(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Annie, hope u and nesher get well soon.

Dun think too much, it's nt good for yr health plus we juz gave birth, it wil results in post-natal blues if we keep getting all e -ve thots.

Think abt all e good thing esp yr boy's smile, it will brighten yr day.

Hi Annie,

don't feel this way pls. I was also very upset when my confinement lady left cos I just cannot understand why my baby kept crying. Now it's better. Negative thought will start coming in but don't let it get into you. I know with the pain and trouble, it's not easy to see open. But trust me, these unhappiness will go off. Just focus on Nesher and do your best. When you recover, join the gals for gathering and you will feel better. I was silently reading the thread all these while and when I saw your last posting, I thought I need to write and talk to you. Nesher is born on the same day as my boi. I am always thankful to God for His gift. Pray and seek His guidance and help. You can make it. I will pray for you, hoping the pain in your throat will go off asap and you will recover soon. For your son, he will be calm, understand mummy's pain and behave better when daddy give him milk. For your hubby, that he will see your effort, be patient with Nesher and God give them miracle bonding. Gal, hang on and take care.

I will need to give tomorrow a miss. Now training my baby to sleep using PU/PD method. Hope he can sleep without pating and sleep longer.

Annie,
Think some man are not good in taking care of infant. My hubby also become impatient when baby cry. But I think he still love baby and you. Give you hubby more time, think when baby grow bigger till he can manage, he will help out more.

annie,
do take care of urself! and Nesher too! dun worry, all will be fine soon.

tubbymummy,
yeah lor, dats wat i tot too, sucking fist doesnt necessarily mean hunger, sometimes cld be for comfort... thanks!
and enjoy urself with ur inlaws.. tiring yeah, but im sure they are gg off soon right? heehee. does Skyla reject FEBM? i haf 2 milk bags and 2 glass btls of FEBM.. was told dat they haf a weird taste and dat shdnt store ebm in glass btls... hmm... FEBM really got weird weird taste?
need to try one btl on Jarius soon, see whether he will reject or nt...

re: greenish poo
sometimes its due to more foremilk intake than hindmilk intake...some old folks say its due to bb kenna scared, dats y greenish poo (lao cheng sai) they call it in hokkien...

cassey,
Kyle certainly is a good boy! so envious of u.

btw, im nt gg tmr...
really dun haf the confidence to handle jarius alone at orchard and i've got nth to buy at the taka fair too.

Cassey - wah yr Kyle is an angel babe... mine will cry till he turns purple and stiffen up is body.

LFB - glad to see u back.. was wondering where u went... hope all is well with u

Ahnet- all tis while u hvn't fed bb with febm??

FirstMum- wht is the crying down mtd?

BlueDream - wht PUPD mtd?

Jackie- yeah Noah always cries till his tears wets his lashes... macham so poor thing lidat...

VogueMum- at nite if ur bb is sleeping, i think dont need to wake her for feed ba... so tt she can stretch the sleeping hrs and u can rest as well...

So far Noah still can't achieve more than 4hrs stretch at night... so still waiting hopefully...

MummyAsh - congrats! Wht a relief it must be to hv bb sleep thru day n nite... waiting for my turn.. ahhahhaa

Annie- cheerup mayb ur hb has other things on his mind so tt's y appears impatient.

annie
i rbr my fren who oso kena hfmd b4 say its like swallowing razor blades. told my hb and he totally agreed! guess u hv to bear this initial painful period

I nurse in the MRT train today! hahaha first time, but that's with my mum and her friend on each side of me lah, so feel damn secured!

My boy's ear is still flaky and smelly, bring him to my usual GP, lucky it's just cradle cap kind of skin problem, apparently he got too much oil from his ear. And the GP charges a discounted rate of $15 only, unlike my PD who charges for $70 for each consultation.

MummyAsh: Congrats! Hope our babies are going to sleep through soon! I also found that my boy sleep a bit longer in the day and night too. The first sleep will sleep fr 10pm+ to 3am

Vogue_mommy: During night time, my boy sometimes only latch for 10 min and can last for 2 hours! So no worries about not drinking to the mark!

