(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Sunsweet, it's tough on you, for the moment you feel black out, maybe just try to ask for a seat or get out at next the stop to rest a while.

For me, sometimes i feel my leg cram and heavy, dizzy but i still manage to walk slowly, always have to hold arm rest at staircases or escalators to walk up or down. I also can't wait for whoever stand up to alight the train, to take over the seat. At this stage, the tummy doesn't show yet, even this trimester is critical, ppl might give you the seat if they obviously see you are pregnant. I wish i can whisper to someone, "excuse me, can i have the seat pls b'cos i'm pregnant"... to ask for the seat on the train heheheh

sheryl: my cough seem much better today, just sligh cough sometimes. It prolonged as i tried not to take medicine, even though it's safe...as i think less that medicine is better for my bb.

mbb2: i fully understand ur situation abt MIL, own daughter always got different treatment. My MIL worst, asked me to ask my own mom to come and stay with me and take care of my kids (even though my mom is not in S'pore), so that she can concentrate on her daughter's kids, she really said that to me, can you imagine ? at the normal manner, no arguments, no conflict at that time, I treated her like my own mom since i married to her son and followed him to come here, my family is not in S'pore. Some more my hubby is the eldest son... whats the hurting words i ever heard, how can i forgive her eversince ?

Dyva

yeah me bought new non underwire bras too...sigh maybe gotta get extensions in future..

Ning,

oh, maybe i did not apply much of the clarins oil i guess..coz not so oily leh...have been sleeping with it...alreight in future will apply before shower then..but the frag is really mild..so not bad..

Re: Gathering,

yeah, lets do it after all the giddy spell and puking is over in Jan09 or even Feb 09 ; )

I wish we can practice what Jap does,
Pregnant ladies will wear a tag when taking train. So that communters will note and give up their seat for them.

Re: Telling office about preggy
I think i'll inform office only when tummy starts to show.

I have another colleague who is 19 weeks now have already told her mgr her pregnancy..

blessed

Where did you get the non underwired bras huh? Is it maternity bras or is just normal bras. Anyone come across non underwired bras with detachable brastrap?

Ning,
i tot most strapless bra have to be wired..
u can try Bonds selection I;ve bought a bra that's like a tube before.. its wireless..

gals, should we wear non underwired bras now? is wired better for us? thought the non underwired bras is for us when we bf? pls correct mi if i am wrong as i know nuts abt it.

sunsweet & hkbb, i agree. now our stomach dont show.... so no one will give up seat for us. mbe they just tink we hve flabby stomachs. hahaha! taking train is a torture for mi now. always try to ask hubby to send after work. hee!

hkbb, glad to know that yr cough is better now. take gd care of yrself n drink plenty of water.

Sunsweet

Yes I think most strapless bra have to be wired haha just trying my luck to see if there is any without the wire! I will go Bonds to have a look! Thanks ya!

Sheryl

Errr from what I know, we are suppose to wear non-wired ones even during pregnancy. As for the exact rationale, I can't remember. Haha for me I wore wired ones thro out my 1st pregnancy.

But I failed to establish milk supply for my 1st born. This time round, I am determined to establish it knowing what could contribute to my 1st failure!

haha so this time round shall start wearing non underwired early!

tink our milk duct are starting to form even during 1st tri
so impt to wear non wire ones else the ducts cannot form properly?
i saw my sis wear those tube ones .. mayb shld get those..
i also got this pair of bra cup fr those push cart stalls at raffles pl... the lady claim even bf also can use.. jus slip under our tops. but i feel a bit insecure...

About non wired bra, do you get those padded one? Which brand? Using extension at the moment but the cup is getting smaller and leaving red marks underneath my breasts..

Sunsweet,
i cant suck sweet too.
it makes me puke. in fact i cant eat at all.
nothing works

the past week, i have lost 2 odd kg.

Sunsweet & Hkbb,
my MIL have 3 sons, no daughter.
she is very proud tat she dun have any daughter coz she is those "typical" type.
my SIL (who is preggy now) have a 4 yr old son.

when we inform her tat i was carrying a ger, she told me to try harder for a boy next round.

after tat comment, i told myself tat i will not
ever asked for her help. i doubt she will treat my ger well.
my parents are not in SG too.
we ended up getting a nanny.
till today, my MIL never offered or asked if we needed help tho she is idle at home.

i have never argue with her before but nowadays i am pretty cold towards her.
if she dun treat me as family, i guessed i need not try too hard to please her either.

Hkbb,
there are herbal cough med in the market.

