(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Skylermum, How bad is Drypers? Share leh... OMG lor, I just bought one big Jumbo pack to try... If really that bad, then I use 2 pc per day... Heehee minimised the Problem?

FB: I have added those who list their email address

Add me at [email protected]

Daylon's Blog - http://diddylove.blogspot.com/

tpy mom: why stress yourself so much to increase supply? cannot expect supply to increase just like that. if you starting follow the 3 hourly pump right from the time you give birth, you should do fine.

RE: taste own BM
my hubby did try a little, he says it's sweet

My girl power today. Yesterday night last feed at 11pm, sleep all the way till today 5:45am for her feed.

I know the drypers will leak but so far it's cheaper than mamy poko and pampers. I got budget to keep ma. SO after finish these 4 packets will move to giant. I want to try carrefour. Anyone tried carrefour yet?

woke up 4am pump milk and cant get back to slp!!!!

babycow,
body wash- sebamed & Aquaphor
shampoo- same as above
washing detergent- pigeon powder detergent
softener- not using
diaper- huggies ultra and nepia

BATHING NITE
even after confinement i try not to bath later than 8pm. i try to stay in aircon after i bath so wont sweat. somehow i feel that my body still not as strong as before, unlike after having no.1, fit as lead!!

DRYPERS
personally dont like it cos its so rough and abrasive on baby skin. but i guess its ok for day use. i have some samples i used and my boy gets "cuts" on his thighs.

PACIFIER
haiz, just gave in to it. to preserve everyone's sanity. bo bian.

tpy mummy,
I am using nuk bottles.. My boy reject avent! I had tried e normal latex teat for 0 to 6 mths but e hole seems too big and caused my boy to drink in gulps n made him vomit.. So changed to silicone teats with small feed hole.. N its working fine ever since.. he managed to finish 100ml within 15min.

good morning mummies!
pumping & surfing net right noe

body wash & shampoo - pigeon 2 in 1
washing detergent- pigeon liquid
softener- none
diaper- daytime dryers/petpet, night mamy poko
diaper cream - california bb calendula cream/desiti creamy

tpymummy
actually my mil tasted my bm b4 out of curiousity hehe she also say its sweet...

dolly
re ML mine is online system so when i applied b4 i start my ML, the system auto calaulate how many days left. i tink roughly its 3 weeks but i also din chk if its correct. better do that when i back to make sure the system din shortchange me

tpymummy
cold turkey! i cant tahan the pain lei... heard can take med?

TPY mommy,
BB Vanessa was delivered at Gleneagles... yourself?

My baby still rejecting bottles.. only once awhile ( depending on her mood) she wll drink from bottle but will not be more than 60ml..Any ideas to share? Got to get it sorted out before I returned to work.

My BB once due to fussiness refuses to sleep or feed from 8pm - 11pm...11pm was her last feed thereafter she slept and surprisingly the next timing she woke up was 4am..
Most of the time she wakes up about twice in the wee hours morning. Sometimes everyhour from 5am - 7am...
I guess it is too early for her to get into schedule?

SkylerMum & dolly
Sarong:
try not to rock.. I don’t rock siqi to sleep.. put her into sarong n gently pat her left chest to tell her is sleep time.. Why pat left chest? Cos her heart is there, she will feel more relax and assure.. My friend who is a Doctor @ Mt. E, old me this n it really work for SiQi.. of cos, it is not smooth sailing in the beginning..

Dryers:
Yes, I agreed.. it is bad...

Teat
Medela pump got teat meh? I will go n check the box..

qi7
Got diliegently pump 3hr during confinement.. but after confinement cant cos alone @ home taking care SiQi. On top of that must do housechore.. also that week son was sick so didn’t go to child care while my parent in law went for holiday.. so everything packed together.. so don’t hv a chance to pump n SiQi doesn’t wt to latch until 7weeks.

So adopted cold turkey lo.. tot of stop breastfeed

During confinement can pump 150ml for both breast.. now, like Great Singapore Sales.. 50% discount only 70-90ml.. Yesterday, managed to pump to 100ml..after using chichori’s advice

First Mum
Seem like all mommies have sleeping problem.. Repercussion effect..

