion.
for me, i will prefer to continue exercise when finish the first trisemester.
It's true, now i feel bloated in most days and of course FAT

hi Lamagier

last time i also want to engage Dr Yvone Chan, but said that she is fully booked for july. Think she is one of the popular one.

now, i might visit Dr. K.C Yeo, any comments about him?

i cant wait for my next scanning, hopefully can hear baby heartbeat as i m currently 8 weeks also.

Re: MS & healthy baby

Aiyah, i think nothing is for sure until u actually give birth and see the baby. Guess i'm so paranoid coz i've seen too many stillbirths of friends. I've one friend who had very bad MS and had miscarriage at 16 weeks! guess as parents, we'll always worry until we give birth. and after that worry abt the kid's health, development etc. It's worries forever.

Mashy, what you say about worries forever is so true!

My next gynae appointment is 31 Dec, about 3 weeks after the last appointment. That time, everything seems okay, can see heartbeat and all. But sometimes, deep down, I worry a lot about whether everything is well. I have also heard a lot of friends who lost their baby in the middle of the 1st trimester for no real reason. Wonder if all MTBs are as paranoid as me...

lamagier, my current edd is 26th july, we might bump into each other if not overdue for me, my #1, overdue by 2 days.
have you indicated your room preference?

those delivering at TMC, did they renovate all their wards? or only the better ones?

sunnyduck, its normal, i also worry all the way, used to be past first tri, then baby should be more stable and less worry right, but for me, after that got detail scanning at 7th month, also worry if baby normal or not, got 10 fingers and toes or not, then after delivery, if baby can hear or not, able to see or not, can respond to me or not, now worry if she fall down and hit her head, will it harm her, it goes on la

Sunnyduck
I am like you too.. Been afraid the bb suddnly decided not to want to continue to stay and grow inside me.. Been thinking if bb was striving hard to survive in me not.. Been thinking f bb is healthy or not.. Like yesterday, i had cried alot before my sleep cos of a stupid thing i did before i slept... I had actually cut something on my bed forgetting about the tradition of not having anything cut on bed during our pregnancy... It was after that, i remembered about it.. Fear and worry that becos of this, bb will have cleft lip. Till now, i am still worrying about it.. Tears just start dropping when i recall this issue..

HBB,
Gd to hear that your scan went well. I am sure the blood test result will be gd too. No news from yr gynae means gd news. Heehee!
Btw, i was smiling when i read yr post abt MS. I hope that my MS will end soon. ;p For me, sometimes i cant take certain foods. It depends on my dear BB's mood one. Last sun, I was wondering why my MS subside, thn the next thing i was puking every meal that I took n its like whatever I took came out lo. Like merlion...

Blessed, congrats! when is yr next visit? I guess you must be excited n happy when Dr Ang let you hear his heart beat. Did he tell you abt the tests that you are supposed to do during wk 11-14? I have not decided on the OSCAR test yet. Still considering. My next visit is on 26th Dec, after Xmas.

Mashy & sunnyduck, I agree with you gals. Its so true. We will worry bt for different things at different times. Lets try to relax n be happy. Take a day as it comes.

Dorisq,

dun be to up tight on what is pantang loh..

some says its just a myth.. so just forget about it. dun let it affect yours and bb's mood ok?

remember to stay happy.. as Happy Mummy = Happy Baby.

i think my baby like to ZZ .. cos i have been dozing off after lunch over the past few days.. today back to work cannot keep my eye open now...

dorisq
i agree with sunsweet, happy mummy = happy baby. sometimes those myth if we blindly believe may make us more unhappy in the end. my fren said his wife was so upset with him becoz his mum say he need to set up the baby room only after the wife deliver, so end up he told her his mother say she needs to stay in the hospital after delivery by herself because he needs to run all the errands for baby etc. but you know new mummies are usually very tired and need support after delivering right, so end up now become so unhappy becoz of all these issues. whats the point.

angelsky,

hehe i played cheat for my #1 on that Myth.

I just left the cot not set up comletly.. i.e. mattress cover and pillow cases wash but not placed over the resepctive..

while the rest of the room is more or less ready loh..

hehe this means my roon is not set up YET mah.. keke

so when i delivered my Hub just help me to fit everything in to their cases and ta-da completed!

One thing i prefer... is to stay at 4-bedded rather than 1-bedded for a few reasons
1) you never know how's the condition of yourself or the baby until you have completed delievery.. thus if *touch wood* mum or baby need additional medical care.. 4-bedded is cheaper.

2) Hub need not be tired out to help me out after i've delievered. he can go back to rest rather than getting stuck at the hospital.

3) can chat with other mummies, thus not so bored.

4) can see other babies.

only disadvantage is if you have a neighbour with lots of visitors.. it will get a little noisy.. but if its too noisy.. can always ask the nurse to help you to tell them to lower their vol

sunsweet, oppps, that noisy neighbour may be me le. kekeke. so thats why i chose a single ward the other time. but the first day when friends wanna come visit, i was so tired out after delivering and with the epidural effect wearing out, so end up i dont feel like entertaining.

Dorisq, must try to be positive. It's more important that you feel relaxed during your pregnancy than spend time stressing. Research has shown that even at this early stage, the fetus can be affected by high levels of stress from the mother.

Sometimes these old wives' tales are more troublesome than they are 'helpful'. The aunties who say them cannot tell you why the myths are 'true', but they can tell you all kinds of scary consequences. It is all based on a kiasu, listen-from-other-aunties mentality but no one knows of the origins.

