(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Annie, i think becuz your dad helps u, he also expects your hubby helps. but your hubby brought up differently n have different thinking. so his free time he wants to relax n go online. he n my hubby sama sama.

wah your boy very studious. likes reading. good good!

Hi mummies, sorry to intrude.. im from the aug thread.

i have a Medela CityStyle to let go. It consist of a breastpump bag, a cooler bag, 4 breastmilk bottles and also cooling agents.

I had juz given birth to my twins on 5th aug..and m currently using Ameda breastpump. when i bought the pump couple of mths back, i bought the abovementioned bag as well (thinking it would be in use when i return to work aft my ML).. hwever, my breastmilk supply now is super low, hence dont tink i wld need to cont any pumping aft my ML.

the bag n all are brand new, never used. hwever, the top of the box is slightly flatten, cos my helper stack some stuffs on it. -_-"

kindly PM me shld u be interested or require more info.

many thanks.. lalala~

First Mum:
I dont change diapers middle of night unless it is very full.. so far no linkages..I will change once before 12midnight...next will be 6am...think diapers can hold about 3 flows of urine..

artist: Thanks for reminding.!!~

11_beans:
Think its the hindmilk.. Once I BF my girl only for 10 minutes.. when I pump both breast after that, the side that i fed has lesser and more yellowish breastmilk..

artist: Yeah, prefer to stick to short nick. :p

11_beans: Usually if it's foremilk and you've been feeding often, it looks watery like skim milk (1 part milk, 9 parts water). If you're feeding regular, hindmilk looks like normal milk in terms of colour. Have you seen a doc about it?

Hi Poko1, welcome! Wow, dealing with twins, plus older boy!! *clap clap*

amk_gal, my girl finally bombed. 1st round was last night in restaurant after dinner, MIL was holding her, and diaper leaked onto MIL's hand, so we had to use lots of paper napkins, and practically ran to the babycare room haha! But not much, all the rest came out this morning, exploded out the side of her diapers and up the back. Faint... quickly bathed her... so gross!

createjoy, i buy the freezer bags in supermarket, all supermarts should have. Those brands like Ziplock, Glad or Reynolds. I just buy the cheapest smallest sized ones I can find. After I use finish all the sticks in 1 bag, I throw that bag out, never wash and reuse. Cos scared if never wash properly, may cause contamination etc. And who knows if reuse, the bag may have a small unnoticeable split and contaminants can enter the bag...

Mabel/mei, hi and welcome!
I think your baby at 5/6wks old should have no problems acclimatising. If you just want to play safe, perhaps you can keep your house cool for now with the AC on at a setting that's just enough to keep the room cool but not cold, and gradually reduce the time you have it on. If it's a nice and cool or breezy day, just try going without. Keep clothing light, and if you notice her sweating a lot, do remember to make sure she has enough fluids (if you're Bfing, she may even need an additional feed).

Inlaws brought with them a lot of baby clothes, all presents from relatives. Some are nice, but some are not my kind of thing, but since people buy, just wear right? She has more than enough clothes to last her easily past 1 year old! Now I see something that I really like, also don't dare to buy for her. Feel deprived!

mei >> really? hindmilk that color?? i thot just thicker only.. aiyaaah wasted i squeeze so much into tissue today cos thought it's pus or something!!!

Think u ever post before recommendation to a professional photographer for babies..

Cant locate the thread..Can ur give me the link again? Thinking of bring for the session

Beans: It's possible. Some women produce more pale yellowish milk than others.

Ladies: I had such a rough night yesterday. My baby suddenly became fussier than usual - crying loud and refusing to sleep for four hours; something which she NEVER does (she hardly cries in the first place). She only fell asleep at 5am and this morning, I found out that there is a funeral going on in the block opposite where we're staying now (bunking in with a friend until we move on Monday)!!!!

My hubby thinks I'm just being silly and that my baby is just having one of those days but I can't help but feel that yesterday was because she just didn't feel right. The way she cried and the look(s) on her face... :/

mei: Is it growth spurt?

My boy blocked nose were all cleared this morning, got to really dig those mucus out from his nostril and now he's breathing fine again
Wonder if that is caused by sinus cos we went to some dusty place earlier

arrghhhh.......... mil used her finger to press on teat to make milk again for Kris!!! really buah tahan. always thot her hands very clean later my kris kanna diarrhea again

dolly, i always use the pigeon thin cotton buds to dig out the harden mucus etc from kris nose... and he will sure to sneeze a few times after tat. haha..

artist: Is kris constantly getting block nose? Is that normal? My boy seems to have a bit of mucus even without blocked nose.

artist: Dun think so coz her legs were stretched out and her tummy was soft...

dolly: Not too sure coz she didn't want to feed...just fussing. She did doze off in the bouncer for a few minutes but then woke up crying as if she had a nightmare!