Ya lo, agreed.. I also feel weaker after the 2nd one.. but I always feel sticky after breastfeeding or pumping… so always baths.

Mummy Ash
I am opposite.. Siqi can cope with the latex one but the silicon.. will go n hunt for the right teat today.

chris38
Don’t take med to stop.. CL said will hv lump in yr breast next time..
Less pumping session, don’t empty the breast n use cold pad to ease the pain lo

mummy ash.. can get it from guardian

tpy mummy.. i used nuk bottle with nuk teat b4 but not working for my boy ..
n why PD advice not to use avent bottle? just invested 2x260 bpa free avent. using one of them but the bottle leak like hell, better stick with bfree but cleaning is so troublesome x_x
me n hb tasted 100ml of colostrum b4 coz ate too much ginger so cant feed it to bb (heart pain) it was sweet at first then got ginger taste afterward

due to my colicky boy, i have these bottles..
avent- still have colic n the bottle leaks
lindam - not bpa free n need to heat up ebm separately.the air system a bit troublesome
mam- bpa free,still have colic but also need to heat up ebm separately.
bfree- the best but the cleaning part is sooo troublesome.

any recommendation on milk bottle with anti-colic, bpa free n easy to clean?

any idea which bottle is the best n easier to clean? need for outing n nite.
n do you all sterilized the bottle after each feeding or only wash it n sterilize once a day?

Re:

body wash & shampoo - pureen head to toe
washing detergent- pigeon powder
softener- kodomo
diaper- mamypoko. tried dryper(not good),now testing on petpet n fitti
diaper cream - desitin creamy n pureen nappy rash cream

Drypers - will cause my darling's butt to be red..like poor ventilation like dat..hurhur..so stop after finish the pack.

body wash n shampoo - bought kodomo, but my CL still using water alone
washing detergent- for soaking of diapers: pigeon, for clothes: Just my normal detergent
softener- dowry
diaper- have not bought any diapers yet, surviving on samples and give away from friends whose babies grow out of size. Currently on huggies size S @night but not so good, poo can leak
My CL suggested Mamy poko or Pampers

Somebody gifted us a big bag of drypers L and drypers XL! After hearing the reviews wonder if I'll use that!

MummyAsh: Diaper rash - Pureen (somebody pass to me) but my boy is using cloth diapers at home and we change it very frequently, so no rashes yet. Not sure after my CL left I am able to maintain that.
I also have some tinkling feeling from my breast, sometimes after my boy suck me dry... and I'd think that's the milk production too!

Hi Dolly, yes yes... that is the tingling feeling I am talking abt... even in between feeds, the breasts can feel a bit sore sore at times, and I used to worry if it is infection. Guess as long as there is no fever, it shld be ok right?

I always get more milk from my right breast than left breast from pumping... but I suspect there is equally vol of milk in both breasts cos after each pumping session the right breast always feels lighter than left breast! .. means left breast cant empty that well on its own! ... only after latching my boy will the left breast go super duper soft! ... anyone experience this ? I guess no matter how expensive a pump we invest in or how much massage we do, it can never emtpy as well as our babies?

added your in my FB, sorry if I missed out anyone my add [email protected]

Chris,
You cant do it straight away, must train your breast slowly.
e.g.if you pump 3hrly = 8times a day now, cut to 2x in 5days time so your breast get used to it.

dolly,
it good then you got to eat healthy food.

baby cow,
body wash: kodomo
shampoo: kodomo
washing detergent : pigeon
softener: didn’t use
diaper: cloth diaper (Day), Mamypoko (night)

tpy mommy,
wow you start work so fast, can understand your feeling. During my #1 time, I cry everytime I’m ‘free’ from work, miss her so much. **pat pat**
hey frozen EBM taste worst hor. :p

Qi7,
Shampoo/bodywash - Johnson
Detergent - Pigeon powder, no softener
Diapers - pet pet (day) mamy poko (night) will try giant ones after pet pet..
Diaper cream - Drapolene and destin (difficult to remove) i notice that if I use
wet cotton to clean my gal butt instead of wet tissues (tried tollyjoy, cheeky bon from NTUC),
her butt dun even need nappy cream..

