(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

EC_mom, thanks, will read up then decide whether to invest hee... wanted to buy one when i was still preg, now not sure cos my toilet is very small, like no space to put the pool.

Caramelle, why I need to pump is a LONG story.. sigh. My mil is super anti breastfeeding.. and she keep wanting to bottle feed in the initial weeks, and insist that the baby is not feeding enough from my breasts that's why keep fussing for milk every hr (which is perfectly normal for a newborn) ... so to allow her to ffed baby bottles.. and to prove that I HAVE milk.. I pump out to show her. sigh.. So at 3rd week old, my baby is introduced bottles, and ever since, he is fussy. He will latch but he will fuss if the let down is slow.. so it makes it of a problem at times when I latch him in the daytime.. it depends on his mood, sometimes he wants to latch, sometimes he doesnt.. thank God he will always latch in the evening and nights tho. ;)

Dovey, my baby used to have those.. then I bathed him in a can of stout mixed with normal bathing water once.. and it actually worked! tho.. it sounds gross. heh

Superbee/Caramelle, Thanks for your advice in making baby sleep. I will try the baby gym later... but I dont have any mobile for him cos I dont have a cot. He sleeps in a playpen which doubles up as a cot.. and I realised that the commercial mobiles cannot be fitted onto playpens.. sigh. I guess his insomia may be due to the construction noise too, I am staying beside City View which is still in the midst of constructing... and the drilling noise can get really irriating at times.

Re: changing of bottles-
Is there a need to change that frequently? .. I realised that the milk bottles are REALLY CLEAN.. maybe cos I had been feeding ebm. BUT.. I saw those belonging to my nephews who is on FM, the bottles can get quite dirty and cloudy at the base of the bottles.. I guess if we are feeding ebm, there is no need to even scrub the bottles cos there's hardly any powdery residue.. so it means the bottles can be used longer?? hhee .. But I need to upgrade to bigger avent bottles now that my boy is already using the smaller ones to the max!

P.S. I am pumping and typing at the same time.. hehe.. and resting a bit finally.. why? Cos i just brought my boy to my mil's place (oppo my hse) for a while so that I can do some hsework at home in peace! hee..

Mummy Ash,
most mil not good one. mine also think that i should bottle feed and not breast feed (she never breast fed her babies herself but claimed that she got lots of milk and got engored that she got to ask for medication to stop milk flow) tat time when i had my first child, i did not latch my child properly and hardly got breastmilk even i pumped vigorously. mil went to "publicise" to her frens and relatives that i got no milk! super sien and stress. no wonder milk supply low! Now for my second, i am able to latch properly but sadly i could not afford the time to latch him/pump as my elder son keep on wanting my attention... haiz...

FM only made bottles cloudy and dirty after long usage. hehe... i only changed the avents bottle after 1 year.... blah.... it turned cloudy... saw a thread and other mummies changed avent bottles after 3 months...

Re: mouth cleansing
i only clean bb's mouth with warm water and about 2/3 times per week, i will use the 3 rifles brand mouth cleanser to clean bb's mouth

re: gathering at orchard
hehe love to join the gathering but scared bb fussed and cry during bottle feeding leh....then cannot ÿum cha already... mummies going all latching bbs on the spot?

superbee, my nick - bbjun.

just to ask if any of u have registered in BABYCENTRE? I gave birth on 1st June 09..but it says 2months 3 weeks old..

Any one knows how to calculate exactly how old is BB??

Jackie: Hope you get well soon!

