(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Happy CNY to all mummies!!!Hope u have a prosperous year ahead=)

TubbyM/Cassey, Aug has his moods when it comes to stranger anxiety...He selects the pple he wants to be carried by and I cannot be in sight...Once he sees me, he will wail for me to carry him! So once he is successfully being carried by some auntie/uncle, I try to disappear and go indulge in some CNY goodies!!! At least can get a break during CNY period=P But he is also getting rather cheeky...He has been blowing raspberries at pple and doing his little squeals of excitement. I think its rather cute at this stage=) Any other babies doing this too?

bbaug, I'm sure all the uncles/aunties won't mind being raspberried at hehe. Skyla doesn't do that, she growls. She sounds like a gremlin sometimes haha! When she's excited to see someone (e.g. grandparents), she grins and kicks wildly, and growls. It's an "AARRRHHH" in a hoarse manner. People who don't know will just think she's rude. She also growls when she's excited over other things, e.g. seeing a cat or dog, or getting her hands on a new toy. Wonder when she's going to outgrow the growling thing... It's quite funny sometimes, but can't be comfortable on the throat...

oh great..amelia just pull out my spacebar and i hv ahard time keying spaces.. so bearwith me

tubbymom,
hv u check with reen whether she is fine with us going on thurs..let meknow and i shld be able to join u.. dont tempt me ok.. that day i spent time going thr her boon loot and got quite a fair bitof cutlery too.

thanks for the fishoil bp,i am takingthe doc one.. toolazy to change

cassey,
oh no.. tot kyle is exception.. wonderhow this suddenly happen.. amelia is totally opp.. for once,she was completely fine with strangers.. no prob at all.. so i had all thetime to eat my meals and goodies.. maybe kylewas overly stimulated and hopefully next few days will be better.. we deliberately drive her around to prolong our journey to let her nap in the car..needto do this to discharge her battery..

ialso got my fair shareofprob now.. a has been super naughty.. she started to throw tantrum when she doesnt have what she want.. on cny eve, she screamed at the maid inthe car from amk all the way to upper serangoon cos maid took away her waterbottle.. hv toexit from cte to stop the car to pacify her.. she refuse to let maid seat beside her afterthat..

when she doesnt get her food fast enough she will scold maid too.. yell at her or push her hand away.. must scold already.. now thinking whenis the goodtime to use cane

hey happy CNY! this yr jayden didnt get much AP cos my sis pick yday to visit relative so a handful went my gdma hse the day b4. but i also save AP lah 1 is to many i still save haha.

he has been cooperative lah cos my dad n mum oftn carry him.he will smile at ppl wn ppl smile at him except those who try to get their hands on him the min he step in haven warm up will cry.. for once he reach his arms out for me yday haha so far he dont bother as long got pple carry.

i trying to stop BF by 1 march, but i tking it very slowly still pump long but just 2 times a day still the supply drop very fast.. now hardly 100ml a time.

blurmom what is blowing raspberry?

Fatmom oh but if bb not big does ur doc give u option for natural delivery? does ur scar still itch sometimes? mine does... is it norm ?
haha same here jayden will come to slam my laptop every time i typing on it haha they are so cute. agree lor they sometimes are turning devils start to throw temper for little things sigh bo bian with them.. cane i think still early bah?? dont think she know y u cane her. u try to be stern with her no use? they suppose be able to tell frm tones that we are angry

cassey
kyle is 10kg right? donno y jayden 9.3 dont look chubby at all leh 700g diff so much meh haha cant imagine ur macho boy wailing at CNY. he's such a sweet darling.

papaya
maybe she sian of pumpkin or becos it's in porridge taste diff not so sweet. keep trying try mix less amt of porridge in the pumpkin slowly inc and try other veg as well?

Appreciate if you can share the amt of solids (in terms of tablespoon) your bbs are taking.

Mine only takes max 3 tablespoons only. Seems very little.

TubbyM, I think S has her own signature growl now...It will be interesting to hear that...she might grow up to be a feisty one haha...For me, it is a challenge bringing Aug to church and making him stay quiet thruout the service. He tries to "participate" by screaming and making all sorts of noises. Now even the little toys/teether I used to bring dont work anymore...sigh. I just have to stand and let him have a view of the alter in front and must change view all the time...this boy is getting naughtier! and there was one time he yelled at daddy in the middle of the nite while he was sleeping on the bed. That was funny...for no rhyme or reason. Daddy had a fright.Cheeky boy...

hi ladies, hope the year of the tiger has been great so far!! first new year for baby has been tiring. lots of stranger anxiety for my boy, similar reactions to bbaugustine..

solids:
my son is starting on stage 2 solids now.. at least he bothers to open his mouth and eat now. few weeks back he hated HT oatmeal cereal now he dun mind.

weight:
7.4kg last week and today he's exactly 8 months. 25th percentile.. cannot be helped la.. healthy good enough.

flu/ runny nose:
he got it last week.. i didn't bring him to doctor.. he caught the bug from my hubby.. end up i also got it, but we recovered together. must be the antibodies in BM!

gathering at novena on 19 feb:
cannot join u all lei.. gotta work.. =(

porridge:
i haven't start him on porridge.. once start should i cut down milk??

