(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

I am new here, this is my 1st pregnancy. Both Hb and I are very happy about it. My EDD should be end Jul 09.

May I know what is MS?

any of u start showing tummy alreadi? my tummy seems to start showing. wondering if its fats or the babies growing.whaha :p

pleasance
my tummy is the same size (i tink) but i can feel shorts tigher... so mayb it grown a bit haha.. but weight is still down

loshita
try the cream cracker.. it help mi a little when i feel pukey...

pleasance,

mu tummy started showing.. i think most likely its 50% fat + 50% bloatedness..

now wearing my maternity pants as my normal pants are feeling tight.

My tummy not showing yet...

Been monitoring my weight.. not much weight gain so far.. Probaby due to poor appetite!

HBB,

as i already have materinty pants so must well take them out to wear as it will be more comfy loh..
else my normal more stretchable dress are still my preferred option of work wear..

less obvious as I have not announce to my boss yet mah .

sunsweet ya i was tinkin of wearing dresses too cos i find pants a bit warm... mayb due to my skin condition hehe

Hi Doris,

Thanks for the website, manage to buy two pants at reasonable price cos it's pretty ex to get from shops.

I'm growing out of my normal pants , only manage to squeeze into those low cut jean and berm.. more likely is the bloat and fats.. My hb colleagues were saying do not buy too many clothes now as the body is constantly changing so just got to bear w my few baggy tops and pants..had contemplated to wear my aerobic pants but seems too sloppy..

mrs c
rem i told u bugis village gt that elastic culottes?
i rem my sis bought the leggins thr too emant for pregnancy
u can try out =)

can buy that maternity belt or sth like tat.. its liek a tube.. then ur jeans no need zip.. jus pull the 'tube' over the unzip jeans
my sis say can last for a while

HBB,

Yes, i remember on that. Just went down bugis village during lunch to walk around.. manage to get those elastic culottes and some tops..

As for the maternity belt, can purchase from those maternity shop? Do we need long top to cover it up cos quite funny looking with tube over the unzip jeans..

mrsc
the maternity belt i tink mohtercare will have.
i tink u prob need a slightly baggy top to voer ... up to ur preference i tink

Can I join the forum too? Just saw my gynae on Wed, going to be 7 wks pregnant. EDD 26 July.

So far, no MS, hoping things will continue this way.

my tummy starts to show too
, esp after lunch and dinner, soon i have to forgo all the pants and just-fit skirts...hopefully some loose dress still can fit. I digged out my old maternity wear to check last weekend, maybe got to shop a few more for working as 1st preg i wasn't working.
It seems i have evening sickness instead, morning not so bad like evening time, keep my fingers crossed, as i'm a working so don't want to make offc notice until...maybe after 1st trimester or when the tummy start to show

Trying to take more plain water though i alway grave for cold green tea...haiz...such a strange graving !!

Oh yah, i start feeling uncomfortable with wired bra, maybe have to start hunting for the unwired ones soon.

I havn't monitored my weight yet, maybe must do already, my appetite seems manageable, only night time

Hkbb, mine is at nite too.. Breakfast and lunch is not really an issue , just when it approaches the nite time, i will feel super no appetite.
Sometime just feel like breaking down cos it felt bad facing all kind of food but my mouth and brain can't seems to function well to acknowledge the food..

It will pass soon.. my appetite start to pick up for a bit now that I'm gng to pass 8 wks..

sunsweet, MrsC
my #1 was like your case, whole day sickness

I was sick in the morning at the 1st month, but no poke. later on, evening is worst, i read abt Pregnancy, so there are alot of ladies have evening sickness instead of morning sickness.
Lucky, i still can eat, especially lunch, woa...can't wait until lunch break...my bb so impatient !
MrsC, you will pass soon, got appetite is a good sight, try to compensate you for the past 8weeks
Wish you all a nice and restful weekend

any idea where to get cheap maternity working pants and skirt? think in a few more wks, I will grow out of my normal bottoms.

An update abt my visit yesterday. I am abt 10 weeks preggie now. BB is 2.73 cm and cn hear the strong heart beat.

Yesdae, my gynae told mi abt e tests i have to do the next visit. Will be doing a blood test n scan n mbe oscar if i am not wrong. Bt, oscar is an optional test. now, hubby n i are considering if we should do e tests. are any of doing or not doing the oscar test?