MummyAsh: No lah, I haven't tried latching on MRT yet. I feed him full full before going out

Why not tried latching on again? My boy fall asleep most of the time during latching, however, because he poo most of the time during feeding, I got to change him and wakes him up again!

neeciel: Yes the list is for facebook,I didn't put the email address down cos not sure if you all wanna that to be out in the open or not?

caramelle: do you know wat the BF week at HPB about? I saw the adv on TV but not sure what's it for.
I wash my boy's mouth at the begining of bath everyday when the water is still "clean"

dovey: I applied calendula cream on my baby face, now no longer got the white head, but still a bit rough lah. bbaugustine suggest got to clean baby face after breastfeeding cos our milk might have smeared on their face causing those bumps.

artist: Yeah, you should come to our gathering and latch when you are with us, once you tried it out, then you won't feel strange anymore.

mummyash > bathing bb in stout and normal bath water? then need to rinse with water again after that? but mine only has "you pao" on her face leh... yours is on body too?

dolly > where can i get calendula cream? oo.. i shall clean her face after i feed to prevent new ones from popping out...

can i ask how often does your bb poo? mine used to poo v often, but these few days, she oni poos once or twice a day, and each time a lot! i m on total breastfeeding...

Re: Gathering @ Orchard
i normally latch lying down, seldom latch the usual seated position... not sure if i can handle latching outside... won't b able to find a bed to latch mann... :p

dolly,
i long time already stopped BF. just thinking it would be quite weird if all latching and i use bottle... hehe..

Dovey,
haha... taka got display beds... u could consider latching there... hehe (just kidding only lah) ;p

Artist
my gal also sleep longer in aircon room.sometimes, she "forgot" to wake up for her feed. hahaa

EC Mum
no need to envy.. i hope she is more active at times and k grow bigger faster. Fun to play with when she knows how to coo and play with me.

fatmom
ya i find it strange in the beginning.. she kakaka laugh like some1 playing with her. My mum claims that it is bed fairy talking to her and teaching her.. well....errrrrr
my girl is also growing till the bath tub doesnt fit liao.. if she kick alittle bit too hard.. her head will knock onto the edge of the tub. but i wont be changing for time being.

Kaelyn turn 3 mths today!

re: gathering at orchard.
I need a room to express while someone carry her? SIGH!!! I don't think I can make it this time!

Dovey.. mix 1 can of stout and bath water.. it will be very diluted, dun need to rinse with water after that... I dunno why it works.. I didnt believe at first.. but no harm. heh.

Qi7, there is nursing room in Taka .. or u can walk to paragon to pump.. but the one in taka is common room, ie you may need to express in front of other nursing mummies.. but I think the one in paragon is private.
I am sure other mummies dun mind babysitting ur baby girl for a while la! lay her in a stroller? The last time I saw ur girl, she was so well behanved and she can lie there on her own and play by herself! .. If u rem, I was told by you to watch her in case she wants to burp. hehe

Superbee, put me in the list too.. I will try to make it unless my baby fusses. If not, I will surely go la.
Let us haf some TAI TAI lifestyle and enjoy high tea sessions before we go back to work!

artist,
guess what.. another new feeding pattern, feed while bb in the car seat cos our car seat at home now.. she is so naughty.. looks like i hv to give the taka gathering a miss.. cos dont know what she is up to then.. every feed new pattern

i am going to stop pumping soon.. feel so left out when there is so much discussion on bf and pump.. what jabs ur son took at 3 mths? i just booked appt with polyclinic for 6 in 1.. not sure whether i should proceed with other jabs at the pd

vogue mom,
hv u updated ur profile with the actual birth date.. before i updated it.. the website was computing based on edd.. now it is accruate alreay..

caramelle,
i will clean her tongue with a separate cloth before i clean her face with another cloth.. then follow by the usual bath routine.. she likes me when i clean her tongue..

fifi,
thanks.. maybe my gal is fat so tend to sweat more.. and the damp hair irritated the ear and neck..
yeah lor.. hair stand looks like boy.. all the aunties always ask me whether she is a boy boy.. xian

11 beans,
after u use the neck float, does ur bb neck get red n sore.. mine still does.. and it looks so raw

doglefox,
i also got lots of ppl asking me whether i ate lots of beef during pregnancy.. cos they equate beef = more hair.. i dont know true or not.. but i did make it a point to eat steak once a wk for iron when i was pregnant cos i low blood

mummy ash,
my bb also fuss a lot during the day.. now my mom and i take turns to care for her.. but when she is not around, i usually hv to skip going toilet cos the only way my bb can sleep deeply is on my chest or carrying her.. she cant lie down for more than 15 mins..