Bluedream, I got headache as he wants me to carry him today. Too bad, today got no mil, gong gong, nai nai, uncles and aunties so I need to carry him by myself. So I just escape the few days nia LOL...

Createjoy, huh What is blowing raspberry? I think its bbaugustine who mentioned raspberries... I think they meant by baby blowing bubble with their saliva?

Any mummy knows?

Blurmom,

My boy get distracted by his father during wk end.

During wk day he is like super glue. I encourage him to follow me (so I don't need to carry him :p) when I need to go around the house.

Any mummies has comfort object for their babies? What do you get and how do u introduce?

ecmom, you can try any food like pumpkin, sweet potato, sweet corn, peas.. (these are all sweet so baby should like to eat) my boy has a sweet tooth, so I always mixed these with other like fish, potato and broccoli.

I am giving baby more variety now but his constipation and rashes from his saliva still stay.

Mummies, do your baby cry a lot when teething? I am confused when my baby cry. Not sure is due to constipation or teething? His cry is that type that play play then cry suddenly.

Happy Lunar New Year to all mummies and babies!

cottonbunny,
my boy takes 3/4 (ikea coloured plastic) bowl of porridge for lunch. dinner is 1/2 bowl cereal and fruit puree.

ecmom,
usu i put 1 meat (1.5 tablespoon) 1 root veg (1 teaspoon) and 1 green leafy veg (3 large leaves) in the porridge each meal. sometimes i skip the root veg.

USA Grad Student Research with Singapore Parents - Quick Survey

Thank you to those who have completed my survey - I have already received 25 responses!! I am hoping to get 5 more so I can do my comparison study. Can you share this with other parents you know? I really appreciate the help and am so excited about studying in your country! Here are the details...

I am a graduate student at the University of St. Thomas in the United States (Minnesota), participating in a study abroad course in Singapore at the National Institute of Education. The study is to learn more about couple's relationship as they take on the role of parenthood.

The following people are invited to take the 5-minute survey:
* Have you had your first (and only) child in the past six months to 24 months?
* Do you live with the co-parent?
* Is it the first child for both partners?

To start the survey, please click the link below or copy and paste it into your Internet browser.

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=odvEJo1BPt_2bCF3hlE7BK7g_3d_3d

Participation in this survey is completely voluntary and confidential. Thank you for your consideration.

Robyn Maley

<font color="cc3399"> Tubbym~, It DOES appear to be like that - he woke up one morning and decided he'd hit his belated separation anxiety milestone. Sigh. It's been a very rough past 4 days. I hope it's just the CNY crazy schedule that threw him off. I think it's cute that Skyla growls
It's unique!!

bbAug, yup, Kyle's bn blowing raspberries for quite some time. Thought it was his teeth coming out but that was back when he was around 5+M and his teeth didn't erupt til 8M wor.

fatmom, it's probably not funny for you but I thought it hilarious that Amelia went and pulled your spacebar off!! HAHAHA!!! Silly little girl! Those who saw the pic of her and Kyle on the red 'love seat' all said she is really cute

fatmom, createjoy, me too. Was elated that Kyle "skipped that stage". Today he was a little better but I think it's more cos I had time to spend with him than cos he improved. Yesterday I was alone at home with him trying to get some clearing up done and he gave me SUCH A HORRID TIME that I shouted at him til my throat hurt and then smacked him with a small packet of wet wipes. I underestimated the strength I used and it left a red mark on his arm. Needless to say, he screamed even harder. Sigh.

I wouldn't have believed Kyle's crazy episode yesterday myself. So to prove my point, I took a video to show hubby his mad streak. My man's eyebrows shot up to his eyebrows. Looking at it now, it breaks my heart cos he looked so distraught. Sigh. And I was sitting right there beside him on his foam mat.

createjoy, blurmom, blowing raspberries = 'boo-boo'ing. I think blurmom has the right idea.

createjoy, and yup, Kyle's 10kg. I think he's slimmed down wor. Just that he's still got a chubby face with ' toi-U toi-U ' cheeks. Jayden's just right, he IS chubby ma!

cottonbunny, it'd be good to let your boy decide how much he wants to take.. I always offer Kyle about 3 gently heaped spoonfuls of cereal (Nestle) with about half a jar of food, else 1 or 2 frozen cubes of homemade food. He doesn't always finish and I must confess I have tried to force-feed him on several occasions. Sometimes he finishes all that and can take dessert (yogurt or banana). Sometimes he barely finishes a quarter.