Annie: Pls be strong! Whenever I have bad thoughts, I'll sms my hubby to say that I'm depressed. My hubby will know what I mean, sometimes we can thrash things out or at least he'll try to come back earlier. Anyway my hubby has been coming home after 10pm and leaving before my boy wakes up for his training, dun even get to carry my boy.

LFB: wanna meet us tomorrow? How's your diebetes?
Below is the updated namelist, removed Ahnetsan and Q7, I'm coming with my mum tmr sorry for replying so late cos I'm not sure how's her schedule

Updated namelist
1. Superbee
2. bbaugustine
3. chidori
4. bbjun
5. hua_jing
6. Mummy Ash
7. Artist
8. Cassey
9. lovelytulips
10. caramelle
11. kikismom
12. styliciously
13. Kikeeko
14. shelisa
16. Dolly and mum
16. jackie (TBC)
17. bbpotato (TBC)

Hi Sweethalo,

hee hee, I am fine. Just been silently reading cos dunno what to post. My boi also not hitting 4 hrs at night, the most 3 hrs. I am also patiently waiting for him to do so. But ok lah, as long as he do it himself.
But now that he is bigger, I am enjoying everyday, seeing his smile and goo goo gaa gaa along with him. Cute hor?

Hi dolly,

tmr visiting my ob cos I missed my 6 weeks consultation. Hopefully the stupid diabetes gone liao! Thanks for the invite but I have to rush home to pump after the visit. Can imagine my bust becoming rock hard after the long hrs of waiting for the test to be done. I have to be there by 830am and will prob leave at 1pm. Sigh.
You gals enjoy. If you don't mind, can you help me check whether FP selling their baby gym and the price? If troublesome, no need, it's ok. Thanks in advance!

Hi LFB,
Good luck to your test tomorrow!
Are you bringing your boy for the checkup? If so then he can help your relieve the rockiness. But I do agree going out whole day is really tiring!
Tomorrow might not be going down to the fair if it's too crowded or my mum too tired. But will look out for you if I do.

Other mummies, please help check out FB baby gym if you happen to be there!

LFB - good tt u are enjoying every moment... yeah Noah is smiling n laughing lots now... i enjoyed him most after his first feed in the morning.. always so happy n cheerful then... but he also cries alot the rest of the day, and it's quite energy zapping for me... hehehe...

Is your boy born on 19th as well?

Oh yeah,my boy also most cheerful in the morning! He will go cranky on the bed, then I have to carry him out to the living room and he'll smile at/talk to anyone for at least an hour or so. I'll normally use this opportunity to do my morning chores though
I wish he's like that for the rest of the day! haha

annie,
sorry to hear about your hubby's outbursts. it takes time to get used to having a baby at home after years of quiet couplehood and freedom. over time your hubby may be more in sync with the changes. hang in there for nesher and chin up! we mummies are very strong, we can overcome the odds!

lfb,
welcome back! good to know that you are enjoying every moment of motherhood

sweethalo,
my boy also gd mood in the mornings. but hes not been sleeping well. wakes up every hour or so to scream, need to be rocked back to sleep. hope things will look up soon. haiz.

My boy so tired after today's outing... he goes cranky and slept since 8pm... didn't wake up after moving him out of sarong, change to diaper and place him in the cot... keeping my fingers crossed, hope he dun fuss too much later, else might not have the strength to join you all tomorrow!

Sorry to disturb. I am a May 09 mummy.

I bought a Pupsik baby pouch from ebay (2nd hand) but realised the cutting is not suitable for me! Looks like I am destinated to be a sling user...wahahaha...

I am selling my baby pouch
http://www.pupsikstudio.com/catalog.php?item=112
I bought the M size de,suitable for gals from 45kg to 60kg.

Interested PM me. I am letting go at $20 only inclusive of normal local postage.

annie >> jiayou..
i suggested macs cos thot convenient.. but any vanilla ice cream will do.. and hopefully can cheer u up abit too..

Wah! Tomorrow gathering got lotsa people! Hope you all have fun ya?
Take pictures!!

Staying up now waiting to pump then can go sleep. Hope pumping will increase night time milk supply... yawn...

