(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

<font color="0077aa">LFB, don't worry. with BM you will NEVER overfeed. so just feed on demand and go with the flow. good luck!

just remember to let baby suckle for at least 15min so if he falls asleep halfway, tickle ear, foot soles, chin to get him to wake up and continue. because BM got foremilk and hindmilk. if he only takes foremilk he will not be full because the caloric content is in the hindmilk.

will give more details later, feed alya first cos she's fussing liao.</font>

LFB: Good to hear that your boy can latch successfully! Yeah, I kinda feed on demand, and his demand can be very erratic. It's good that you can latch AND pump! You have the best of both worlds!

I left my boy suck one breast each time, and he will suck from 15 min to 1+hr depends on him.

And yes, try to let him suck more than 15 min for the hind milk, tickle around his ear, his cheek or his palm to wake him. TubbyM and I also will try to tuck our nipple away, then baby will suck again.

BTW, regarding noise, baby simply dun care! I have a live example today, somewhere near me is doing renovation, and I've at least 2 - 3 drills drilling at the same time! I'm a bit irritated, but my baby dun feel a thing!

ahnetsan, really envy your baby can sleep throughout the night, even when my bb drinks FM at night, he will wake up 3 hours for next feed. at most is 3.5 hours, never was it throughout the night.

Tubbym, now i'm really doubting the latching = increase supply theory. I have been latching bb more often than last month but like not increasing bucketloads leh.. only like 20ml maybe? but LC did say some people just have low milk supply no matter what they do. Really salute those mummies who can latch bb for 30 mins or 60! i latch 15 mins then ask my mum to bring the ebm liao.. hee

lfb, glad that your latching succeeded. Enjoy the bonding! I prefer latching too but sometimes it just take too long. i have single electric and the PIS. Single electric made my nipples pain and cannot extract much milk for me so i bought the PIS. Better, and extract more =)

how is everyone?

we doing well this time, yesterday went to see PD again coz Cayden still very yellow. got good news and bad news.

Good News: He is putting on weight well. 600+gm in two weeks, PD said I overfed him. he can bottom up 100ml at 1 go also keep vomit milk and having hiccup often.

Bad news: his jaundice went up again, PD said it most properly is BF jaundice thu I have cut down/stop bu, can sence hb going to ask me to stop bf but my ss is good this time, dun bare to stop so fast.
Cayden also having Reflux due to overfed. PD ask to give him colic drop and prolong feeding time. but this boy keep waking up every hour scream for milk. no choice to give him paci but he dun like keep spit it out.

wah finally some time to come into the forum. I have been reading here and there over the past few days but always no time to complete reading before I post!

I have been having rather challenging time with baby as well. I thought I was the only one who was feeding every hr in the day. Seems like quite a number of mothers here also experience the same thing. Is it a growth spurt then.I am so tired and I have forgotten what it feels like to sleep thru the nite. My baby always wakes up at nite for feeds and he usually wakes about every 2-3 hours. Yest nite, it was like almost every hr, alternating between feeds and diaper change! Because Im doing full latching, I will be the only one waking up. Since I am awake already, I don't bother hubby for diaper change so he gets to sleep thru and go to work with enough sleep!

I am amazed how I survive on so little sleep. My little one tends to cry during feeding sometimes. He will latch and then stop and cry then latch and stop and cry. This is a recent thing. Its really frustrating for both me and baby. I was wondering whats wrong. I was looking at the reflux thing u guys were talking abt. It doesnt seem like reflux cos he doesnt have projectile and he doesnt spit out alot of milk. I think its wind in the tummy. Now Im trying to conscientiously burp him each time he comes off the breast. He tends to cry and struggle but I will burp him until i hear wind come out hee. Then he looks very comfortable also=) I wonder why there is so much gas in the tummy? is it common? Im wondering if its the bottle feeding at nite that hubby did previously. Now we have stopped that cos it seems to make baby real cranky when i breastfeed him and the evening colic sessions seems to have worsened with the bottle feeding.