Have read that force-feeding isn't good for them as it hinders their learning to stop eating when they are full and also, mealtimes may end up being try to get mum's attention by not eating time. So if they don't want it, take it away. If they're really hungry, they'll eat it - maybe not at the next meal or 2.. but eventually they will.

As long as your boy is growing well, developing alright and active and happy, you're on the right track, so keep going what you're doing!

Alya's not that friendly with ppl either. in fact she doesnt recognise my PIL cos seldom see them so she wails when hubby's mom tries to carry her. she's real cool with my family tho. *guilty look*

Alya eats porridge every day. she starts her day around 9-10am with about 7 scoops of Munchkin spoon HT cereal and banana, downs it with apple juice. then off to bath and 90ml of BM before naptime at 12. sleeps till around 1-2pm and wakes up for porridge. usually my mum makes a stock so can use for 2 days. she boils 1 chicken breast small piece with 1 shallot, 1 garlic, 50cent-coin size ginger, cinnamon and black pepper. after about 20min then drain stock ie remove onion etc, only keep chicken piece and stock. divide stock into 2, mine fits into a Glad container (small size) quite nicely, think about 120ml? add rice to stock and boil for another 30-40min and porridge's done! mom also adds carrots/brocolli/spinach to porridge. if no chicken, mom uses lamb or just plain porridge with ground ikan bilis. hope this helps some mummies out there.

Alya's taking very little BM now. think cos mum feeds her porridge so she's full. she takes about 400ml of milk per day only, about 100ml each time.

and i've been so busy with work that i've not been pumping enough. i so seldom latch cos at night hubby gives apple juice if she wakes up middle of night so i get more sleep. supply has halved...i take 20min per breast to pump to get only 100ml. am very sad. i simply cant find more time at work to pump. im running between classes and my cubicle's quite open so find it hard to pump.

im not going to give up. told mum to give milk then porridge so she can take more. after all, porridge is mainly carbo, not much other nutrients. i think because of her reduced milk intake, her immunity is down. she's had a fever last week and now having runny nose. challenging these days...i need a breather.

ok wont vent anymore, hope everyone is well

oops have not yet finished reading everything, but Congrats Fifi!

Happy CNY to everybody too!

My girl now keeps wanting somebody to carry her or to be by her side, or within sight. How to solve the issue? Sigh.

By the way I've also started reading books to my girl --- those thin books that have a simple storyline (about 8 pages) with pictures.

My husband's grandma said, aiyoh too cheem, the baby won't understand. Haha... But I enjoy reading to her and I think she likes it too. :p

fatmom: Haha, my boy pulled out the Alt key the other day... but lucky was able to fix it back!

my boy still waking up 2 hourly at night for feeding.. huh...

Cassey: So jealous your lil sumo can sleep so easliy! Mine is a struggle every night

Annticipating, nxt wk or so aunt come visiting le right?
tis month ur aunt got come visit u mah? mine did.
wanted to page for u here, but keep forgetting. hahaha

i also read to my boy. but recently he more interested in closing the book instead! last time he will quietly sit on my lap and listen and look at the pages one, now like nt interested liao...dunno why leh..

dolly, hi5, my boy also been waking up 2hrly still...dunno y still lkdat...damn tired....

poor jarius is sick, haf cough and bit of running nose... cough sounds quite bad, got phlegm. poor boy. hope he recovers soon....meantime, i stopped taking cold drinks, hopefully will help him abit.

hope everyone is well and happy!!

<font color="cc3399"> ANN~, I read to Kyle very sporadically. 2 pages of a children's Bible at a time or cloth books. Don't worry... even if they don't understand, they'll enjoy hearing your voice and this is how they learn print awareness - the way a text goes from left to right, top to bottom, the way a book is flipped from front cover to back cover and so on.

dolly, I blur... did I say anything about Kyle's sleep huh? How is it that I don't remember?!

So many ppl's bubs seem to have caught something... maybe it's the CNY crowds.
Seems there's a stomach flu bug going around too... (as per tubbym~'s PD so be careful, mums!)

bbaug, bet Aug screaming at hb and hb's reaction was one of those moments that you wished you had caught on video! Priceless...