Ahnet, I REALLY HATE the taste of bm. Wahaha! I always taste ebm before offering it to skyla, just to make sure that it hasn't gone sour. I can't stand it. Fresh ebm, to me, is not nice already, thawed febm even worse. *faint* Never knew there would be the day when I say my own milk taste awful wahaha. Give me Meiji low fat milk any day! I don't think the taste is affected by the bottle you use to store ba... I use the milk tray thing to freeze the ebm in "sticks".

Jackie, skyla has been crying with tears too. BIG BIG ones rolling down her face, so ke lian that kind haha. Even after she stops crying, her eyes stay red for quite a long time.

TubbyMummy: My boy still sleeping and my breast leaking.. so just pump a few minutes to release the milk out.

How you use the milk tray? I've not started using it, do you just freeze a few sticks and keep it in one zip lock bag? what kind of zip lock bag do you purchase? Is it those freezer types?

i wanted to buy the milktray too but diff milk diff date cant keep in same ziplock right the need alot ziplock with diff date? i understd it's any normal ziplock cos EBM is antibacteria. jayden just seen doc got slight fever & lung got water... cfm tomolo all the more cant join the gathering already. wow 19pax + pram & bb goanna b very happening can imagine ppl staring haha.. enjoy gals. gotta go.. jayden still haven slp.. sigh..

Createjoy: hope jayden will get well soon.
for milktray, you mean any ziplock bag? Not sure the normal ones can be placed inside freezer or not though.

Kendrick woke up 30 min after I pumped, he suck for total of 50min on both sides and just slept back again, hopefully these hindmilk can tahan

my elder boy is running a fever nw, hope will go down later otherwise will hv to give e gathering a miss.

Keeping fingers crossed.

dolly,i understd fm mumsfairy was any ziplock bag or container. i pimping now, 1st to,e so lg interval 7+hr... he's beeter now. ar least nt like aftn must carry upright then less fuss, lie dwn cry v hard. doc say lung got water biock airway he nt cmfy so dont want lie dwn,

superbee it's ok, i also find similac bulky but nw find it gd cos ml is engrave and bigger than friso & nan btl.

<font color="cc0099"> ahnet &amp; sweethalo, keke... Thanks! That's why I said I really don't need to start Kyle on sleep training. He's quite a dream baby... Dunno if it's got to do with what the books say about tending to him immediately in the first months >> and him being less demanding as such...? If all babies could be like him, I wouldn't mind "ordering a few more". I'll have half a dozen pls!

He still hasn't gone back to sleeping his >6hrs at night. But at least it's consistently about 4.5hrs these days. Thankfully I can be a SAHM so there isn't that pressure to quickly push him into a sleep routine, in a sense

ahnet, sad that you're not joining hey. HumpH! Call my name so loudly then "put my aeroplane"
*grumble grumble grizzle* Another time huh!?

sweethalo, firstmum's "crying down" method should be just let baby cry it out method, if I'm not mistaken.

dolly, whoa, very kua zhang. Bring mum for gathering some more!?!?! She'll feel young again being among us!

Superbee bumped reservation up to 18pax. I hope enough turn up to fulfill that instead of the original 12-14... Hmm..
See some of ya girls later! </font>

sweethalo, PU/PD is Put Up/Put Down, it is to train baby to sleep. When baby cry, pick him up but after 5 mins, no matter whether baby is crying or not, put him on the bed. If he cry again, pick him up again. This will continue till baby is settled or when it is time for next feed. This is to get baby to familiar with the new routine.

Very tiring cos baby is more heavy now. But if don't start now, baby will be heavier.

Cassey,
U r wrong, Josef is a fussy and impatient boi. He can wail n wail for milk. And when we feed him, he will continue to fuss b4 drinking. We just let him cry it out and clam down b4 feeding

Annie,
Is there anyone that u can shout for help?? Take a breather whenever u need ya. Slowly let your hubby carry Nesher when bb is in a good mood. N let hubby handle it his way, i am sure he can find a method that suit Nesher n him. Chin up k

Tubbymummy,
Skyla so drama kekeke, Josef only wet his eyelashes. I am still waiting for big big tears drop rolling down his face :p

aiya missed the posts these few days... will have to give the gathering a miss le... next time ok..

anyone's baby on mostly breastmilk and not pooing everyday??? my baby been pooing every other day... each time A LOT of poo... he doesn't look unhappy though..