Ning,
i dun need to upgrade my bra coz it's still as FLAT as ever. keee keee keeee.

mbb2

dun bother bout ur in laws
i dun hav good in laws too.. i tell u , i bet they wun even know i am preggy n have given birth hehe..
dun rely on them manz...

hello all mummies
I am 71/2 weeks prgnant can include me in the list , this is my second child & i hope is a girl
TMC DR Eunies Chua EDD date is 13/7/09

mbb2, mi too... though mine is a bit bigger n fuller. bt,its still flat. haha!

ning & han bao bao, thanks a lot for yr advise. i didnt know much abt e non wired bras till today.

sheryl
u r welcome
guess thr is alot that we still dunno hehe
gotto wait for others to mention before we realise

mbb2,

understand your feelings..guess, now its impt to feel happy as it will affect your baby too...Dun be too crossed with your MIL ok? in fact me too, trying not to get stressed at work or etc...Its impt for us MTBs to be carefree and be light hearted now! ; )

HBB,

wow i did not know that our milk ducts are starting to form from 1st trim too!! No wonder its super sore...have told my DH to be real careful when sleeping next to me..one slight hit and I can scream out aloud!!

Hi mummies...

Where do you all go to buy the non wired bras? I am looking for the tube type one, but still haven get my luck in finding one..

Re: MIL.
My MIL still haven let me know that if she will be helping me to do my confinement not.. Currently, they are looking after my SIL's 2 kids.. Not sure if they are willing to help me to do confinement or to even help me look after my coming bb not.. Tonics, till now, my MIL nv even bother to cook some "bu ping" for me n my bb to eat lor.. Even my parent, cook some "bu ping" for me to eat even when i only goes back to my house once a week.. By the way, i are staying with my in-laws.. This is their 1st inner grand-bb.. but they just dont seems to care.. only care about my SIL and her 2 children... HAiz..

Re: Outing/Meetout..
Wow.. I'm sure it will be an interesting one since all of us are preggy.. Can i joing in the fun too???

blessed
mine was sore too untill the past 1 week.. like not sore liao..weird.. my gf todlmi it will b on n off thgy..
im waiting for the boobs to increase in size haa but too bad.. like no news HAHA onli bones expanding hahaa

doris
mayb ur in laws find it too early to giv u bu? cos 1st tri cannot bu actualy. another mth or so they prob will giv u liao...
if they realy dun giv u bu..then forget it! dun make urself upset..
at least ur parents make for u..

wow, there's now 2 doris Q!!!! Not the same one right i suppose since doris quek has the same gynae as me????

mbb2
My ILs also same thing. They only wanna contribute money but not time. I mean they've been nice enough to give us money to kaki go and buy bu etc, but when it comes to time, they're just not so willing to give it. U know now we're like so tired right? My MIL is very free now coz on hols but she's very reluctant to help me take care of my son. No wonder when i asked my son whether he wanna go her hse, he said 'no way'. Hhaha. So too bad if they should complain next time that my son (their 1st grandson) is not close to them.

My in laws also didn't buy tonic for my #1 or even now loh.. cos they themselves dun take them.... only my SIL bought a box of bird nest for me.

Now i buy tonic suitable for me... actually i also dunno what tonic to buy? i still have pao sheng which my mum says can take..

probably I'll drop by the medical hall to ask the physician.

hi mummies who is having #2,

how u gals cope wif the tireness and sleepy? heard tat #2, we tend 2 be tired and sleepy easily. now i am experiencing tat..

any remedy ah? feel no gd leh. like energy level super low...

Esther,

I agree with you I'm more tired then carrying #1.

At the moment Milo kosong helps me thru those neausea and low energy period.

Hope I dun put on too much weight bec of this. :p

I'm already XL.. i dun want to be XXL

Mashy
My SIL kids will come over to my place... Haiz... That's the worst part of the thing.. Not sure how am i going to rest well when i'm doing my confinement..

sunsweet,

so far i no MS. same while carrying #1. 2 the extent, sometimes i 4get i got #2 inside. keke...

nw i hope 2 get thru the sleepy period soon.

re: MIL taking care of bbs.

i wouldnt wan my MIL 2 tk care of my bbs. different way of living, and definitely different schools of thoughts!

dorisq,

can empathize with u. i can imagine how worst the scenoria will be. the kids r not ur siblings' ones so sometimes u wan 2 discipline, aso abit difficult. if u discipline, "scali" ur MIL black face.