Cassey, I kinda like S' growl too, yes, quite signature haha. But it does get on my nerves when at one point, that was ALL she did. She didn't babble, didn't coo, just growled. It's better now, she reserves growling for certain things/people (cats, my dad...haha!)

fatmom, I thought it's funny too how A pulled out the space bar! And goodness, now that you mentioned it, other moms are 'fessing up that their babies pulled some key or other out also hehehe... S isn't interested in the keys. She clicks stuff on the touch pad on the rare occasion she manages to get close enough to the laptop.

ANNticipating, I think it's great you're reading to baby
It doesn't matter if she doesn't understand the story now, it sets a good foundation, and it'll help her learn to read &amp; speak faster I reckon. Widen her vocabulary and build intelligence. Reading is good! Now, wish I was more committed to reading to S... oops...

caramelle, think everyone's supply is dropping, so don't be too hard on yourself. Guess it's inevitable when babies start solids, and have less interest in milk. I still feed S milk before solids, cos like you, I want her to take more milk. It's more nutritious than empty carbos.

Blowing rasberries: yup, going "boooo", blowing bubbles with saliva. I reckon it's called "blowing raspberries" cos the when the tiny bubbles form and clump together, they kinda look like raspberries... Just my theory of course hehe

Porridge: I've not given it to S yet, and frankly have no plans to any time soon haha. Not that I don't think she can't take it yet or what, I'm just not attracted to the idea of porridge
Maybe I'll just cook it now and then for her to taste it. But seems so troublesome.

S spent the morning sitting in exersaucer pulling the attachment toys out one by one and throwing them on the floor. Goodness..with this throwing phase, I envision endless days of bending over to pick stuff up from the floor.

S is suffering from stomach flu. Diarrhoea, but thankfully no vomiting (fingers crossed). Temp hovering around 37.5deg, which my PD considers borderline fever. But just when I thought she was getting better, cos she didn't have middle of the night poops last night, she goes and develops a more proper fever today, temp went up. Wonder if it's because I tried feeding her 2tsps of plain rice cereal, when she's not allowed to take any solids. She's not allowed fm too, can only feed bm and even then, not too much. So I thought she was so poor thing, so hungry, and tried to give a small amount of rice cereal. End up diarrhoea again.
So she's back to surviving on some bm, Pedialyte and rice water. Her belly has deflated too. It's gets most difficult when she watches us eat, and fusses till almost crying cos she wants to eat too.

And yes, her PD said there seems to be a stomach bug going around. And Skyla's friend (from whom S caught the bug from) went to the PD also, and at 10am, she was already the FOURTH baby who was there because of stomach flu. Scary.

Cassey: No worries, it's not you, it's me looking at all the pics of Kyle sleeping here and there makes me jealous lah!

TubbyMummy: It's really poor thing feeling sick and dunno how to express herself! Talking about BM, no worries lah, sometimes when lazy me kicks in, got "no choice" but to feed my boy BM whole day

dolly, wahahaha... wasn't it just so much simpler when they just latched, and we didn't have to think about cereal, porridge, dessert, biscuits, etc?? Sigh... If she could take full strength bm, it'll still be fine. But I've been watering down her feeds (3oz bm + 2oz rice water) and she still had the runs today. Doc says if diarrhoea continues, then I can't even give bm! Now really hoping will stop by tomorrow...

Cassey: Ya. Had the impression that force feeding is not recommended. But was just concern that he will be underweight
. Currently he weight belongs to the 10th percentile. I guess i just have to be patience and give him more milk.

tubbymummy:
hi 5! my boy also in his throwing phase for the past 2 weeks.

poor skyla. is terrible to hv stomach flu, moreover, she's so young. sayang sayang her. hope she recover soon.

looks like bugs are everywhere.. hope everyone and babies are ok.. not easy to care for sick babies at this age

createjoy,
my scarestill itchs..and once i start scratching,iwill never stop.. so irritating..gynae says i can still try for natural but he thinks this bbwill be even bigger thanamelia..so looks like csec is the way togo..

itried tobe stern with her and she will be cheekylor.. she will deliberately repeat the same thing and smile at me and wait formy response.. like testing water.. so naughty.. i think she knows what is caning cos i use ruler and slap her hand and she scare ofthe ruler now.. but not sure whether this is healthy

re porridge,
i will let my inlaw or mom to cook it.. cos i findit so wasteful to cook a tiny bowl withso mucheffort and see it throw away..so far she can only manage few teaspoons if she in good mood.. otherwise most likely it willgo into rubbish bin.. and we have triedall texture and most version still no go..even with bovril

bluedream,
a's comfort objects are her beanie pillows and mothercare's blankets (knitted one with holes).. we got two each for her cos afraid of losing one.. butone thing abt the comfort objectthing is once they get use to the smelletc.. even ifu buy a newone, they will need sometime to get use to it.. we never deliberately introduce this..she just like itso we buy the second one and make sure she has them when putting her to sleep..