cutekitty,
i read somewhere that when bb smile in their sleep, it means that they are contended.. so i guess ur bb is enjoying her sleep

yes artist. suppose edd on 16 june. But i deliver early. so she's a preemie.

why u stop BF so early?

fat mom,
i just checked with my PD today on why my bb fussy during milk drinking. she said the possibilities are:

1) refux (could be silent refux too)- bbs are smart to associate milk drinking with uncomfortability esp when they have lots of gases in them...
2) distraction - need to feed bb in quiet places or places with lesser stimulation. sometimes bbs just want to play and dont want milk. so we dun play with them first.

maybe u feed bb in bb carrier? sakarly she likes. then u can come for the gathering liao. haha

qi7,
then Kaelyn n kris same birthday. they have the same initial K too. hehe

as why i stop BF... very very long story...*yawn* after i delivered kris, i discharged the very next day to rush back to take care of my elder son as my mil (who is the main caregiver) was going to overseas for holiday (what a timing!). didnt i expect that my elder son became so clingy to me that i couldnt afford spending time to BF kris neither could i spend time pumping. i was like rushing to the needs of 2 children by myself non-stop... so in the end... due to a lack of support... i stopped and did not pressed on. very remorseful to kris now...

as for gathering, i would like to put my name tentatively in first. cuz i just sprained my neck and wrist from child carrying!! went TCM yesterday and it seemed worst... hope i am better by the time we gather...else cannot carry kris. he's becoming heavier (6.75kg as of today)
updated namelist... (hope i did not missed out anyone)

1. Superbee
2. bbaugustine
3. chidori
4. Chloe (your nick?)
5. hua_jing (prefer office hour as it not clouded)
6. Mummy Ash
7. Artist

Breast Pump: Anyone using Medela Swing? Is it good? I'm looking for a single sided pump for use at home while leaving the Medela PIS in office.

I am a May_09 mummy. Sorry if I have interupted your topic. I am selling my Pumpin' Pal Super Shields (medium size) which I bought last month. I only tried to use once as it is not the right size for me. See http://www.mumsfairy.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=25&Itemid=31&productid=7 for more info.

This pair of angled breast shield allows most mums to sit back in a more comfortable, natural position while pumping.

Super Shields are Bisphenol A (BPA) Free and made with medical grade Polypropylene. Compatiable with all leading brands of breastpumps, including Ameda, Medela and Avent.

Interested mummies, please PM me. Thanks.

mummies, hw long r u keeping the frozen ebm? some of my stock is reaching 2mths old!.. So i am clearing those and freezing new ones as reserves.. bt r we really allowed to keep for only 2 mths (as per recommended by wbb)! .. Some websites say 3 to 6 mths!

Mum Ash, I intend to keep mine for 3 months...
but since i am still pumping, i will use up the old stocks 1st...soon i think stocks will be used up and chances are when go back to work, today's expressed milk will be tomorrow's feed..

ANY MOMMIES experiencing GROWTH SPURTS? THink my girl is undergoing it..since it is her 3rd month...She is like waking every alternate hour in the night..1am, 3am, 5am, 630am... i am so exhausted.. =( happened for 2 days already..

Any mommies start training babies for four feeds beside qi7?

vogue_mommy, did u try to nurse longer or give yr gal more ml in one feed?

mummy ash, i think ebm can keep for 3 mths frozen in our normal fridge. however it is to be in the inner compartment. some people dont keep long cos they store normal food inside and open close the fridge - thus say not so cold. i think i read before that, before feeding ur bb with ebm, taste it urself to make sure it has not gone sour.

vogue_mommy, ur bb is 3 months liao??? sometimes dwayne also fusses and wants milk every hr but as i latch him on, i dont really know how much he drinks but the funny thing is that when we feed him FM for his night feed, he only takes in 120ml (been this amt since 1 mth +)

I'm a Jun mummy too. My BB gal was born on 11Jun weight 3.26kg/50cm. But at two months she weights 6kg/60cm.Is she gaining too much weight?
Btw she's on total breast milk n feed on demand.
Any babies experinece losing of hair? My gal has a lot of thick black hair like her dad but she seems to be balding leh..Is this normal? Will the hair grow back?