Sorry, would really wanna come but think got to give it a miss, I've a sore throat last night again!
BTW, do you all have sore throat on and off? I had it since giving birth, even during my confinement where people say we could eat all the heaty stuff without any problem. Just thinking is it the air-con and breastfeeding? I drank a lot of water even during night time.

Cassey: My mum came to SGP to visit me on Monday, she dun wan to be left alone in the house mah

The updated list:
Updated namelist
1. Superbee
2. bbaugustine
3. chidori
4. bbjun
5. hua_jing
6. Mummy Ash
7. Artist
8. Cassey
9. lovelytulips
10. caramelle
11. kikismom
12. styliciously
13. Kikeeko
14. shelisa
15. jackie (TBC)
16. bbpotato (TBC)

dolly, ya, I buy those ziplock bags for freezer, the smallest size. Each bag contains milk from only 1 day, and I'll write the date on the bag. several of these smaller bags goes into one big gallon size freezer ziplock bag, so I have double layers of bags, so to speak, cos I keep the milk sticks in the same freezer where I have other food stuff. They're in another drawer, but still, same air right? I just feel better about them being double bagged.

createjoy, ya, 1 day 1 bag, it does seem like a lot of bags, so I buy the smallest possible ones, which is "quart" size (I haven't managed to find any smaller than that for now). There are even smaller sandwich bags, but they are not meant for freezer I think. I used them at first cos they're lots cheaper if you buy house brands like Giant, but I find the plastic very thin, so I stopped using them. The freezer bags are thicker, I feel safer... Hope Jayden feels better soon...

amk_gal, my girl (on TBF) hasn't pooped since LAST THURSDAY. And when she did poop last Thur, she hadn't pooped for 4-5 days before that as well. Then in 1 day, she pooped 4 times, huge amount each time. Very traumatising for me and hb who have to clean up a huge mess each time. Now waiting for her next round of bombs... Getting very scared cos it's been 1wk, next bomb will be horrible! If she doesn't poop in the next 2 days, I'm calling her PD, cos it's not normal to not poop for more than 1wk.

Annie/Qi7, hope you girls are recovering already. Rest more!

bbPotato, haiyoh now your boy's turn to fall ill. Hope it's just a bug and fever goes off quickly.

All ill mummies and mummies with ill babies, try to get as much rest as you can between tending to babies ok? Drink A LOT of water and hang in there!

annie, try to talk to ur hubby again.. As long as he gives his support, i am sure u will be able to handle any problem.. If this don't work, perhaps u ll like to get some professional help?.. Or speak to someone.. Let it all out.. Dun coop urself. Worried tt u will get too depressed.. stop thinking of suicidal tots... I can pray for u.

Dolly, cassy.. i will learn from u hw to nurse in public! .. I dont own any nursing tops.. So ihave to lift up my shirt everytime... Let's see.. If nt i ll slip into nursing rm to feed. ll bring along a bottle of ebm just in case! Heh

TubbyMummy:Yeah, heard that so long is on TBF, any pattern of pooing is OK leh. Mine still poo a few times a day though. And with the rotavirus vaccine, he poo a bit more again.

MummyAsh: hehe, I wear both nursing top and a poncho, so no need skill one, just thick skin will do! But today can't join you all as I started to have a bit of sore throat again. Hope you feel better now, read from fb that you almost kenna accident

Re: Poo... Noah poos everyday afew times... esp aft morning feed... he gets all red and serious when he is concentrating to poo... then after tt he looks very happy with himself... i suppose maybe that's part of why he is so happy in the morning..whahahhaha

Dolly - try taking some honey water ba.. maybe will help..sometimes I wake up and find my lips cracking even tho i drink lots of water...