cassey,
is k ok nowor still cranky? i also forgot to mention usually we pray over a when we go to another person's home..even if sheknows theplace well.. we will just pray and talk to her from the carpark all the way to the door and when the door opens,we will bring her straight to thebalcony or window or mirror before anyone has a chance to touch her.. when she has warmedup ie start showing interestin otherppl then we can let go.. previously it took a while, now only 2-3mins required

spacebar for my laptop and shift key for my mom's netbook.. u shld see her when she has access to my mom's netbook.. she will try to type or ratherhit the keys and pull the keys and when i shut down, she will close it for me.. so kpo.. and the funny thing isshe knows i always put it on a yellow winnie thepooh pillow so if the netbook not onthepillow,she will take the netbookand put on it.. very busybody.. sometimes i think she behaves like a dog.. haha

cant believeu actually tape down the crying episode when k was beside u.. i usually hadto walk away cos shecries louder when there is audience.. there was once i slap her thigh and left 4 finger prints there and shecried so loud but becos i sent the maid away and i hide in the kitchen, she stop

ahnetsan,
mine also.. more interested to snatch and close the book.. so have given up.. last time not like that one lor

tubbymom,
i have already kept my exersaucer months ago when all she do is to lick the toys.. in the end the exersaucer only left with one pathetic rotating toy cos the rest tendto bounce back when she pull and it sometimes hit her head..ikinda like the throwing phase,cos ithinkthey are learning abt cause and effect.. tedious yes but fun to watch too

hope s is feeling better now.. stomach flu foradults is already horrible.. not to mention for a 8 mth old bb.. do watch out for dehyration sign at her fontanelle.. a was warded becos her fontanelle was sunken

ahnetsan &amp; fatmom: haha my girl also don't really sit still for a very long time. she also likes to close the book so I play along lor, i 'give' the book to let her close first, then I ask her to 'give' me the book and I take it from her. repeat this for a few times to try and let her understand what it means by "give". then I go on to the next book.

ahnetsan: my big aunt is late... it usually comes visiting at the end of the month kind (late Oct, late Nov, late Dec). But late Jan it didn't visit. I did p-test before CNY just to make sure, but I'm not joining our 3 mummies yet leh. So my GP says this is just a period of time where it's not on track.

tubbymummy:
poor Skyla... hope she's already better. does this stomach flu bug only hit kids? or rather, do you know where Skyla got the bug from?
why is it that no solids or FM?

fatmom:
usually i'll gobble up the rest of the leftover porridge! haha.. then no waste.

as for comfort objects, I'm always worried whether my girl will pull those over her nose/mouth and doesn't know how to remove it.

<font color="cc3399"> Tubbym~, I sure hope Skyla doesn't growl at me when we meet. I mean, growl's ok, but I hope she talks and giggles and squeals too!
Kyle typed silly gibberish to KateLee while I was chatting with her on fb. She guessed it was him immed!

dolly, I see... on fb huh? Yup! He's a great sleeper outdoors! I like to think I trained him to be one, but I think it's in his makeup. Heehee... But I think many latched babies fall asleep after a nurse, home or out. He's a lousy night sleeper though. So that evens out, perhaps?

c'bunny, several mummies here also have small lightweight bubs. It's good cos you don't feel your arms dropping off from carrying them! My concern is just the opposite. Kyle's been 97th percentile since ages ago! Like when he was 3M? He used to be so scrawny as a NB. My parents keep saying he's overweight and ask me to cut down on his food but he's not chunky or anything. So I'm just letting him be and letting him decide how much he wants. Sometimes if he only has a bite or 2 of his cereal, I buay song. So try to make him have at least 5 so it doesn't go to waste. *keke*

fatmom, apparently babes don't understand spanking at this point. To discipline, a firm NO and take kid away from the situation or distract with some other activity. I find when I smack Kyle, it's more cos I'm upset than cos he deserves a spanking. *oops*

WHOA! Amelia is rather a smart kid huh?
Thanks for asking after Kyle. He's better. I'm SO GLAD!! I think it might have been overwhelming for him. You've seen how he is with absolute strangers. (He lunged into the arms of random waitstaff, remember? And let them pass him all around..) It's been like that with him from the get-go. So it was doubly hard when he suddenly did a 180.