Ester
Ya lor... And best thing is one of my SIL kid, very naughty.. And best she is only 3yrs plus... When ask her not to do that, she will purposely do it.. (Eg. stepping on her didi's leg/hand.) The more we ask her not to do that, she will step harder and harder until her didi cry.. Cannot imagine how am i going to let them play together/ get my in-laws to look after my bb when i get back to work~~ Haiz.. And true enough.. When we wanted to discipline the kid, MIL will black face and scold... Worst is when the girl cry.. We didnt even raise our voice, the girl knows hat we are angry, and wanted to say her/ call her to keep her things, she will cry with all her might to get attention from her ah ma.. Haiz...

dorisq
liek tat hor.. i tink u better find ur own bb sitter..
sorry to say that.. but to let ur kid mix with such spoil brat... will onli make ur kid like 1 of them.. kids duno wat is right n wrong.. they jus follow and do wat they see... sigh

Dorisq,

My hb's nephew when he was jz 3 or 4yrs old, he was super notti. can u imagine he scream at me when i ask him 2 wear his shoes (we were gg out 4 dinner). wat i did tat time? i cant do anyting, cos he's not my nephew. if i scold him, dunno if my MIL will black face me anot. so boh bian, i gotta kept quiet. I told hb hope our #1 wont be like his nephew when grows up.

Tink u better consider a bb sitter as wat HBB suggest. i din even bothered 2 ask my MIL 2 help me take care of my #1. cos in the 1st place, i dun wan my #1 to grow up in those environment which i dislike. so i rather get a bb sitter.

HBB,

yes i agree wif u. kids tend 2 follow wat other kids do.

ester
if i had any spoilt kid near me i wun even dare leave my kid alone for a min.. i gt phobia manz..

also i tink the caregiver gotto make a good example.
my mum like to 'play' w utensil on the dining table to catch my nephew attention.. doesnt it jus teach the boy to make noise w the utensil the moment he get hold of it?

sigh.. sometimes i wonder how they think.. when my sis n i tell her not to do it.. she still wan to do it... but when we r young.. and we do same thg.. we get whack!

so i told dh.. i rather i spend lesser.. i look aft myself.. unless i get a very good nanny (which is hard to come by)

dorisq

wah, like that u really need to discuss with your MIL abt your bb's future caregiver. Coz since your SIL's kids are there. It doesn't make any sense if u should send your bb away for someone else to take care while your MIL takes care of your SIL's kids in your hse. Or even to employ a maid to help coz most likely the maid will be helping the other 2 kids who are really not your prob.

Maybe u see whether can get them to go your SIL's place during your confinement.

Blessed,
oh, i am not upset/angry.
juz wanted to vent a little coz cannot complain to hb

Dorisq,
ur case is abit sticky.
i would suggest you get a bbsitter but tis action may hurt your MIL.
better discuss with your hb regarding tis issue asap.
men normally are very dense de.
they will always insist tat we tink too much/make tings too complicated (especially when it comes to their mum).

re: bu.
since i merlion so much, i dun bother to bu at all for now.

re: #2 more tired.
quite true. i also felt very restless most of the time.
my mum is visiting me now, so i have help.
when she leave after christmas....hmmmmm, scary.

i am looking for CC in Pasir Ris area.
any recomemndation?

Han Bao Bao
I also been thinking of it.. Find that she is really one spoil brat.. You dont have to apologise about it.. I also know about this.. But it's not easy to look for someone that can be trusted too.. Heard that there are some baby sitter who looks very professional, but they are not when their back turn behind you.. Even maid also very hard to trust.. I have heard that got some bitch baby sitter, they want to let the baby finish the milk soon, they will cut the milk bottle mouth into bigger hole and feed the bb... And some would not bother about the temp of the milk that bb is taking in.. And heard some that they actually use their leg to make the sarong move while they are watching tv.. very scary sia~

doris
so long as we let others take care.. i tink thr is some sort of 'risk' liek those u mention... so realy depends on luck..
if gt maid at home mayb can install view cam then u can monitor it at work.

otherwise really is by trust liao else we wun rest easy at work
sigh...

Re: discipling kids

The more we tell them "Don't do this and this" the more they will rebel and do it.

So for my gal instead of telling her not to run about. I just tell her to walk slowly.

Or if she starts to snatch her toy off my hand and shout "ge wo" (Give me), I'll just tell her to say "Jie wo wan (let me play) / Jie wo kan (let me have a look)" she will be less aggressive and "parrot" what i've said.

Kids are like that, toys that require them to snatch from others seems to be more fun.

Only problem i have now is that she insist of watching her barney VCD in the evening, end up we can't get to watch out TV programme.

I tried to talk to her, and show her other TV programme, but most of the time she'll refuse to let us change.. so i got fed up and go to the room to watch.. sometimes she follows me and forget abt her barney and come to the room to watch and play with me , other times she will just still there and watch..

i can't think of the best way to "snatch" our tv back from her.. sigh..

any better suggestions?