TYP mommy,
i tried my own bm (a few drops) tasted sweet, my hubby tried a few drops also said sweet..
but the frozen ones got a bit fishy smell

hey, think I'm not the one who rec pumping for more than an hour.. i myself also dun do for
1 hour

I using nuk teat, size 1 and smallest hole (think for water) latex teats, doesnt last long, I also
plan to switch to silicon ones..

vogue mommy,
get someone to bottlefeed her.. and she recog that u are around and ask for breast (try to hide
and dun let her see)..
the teat you use may also matter, my gal does not know how to drink from bottle and get all messy until I gave her nuk teat.. better sort this out soon..

body wash n shampoo - lactacyd (good for rashes), Johnson top to toe for hair
washing detergent - pigeon anti-bac and kodomo (nice smell)
softener - none
diaper - petpet, will try pamper night for night so don't need to wake up baby to change pamper.

My baby quite active during the day. So give flash card, sing song and talk to him when he awake before put him to sleep. He is more difficult to put to sleep in the day. Night time will go to sleep after feed. If need to change diaper, I will change it before the feed.

MummyAsh: Yes, I also found that my boy is faster and more effective in emptying my breast! I'm using the Medela PIS. But I dun pump very long, at most 15 min for now. My boy still can suck after that.

HuaJing:I'm going to change into a junk food eater soon! My CL leaving on 13 this month.

chris: Can try to place cold cabbage leaf on your breast to relief the disconfort and it helps to reduce milk also.

NTUC having sale, Huggies Dry Comfort - 2 pack for $30.75
And I found that my boy can wear size M liao, cos he's 6kg now, maybe that's why the size S leaks

<font color="0000ff">baby cow,
body wash: johnson&amp;johnson naturals got as a gift ~ smells SUPERB but costs $24 per bottle!! recently then found out.. hahaa so after finish will switch to kodomo
shampoo: same as above
washing detergent : abd powder
softener: didn’t use
diaper: cloth diaper (Day), drypers (now @ night, got as a gift. agreed it lousy leave marks on my bb bottom.. next will use pureen dry5 clothlike diapers, then change to Giant clothlike diapers ~ cheap and good)</font>

<font color="0000ff">anyone using manual pump?? what brand and is it good?

thinking of getting one for me to bring out so i can pump while i'm outside in case cannot get home in time and super engotge can offer some relief..

is medela harmony good? Pigeon one loks quite good also..

re : bottles
i'm purely using pigeon wide neck for my boy now.. it's the only one he'll take though he drink so slow and keep crying while drinking, he no colic (thankfully)
wanna change to non leak proof teat so that he drink faster.. cross fingers he dun end up spitting everything out! cos bf also non leak proof ma... hehe</font>

Just caught up on reading the posts. Today my boy keeps waking up after sleeping half hr each time and he is feeding hourly again in the day. He doesn't seem to know how to soothe himself back to sleep after waking up. He sometimes wakes up because he was pooping and demands our attention. im so close to giving him a pacifier cos i feel like im his pacifier now. I feed him each time he wakes up then he will go back to sleep.

Im still using Johnsons &amp; Johnsons top to toe wash. When shld we change to shampoo and soap? When they shed their current hair and grow a full head of hair?

I wanted to try using cloth nappies in the past but we have to change each time they pee and poo rite? Does it leak?

tpymommy/huajing/dolly
thks for giving me tips on how to stop bf.. i hope mine will be successful! bcoz my threshold of pain not very high, so i cant imagine not pumping and bearing with the pain

babycow
thks! i found it from mumsfairy and can get it tonight bcoz one of the partners staying near my place.. heng ah..

tpymum, actually it's not the length of pump that matters. it's the freq. LC &amp; ameda website mentioned this. try to squeeze while pumping to empty then dry pump 5min if u wan inc. roughly30min will do. and every 10min pump u can off n masg abit then on again. http://www.ameda.com/breastpumping/moms/how.aspx
die i got a lump vry long still cant clr. hw cm no fever cld it be not block duct but really a lump?

hw's giant diaper? i used goon, petpet &amp; pureen, i fd petpet better than pureen. goon too ex now...

anyone bb ard 9-10wk? can share birth weight &amp; current weight.. i scare i overfed mine... 2890g at birth now 6kg...

i used glass btl to chill, milk bag to freeze. usually try to give fresh express in glass btl too. so is plastic better or glass?? aiyoh i didnt shake leh must shake ah..