And I took the video cos I was exasperated and wanted to share it with someone. Perhaps I wanted validation for my frustration. And felt that ppl would dismiss it as a non-issue... my own impatience instead of my kid going berserk. HA!

HEY!!! He's so much closer to his own self that my man and I went out for our first ever Kyle-less dinner date to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary. He didn't even cry when I left. Just stared from my mum's helpers arms even while she waved goodbye with his floppy arm. When we got back expecting to nurse and put him to bed, we found him ALREADY IN BED!!! WITHOUT A NURSE!! HOW GREAT IS THAT?!?!?!?!?!??!
*I'm elated!!*

re: stomach flu
yes, there's d virus spreading around. Aisha had it, starting with vomit on fri nite on 22 jan. tot I didn't burp her becoz bf lying down at nite as usual. sat I worked so she had diarhoea at ifc n temp by the time I pick her up at 1pm. only went to GP sun morn. Sun nite, Ayuni n me got it too. so from child mc become my own 2 day mc. so been there done that. so tiring kept changing everyone's bedsheets coz of vomit. luckily my hubby was on exam leave the whole week. Ayuni's cc tracked absentees so there were 4 female n 1 male stomach flu cases in her N1 class and 1 in K1 class. aisha's cc didn't track at all. anyway, stomach flu will take sometime to recover since bb immune system n stomach not so strong

cassey
for jayden prob NO only works for dad. i tried to shout sternly SLP! NO! he smile at me haha then dad said SLP! he cried bitterly haha guess i dont look stern enough...

ya man, sometimes they fuss whole day dont know what they want. pat him slp he toss n toss cry n cry like very fedup cant slp. carry up he do the hmm hmm sound . put him down he scream. wow buay tahan!

wow u so young married 5yrs already?? that's fast! i wish next wk he start IFC dont 180 degree change suddenly. so far he happy as long as got ppl ard. can even go to the door gates waiting for neighbour's kid to come and talk to him so funny!

fatmom
A so cute! she know ur habit well huh1 bet next time she b a good girl know how to curry flavour hahaha that's the good thing about girls. they are so close to heart..

Tubbymummy
oh dear! hope S recvr soon! so heartpain. hope she dont lose too much weight from this strict diet! compensate her w/ better food aft that! porridge not troublsm mah. it's how individual wanna do it. some mk the stock trf to slower cooker, blend b4 eat. for me i just cook porridge in slow cooker 3hr ahead. half hr b4 eating throw in a pc of meat. wn cooked, tk out the meat throw in the chopped veg. chopped the cooked meat throw back in and off the switch , serve after it cool down. all within 3hr and the time tken to chop meat n veg barely 5min mah, fuss free for me...

stomach flu
oh no!! putting jayden in IFC starting on thu n stopping BF think will be albe to end by tomolo. was pumping 100ml last few days then yday 80 this morning 70ml only and it's 12hr interval haha. he's having a cold, still abit running nose at times and phelgm...

tubbymummy, styliciously,
how are ur girls? hope they are getting better and recovering fast.. do give more rice water, it will help... am sure yr BM will provide the immunity that they need to fight against the stomach flu.

Fatmom,
Marilyn pulls out the letter W from my laptop last month and i'm using the keyboard, handicapped from letter W...LOL! Till now, we are still puzzled how could she have the strength and means to pull the letter out ??!! not forgetting that her weight belongs to the 25th percentile only...hmmm... really beats us!

porridge,
Tubbymummy-- I am also not planning to introduce porridge for the time being, most likely to start when Marilyn is ard 10-mths old....

at this point in time, feeding her the iron-fortified rice cereal is an okay-arrangement for us, with the alternative daily options of potatos, brocoli, spinach, greens, sweet potato, pumpkin, carrot, apples, prunes.. we probably will intro meat and fish later.... of course, it is still her milk as the main nutrition now.

ahnetsan,
how is Jarius? hope the running nose and cough is gone.

Happy Chinese New Year to all mummies and babies! Wishing all babies health and happiness and mummies patience and strength to enjoy the long long road of motherhood

Wow i didnt log on few days couldnt catch up with the tread lio. Hope that babies that are ill will recover soon.

Re: sleep
Seems like most mummies dont let bb sleep in 'sarong'. We also didnt want Claire to sleep in 'sarong' initially but it was hard getting her to sleep especially day time and after coaxing for half hr she only sleep 15-20min at times so finally cave in. She sleeps better now take 2 naps in the day time - total 2 hrs or so. At night am fortunate she is sleeping thru in her own bb cot usually goes to sleep arnd 10pm wake up for mor milk feed arnd 6/7am then goes back to sleep till 9+.