Ohh... All of you have right points about this issue.. And i totally agree that husband always think and find that we worried too much!! That's the most irritating things they feel or say about us... Think getting them to go over to my SIL house is hard.. My MIL have stroke, not very convinent for her to move about.. and my FIL was old, i dont want him to walk here and there too much.. He will be very tired.. I'm thinking, worse come to worse, i'll go back to my mum's house to do confinement.. And for bb's caregiver, i need to talk to my husband 1st~ HAiz~

dorisq

what! Your MIL has stroke and she's still taking care of your SIL's 2 kids?????????? Gosh! Your SIL so terrible ah, shouldn't your MIL be recuperating? I feel that your SIL should look for alternative childcare.

Sunsweet,
i am a Nazimum.
i only allow my ger to watch 30 mins of DVD each day.
the TV is switched off till after 2030 when she is asleep.

i agree with you.
NO/STOP dun seems to work.
most of the time, i will ask her to think abt her action and ask her if it's right/wrong.

most of the time, she will do the right thingy.
if all fails, naughty corner works wonder.

Dorisq,
if your MIL have stroke before then it's not a good idea for her to bbsit a newborn. it's really a demanding job!
i believe your hb will understand if you ask for outside help.

re: grandparents spoil kiddo.
it's kinda hard for them not too.
they may wanna be firm but will worry if SIL/DIL will be upset etc.

mbb2

wow, you're so strict with tv. I was too. Until I got preg and now that I've to take care of him while feeling sleepy all the time, I'm giving him a 1mth hol movie marathon. When he goes back to school, it'll be significantly reduced, so thought heck, just think of it as a hol break.

For my boy (guess it's a boy thing), there's no reasoning. Noti corner doesn't work coz he just cries in the corner, explaining doesn't work coz he just doesn't care, ask him to think abt it doesn't work either coz he doesn't even bother with that.

No/Stop works better when the cane is right next to me. He even fetches it for me when I ask for it.

I think gals are generally easier to manage than boys. Boys are accidents waiting to happen. And they mature slower than gals. Like the cane thing, it takes him a while before he realises 'oh oh, i shouldn't have helped mommy take the cane'.

How old is your gal now? My boy is coming 3yrs old but still in his terrible twos. But well, he's got his guai moments too. So I just need to hold on to those memories else i beat him up senseless. Kekekee.

Re: Grandparents
Just asked my son if he likes his yeye/nainai, he said 'no way'. Coz he says no way to most things anyway, so i asked him whether he likes his gong gong/mama and he replied 'yes'. well, shows how much time my ILs spend with him.

Mashy,
i agreed tat gers are easier to bbsit most of the time.

ideally, if tis second bb is a boy would be good but i am sceretly praying for another ger.
old liao! dun tink i have the energy for a boy.
boys have to be active wherelse my energy level is slipping away

my ger is gonna be 2 yr old next week.
her terrible twos can be quite extreme at times.
fingers crossed tat it will not last too long.

one good thingy abt toddler is tat they are so cute tat we cant be angry with them longer then 5 mins

is your boy in CC? full/half day?

mbb2

My boy is going to be in nursery so just 3hrs a day. Hopefully he'll adapt well to his new school next yr.

I know this is prob too early but just to let u gals know:

Baby Pdt Warehse Sale
4 Dec to 7 Dec
10am to 5pm
994 Bendemeer Rd #06-09
(In today's classifieds)

Morning Mummies..

Mashy

The stroke happen years ago.. She is better.. Just that there is some movement restriction for her and not abing able to walk normally like us.. The rest is still ok.. Actually SIL have a maid, so will get the maid to look after the kids, while my in-laws look after the 3 of them..

MM2b

I know about it.. but what can i do? It will be a large sum of money to get other ppl to look after bb.. and employ maid? Maid will not have a place to live as my BIL also staying with us.. haiz..

dorisq

wow, you've a big family staying with you. It must be so squeezy to have everyone under 1 roof. AS for me, my parents are staying with me and I already feel the squeeze. If there's a maid already, i suppose it's still not too bad for your MIL bah. Anyway, u'll be ard till the end of your 4 mths maternity leave and by then your bb should be easier to take care.

Dorisq,
dun be stress ya.
maybe it will turned out awright.
nobody knows

i really admire you for being able to live with your PIL n BIL.

ya, after 4 mths, bb is easier to take care.
try to get a standard routine by then and get your MIL to follow the timetable. it's easier for both of you.

most mafan part with young children at home is they tend to disturb bb's sleeping time.

HAha... I have been thinking about it too.. That's y after i am back to work, i'll make an effort to go home during lunch time everyday to look after my little one for a while before i get off to work again..

So how have you girls been doing?? Being preggy, got any new feeling? I'm kind of feeling nothing inside my tummy neh.. No MS, makes me kind of worried.. Not sure if bb is living on well inside me not.. Ohya.. Would like to check if you know for pregyy, can we go for hot spring?