(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

anyway i keep saying, girl on my lap...

so here it is, a picture of her on my lap. her fav spot for warmth while i pump,and i eat... that is, if the pacifier fail and she need carrying...

those mommies no confidence dont copy me. carrying still the best. no choice i cant be carrying her all the time, no need pump already!

2755403.jpg

Qi7,

U very steady leh and your ger also very guai. For me, I think in less than a min, my boi will b on e floor already. He likes to wriggle and move, can't keep still.

qi, wow ur ger very guai hor dont move around..i cant place my boy that way they'll keep moving abt..ur ger dont look like premmie, my #1 superb small size cuz he's premmie..

RE: shaking baby
Oh it says: don't hit her if she cry. Ok I hit myself... hahahahaha!

bbpotato: Sometimes she keep kicking her legs I'll tell her off and send her to her cot. One way to keep her nicely on my lap, + pacifier. Mostly on my lap=she dozing off. Not active time.

Spilt: she's tall. Imagine my hubby ay 1.88, me at 1.7. Last check on 22-Jul she is only 3.025kg. Just about the size of a NB.

I'm also trying to quit this lap thing. Once she outgrown my lap, i'll have to think of something else to contain her while I do my stuff. (she require X3 more attention nowadays)

qi,
hahaha you funny, hit yourself.
you girl very guai, I also place my boy on my lap if I cant get to calm him down, but he only quiet and look around for a short while and whine again.

you can get the FP rocker for your girl, my boy like to sit on it quietly, at least 1.2hr. not my elder girl also like to rock on it. so worth the $$$

TPY mommy,
your bb can take 4 hour nap very good. nowadays my bb dun sleep much in the day sleep half hour wake up want to play liao..
my gal is also delivered by Dr WH Kee..

I added some of you to my facebook already

Those mommies added me in FB can see my Kaelyn pictures with tubes all over in ICU... sigh...

Those were the days every 3 hour I ask the staff nurse at the ward to let me go down and BF her. It's amazing those mommies at my ward I never see them pump milk or BF at all even late at night when I could not sleep and keep myself awake so I can go down and feed her...

i haven't been posting here since gave birth but have been reading abt how u ladies coping with bb and breastfeeding. challenging ya? i m also busy with my #1 & #2 so hardly get to go online via laptop except clearing mails thr phone. my bb is coming to 6wks tmr and i m doing full latch except on occasion where i need to go out then i will pump to let maid or my mum to feed bb. so far my girl got no issue to latch or use pigeon bottle. her feeding timing is rather routine now. she sucked for abt 20-30min & can last for 3 hrs, for ebm can take up to 120ml now. i been tracking her daily schedule and it's quite routine now. the most challenging hr for me is from 10pm till 1am cos that is when she is doesnt want to sleep after feeding so it will be happy hrs with daddy. after 1am, she can sleep for 4-5 hrs now. i hope to reduce nite feed soon so that i can rest @ nite b4 back to work... hehee... i m a lazy mum.

btw, i have add some of u in my fb too. my fb is [email protected].

chidori, my boy also can't sleep long. Its a struggle putting him to sleep these days. He will always protest when its sleep time. And if there are visitors, he definitely wont sleep. Now my mum is carrying him round the house as he happily make her play with him.

long time no post.. i think i am the most useless one among all of u.. i just fired my maid.. long story.. and had a hard time coping even though my mom is helping me.. now my husband and i are staying with my parents.. initial plan was only during confinement

and i hv reduce mu pumping to every 6 hrly.. supply low.. only 50ml per session.. n aince i am so bz.. no choice to reduce pumps..

re supershield.. i find it good but not effective to empty breast so i normally use it for 10 mins and then 5 mins wo it to empty breast.. i also bought the hand free thing.. quite exp but serve mec well

re sleeping thr at night wo milk.. i am starting to train my bb.. 1st night she slept 7hrs wo feeding.. 2nd n 3rd night 5 hrs.. tonight is 4th night will see whether can maintain

bbaugustine,
my gal only nap for half hour yesterday
and worse thing is that she always want to be carried..
today I went TMC parentcraft for consultation, mild breast infection.. my mil came over to help look after her.. at least today got respite

Hi chidori,
Yes, I am glad that SiQi can sleep well.. Initially, she does not sleep in the afternoon since 1mth..also partly my in law.. they initially happily rocking n rocking sarong.. told them dont, always said never mind.. so SiQi enjoyed the rocking so much n refuse to sleep.. just short nap.. once stop rocking, she will be awake.. Then one fine day, my father in law fed up n scolded my mother in law.. Imagine 2 old ones quarrelled over a 2mth baby barely 2mth. now after my COMANDO training.. she has no choice but sleep in the afternoon cos tired no energy.. So I adviced them the trick.. n it worked.. they are happy cos no more rocking.. everyone happy..