My baby also has been making weird sounds like as if there is liquid trapped in his throat sometimes. Doesnt happen all the time. When he is sleeping, it seems fine. Not sure if its milk or his crying (saliva) or phlegm. Im going to ask the PD tmw. I guess if baby has phlegm he would be uncomfortable and breathe very loud in his sleep?

dolly,
hey you latch your boy for 1+hr your nipple wont sore?

my boy will stop sucking after 15min no matter how I tickle him. then he will wake everyhour for milk. think sooner I will become human paci.

oh yeah I also started my massage on 30 June. i waited 3 weeks becos of the C-section. I don't really like the oily feeling but the massage is the only pampering I get for my tired body now so I appreciate it. The ML also bathes my baby and massages him a little for 50 bucks. Since I have to feed my boy every hr, I feed him just before I start the massage but he will be wanting to feed again at the end of it. And his timing is right on the dot one.

<font color="0077aa">LFB, lactation consultant say can give up to 30min on each breast but my girl takes 20min each breast max, then she sleep so i'll change her diapers and then she wake up a bit so i'll burp her to make her fully awake then back to same breast for about another 10-15mins. then she sleeps for about 2 hours (from end of feed) before she wants another feed.

dolly, don't let baby suckle for more than 45min on each breast. if he's falling asleep often try to wake him up. if he's actively suckling for 1 hr then after 45min offer the 2nd breast. in between can change diaper and burp him to keep him awake.

Skylermum, latching will increase your supply if baby is actively suckling and drinking milk. if just comfort sucking then won't do you much good. have you tried drinking milo before each feeding to ensure good milk supply during feed? how come your latching takes so long? is it the actual feeding or trying to get him latched on? pumping should also increase your supply..

EC_mom, is your baby vomitting milk because your supply overabundant that when you feed him he's swallowing a lot of milk? this can also cause him to have wind inside and keep crying because uncomfy feeling. i have a bit of issue with that, my boobs are always leaking and i was reading online and found i have a forceful letdown i.e. my milk comes too much too fast for her. so now when i feed i sit her up or incline her head so she's not lying down - this causes less vomitting i notice and she don't hiccup so much - when she hiccup after a nap, i will nurse her because she don't take water. after nursing 5 mins, she'll be okay. then i burp her to get rid of the wind from the hiccuping. breastfeeding also got colic, google it to find out more and how to deal with it. i read this from the BFing book of TMC written by WBB.

bbaugustine, sources of wind in tummy: hiccuping, crying, bottle feeding, incorrect or loose latch on breast so he suck in air (you can hear clicking sound when this happens).</font>

bbaug, my bb also make those clearing throat, phlegm sounds. Usually by burping him, he feels better. Sometimes, he really burps, sometimes, he doesn't but it seems to comfort him. U can try that. Colic in BB is common and cannot be explain. can only wait for it to go away. All u can do is just to burp him longer and more often. Do get wind drops from PD to help give BB some relief. Otherwise, gripe water also helps.

skylermum,
i fall into the category of milkless mum. no matter what i do to increase ss, it never happens. wad fish soup, red date tea, hot soups, eat loads of threadfin, massage, milo, lactating milk powder, nothing works! bo bian lo.

bbaug, u may also want to change ur feeding bottle to anti wind ones. I changed mine to Dr Brown's. avent one still got wind.

bbjun, so the clearing phlegmy sounds is not actually phlegm but just wind? I will try the bottle again when the latching becomes more ingrained in him. Now there are still alot hurdles to cross and im reluctant to intro anything new. I have been resisting the pacifier also. Sometimes when he cries so much in the evening because of the colic, I am so tempted to give him the pacifier but I know that might cause problems for my breastfeeding so i havent given in yet.

I just fed him and he was doing the sucking, stop, cry, burp, sucking, stop, cry cycle again. I realised its kinda like an unpleasant cycle because he suckles and then he got air trapped then he comes off the breast because he is uncomfortable and he cries because he is frustrated and then he takes in more air. And I have to spend time to calm him down and burp him. But now that I know the reason why he is stopping, I am more proficient in burping him and waiting till he stops crying before i feed him again. Nowadays when I burp him, he gives one loud burp and looks happy=)Then i continue feeding. Hopefully the feeding gets better from here.

Caramelle, sometimes my baby also can go on for 45min on one breast and Im reluctant to stop him because I know when i stop him he will refuse to suckle on the other breast as he is sleepy and he will even purse his lips to refuse. I want him to drink sufficient milk and not doze off to sleep.