Cassey - Cry it out mtd.. will it intro alot of air then kena colic?

dolly, forgot to answer you about the Swing. I bought thru spree was just the Swing set, without cooler bag or whatever. In the Swing box comes with standard attachments (funnels, extra valve/membrane etc), 2 milk bottles with caps (don't remember got teats or not), and a drawstring pouch for chucking the Swing into. I paid about SGD200 in total, inclusive of shipping. Then I went Best Denki to buy a power converter for about $10-20. That's the total I spent. I can't compare/comment on the power, cos I haven't used the freestyle or PIS before...

sweethalo, skyla also happiest in the morning, with super big grins and all. Sleep longer too
Wonder why. She still hates baths. Think she's awake now, and just kicking about in her bassinet by herself. Shall go check on her now.

hi gals!

quite sometime nv log in and found dat today u'll r having a gathering! hope u gals njoy yrself!! hope every1 r fine!

eversince hv bb hardly hv my own time...long long time no shopping le...brought bb to ntuc f juz awhile than he cranky le so now i prefer to stay at home!!

TubbyMummy: Thanks for the info about the Swing, still thinking, see whether got sale at Taka baby fair though. Maybe will go there tmr and hope not many people there.

jam75, sweethalo: Yeah, bringing baby is kinda hazzle, but once you are prepared and out, like can go on and on leh

so bz with bb everyday.. still no guts to bring bb out alone.. so far we have been going out as a group, my hubby, my parents and sometimes my bro.. already so difficult.. cos need to take turn to eat.. my gal is ok with pram only if it is moving.. if not, she will scream.. and even when the car stop at traffic light, she will also wiggle and show irritation.. very naughty

she has no sleeping probs in the day or night.. but she has a big prob.. feeding.. still very fussy with her feeds.. sometimes she can take more than 1 hr to drink her milk.. which means i hv to throw away the old milk cos fm cant keep long.. how i wish i got enough bm for her

my parents are asking whether i need to see doc.. any advise? i think it is more of personality rather than sickness

annie,
do cheer up.. i will be praying for u and nesher

Hi Sweethalo,

yep, my boi born on 19 June, same as yours also, right?

First mum,

hi! Yes, motherhood is getting better. I am able to handle baby better now, thank God!

Went for my GTT. My daibetes gone, hurray! But was told to monitor my diet.

Anyone did c sect and started jogging? I am dying to start jogging but dunno 2 and half weeks considered enough rest.

jam75, sweethalo, fat mom,
Take bb step. Start gg out alone with bb and walk around the estate. Than slowly progress to supermarket, than take mrt. etc.

Like that can built up your confident. Otherwise 24/7 stay at home will go mad leh

LFB,
Congra

Hi everyone! Can i join in??? I've been a silent reader since i first realised i was preg. I have since delivered a set of fraternal twins - a boy and a gal in June.

They were born a couple of weeks early cos the twin boy's weight was not increasing after being monitered closely for a month. My twins were born on the 8 June, the older twin (also the lighter twin) - was born at 1.6kg, and the gal at 1.9 kg.

They stayed at the NICU/Special unit 3 weeks and 2 weeks respectively.

I did not have a confinement lady to help out, so i cared for the twins since they came back. So that incl bathing them, washing their bottles, etc. I hope i do not suffer rhumatism when i get older. Sigh...

My babes are now 11 weeks and they are so much bigger than the time i first laid my hands on them. (I could only carry the smaller twin after a week though).

I am currently breasfeeding them and using the formula when supply is low.
The gal takes on the breast well, but the boy does not seem to be able to find the nipple though its just in front of him !!!! keke...I thus have to express it out for him.

Actually could be bcos he was on the drip at the hospital and the NICU only allows parents to see the babes between 12-2pm, and 6-8pm, thus the nurses take over most of the feedings - by bottle. Thus he takes the bottle better than direct feeds.

Both of them take abt 100ml abt 3 hrly. Are yours more??? They weigh abt 4 over kg now i think. I give them more, they also cant finish so i have been on the 100ml for a month already.

sweethalo,
no wor, have nt tried feeding FEBM..why ar? why u seem so shocked dat i havent started freezing ebm?
hee my 1st FEBM was dated 8th Aug. why ar? and the febm are at my mum's plc! my hb doesnt like the idea of frozen ebm... he rather fm if dats the case....