I am a heartless mommy who believes baby behave thrus the conditions set by the parent..Initially, I dont belived it either.. but thru my son's stages of growing I realised that babies & children is smart by nature..They knows what they want n demand for it by crying..test water (like adult), they cant talk so they use crying lo..Of cos, we must not to neglect their needs that cos they are still vulnerable. as for wants/demands, I will not give in.. I always tell myself that SiQi is already very fortunate to hv grandparent to take care..

Imagine, those babies at the infant care.. will they be given so much attention when they cried? The caregivers have to take care so many babies (MCYS 1caregiver: 3 babies)..where got exclusive attention? Parents already known that and only expect their baby get their feed n no beating.. My friend placed her baby gal at infant care when she was 2mth old.. now 4yr, the gal is so independent n understanding..

Chidori, i think all babies like to be carried. My boy also wants to be carried and coaxed to sleep. Very demanding...And he takes a long time to fall asleep. I can take 1 hr to coax him to sleep then he sleep half hour.gek sim.

Qi: Thanks for the photo, wow your gal not bad, can stay there
What about carry her using a sling?

HuaJing: What is a FP rocker? Got photo?

SuperBee: Good that your girl has a routine!

fat_mom: how you train? Your girl won't cry?

This morning while my CL was preparing bathing water, Kendrick is left on the changing mat with his clothes partially taken off. I went in to peek at him, and saw there's droplets of water on his face. When CL went in to bring him out for bath she was laughing loudly! Those water which I thot was from CL cleaning his face, is actually sprayed by Kendrick when he peed! Some more CL had placed some part of the clothes to cover his vital part, apparently he's kicked it out of the way! hahaha!

Infant Massage Promotion

1 Hr - $25
Pls add $5 for transport charges for home visits

Good for babie’s brain development
Good for colicky babies
Assist in blood circulation
Helps in strengthening babie’s joint and muscle

Pm me for details and booking slots

want to ask personal experiences of those doing purely pumping with no latching...

1) Is milk supply maintained or do you notice drop in supply?
2) Is it true as per Baby Whisperer book that supply will dry up without latching?
3) Can supply be maintained with pumping regularly?
4) Does pumping regularly help increase supply?

anyone of you had ur menses areadi..mine ended nt long but my discharge is yellow in colour..any of u haf discharge after menses?

TPY mommy,
yup.. in aug..think for pap smear?
how come u chose this gynae, for me it coz he has night clinic near my place plus he is very reassuring.. but he is quite pricey imo..

doglefox,
my menses came 2 times already. after menses, i get my regularvaginal discharge (yellowish)

mummies who are breastfeeding,
do u find your breast sagging? mine is sagging plus it seems to be more far apart(nipple facing more outwards)..

mummies sorry mia so long..busy with baby since im handling her alone. tonight first time alone with baby cos hubby got night exercise.

sweethalo, i got read before that just pumping alone can affect supply because the latching produces a signal for the brain to produce more milk whereas pumping is just to empty out breast. lemme find the article and revert to you again. that's why when i pump and she's bottle-fed for that feed, i will latch her on for 5-10min after pumping even if just for suckling cos this is signal for brain to produce more milk.

chidori: I'm not sure if latching while lying down will get worse or not, cos I'm doing that
No worries lah, (years/months) later when baby no longer BF, our breast might become more normal again!

chidori, yes.. i realised mine very sagging.. n smaller when soft (no milk).. as for dr kee, see him next mon.. he is introduced by my aunt.. ya.. his service seem to be more pricy..

dolly, will wired bra cause our milk supply to reduce? worry cos going back to work.. i think better wear..

caramella, yes i read an article mentioned that too.. Qi also advice me that too..but latch n pump can be very tiring.. my bb wont suck nipple which has been pumped. cos the nipple become bigger..

TPY mommy yah im realising now that pumping and latching tiring because always need to sterilise pump items. other than that i think it's okay. even better is to pump while feeding, something abt the letdown signal given to brain but baby takes up my entire lap when feeding so cannot juggle pumping too.

btw mummies who store BM in fridge how long can we keep for?

also since it's my first few times feeding baby EBM, how much should i feed her? she's going to be 7 weeks old next week...

dolly,
how the magic bra can help me in future when i stop bf

TPY mommy,
yup he is on the high side but not the most exp area.. but I guess that coz he got 30 over years experience bah..
wired bra may cause blocked ducts..

waiting n waiting to feed siqi.. got ready everything (bottle, water, powder) to feed her but still sleeping since 7pm and missed her dinner feed (8pm).. .. now eye want to close.. ZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzz.. if she doesnt wt to wait for her last feed by 12am.. i will go n sleep..

but will feel even more tired when she sudden cry for milk in the middle of the night..

when she sleep too long, i will feel scared.. dunno what happened.. so will constantly check on her.. touch her heart to see if everything is fine..