Hi Ladies, I am new to the forums. Can I join? I am seven weeks pregnant with my first and due July 26. Any advise on hospitals? I have to decide between Mt. Alvernia and TMC. It seems like TMC is most popular. I haven't been to either before as I am new to S'pore.

crissy
personaly i heard mt A is better in ways like more caring nurses, the sisters thr are v patient with breast feeding instruction n etc. mayb u will wan to go for hospital tour to help u decide?

sheryl
Wah, bb so big! What's your LMP? As for OSCAR, we've decided to do the test, scheduled on 29 Dec. Just for ease of mind i guess! It's our first baby anyway so hubby said just do. No risks in doing OSCAR but should we r in a high risk category, another headache is whether or not to do the Amnio test.

HBB
Oscar is just a scan of the baby. They will measure the gap between the baby's neck and something else. No risk. But baby must be in a cooperative position otherwise the sonographer will not be able to take the measurement.

If i remember correctly, if the gap exceeds certain mm, considered higher risk. it's only an indication of the risk level. amino test will be the one that tells if baby has DS. That is the one with risk.

anyway so far kkh have nvr done any test on me except the usual routine urine test. is it normal?
im in my 10 weeks liao.. nxt week 11 gg to see gynae again

Sunsweet,

Dun worry, I'm going through same thing as you. MS the whole day, any time any where..
Can't even cook, once smell garlic will vomit like mad.. Haiz..

Sheryl,Hbb
So fast, 10 weeks lah.. 12 weeks can see spine already rite? So excited for you guys.. Mine only coming 8 weeks. Still long way to go man..

hi all,I'm new here and is currently in my 8weeks,,can add me in the list too?
Thks!!
Birth Order: #2
Gynae: Dr Douglas Ong
Hospital: Mount Alvernia
EDD: 15th Jul 2009

Hazelle,
i like Spring Maternity's pants.
the cutting is very nice and alot of them dun look like M wear at all. when there's sales, the price is awright.

Sunsweet,
i am like you, cant even drink water

on monday is my ger's bday. i am keeping my fingers crossed tat i can have a MS free day.

MrsC,
it's great to have good appetite.
i cant wait to regain some.

Meadow,

Hi LS,
I cant rem my LMP... gt to chk my calendar in office. Bt, i hve irregular cycles n i ovulated veri late. My last visit, BB was only 0.7 cm when i was 7 weeks. I am veri happy that BB is growing.

LS, HBB & BabyEthan
I cant decide whether to do the Oscar test a not. If high risk, may also need to do amnio test.. Its tough to decide coz I wana have a peace of mind. Bt hubby says considering my age n having a healthy boy n no DS history in the family, i shouldnt do. Anyway, are we able to tell later in our pregnancy if the bb is abnormal or DS? Or its only till birth? I know there is a detailed scan during the 5th mth of our pregnancy. Any idea what will that scan tells?

My next visit is scheduled on 26 Dec.... gt to find out more n think through now.

HBB, its normal not to do much tests during the first few visits. I also didnt do any.... tink the tests are only done in the later part.

Hi HBB
Guess BabyEthan has already answered abt OSCAR. The cost itself is about 300plus at TMC. I'm not sure at KKH.

sheryl
Initially I also think that if anything wrong with baby, we shud be able to find out in later stage. I'm not too sure as I didn't ask my gynae. The clinic said since I've decided to go for OSCAR, I only need to see my gynae 2 wks after that, as during OSCAR, there'll be scanning also. Please let us know what your gynae tell u about this, ok?

Personally, I think OSCAR just to find out things earlier, be it good or bad. So it really depends on individual's level of comfort. Of course, if the result is good, we can ease our mind earlier and happily carry on with the pregnancy. That's all I have in mind right now. Should it be something else (*touch wood*), just remember "one day at a time". So it's not to be worried unnecessarily at this point of time.

sheryl
while i tink if baby is normal anot can b found out later on.
i tink if find out earlier is better at least can decide wat to do with him/her.
unless its decided no matter wat u still wan to give birth to the child then prob no need to test

tat y i also worry.. i hope to do the test asap.
i have seen ppl who r in their late 20s. with no DS history at home getting a DS child. its very painful to abort it. but no choice.. haiz

HBB
wah... u are still not sleeping at that time?

for the Oscar test, my gynae told me it has to be done before 13th week to be effective. my next appt is next sat. will ask clinic to make appt for my oscar test at NUH then. Going to do mine at NUH. don't remember is so ex there. think close to $200 only. So I would presume KKH should be around the same price.

