(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Wa.. Sunsweet, i look up to you ah!!! Although i everyday nag at him, i still wun dare to keep his game away sia... I scared his black face..

i'm at the week 12 and feel super bloated, peak than ever, the dizziness spells worst, a few puke when the smell doesn't seem right to take, lucky... puked a few time when my stomach's empty...so nothing come out...
The scan on my 11wk plus seems alright, Gynae said bb so active inside
. This week i'm going for Oscar test which my Gynae explained only 90% accuracy, the other test which provide 99% accuracy, must poke the tummy, go to the womb...minor risk % for miscarriage...which i don't want...so my hubby said, just go for the Oscar test and see how the result...
Any mummies has experience with TMC ? how's the room and service ?
My #1 was with KKH so this time round i wanna try TMC

Dorisq,
Maybe you and hubby should go on a special date, like go pak-tor... often men feel a bit excluded from the pregnancy because they can't experience the full emotions and physical sensations that we do. It's natural for us to feel excited and want to think/talk about the pregnancy all the time, but for them life still mostly goes on? Of course deep down they care a lot but they don't think about it day/night like we do, heh heh...

beverly

i had emerg c-section for #1 and will be going for c-section again this time round coz to remove the ugly keloid scar.

Yah, i think twins very likely c-section. Coz may end up 1 breech, then need to c-section so might was well c-sec in the first place. There are of course those who did it naturally. So hopefully you're one of those lucky ones.

dorisq,

haha its either me black face or him... one party confirm not happy mah..

rather I and baby not happy.. why not just him?? I was also unhappy that my hub is not a hands on dad for my #1.. so this now with #2... i hope to make him change baby's poo poo diaper keke..

my Hub still cannot make it.. :p

Beverly
Haha.. Me too!!! My hubby will also say things that end up as if is our fault!!! Worst is say me always like an auntie, like to nag!!! *Sob*
Congratz!!! Twins sia... Not easy to get twins and up in a pregnancy unless family history have.. Hmmm.. Did you look for more info online? If there were cases that ppl able to have natural birth even when they are having more than 1 child at a time? Or you may want to look for a better gynae to see if he/she have confident in natural delivery? I heard that c-sec is not that scary.. Just that wound takes longer time to heal.. For some,they will feel the pain when they are having menses for a yr or 2.. Think the rest is still ok.. I think hor.. now still very early to say neh... If the baby not too big, you might be able to have natural delivery?Maybe still need to take sometime to confirm if a c-sec is needed..

Beverly,

wow twins, i heard many moms carrying twins are recommended to do C-sect as its safer for both the kids and mum..

dun worry too much abt c-sect. many other moms also c-sect and they heal fast too..

now just concentrate on naturing the 2 kids in you well..

Beverly,
i ended up with c sec too coz bb did not engage n i did not dilate at all.
overall, my recovery were speedy.
not much pain.
i was up n abt on 2nd day.

Dorisq,
it's our hormones going haywire.
dun worry too much. remind yourself tat it's beyond our control.

Mashy,
are you using steriod to remove the keloid scar?
i was told it's very painful.

mbb2

yah. using steroid. Dun care lah. C-section in itself already painful but on anaesthetic mah. The scar is so ugly and it itches sometimes too. Wanna get rid of it now i've the chance to.

Sunnyduck,
pak-tor seems like a good idea.. But hor.. I very lazy to go out leh.. Rather stay at home to laze around sia.. Go out walk abit, leg start to get tired.. And if go for a movie, i might fell asleep during the show.. Only best time i like is go out eat!!! :p

Sunsweet
Your hubby cannot make it in what? Change baby's poo poo diaper? Haha.. What you said very true neh.. Might as well let him be the one unhappy than us.. But hor... my hubby will say me one leh.. Say last time i treat him like a precious gem.. Dote on him blah blah blah.. Now i care and anxious bb that is inside my tummy than him.. he like abit unblance at times leh..

Hi Angelsky & mildstraberry,
We need to indicate the room preference so early?
Eh, I didn't know. I just read somewhere only Dr Chan is good, so go see her, see baby, hear heartbeat then went off.

She never did mention about her availability in July... It also never struck me to ask. Oh dear, if she has two deliveries at the same time, then what will happen?