Btw, i will pre-scoope the milk powder into a milk container, those we use to store the milk when we travel. This will help to minmise baby crying

Dolly,
Fisher price have many type of rocker, this is the rocker I have, is can be use form infant to toddler. Now my girl still happily rocking on it:

http://www.fisher-price.com/fp.aspx?st=2002&e=product&pid=38824&ncat=thumbnail&pcat=b_babygear

Sweethalo,
Below based on my experience:
1) Is milk supply maintained or do you notice drop in supply? No, it will increase base on baby age but off cause you need to pump regularly and it wont be as good as latching.
2) Is it true as per Baby Whisperer book that supply will dry up without latching? Yes if no pumping also.
3) Can supply be maintained with pumping regularly? Yes, I did pumping same time everyday will maintained

Chidori,
Yes, my breast very sagging after BF my #1 for 21mths, now even worst.
Told hb, he need to stand by money for me to do breast firming after I stop BF Cayden.

EC mom,
wow u bf your #1 for 21 months.. salute you..
i be very happy if i can last 6 months..

which type and brand of bras are you all wearing?

My doctor told me to auto feed if wait too long. (don't wait for her to cry for milk)

Q: what is breast infection?

sweethao:
1) Is milk supply maintained or do you notice drop in supply?
I everytime pump get different results. So long as generally per side 4 hrs i get 80ml=160ml both side, I'm happy.
2) Is it true as per Baby Whisperer book that supply will dry up without latching?
I'm not sure what the book says but supply will drop if u decrease number of pumps.
3) Can supply be maintained with pumping regularly?
Can. Plus latching to clear blocked ducts. And latch for 5-10min also good to clear ducts and stimulate more milk the next pump.

Supply will increase if u pump more mins. becuase its sending signal to the brain that baby is sucking more thus need to make more milk.

I'm pumping 6-7 times a day following my girl's bottle habits. I'm still wearing trimph nursing bra incase of latch/cranky plus easy open for pumping when going out.

chidori, now i suddenly rem why i stopped wearing wired bra.. too lazy to hand wash.. no wired bra can put into a bag n throw into the wash machine to wash.. LAZY reason la.. but blessing in disguise.. cos milk supply sightly increase.. but breast more sagging..

Qi, now i go n disturb my gal to wake up for milk.. cos cant wait anymore.. eyes roll up n see lot of stars already.. head will hit the table anytime now..

My boy still won't sleep after another 30min latch... CL feeding him another 2 ounce of EBM now.. hope he sleeps after that.

chidori: For bra, I got those very loose ones from Pigeon (those $9.9 for 2, wear at home), those cheap ones from Metro (but the cup not deep enough), some from MIM (need to go there and try), some from Triumph (so far most comfortable, but no padding)

HuaJing: Thanks for the FP rocker link! I had a very basic simple dunno what brand rocker.. but guess my boy can't use it for long, cos he kicks so much that one of his leg can be dangling from the side already.

me still waiting for my gal to wake up.. took a shower liao..

TYP mommy,
i went WBB class and no wired bras is what she advocated.. but downside is the sagging

dolly,
I'm thinking of getting the triump ones too.. maybe tomorrow go try.. thanks..

think all of u zzz liao.. me going to pump and force feed my gal if she still does not wake up.. good night to all

Me when got so early sleep? I just finish pumping and bottle feed my girl.Now need to wash and sterilize... yawnz...

No my bra no padding no wire. Just let it sag lor. It should go back to pre pregnancy size after stop BF. After finish BF can wear whatever you like.

I feel more comfory w/o padding and wiring.

wow, Kendrick comes for the next feed almost 4am! So the 2 ounce of ebm did the trick! But that's after a few consecutive latchings from 7pm+ till 11pm

chidori: Yes, must try all the style from Triumph, cos not all can fit well. I tried at least 4 or 5 different styles and in the end only 2 fits me well. But all Triumph nursing bras doesn't have padding.

Actually I'd like nursing bra w some padding, cos nipples a bit protruding after latching on and it's obvious below bra wo padding. So far only MIM got such padded non-wired bra. Maybe Mothercare got also, but the fitting is no good.