Oh ya, I break my pumping record this morning. A total of 420ml for both breast at one go. So happy. Hope can maintain the ss..

BlueDream, i latch on at night.. but the most is 15 mins and my girl will fall asleep... cant wake her up... but when i put her on the cot, she will move her arms and legs and cannot sleep like tat ( eyes close) ...

Lovelytulips,
2 and half months... she is in her 3rd month... (is that how to calculate?)

hey gals! sorry for MIA for last thu gathering! early in the morn, next door renovation, quickly rush to my mum hse. there no PC no internet so cant inform u all and i only recall the gathering thu aftn! oops! so sorry... glad u gals have fun.

bluedream: I didnt train my girl. she started off 3 hours then fall into 4 hourly per feed automatically when she reaches about 2 mth old(4 hrs she cry for milk). night she stretch to 6 hours. Max I got 8 hours.

maybe she knows I started off 3 hourly pump faithfully plus feeding and taking care all by myself since her birth ( i never got much rest during confinement. After feed, pump, wash rest for one hour wake up feed again) so she is kinder to me in that sense?

otherwise she's still an attention seeker crying baby

vogue mummy,
Aisha just had growth spurt just b4 turning 2mths. she kept drinking until vomit coz drank too fast. now back to normal. lasted abt 4 days like dat i guess.

latching in public:
i also saw a caucasian lady latching on prolly 3-4mth baby after she was offered a seat. somemore the train was packed. n pple standing ard. so far, i latched on in cafe n fastfood joint. so convinient dunt need to find nursing rooms.

i've only started aisha's milk bank recently n my nails cannot make it coz aisha is fully latch on for milk n i'm pumping out extra to store.. i need to eat supplement n drink more milk. i think she is rejecting the bottle. havnt start feeding her in bottles - too lazy to clean bottles. already got big sis bottles to clean. sterilizer havnt use in more than a mth!

night feeds:
when is ur baby's last nite feed? possible to make the night feed earlier with EBM? i used to give no.1 FM at abt 9-10pm every nite b4 i started work. she'll b full til abt 3pm. Aisha started to b more awake in afternoon so now ard 10ish already asleep til abt 5 b4 she cry for a short feed. then sleep back til 7plus or 8. thinking of giving her EBM at night to train her on bottles n get her to sleep earlier but i scared will disrupt her routine if she cries instead when bottlefed. how? my mum ask me to feed EBM in morning but i was thinking of at nite to train her to sleep early.

wow biang been squeezing wn pumping till now wrist pain. haha artist same as u hor but mine is bcos of squeeze..bad timing, nw i back frm mum hse my mil not in be going temple every day 7th mth. die no one help me liao...

wow just done 'OT' the babies at gathering so cute! heehee... just wk up at 5am to pump after jayden wk me up for milk. now regret opening my friso 1, recently he can slp more than 3hr sometimes 5 aft EBM. i gave FM in order to gain more time to slp now like no necessary. aiyoh just open few days use waste my EBM dun use waste $.. no space to store EBM already and now the milkbag given by frd not much left, no spare cash to spend on such thing. sigh my MIL told my hb try not to get bbsitter , ask me dont work. little did she know we scrimping so hard. found a bbsitter start in Jan, i think oct i start to find job, sowly give up BM cos i'm too tired to b doing this... got thyhoid and low haemogobin, feels tired easily...

styliciously,
maybe you should train Aisha on bottle during day time better. cuz night time if she fussed, not only she would be deprived of sleep, we, the moms, would not be able to get enough sleep too..

createjoy,
maybe u need to invest or borrow an electrical pump instead of using the manual... like tat pump will siao one... ;p you got try latching your boy again?