Tubby: Yeah, will keep that in mind. At the moment, am staying at friend's place so can't do much. Hopefully when we move into our new place next week, I can use the aircon and Eva will settle down better.

Want to ask - our those mesh outfits a good idea? Am thinking of getting some plus a few sleeveless outfits. Hopefully the Taka fair will have some cheap ones - on a budget. T.T

dolly, kris only has quite a bit of dried muscus n made some nosril noise. PD said this is ok.

mei... hmmm... u monitor for the time being first. if she kept crying like tat u bring her see doc.

dun think the wake thingy is an issue. my flat downstairs got several wakes before n tat didnt affected my children. only heard pple saying tat bb will cry alot at night if bb was happened to be brought by the wake.

artist: Yeah, I want to see too. If every day means I'll have to see doc lor...dunno why all of a sudden she cry so much and so loud. For the past five weeks she was okay - doesn't cry at all and so forth even when we were travelling by plane. The only other time was when we were at my HB's grandma's place (she had just passed away in June) and what's really weird is that during her crying spells (my HB wasn't around), I could smell perfume and etc but no one had been in that house for months!

:/

I think maybe I'm just thinking too much...tired and all coz it's just me taking care of her and HB is the grouchy type (he doesn't like waking up in the middle of the night so sometimes it's me doing both the day and night shift). T.T

mei... tat was eerie... your hb's grandma got wear perfume one??

my hb also grouchy type. last time my kris kept crying in the middle of the night (he got colic) n hb complained noisy. ended up i had to sleep with kris in the hall.

dolly.. haha... he needs to work very early lor. the hall my choice cuz got ceiling fan. cooler. room very warm n i dun want waste electricity by switching on the air-con. ;p

artist: Yeah...at least it smelled like old lady perfume. :X

My HB leh will go "I'm tired la, I have to work la, etc" and I'd be like "As if you're the only one who's tired". We got agreement though - he takes Friday and Saturday nights while I do the rest, but still, sometimes he'll get all angry while carrying the baby, and I'd rather take Eva from him and carry her.

mabel, bb have priority queue qt fast. but try to avoid sat morn & mon alot ppl... no need buy gd qty clothes at home. buy those got small holes clothes wear at home more comfortable can find at some neighbouring shop/giant supermkt..

11beans could it be breast abscess??if so will hv pus..

Dolly- was posting this halfway and Noah started crying..

Noah has been hving recurring blked nose and I dono why also... hv been using nasal aspirator to get the mucus out and it's usually v big green and sticky...

The blocked nose irritates him and he can't breathe properly plus it's tough for him to suck and breathe... was thinking of bringing to PD and ask for nose drops but nurse said nose drops only for bb above 1yr old!!!

How did u clear your boy's blked nose?

mei,
haha.. my hb like your hb too... most guys like tat. they dun hv maternal instinct. tat's why mother is always the best. hehe

createjoy. bb less than 6 mths n bottles must be burp. sometimes they will take 15mins to burp. if dun burp, air will build up n turns colic!

createjoy: If breastfeed then might not need to burp, depends on situation. Sometimes he doesn't look comfortable and I'll burp him

Sweethalo: For easy one just catch it when he breath out. For the more difficult one, we tickled his nose so that he sneeze... the more time he sneeze, the mucus will be blown a bit further out. Then I use wet cotton bud to dig when it's at the front. But the mucus is not harden yet.

createjoy: Yeah, am thinking of buying cheapo mesh baby clothes for at home. No need anything fancy coz she'll outgrow them quite fast.

Usually, I try and burp my baby as often as I can - every time I switch boobs and after a feed. I find that if I burp her, she'll spit up less and sleep better. Plus she likes falling off to sleep on my shoulder instead of burping. LOL.