Re: solids
Advice to mummies is to be patient hehe. Keep on trying everyday eventually they will take
Claire is now on 2 solid meals per day + 4 milk feed of 4-5oz. Lunch is cereal, dinner porridge and she has increased her intake from barely 2-3 bb spoon mouthful to now half pigeon bowl.

3648619.jpg

Silly Claire making faces. Can any mummies share your bbs pics?

Oh sorry another post - forgot if any mummy is keen to teach your baby to read using Glenn Doman method there will be a free seminar this coming Sat 27 Feb, 11am - 1 pm @ 95A Soo Chow Walk, call 64563526 to reserve seats. Ill be there

anyone still giving their bb Sophie Giraffe?
thinking of getting one for maddox but now already 8mths old so dunt know how long can it last..

Thanks girls for asking after S. She's still having diarrhoea... She caught it from my friend's baby. My friend didn't know her baby was ill, cos her symptoms were mild, and we all thought it was teething related. Thought S was getting better, but today she developed proper fever. Still on fluids only, if she's stable I will try to intro watery plain rice cereal on Monday. *cross fingers* It's so tiring cos while she's still active, she's also extra clingy.

cottonbunny, my girl is below 10th percentile. But she's healthy and happy, so that's all that matters.

fatmom, oh, prob wasn't a good idea for A to be eating/licking stuff back then, huh? S does that too, I just leave her be, cos it's part of discovery. Same as throwing and letting go of things. Just grit and bear haha. And yes, been keeping S hydrated by plying her with Pedialyte. Finished 1litre of it these 2 days, on top of milk and rice water.

annticipating, this one is a super bug. S caught it from her friend cos she shared some food with her (I'm still kicking myself). Her friend had also managed to pass it to her daddy, who suffered worse than them, practically bed bound for a day. Same like styliciously who caught it from her kids. Doc says lactose in milk may worsen diarrhoea, so told me not to give fm. Bm also has lactose, but bm also has good stuff like antibodies, so he said continue to bf. I don't remember what was the reason for no solids for a couple of days haha.

Cassey, hijack the helper!

styliciously, I hope your whole family has recovered fully by now. So debilitating to have everyone ill, and worse for you cos you have to care for the girls too. Take care. I've been washing my hands religiously everytime I change her diaper, everytime I come in contact with her drool (which is a lot), and before I eat. Hope I won't catch it.

createjoy, I also hope she won't lose too much weight, now apart from belly flattened, her thighs also gone soft liao. Hai, she was already small size to begin with. Hmm, maybe I'll take your suggestion and try cooking porridge in slow cooker...

Audrey, what a cute picture of Claire and her wrinkled nose!

bbmarilyn, I'm a fan of instant cereals haha! I also mix it with veg &amp; fruit, though I've introduced chicken and beef already. I mix that right in too.

Now why am I still up? Off to bed now...

tubbymummy
bellamy pasta star also fuss free. just throw in stove 6min drain half the water add ikan bilis powder, meat n veg to cook, serve!

audrey
u wan see our photo join FB lor.

fat mum, thanks for sharing A's comfort object. My boy will not sleep if we are not at home. I am giving him the bolster now. But he is not keen. Always throw it away when sleeping. But I hope he will associate it with sleeping.

Createjoy, i'm on facebook. Please add me. Same for other mummies

bluedream, Claire has 2 sleeping comfort objects - pacifier and her stuff toy girraffe. Innitially gave her a few stuff toys but she choose girraffe. Now sometimes she fall asleep w girraffe only no need pacifier

tubbym, Claire loves to make that face she smiles like that as well! Hope S is feeling better now really poor thing when they are sick

createjoy, I was just about to try the pasta stars! But then she fell ill, so now waiting till she's ok before I intro. Just 2 days ago I made baby bolognese sauce to go with the pasta hehe. But since she couldn't eat, I froze everything in cubes, think enough for 6-7 servings. I also bought baby macaroni, can't wait to try hehe...

Thanks Chidori &amp; Audrey, S seems better today, so I increased her milk by 1oz each for 3 of her feeds. Tomorrow, I'll give her a bit of plain rice cereal, hope it will be well-tolerated.

Audrey, Cassey's baby Kyle does a similar wrinkled nose grin! Hehe... they have such cute expressions...

ahnet, how is J's cough/cold? Hope it has cleared up.

Cassey: Wow 97 percentile. Mum's agony... when our bb is too light or heavy. Like what Tubbymummy rightly put it as long as bb is heathly and happy, its ok.