I also worry about my baby... which is natural I know. Am trying to relax and stay positive! After all, we don't have 100% control over what is going on inside of us... as long as we eat right and remain healthy, that is the best thing we can do for the baby.

angelsky,

hehe maybe i told my frds that i'm very tired after delievering thats why i had minimal guests visting.

but i had quite a pleasant stay the last time.. so i think i'll choose the same 4-bedded room..

hopefully i still get the corner room which is more spacious loh

I have a Brand New Kiddopotamus Swaddle Me Infant adjustable wrap for sale $20.
Colour: blue cocoa dot.
PM me if interested. thanks.

1987759.jpg

hmmmm... Each of you have your points neh.. Just that 1st time pregnant, so very scared that something not good will happen to the bb... I scared that this pregnancy might cause me get depression sooner or later.. Not sure if it's stress or what.. Will always have nightmares.. Little things will make me burst into tears.. And think is becos of the shape of me getting fatter and fatter, always feel that my hubby will find another women one day.. Feel very insecure.. haiz.. Do you girls have this feeling also?

sunsweet, i also got a corner room le. i also find quite spacious, but my fren who delivered at Mt A, say our rooms are so small and old. You know I delivered one wednesday, then my hubbie wanted to buy 4d. My room # was 0330, he ask me what to buy, so I told him 0330 lo, end up that night open 3330, so heart pain, coz everyone say since I stay on 3rd floor should have bought 3330. PENGS!

Angelsky
I also felt very tired after delivering. I remembered all I wanted was to sleep... keke!

Kittyng
Honey is good! Oh ya, my favourite is diluted Ribena now.

Poshicon
Hope you are feeling much better now. Not easy being a FTWM. For my 1st pregnancy, I was advised to quit my job (as I need to travel around) by my gynae. Thank God that my hb is very supportive.

Elijah's mummy
How to prepare wild mushroom soup? Yummy!

High sugar intake
If you were to notice any yellow/light brown discharge, is also a sign of high sugar intake.

Sunnyduck
I feel hungry every 2 hrs, OMG!
Remain positive, I'm sure everything would be ok. If we think positively, our body cells will react positively.

Dorisq
These were just myths. Everything is going to be alright.

precious

hahah i am wondering too. have seen a few receipes but have yet to try them as am now at my mum's place. new place still under reno. have been for the past 4mths already! currently been buying it from saybons @ PS. hahah its a can not miss thing everyday.

Re: myths

I don't believe in them. For my #1, I cut on my bed, I assembled the bb cot several mths before the bb was due amg other stuff. My boy is looks perfect. He's so handsome too.
Probably from my pt of view lah. hahah, all parents think their kids look the best.

Re: Rooms
I opted for 4 bed and was upgraded to 2 bed in TMC. So squeeze. Would have preferred it if they didn't upgrade me coz the corner bed in the 4 bedder is so spacious. I stayed there before when my boy wanted to come out earlier.

Precious

My discharge is very very yellow. Gosh, maybe it's high sugar intake. But can't stand the taste on my tongue now. So sourish and makes me wanna puke.

dorisq,

got to talk to your hubby lah.. 1/2 the time is our hormons making us more emotional.

i did felt that way b4 in my last preggy..

But i just speak out my mind when there's a need to.. bec men are generally bad in guessing a woman's mind.. not to say a preggy woman who is emotional now...

Mashy
Is not good. Try to cut down. And drink a lot of plain water. I used to have, and was on medication. Was so uncomfortable to insert the medicine (like a small ball) into "private area"

Sunnyduck
Thank you for the link. Will try it out.

Elijah's mummy
The brand is saybons?

Elijah's mummy,

the soup sound real yummy..

i feel like getting a bowl of it now..

too bad PS is a dist from me..

I only have mos burger nearby.. maybe the corn soup would fix the craving? keke

Sunsweet
I did told him my worries.. And his answer for me was: You think too much.. Dont think so much and you will not feel stress..
Talk to him like nv talk like that.. haha..

Mashy, if you hate the taste of plain water, add lemon or orange slices to it. You can also try boiling half or a quarter of lemon with your kettle of hot water - the end result is like hot lemon tea but without the 'tea' taste.

precious

yaps it saybons

sunsweet

heheh but corn soup cant fix mine hope it works for you though. :p

dorisq

don worry, my hubby is like that too. i get so angry with him at times! men must really be spoken with straight in the face! they can t take hints at all! :p also cant multi task! now if my boy were to wake in the night for milk i got to wake up with hubby to get the milk ready.haiz

sunsweet

yaps its at the basement, just directly take the escalator from the mrt up to PS along the same row as cocoa tree sweets you will see the saybons stall.
heheh hubby will always buy 2 large cups for me every night that he goes by.

I wonder if it is too early about this. Right after my gynae told me that most likely I will need to go for C-section, I started to worry.

Any of you plan to have C-section instead of natural birth?

Haha...They will only be sensitive towards our feeling when they are wooing us.. When became couple, their sensitivity become jammed.. And after married, the system simply just shut down!!! Haiz.. when i ask him if he can dont keep playing his online game when he is back home and take sometime to chat with me, he always turn his deaf ear on me!!! Angry!!

Saybons
I had seen the shop.. But still haven tried their soup.. Isit nice?? Anyone tried their crepes before??

Beverly
Erm.. How come so fast will determine if you will be doing C-sec?

Dorisq,

hehe if i were you i'll just keep his game tonight and tell him the seriousness of you needing to communicate with him...

hehe but that's me lah.. I'll do such things loh.. maybe his not happy with me behaving this way.. but i want to get my point across and into his mind what i want leh..

hi dorisq & sunsweet,
coz I'm carrying twins so doctor said c-section is the safest way. I've visited a few threads to read comments about c-section and those comments sound scary to me :p

hey dorisq, my hubby also prefer online game than chatting with me. If I talk to him when he is playing game, he will not answer me at all lor. If I scold him, he will say I talk to him in the wrong timing. **fainted**