LFB,
glad dat ur diabetes is gone! hurray!! but stil must monitor diet yeah?

mummies who went for the gathering, dun forget to post pics on fb yeah?

Jackie, Ahnetsan
thanks. Now is to get back to my original weight. Hee hee. Will take a long time. Got to eat right and make sure I don't overeat carbs and sugary stuff!

I also don't bring bb out alone. Waiting for 1 fine day. Am monitoring his behaviour and timing. Once I catch it(soon, cos I roughly know he is awake after morning feed and bath).

fat_mom: My boy same as you! The pram need to be moving, else he'll be cranky. And then if inside the car, he can detect motion even better than me, haha, once the car stop, he'll cry. You are the best person to bring baby out alone lah, cos if she's hungry, can always feed her

For breastmilk, demand=supply, you have to keep letting her latch, then the supply will come.

LFB: I'm so happy for you! Yeah! diabetes is a life long thing, good that yours gone after giving birth

Poko1: Welcome to the thread, wow, you silence reader for so long huh! Not easy to take care of one baby, let alone twins! Good to hear that you are doing fine.

bbpotato- i tried not to think but evil thoughts keep entering my mind...
guess been some times i attend church...

LFB- yah nesher was born on the same day as yr boy..he been a good boy recently. he will sleep on his own while i do hsework...sometimes he want ppl to talk to him &amp; if i free i jus lie down beside him &amp; read story to him &amp; he like to said ang gal...or made alot of noise.. daddy said he a busybody ppl talk he wan to get involve too...he rather fat. last wt &amp; ht r 6.4kg &amp; 59cm long when he was less than two mths. alot of ppl thought he is 4 mth old baby..

bluedream- las nite hubby come back early &amp; make an effort to coax nesher to sleep, spent an hour &amp; he still refuse to sleep ... while i was in dream land then he woke me up saying he tired i jus pat pat nesher &amp; he asleep in less than 10mins... c lah.. father &amp; son jus cant click

ahnetsan/firstmum/tubbymommy/fatmom- thks

sweethalo- he worry he cant hit his sales
target..so blame us for taking so much of his time..

mummy ash- talked to him many times &amp; he been gettin short temper nowadays.. somemore the witch (MIL) trying to add fuel to the fire.. whenever he go back home ther sure be quarrelling cos tat stupid witch don know gave him drink wat &amp; he will always find fault wif me

chris38- yah the throat is stil painful when i eat or drink... good thing rashes on the hand slowly gone..

dolly- sometimes wonder it take a man &amp; a woman to produce a baby but y r we doing the job of taking care while the man went missing..

11beans- tried the vanilla ice cream &amp; is still painful leh...

Jackie- nesher rather close to me &amp; he will refuse to drink if his daddy feed him &amp; will cry out loud ..once take over i calm him down 1st as cant afford him to have more wind in his tummy then talk to him &amp; he start drinking..do not wish to trouble my parents ...

artist- hope u recovering soon. i hate being sick

poko1- welcome.. one already headache to me &amp; u got two.. u must be really tough to handle two alone

Annie,
bb will know when to be good cos he knows who loves him. Tell you hubby to be patient and Nesher will definitely reward him. I agreed that when work becomes difficult, it will affect our daily life. Just explain nicely to him. Pray to God for wisdom(to say the right things), health(so that you will recover), peace of mind(so that you will not let evil thoughts creep in) and lastly happiness!

My boi went for his rotavirus last week. He weight 5.95kg then. Yesterday I measured him, he is abt 61cm liao! Big fellow too! My friends also said he looks like 3-4 months. I think the milk powder very power! He is on half EBM and half FM.

tubbymummy, wow my boy also poo 3 times after no poo for 2 days. super sticky and thick poo. yucks! ok today is day 2 without poo... gotta monitor...

poko1, must be challenging taking care of twins!! my boy born at 2.9kg also take 100ml every 3 hourly so i guess must be ok. he's around 5kg now.

anyone having baby whose appetite decreased? mine used to drink 120ml at one time now hardly finishes 100ml...