Me too.. i want to do the test for comfort level too. Having a postive result doesnt mean baby will not hv DS and vice versa. But at least, would know the risk level and decide the next course of action if really so. Better than getting a rude shock when baby is born. It's all individual. I know some people dont take the test also for religious reasons.

Sheryl
The detailed scan during 5th mth is more to check baby's development... like whether his limbs are probably formed, his spine, any cleft lips, his gender, his heart valve, etc. Very cute to see the sonographer count his little fingers and toes.

babyethan
I can't sleep lo tat y so late. haven had proper sleep eversince I preggy
duno y. max number of hr I slp is 3hr each time haiz

ok nxt week I will ask gynae bout oscar test

HBB,I use to be like you too, will toss and turn over the nite and was so lethargic in the morning..really a toture to get out of bed..

My ms seems to have lessen this week, appetite start to pick up at nite but still choosy over food. Start to have funny cravings like soon kueh, fish ball bee tai mak w chilli from the particular stall, etc.. With my lessen MS, my constipation ease too..

Still, can't help worrying if it's alright.. Got MS, worry, Lessen MS, also worry..aiyah..think i better dun bother too much..

Experience my 1st leg cramp on friday, think walked too much, was shopping for xmas presents and had cramp from my right bum to the thigh..luckily had it when i reached hm.. imagine how awkward it was if i had it downtown..

Sheryl(lailai)

I guess my best friend went to do Oscar during her pregnancy. Her gynae told her there might be risk of Down Syndrome. She had been worrying for months,crying away. End up her baby was so cute at birth. So, I think unless really high risk group, otherwise we just hope for a worry free pregnancy.

mrsc nw u cn slp better already ?
so fast leg cramp? omg!

went bb hypermart today cos gt warehouse sale. gt a nice maxi cosi car seat @ 199
wanted buy stroller cos realy cheap bt can't decide maybe will go tml...

Been puking my guts out on a daily basis now.
It's terrible. Worse than my #1. At least for my #1, all i needed was to stuff myself silly with bread. This one doesn't care whether i eat or not. I hope i won't be puking all over Disneyland next week. U gals take care, won't be logging in for a whole week.

sheryl

i didn't do any oscar tests or amnio for my #1 coz we figured that we don't wanna be put in a situation that we will be worried for our bb and have to decide whether to terminate the preg or not. There's always a chance of error in all tests. What if there's a mistake in the test and u terminate an otherwise healthy preg? My friend went thru OSCAR and was told that bb had high chance of DS. End up bb also ok.

Anyway, even though we didn't do the test, the gynae can judge from the scans. She told us my #1 looks fine from the scan, doesn't look DS (from the gap). Well, he's now an active, lovable boy.

just rushed back from fraser's hill in Malaysia. and spent the night in kkh. haiz my boy has croup, a viral cough infection. that was so scary his cough was like barking, then he would cry till he was soundless. fever was tipping the scales at 39plus degrees.

now i find that with this pregnancy i get car sick so easily. with my boy i was able to go to genting and kl with no issues but now the slightest jerk in the car can trigger the nausea. went up on friday early moring and rushed back on saturday night. my it was a horrid holiday.

mashy,
if you are bringing you child overseas must remember to wrap your bb till like mummy k. otherwise may face the same thing as me. haiz

Mashy,
Thats what I think too. I also didnt do the OSCAR test when i was having #1. As far as I know, if the gynae is experienced enough, he should be able to tell from the scans if bb is ok a not or have DS etc. So, will you be doing or yr #2?

Guess i need to think properly about the OSCAR test. Will read more.. got to decide before 26 Dec, a day after Xmas. Will need to tell gynae on the spot whether to do the tests a not.

Morning Hbb,
still tossing and turning during the night, it's the aching feeling at the edge of the tail bone that is giving me the incomplete sleep now.. at least i do not wake up as often to pee, try not to intake too much water at nite..

It's going to be a lazy monday, it's been raining the whole morning..