Caramelle: on making the stock. Didnt know that bb's stock can include strong flavoured vege like garlic, ginger. Tried cooking with ginger today instead of mine usually meat and vege stock. Porridge tastes alot nicer.

annticipating,
i dont like baby's porridge.. no taste one.. infact i dont really like to taste her food..always get the father to taste

i think they are old enough to remove things if theycant breathe properly..a always sleep with a lot of stuff, e.g. blanket, bolster, and at least 3 pillows

tubbym,
areu annoyedwith her growls? mine now squeks like a dolphin or howls like a wolf.. very annoying.. only started this week

cassey,
a cant take firm no.. she needs action to go with it.. eg hit the floor/bed..

yup was so amazed when isaw him being pass around the waitstaff.. good to hear that he is back to usual self now.. iam quite relieved that a is progressing in this aspect too.. though she still needs to take a long hard look at the person

bbmarilyn,
how many times u gave marilyn cereal? i used to give twice a day but becos of her constipation, i cut down to once.. not surewhether her iron intake is adequate

tubbymom,
oops.. a also always share food with her cousin.. espwhen we are feeding cereal, we feed from the same spoon.. think i have to tell my mom abtthis.. hopethey will not be offended

she is still taking enfalac lactose free milk.. so if u want, u can start her with this fm

<font color="cc3399"> c'joy, I'm not THAT young. How did Jayden do at IFC?! I hope he stays in the pink of health!

c'joy, tubbm~, pasta stars sound SO YUMMY!!! Hmm... Tempted to get some too.

Tubbym~, Skyla is STILL below 10th percentile?! I thought she was starting to fatten up. Oh dear, thanks to this episode, you'll have to start fattening her up all over again! With all the handwashing, you must have shrivelled hands by now.

I was so tempted to post the pic(s) of Kyle's crinkle-nose grin here... But that was back about 3 months ago so I decided not to. BUT COULDN'T RESIST SOMETHING MORE UPDATED!!! *Wwahahaha*

And YUP, I'd like to kidnap (hijack?!) mum's helper too. She's such a great character.
Digressing, Chanessa (my niece) is <1mth from 1y/o!!!!! SO FAST! Sis has lifted all her dietary restrictions.

Audrey, I couldn't resist responding to your "call for photos". Here's a goofy one of Kyle!

3653364.jpg

Tubbym~, bbMarilyn, I'm ALSO so not into cooking porridge. Not for any reason other than that I don't think it's worth the trouble when there are cereals and bread and stuff available. Like you, I make sure he gets his homemade cubes of fresh vege, fruits and meat (chicken only at the mo). Just a sharing, meats can be intro'ed within 4wks - 2mths of them starting solids. Red meats should be added to their diet (not only til 10M and after) to replenish their iron supplies. Many jars have beef in them so that's the way I'm going.

babycow, ermm... pork floss prob not very healthful wor...

cottonb~, exactly! When Tubbym and I go out together, most ppl are speechless to know that Skyla and Kyle are only a fortnight apart. It used to be that they were 3rd and 97th percentile respectively!! Now, people ask "how old is Kyle? One year and how many months now?" I'm like... ermm.. he's not even a year yet. He's only 9M.
Some silly woman asked me the other day if he was about 6M. WHAT?!?!?!

fatmom, just sharing... on my end, if a loud NO doesn't get Kyle's attention, my next progression is to hold a finger up close to his face and repeat myself. Still no response, next progression I usually take hold of his hands, squeeze them slightly, put my face closer to his and repeat myself. If still no reaction, I'll take away the object or remove him from the situation when possible.

My ex-students parents would go "No? NO?? NO JUMPING!! *then nag nag nag nag nag*" I don't say much more than NO at the point of correction... And hey! I know that with pets, I always slap my thigh or smack something like the way you do. I'm sure I do it sometimes with Kyle too. Just not consciously

<font color="cc3399"> This fb YAMI fan is excited to see them post this month's flavour... SOURSOP!!!!!!!!!!

ecmnum, SO FESTIVE!!! Haha!</font>

ecmom,
haha.. ur pic like cny advert.. so nice

cassey,
i just tried ur method.. a few times too.. cannot leh.. she gave me a ah wooooo.. and tried to grab my specs cos i put my face near her.. she tot i am playing with her

if u want to get pasta stars from bp, kp is organising one now.. i getting bjorn and cb from her.. will be collecting later today.. so if u want i can get for u..

aiyoh! the babies so cute... ecmom, i agree yours look like cny ad...

anyone has part-time helper to recommend for sembawang area? i was a bit too slow in confirming the one recommended by bbjun, now she has no more slots for me...