Artist: Yeah la...my HB is also deaf sometimes coz whenever Eva cries, I can hear but dunno why he can't. :p

artist- wht is mint inhaler? where to get?

dolly -sounds like something i will try later..cos he really hates the aspirator..sigh

LFB- wow ur boy is growimg fast...dun think noah is 6kg yet

poko1- welcome
u r realli capable!can mnge w twins n older one too w/o confinemt lady somemore!

mei- u jus back fr which part of CH?? how long were u there for??

sweethalo, how old is your bb now? the inhaler is named karvol. bot from guardian. its more for bb over 3 mths. it is in capsule form n the contents is to be squeezed onto bedding or handkerchief for bb to inhale. if your bb is still less than 3 mths then maybe use vicks or ruyi oil n apply it on chest then bb can inhale the content to reduce block nose.

Sweethalo,

ya, many commented he looks like 3-4months now. I feed on demand, so might be bigger cos of that.

poko1, thumbs up 2 u!4 takin care of ur twins plus elder boy wif no mum or mil help!

mei-my hb oso same!until i so angry sumtimes. he likes 2 play wif our boy wen our boy is not crying. but evrythg else is me...chg diaper, put 2 sleep, etc. sigh...

my boy now abt 6.3kg...im now usin fitti diaper size S. stil can use...but seems a bit small aredi. tink its time 2 chg 2 M?any mommies using fitti size M?is it 2 big?

Artist - i din bring him since the nurse said no nose drops...mayb pd jus do suction which am already doing at hm n he hates so much...

how to apply vicks?

First Mum -i also dun chg diapers in the nite...usually Pampers can last thru out no prb

Mei,
No prob. Btw, dunt think u being silly. Aisha also had an episode of loud nonstop crying for abt 15-20min, maybe her tummy ache. It does scare me too. btw, babies are able to see what we can't see sometimes. sort of third eye. they are more vulnerable so not advisable to bring babies out at night esp to places outdoors or chalet. For muslims, thursday nights are the time when advisable to say prayers more. Once on a thursday night, I left my first daughter in my room and told her to wait while I go get something outside quickly. She started to cry like she's afraid of something and when I go in, she was patting her chest trying to say she's scared and then pointed to the corner of an open closet door with a mirror on it. So I went to close the door. Told my mum abt it and she was saying maybe it was my late father who "visited" us as it was thursday night. That time Ayuni was about 6-9 mthhs I guess.

Hi mummies! Just came back from Taka by train! My baby was very cranky cos it's after 9pm, looking for bed to sleep liao. I moved him from pram to pupsik, he was ok for a while and start to looking for my breast in the MRT. So start latching him (lucky brought my poncho too) while walking.... Then he cries again while on NEL and got to bring him out to rock in the pram until he sleeps. Lucky this time my mum with me, so at least easier to look for things. haha, wonder if other people knows that I'm latching my boy while boarding the train!

LFB: The FP play gym is selling at $69.9 original price is $89.9. Found it at level 3 though cos it's too crowded at the fair, I'm planning to go to the baby fair without my boy next week when I start to put him at the nanny.

hi artist, yup our hbs d same!haha!

mei n styliciousli...yup i beliv dat babies can c thgs...n oso my mum said dat babies can sense wen sth bad has happen or abt 2 happen. last month my boy cry 4 a few days...abt 15-20min, a sad draggy kind or cry.always at nite. at 1st i tot its coz i shuttle between my mil place n my mum's place.i tot he was upset by d chg of environment.dan i realise dat he started crying 2days aft my uncle pass away. he was like dat abt 4 days. dan it stop totalli. now i still shuttle but he seems ok wif it..

Sweethalo
can apply bb vicks on soles of feet and chest. If you worry bb is too young you can rub some vicks on a hanky n place it near the bb where he sleeps or tie securely to the cot. It helps breathing.

My PD prescribed this salt water spray to clean the nostrils. Some people use saline drops. Don't think cold meds is gd for young infants as they make them v sleepy.

What size pampers noah using?wonder if should get s or m.

stylish & raudha: Yesterday, she did the same thing except this time, she didn't cry a lot, just her usual fussing. She was also having a tough time burping plus she wanted to feed every two to one hour - like how it was in the evenings/nights in France. I suspect she could be suffering from jetlag since early mornings here is at night/evening in France.

I was okay with the whole thing but my HB...he was ultra annoyed and even wanted to leave Eva in the crib to cry it out - which I think is awful at this stage of her life. Instead of him helping me to tend to her every two hours - taking shifts - I ended up doing four hours on my end. Got so pissed at him and all.

Hey, anyone saw any bargains on crib mobiles and mobile gyms? Am planning to get one for Eva but am not too sure if it'd be good for her at this age or if I should wait.