Dorisq,

Main thing is to keep happy now. Don't worry too much. Baby will feel it. Try not to worry too much....

dorisq

hahaha, your hb jealous of bb ah? Then u've to assure him that he's still #1 orh. But he must also place u #1. :p

sunsweet
u didn't go for the antenatal course with your hb? My hb can do diaper changing even better than me. hahaha. He's so hands on that my boy prefers him to me. Everything also daddy. He's daddy's boy.

lamagier, you mean before you signed up with the gyne must check if she free in july for you? I thought even if they have 2 delivery, they can handle one ma? No? I signed up the doc package on my 2nd visit already, for my #1, also same thing, so when I signed up, the nurse will ask me what room size I want, but nearer if I wanna change I can change la.

my hub went class with me.. but he cannot get over with the smell..

i told him his poo smell worst..

he still dare not clean up the gooey stuffs loh.. haha

Hmm.. do feel pukey nowadays though never puke at all.. at week 10, seeing gynae end of the week. If MS really peak at week 12, there goes my NY....sigh.. thought can have a peaceful and possible a feast to mark the end of 1st trimster.. but seems like i just have to lay low for now...

Hi Mrs C,

U had the same gynae as myself!!
End of this week,u will be 10 weeks?At the same time,we had almost the same day of EDD ,jus a day of differences..hee

beverly
I hv friend who had twins bt gave birth naturally. her boys all above 2kg @ birth. n she is v petite.
I tink e gynae u choose will affect since some preferred c sect directly to prevent complication.
some will encourage natural first if cannot then c sect
of cos if u choose natural first n den c sect it will cos u more (even for single bb)

other friends who hv onli a baby per delivery preferred c sect cos they say wound nt so pain n heal faster. cn go walk ard @ supermarket aft 2 weeks.
saw my sis natural delivery bt took her @ least 3 wk to feel nt so pain

so I tin e recovery part varies.

which gynae u go?

btw i haven rx ur email addy to mail u bout e course. I cnt pm u as u dn accept pm.

kkh call mi jus nw. gave mi a fright cos I din expect them call mi so fast n esp for positive results

nurse said my bt results is out... for e d/s test

risk lowered further to 1/613600
so means very low risk.. so happy!!

Hi all, I am abit confused about which week I am in. The first day of my last period is 20 Oct, so based on calculation, I should be in Wk 8 now rite? But as per my last appt with my gynae last week (9th Dec), the scan shows that I am 6 weeks and 2 days pregnant..

So which week am I in nw? I wan to see what's my bb's development based on the no. of weeks I am in..

Anyone can help on my doubt??

candice
base on lmp is by number of weeks
then again also depends on when u ovulated, and the size of bb to determine.. it varies slightly.
normaly by the scan is more accurate

wats ur edd given by gynae? did u ovulate late tis mth?

My EDD is 27 July 09.

May I understand what do you mean by "ovulate late this month"?

I never check on when is my ovulation..I believe its the first 2 weeks of Nov,cuz thats the only period I believe we've conceived the baby..

some ppl ovulated later than the usual so conceived later in some sense say by a few days or week. so the week varies but noone will know for sure
thay why the delivery date is call estimated due delivery date.
actualy if u see those online calendar they also say is not the same for everyone... so mayb u can plus minus a bit. and read the whole week developement online... i do that haa cos i kia su..

i am using baby center calendar..
give it a try =)

Yup I followed that and it shows me I am 8 weeks pregnant..sigh..

Maybe shall see wat's the next scan will show. Thanks so much..

candice no worries...
it also show mi 11 week now but my edd push forward so i also confuse wat week im in already HAAAA

take care... can alwassy ask us if u gt qns.. we try to help each other =)

Hi Angelsky,

I don't know if need to check the gynae availability, but mildstrawberry said she didn't choose Dr Chan cos she was fully booked.

Hi Candice,

I read on a book gestation is 38-40 weeks if I didn't remember wrong. The expected due date is based on a 40-week pregnancy and is just a rule of thumb.

I guess it's if you try to conceive one to two weeks after your LMP, your pregnancy will be close to 40 weeks. If try right after period, I guess will be closer to 38 week pregnancy. So I guess that may be why the calculated weeks and the one scan by doc differs.