Earlier baby was cranky so he kept suckling for comfort. I noticed he does that when he is in unfamiliar surroundings or there is someone unfamilar ard as well.

11 beans, my little one takes very short naps in the day-less than an hr and at nite, he wakes up abt every 3 hrs, sometimes every 2 hrs so u r not the only one. How come others mummies have to wake their babies up for feeds? For me, i think i would find it strange if i have to wake him for feeds. He feeds so frequently! On schedule every hr in the day or every 3 hrs at nite...very punctual one.

<font color="0000ff">ya lor.. i never ever wake mine up either.. cos he very punctual, before 2 hours will wake up and cry first..

just fed him, refused to sleep now he keep making those "want to cry" noise.. dunno how.. waiting for him to hungry again then feed and see if he can sleep after that.. cos anyway almost 2 hour liao.. lol..</font>

TPYmommy: I had tasted my own BM both when feeding (drip on hand) and also the leftover when daughter could not finish. If taste one or two drops, it tastes sweet; but when drink the leftover (more quantity), the taste is not so good.

I have the same question as FirstMum: how long can you store the leftover milk before throwing it away?
(i) Is there any difference between FM or EBM on how long it can be kept?
(ii) Is there any difference whether the milk has been drank before?

blurmom, hmm drypers.. not too absorbent i feel for the price. that time i oso bought one full pack, but oso use finish liao. wont buy again ler. I prefer pet pet!

Tpymommy, ya lor i dont rock him to sleep de.. but my parents do.. tell them dont rock, they always like to rock, say he likes to be rocked =__=
ooohh.. i got the med to stop bf from my gynae liao.. so ex lo.. 2 small pill about 45 bucks. But she did tell me to lessen pumping sessions before taking the med to stop. Wear tight bra and apply cold compress is engorge and within 2 days, it will dry up

Re: working
me starting work on 17th.. 2 more weeks to go! told my boss i want to clear my childcare leave first since it will expire end of this year.

Re:Milk storage
i think i ever read somewhere that if the baby's saliva has touched the milk (FM),cannot keep? only 1 hour or so have to throw.. those who know, correct me if i'm wrong..

re: tasting bm
i always taste bm before giving to my son, just to ensure that it's not sour or spoilt liao. hee hee

my boy slept for 2 hours! But not on sarong though, CL recommend dun put him in sarong all the time.

bbaugustine: My boy also latching almost hourly the whole day he woke up since 6 am and didn't sleep long until 730pm.

Cloth diaper: For pee, no need to change every time if you use the nappy paper, cos it will keep our baby buttock dry unless it's very wet. The nappy paper can be washed and reused if it's pee only. But for poo, change everytime and throw away the nappy paper.

If you dun wan to leak, use the diaper cover. I use it sometimes, but the cons is you can't feel it's wet until you open and touch the cloth.

hi Chris38,
i am not so sure leh... just heard the lactation nurse said that we could squeeze out BM if we are not pumping and that we feel engorged.

baby cow,
body wash/hair: lactacyd
washing detergent : kodomo
softener: nil
diaper: pet pet(Day)(cheap n good. now NTUC got disc), mamy poko/huggies ultra (night/outings)

i am using desitin original (not the creamy one)as diaper cream. unlike creamy, this is more thick and it smells like the DHA... haha.... but i personally think it is quite good for rashes. i even use it to treat my rashes i developed during my confinement. ;p as for milk rash, i use egozite. it is quite effective. rashes usually clear up a day or 2.

11 beans,
how much is the giant diaper per pack and how many pieces?