wah your mil 7th mth organiser? how come need to go temple everyday one? since she everyday go out, you might as well come and meet us for gathering on 27 Aug 09? you can talk to us and not feel lousy n bored at home. we can help you look after your son while you go for milk expressing.

you should follow what your heart says. mil might not be right all the times. if you got a job, then at least you can have extra cash for yourself.

haha... ok no prob. u wanna join the gathering?
but hor must make clear to qi7 n createjoy that i can help provided my son not fussing wor... haha.. ;p

finally had some time to log in

so cute the babies pic! a pity i cant join the gathering..

back to work aredi from monday.. super or bak kak
hope everybody is doing fine!

vogue mommy

ermmm.. my boy been waking up like this since beginning, now 2 mths plus liao still every 2 hourly.. dunno how.. hahaa thot is normal cos he on total bm..

<font color="cc0099"> Kyle is 3 months and 2 days. He slept thru for 6-7 hrs @ about 7-9 weeks, but then went back to 3 hrs, sometimes 4 or 5.

Now that he's 3 mths, started some kinda "sleep training" cos I suspect he's waking out of routine, not cos he's hungry. The last 3-4 nights have been crazy. He was waking EVERY HOUR and thrashing about even though he isn't much of a crier. Woke about a dozen times between 4.30 and 6.30 this morn. ARGH!!!!!!
Even after sunrise feed, he stirs and frets within 2 hrs and I have to keep getting up to settle him *growl* Shall keep trying to see if any improvement.

artist, a number of our babies have their NB shoot photos available on Kelly Soon's blog... maybe can see from there. I haven't seen sweethalo's ones either. Re: Gathering, if you're not comfy latching on the spot, can always excuse yourself to go nursing room. For me, my nursing shawl and a newly bought cardi provides enough discretion.

fifi, no leh! Very cute! I see a lot of babies with static hair. I find them super duper Uber adorable!!! The hair kinda waves around and looks so soft. =)

caramelle, no worries about the how to bring out milk info. Sorry i didn't respond to your text in time. Haha!! But well, nvm, if have to throw, just throw out lor. What to do? And I don't usually ask for hot water unless in serviced restaurant or perhaps fast food/coffee places. Rarely heat milk up in public places cos then I get painfully engorged and leak. Next time, can ask for baby care rooms so that if you need hot water, you know where to go if none is available.

>> Can just buy bottle lids from hospitals. My sis bought hers from AH. Me running out of bottles... wonder if can just go to nursery and request for it...? Anyone has any idea?

>> It's not necessary to clean baby's mouth out when they're totally breastfed, actually. However, apparently getting them used to having their mouths cleaned will pave the way for intro'ing toothbrush when they break their first teeth in future. I don't do Kyle's during baths. I do it occasionally after feeds - either with a wet cotton ball or with a wet washcloth wrapped around my index finger. He just frowns and grimaces, mostly.

Raudha, no worries. I hope they helped!

Dovey, I mentioned SebaMed Baby Face Cream before. For about $25, they do a long way. Great texture in a very user-friendly pump bottle. I tried it but am still finishing up moisturiser prescribed by pd first.

Superbee, I think Chloe is bbjun. I'm interested in joining for gathering... will revert again to confirm! =)

vogue &amp; ahnet~, re: BabyCentre. I saw a link where you can go to re-enter date. Something like... not the right age? Or something... I unsubscribed some time ago... so not sure anymore.

<font color="0077aa">mummies, i was reading an article on baby routines especially sleep patterns. cos now baby sleeping around 12midnight, once i start work cannot like this..die i not enough sleep.

there's a feed/sleep/play routine i want to start. something mentioned in the article is when feeding baby to fully feed up to one hour. if she fall asleep during feeding, put her down until she wake up then offer another feed. this is to minimise her snack feeding. after one hour can start playtime either on tummy mat or just chit chat with mummy. when she's tired put her to sleep. it's normal for them to sleep abt 2 hrs each time in the day..in fact it will get lesser as they grow. but night sleep will be longer. realised that my rocking her to sleep, while it gets the deed done, it's actually not right because she'll associate that to sleep mummy must rock. advice given is to wrap her up with muslin cloth (so her hands wont flail around and this cause her to be restless) and lay her in the cot. if she cry, pat until crying stop but dont pat until she sleep. let her fall asleep on her own.