Found this on http://www.babycentre.co.uk/

The main reason for the scan is to work out how far along you are, and to estimate your due date. The length of your pregnancy is calculated from the first day of your last menstrual period (LMP), even though you don't actually conceive until 14 days after your LMP, and later than this if your cycle is longer than 28 days. The LMP is used because most women know when their last period was, but may not know when they actually conceived. If you do know the conception date, this is classed as day 14 and not day one.

If you have an irregular cycle, or if you've recently been taking the contraceptive pill, working out the date from your LMP isn't a very accurate method. Scans are more accurate than using the LMP (Geirson 1991) and, if the scan date differs from your period dates, the scan date will be used.

The scan date is usually later than the period date, so accurate dating has been found to reduce the number of women having labour induced because their babies are overdue (LeFevre et al 1993). It also helps you avoid the disappointment you may feel when your baby is “late” (Westfall & Benoit 2004).

Candice, my LMP is also 20th Oct, but I track ovulation too, so based on all that my edd is 26th July. I think I am about 8 weeks plus, but I cant really remember actually. Your doc will be able to measure the size of the sac next time and based on that give you an estimate.

Mashy,
Wow…that’s the thing I worry. If I go for natural birth, what if one baby comes out liao and the other need C-section? I will end up with 2 wounds……very cham lah!!! So unless my gynae can confirm that both babies can come out via natural birth, I will opt for C-section….really bo pian one.

Dorisq,
Ya, I read lots of articles about twins online. Glad that there are so much info there for us. Am seeing 2 gynae now just to play safe…..i’m the super kiasu type :p
For the online game, I think we just “ren” for the moment as I don’t think the daddies will have time for online game after babies arrived. Hahaha……can’t wait to see my hubby changing diaper for babies…..kekeke….

Sunsweet,
Thanks, I try my very best to stay positive and eat as much as I can. I’m in my 10th week and my stomach is showing already. Sometimes I think I eat too much liao but I worry my babies not enough nutrition. My gynae advised that I need to eat alot even if I don't feel like eating

Mbb2,
I feel better after reading your post. I hope I will be like you….not much pain....but I guess it depends on individual and also the gynae's skills? Which gynae did the C-section for you?

HBB,
I’m still seeing Dr Joycelyn Wong at TMC and also another gynae at KKH, just in case I need to deliver at KKH. I will ask for more advice before decide whether to go for C-section. Agree that the recovery part varies for individual. I really wish I’m among those lucky ones who can walk around after few days :D

I sent you a pm some time back but not sure if it went through. So sorry as I abit dump dunno how to set my profile so till now still cannot accept pm. For the course, I think most likely I will go to KKH as I just need to pay half of the course fee and my company will pay for the other half.

I’ve just sent you another pm. Please check if you have received it.

berverly i got ur pm finaly!
duno why last rnd din get it
anyway fwd u the attachment liao... anythg u can ask mi.. hee.. i v excited bout it...

ya i hope i also can go thru natural delivery and recover in short period (dreaming haha)

wah ur company will pay half for u? snds good.. not sure wat course to go in kkh yet i tink got 1 onbathign n etc.. not sure wat is the name.. considering if i wan to go that anot...

HBB
Congrats! They managed to get yr blood test result so fast... Its gd news n you are finishing first trimster soon. Yr test results spur mi to do the OSCAR test. Sigh! I reali cant decide n DH says not to do it.

Beverly
I agree with the rest of the gals. Whether to opt for natural or C sect, depends very much on yr gynae. Furthermore, yrs is a bit different since u r expecting twins. Dont worry too much now... Mbe try reading up more. If not, you can seek another gynae opinion. For my #1, my gynae is pro natural n discourage epidural. I managed to give birth via assisted delivery without epidural. Though there were many times when I was in labour, i was asking for epidural.