Ahnetsan,
so far i only know diaper.com got free goon samples. as for FM, you got to go to the individual brands website to request for sample.
e.g. wyeth, abbott

Drypers.... i dun quite like it. i felt that it is not so absorbent and it is sticky when the diaper is "too full". the sound of pulling the tape is also terrifying for bbs.

dolly, we suffer the same fate...haha become milk on demand supplier the whole day...but im worse the sarong doesnt work on my boy...can put him to sleep but he still wakes up every half hour. When do u use the pacifier? does it soothe your boy when he needs to go back to sleep?

Nappy paper is the nappy liner is it? Im currently using Huggies Small and it leaks! It didnt use to leak, dont know why it leaks now.

My baby cries for attention when he is pooping. its like he wants us to comfort him as he goes thru the pooping process but he doesnt usually cry for change of diaper. strange rite. Do you guys have the same experience?

Drypers is bad. it always leaked without fail and the material used seems quite harsh on skin. I have used up all the drypers that were given to me by friends. So far i think pampers is the best but expensive rite?

babycow
Thanks for nuk info.. u r really milk bottle researcher..

Dolly
Dryper is bad for newborn n baby but for tot is not so bad..my son used it till 3yr old @ night..

Mummy Ash
We are in the same boat.. My left breast always 50% lesser than the right.. guess more fat tissue inside rather than milk duct.. cos it is soft after pump..

I always let SiQi latch on the left.. she really sucked.. and when I switched to right.. she will stop in 5min.. seem like she is full after sucking the left one.. got milk on her lip n gave me very satisfied look..but when I pump.. the left one still got milk.. n can pump out ard 30-40ml.. strange..

Anyone can help to solve this mystery? I am lost…

hua_jing
Ya lo.. cos my ML started before my delivered date.. so now already 12week “shaking leg @ home”.. like real hoh.. why got to shake leg… worst than army training.. BMT (3mth cannot go home).. 24hr X 7days
I didn’t try frozen one.. I tried chilled one.. Seldom freeze my milk.. maybe next time.. then tell u

Chidori,
Ya.. is not you.. is babycow.. sorry.. blur TPYmommy..

Createjoy
Wow.. is a big jump..from. 2890g at birth now to 6kg at 8 week... SiQi is also ard there.. she is 5.7kg @ 8week.. My mom has a baby weight machine.. dunno where she got it from.. anyway is good me cos I can keep track her weight..

ANNticipating
Ya.. I tried ard 20ml.. taste awful.. a bit spicy.. wonder is it due to my diet.. start eating spicy food.. cant tahan cos I am from baba family.. so every week go back home.. Parents will cook all spicy stuff.. like today eat chicken rendang… Yummy…if don’t eat, I hv to eat children food.. cant take the plainness.

SkylerMum
U r super careful mommy.. I think I must try next time.. cos worry my diet will make the milk taste funny.. or itself already taste funny..

Dolly
Do you know where to buy the PIS Soft fit funnel? Need to change a new one

Question
1. How do you store your milk when you are outside? Do you any cold bag to keep the freshness?
2. Other than storing the milk in glass bottle, I also use those storage bag.. cos glass bottle only can store up to 90ml..but realized that got lot of residue left in the bag.. very wasteful.. is there any better way to store the milk?
3. Where can we get those glass bottles? Mine are from Sis in law.. so dunno where to get..

another 15min more.. we will call it a day.. n welcome a new day.. everyone must be very tired by now.. either still pumping or coaxing baby to sleep.. Or sleeping (only applies to those fortunate ones)

I am waiting to feed SiQi for her last feed again.. hope she will wake up for it.. yesterday, I waited for her till 2am.. n siqi woke up @ 3am for her feed n cant finish her feed.. i wasted my 2hr sleep..stupid mommy..

Once bitten, twice shy..i will not wait tonight... now will enjoy my last pump of the day.. then Zzzzzzzzz if SiQi doesnt wake..

Question
1. How do you store your milk when you are outside? Do you any cold bag to keep the freshness?
4 hours if nicely baby need to feed within 4 hours, no need to chill. Otherwise, just express out, keep with chiller bag plus ice pack from avent when I bought the pumps.

2. Other than storing the milk in glass bottle, I also use those storage bag.. cos glass bottle only can store up to 90ml..but realized that got lot of residue left in the bag.. very wasteful.. is there any better way to store the milk?
No way unless you try buying cheap milk bottles and store your milk like me instead of using bags. I use bags only when time is ripe to go up freezer.