im trying it tonight...see if it works. this also means she can sleep in the cot now, no need to sleep on mummy's bed. a bit detachment required but good for her development in the long run..any other mummies your babies sleeping in cot and fall asleep by themselves instead of rocking? can share more advice?</font>

<font color="0077aa">Cassey, funny how im talking abt sleep routines and Kyle seems to need one! hehe..so mummy can have peace of mind. re glass bottles, sms me..</font>

<font color="cc0099"> Dovey, as babies' digestives systems mature, they no longer poo as often as before. BF'd babies don't get constipated, but even a few days without pooing is still nothing to worry about. Kyle does about 2 a day now. Some days more, some days less.

artist, Kyle also K and born 18 may
at 38 weeks gestation. He's huge now!!

RE: Frozen ebm, can last up to 6 mths. But i'm also doing first in first out whenever a btl is offered. Rule of thumb, bf tastes v acidic once it's gone off so smell n taste before offering to baby, kpg in mind some ppl say frozen ebm smells fishy... ?

lin, bbs shed their birth hair. I, too, find Kyle's hair thinner n see fine hairs on his pillow n in the tub

Haiya!! Silly Kyle just did a mighty poop while on the breast!! Now standing on my lap n still pooping n farting away. *chuckle*

OH OH OH!!! Kyle can now swipe at his toys with his right hand!! He gets this look of intense concentration, brings arm up, clenches fist, then swipes. It's hilarious to watch! *so happy*

hey ladies..

Noah has been hving trouble falling asleep in the day.. his naps are no more than half hr at best 1hr... and when he is awake he plays for awhile and starts fussing... it's kind of driving me nuts...

Nights- he is still waking 2.5 to 3hrly for feeds... so quite exhausting... he actually managed to sleep thru to 5am on two days... National Day and the monday after...that was it.. after tt it got worse... every hrly to 2hrly at night...

dono wht to do...but just hang in there...

<font color="cc0099"> caramelle, i share ur sentiments abt us gg on abt the same topic.
I'm starting kyle cos most books say 3rd mth a gd tm to start.
He does have a sleep routine tt used to work. He was able to self-soothe n go back to sleep just with patting or dummy.
But overseas guests' visit plus growth spurt now seem to hv thrown him way WAY off track.
Must persevere!!!

sweethalo, if he's a wakeful baby, it helps just to throw all normal bb sleeping habits out the window, I've found. it's tough in the beginning, but wakeful babies develop faster as they spend more time observing n learning. So in the end, it just might be a gd thg. Kp encouraging urself with tt when u struggle. It won't last forever. We can sms chat when our cray boys are up in the wee hrs! *hug*</font>

<font color="0077aa">sweethalo, don't despair dear. have u considered bottle feed (using EBM or FM whichever u have) for nights? i read that it settles them more. the routine im trying is to bottle feed her at night, i read it helps them to sleep better. at the boob they sometimes fall in and out of sleep. i'll start at 9pm with a sponge bath and change to sleepgear, massage, read her ABC 123 book, hug and cuddle then put her in her cot by 10pm all swaddled to prevent flailing arms. she should wake up around 1130/12midnight for a feed so i'll give 120ml EBM in bottle (which i pumped around 10pm so it's fresh and i wont be engorged through the night). in the day she usually takes max 90ml so give her more at night to keep her full. currently she's asking for feed at 10pm and another at 12midnight..so tiring for me to wake up twice so give her more in single feed.

in the day alya also seldom sleep much unless my mum rock her..aiyoh spoil the girl i tell my mum. so in the day i play with her, when she starts to yawn and rub eyes, i read that she's tired so settle her for a nap, but will only be for 2hrs then she'll wake up again. need to make her easy to settle cos im going back to work and neither infant care nor even my mum will have the patience i do to entertain my dear alya.</font>