Candice,
My LMP was also 20 Oct 08 and my gynae told me at the last visit that my EDD is 28 July 09. According to the scan at that time (10 Dec) I was 7wks1day. Perhaps from the scan and the size of the sac, etc, the doc makes a better estimate on the development.

thanx sheryl
i was surprise so fast too LOL

actualy if u dun wan to do then dun do.. unless ur age is on the older side.

i have to admit i feel very stress prior to doing it
i can even cry in the shower hoping the nxt day test will b alrite. but i tell myself is my hormones at work hehe...

my sis din even wan to do it and she was surprise
so i tink its up to u guys...

beverly
don't worry abt those scary comments you read abt c-sect. it's not that scary afterall. for my 1st preg, i feel sad that i couldnt give birth naturally. but now think abt it. i'm glad at times cos i don't suffer pain down there. my csect wound recover very fast. in fact on the 2nd day, i could get down bed and walk already... but of course slowly kind.

wanted to try VBAC for 2nd one. but now after discussing with gynae n heard abt the risk involved, i'm more ok wif the idea of unable to give birth naturally. afterall, i don't want to risk the life of baby after carrying him/her for 10mths.

Re: Hubby

Actually, just wanna check with all you mummies here...do u find that u are getting detached from your hubby now? sometimes i dun even wanna talk to him..feels kinda irritating...worst thing is sometimes i dun even wanna see him...which was never the case before...sigh..i know its not his mistake at all...

im just worried, if i continue this my baby might also hate him once he/she is out...

Sheryl,

yup Dr Ang did explain all the tests for week 11-14 for my next visit..gave me a morning appt since i need to do a blood test...how abt u?

bless why u feel detached?

yes i dun soemtiems dunwan to talk to him but i will rpefer him to b ard.. i tink is the hormones at work =)

is ur pregnancy a planned one?

dun feel so negative yea... stay happy!

HBB, Mashy,

yup of coz our pregnancy is planned and I really do love him dearly..

just hope its only the hormones at work and will be better after my 2nd trimester... feel super sian at times...grrr...

bless
if is a plan one then i tink no worries..
mayb now u jus feel a bit depressing.. which i believe many of us also feel so.

loving a person can also make us throw temper at them hee..
mayb for a start u can tell him hw u feel.. as in u feeling down and dunw ish to tok due to hormonal chg.. guess he will understand.
u will be fine soon.. stay happy!

HBB
Congrats! Happy for u!!! Can't wait for my OSCAR scheduled on 29 Dec. Hope everything goes well for me & all of us here too. You did your OSCAR at KKH right? How much it costs in total?

LS
thanx =)
wat time is ur appt? i waited quite awhile at ADC.. my appt was 1.30 and onli ard 3 i get to go in. seems like TPS patient dun get shorter waiting time thr...

I paid 387.34 in all for the scan plus blood tests.

yes all will be well for everyone here... =)

HBB,

yup, hope so too...problem is i have yet to even tell him abt it...coz trying to act normal most of the times..Btw congrats on your Oscar test too ; )

bless
somethg need a chance to say.. cant realy jus say any time one... =)

we b here for u

thanx for ur congrats =)

HBB
I take the earliest slot at 9.30. Hopefully no need to wait. It's not painful except the blood test right? I hate needles!!!

LS
wah lucky u!!!!! shld b not so long waiting time then
my appt 1.30 was like during lunch time leh.. but waited so long prob cos they went to lunch
duno y they arrange 1.30 also when they fin lunch at 2..

u go gynae at private suite? or?
i hate my blood test at privat suite. ehhh i tell u.. the nurse is v good! almost painless and before i knew it.. she took 3 tube of blood liao.. i tot onli took 1 need to wait some more... LOL

tink normaly oscar test onli 2 tube of blood but they took 1 more for other screening like hiv, thelessamia n etc...

HBB
I'm with Dr Paul Tseng at TMC. Will be having my blood test around 9.15 at the clinic then will go to another floor for the scanning. Hope the nurse as good as yours

Anyone knows if Veet hair removal cream is safe for us now? I'm thinking to use it for bikini line & abdomen. Since I'm pregnant, abdomen part got grow few hairs. Very irritating! Read that it's due to hormones. Anyone experiencing the same thing?

oh u gg tmc huh,,, then shld b faster lar LOL
kkh q is quite long as public n private all go at same time.

not sure can use veet anot.

yet to exp this but this few days i got a few painful pimple but non visible one. grrrr and i heard cant use pimple cream.. so now i got apple cider vinegar on my face instead..i smell sourish lol