3. Where can we get those glass bottles? Mine are from Sis in law.. so dunno where to get..
I got 28 from KKH cos I beg staff nurses for it. 10 from the ward, 18 from special care dept. Like I say, if you want to make do with plastic bottles, kiddy palace have sell cheap ones. You can always chat with me regarding where to get the bottles.

JTS:my cheapo survey on cheapo diapers

giant diapers
S4-8kg 42pc $8.05=0.191/pc
Carrefour diapers
S3-7kg 64pc $11.80= 0.184/pc
NTUC diapers
M5-10kg 60pc $10.45=0.171/pc

so far I heard one mommy mentioned giant diapers not bad. Nil feedback for carrefour diapers. NTUC my boy still using and it's doing fine.

tpy mommy: why not wake up only when she is crying for feed? so you have more time to rest?

I tanking for my pumping in about 15 mins time. Still must wash and sterilize then sleep. wait for my alarm clock(baby crying) for next feed at 2am.

She power now 4hrly at 100ml still on 100% BM.

My boy usually gets cranky when we bring him out. He will take about an hr to look around the new environment then realise he doesnt like it. Thats when he gets cranky! Thats part 1. when he gets home, he gets cranky again. He will fuss and I will have to let him suckle and suckle for comfort until he falls asleep. Shld i bring him out more often so he gets used to it or minimise it and hope he will outgrow this when he gets older?

Tried to wake her for feed before.. only drank 30ml out of 150ml.. she wont drink when she is asleep.. n she can be angry with you whole night.. ie. like making a lot of noise during her sleep.. n i will wake up n check..

Inflexible n cant multi tasking baby..

createjoy,
the exact thing happened to me.. i kenna a lump (abt 10cent size) that I keep trying to clear for 5 days.
went to LC last fri and they tried to help me clear. concluded that it is not a blocked duct
and possibly infection. asked to take antibiotics.. I also dun have any symptons (no fever etc)
today is my third day taking antibiotics (supposed to take for 1 week), anyone knows how
long it will take for the lump to disappear..
the LC say dun keep kneading it coz it is not blocked duct and we are causing tissue damage if
we knead it too hard..

TYP mommy,
my gal is also like that.. when she sucked on the first breast, she can sucked until soft but when I pumped later on, I can still get 40ml too.. maybe my gal not efficient sucker..

Fitti sticker type? how many kg onwards?

RE: going out
is the best time for my girl to sleep and sleep in the sarong sling. Anyway my mom, as a traditional chinese, believes that babies can only step out of the house after 100 days (partly due to n1h1 and immue system not as strong yet)

so other than see doctor or short visits to friends, I never bring her out.

bbaugustine: It's by luck that my boy take the pacifier! Today he didn't sleep in the sarong though, cos he really didn't sleep much! hahaha

Yeah nappy paper is the nappy liner, haha, forgot the terms. The huggies size S also leak when my boy use it, so it's time for you to upgrade the size as well!

I'd say bring your boy out more often! haha... My boy depends though, and he usually feed less while outside, maybe distracted!

TPYmommy: try alternating the breast when you let SiQi suck, demand=supply! The next round let her suck on right first, followed by left. I got the soft fit funnel from spree, but my breast kinda stick to the surface when I pump.

Glass bottles: They are the sample milk from hospital stay. Can ask the nurse to give you the used ones, not sure now that you are discharged they still give or not. Then buy the caps from the hospital pharmacy (at least for Mt A, they sell it there) My cousin also pass me hers, so I got more than 20 of those. Some bigger looking one can store upto 120ml although the marking indicates 90ml.

Qi: Thanks for the survey! Was thinking of buying the NTUC one just now!

createjoy,

Think it is ok for baby to grow. My friend say the weight will become constant when baby reach 6 month. Maybe they bcome more active by than.

My boy is wk 9 and ard 6 kg. Birth weight is 3.45kg.

<font color="0000ff">re : storage of used milk

EBM can store again up to 4 hours even if bb already drank from it.. FM once tasted must throw away..</font>