HuaJing: Nope, nipple dun feel any pain leh, especially my left
But then left seems to have less milk though, so I'm just thinking baby wan to latch longer cos supply is slow?
Sometimes he dozed off liao, then I'll put him down, but after another 5 min or so he'll wake up again, then I'll offer him my nipple, if he takes it then it'll be a long latch.

Caramelle: Latching longtime: Cos most of the time I'm lying down, if change breast I got to climb up and switch position... hehe And also like what bbaugustine, baby might not wanna suck anymore after getting out of the breast.

I've tried to unlatch him after 40 min, he might went to sleep but will ask for feed pretty soon. So now just let him suck unless I'm too tired

FirstMum: All I drink is red date water, soup, milo or hot milk, have not been drinking plain water, maybe that helps w milk supply?

Baby eat another 50ml, 1 hr after his feed of 90ml breastmilk. Will ask PD is this ok cos he seems to have bigger appetite this 2 days! Very strange!

bbaug, my bb also right on the dot haha, fed her till massage lady stepped into my house, then the moment she stepped out, bb cries for milk. I latched her on, and forcefully unlatched her after 45min, cos for 30 out of that 45min, she was like "play-sucking" only. Happy suck once or twice, rest of the time sleeping. If I see her sucking a bit more, I'll let her go on till 1hr or even more. Suck the life out of me.... She's super happy without burping actually. When try to burp her, she will scrunch up her face and look irritated. She doesn't burp half the time also. Can sit and pat till arm sore, still no burp.

caramelle, Skyla sleeps like a log. So when she's determined to sleep (which is at least half her feedings, the other half she DOESN'T sleep and spends all her time fussing), no amount of tickling will wake her. She'll prob take the 1st prize for falling asleep at the breast (usually within 5min, sometimes even less!). I can take off all her clothes, and she'll sleep thru. If change her diaper, she'll wake for a while, then fall right back asleep the moment diaper is in place. And she won't latch again after. How to eat and grow big like that??!! Nothing in any book teaches you what to do when your baby is resistant to normal waking efforts. I've even forced nipple into her mouth before, thinking by reflex she may latch. No luck.

Skylermum, how come arh? Everyone and every book says same thing: increase latching = increase supply. I don't see mine shooting up to anywhere leh?? At least yours got 20ml increase hehe... not bad, some result is better than none.

caramelle, what i meant was the actual bf session. Total about 15 mins for both breasts. He should be drinking milk bah, not crying when sucking though.. hmm.. not sure whether it's comfort sucking or wat but breast do feel softer afterwards, but maybe i didnt always put him to my breast for every feed, only like 2-3 times per day. But compared to last month when i wasnt able to latch him and was on total pumping, the supply increased just slightly and don't know whether it's the latching or the Fenugreek oso..

re burping,
my boy doesnt really burp no matter how long i pat him, he always break wind though.. i rather he burp cos when he fart, he seems to be in pain. Hopefully will go away soon

firstmum, me oso lo, fish soup, milo, fenugreek only help to increase slightly and i havnt tried the medicine my gynae gave me.. if that oso doesnt work, okay that's it.. i'm going to stop after going back to work.

lfb, sometimes at night my baby will be like that too. drink 120ml then 1 hour later want to have supper, we will just give top up feed of 30ml or so then he will sleep ler.. dont noe why too.. I asked PD whether i'm overfeeding him, PD always tell me Feed on Demand..

<font color="cc0099"> FirstMum, don't worry. Tbf is good, but just do your best for your little one. Whatever bm you have, give and supplement with fm as necessary. As long as you don't give up giving bm altogether just because it isn't sufficient. Baby needs a happy mummy more than exclusive bf!

LFB, go for it! Don't be sad - you're still doing good with bf'ing. Pump pump pump... if have extra, freeze lor. My sis gave me Medela PIS Advanced. It's excellent! Way better than the stupid lawn mower!

Babies get evening fussiness... it's unexplained, although some theorise that it's due to the entire day's stimulation. But this can last from 6-10pm and nothing much you can do but rock, cuddle, soothe, bath, sing to baby... whatever it takes. It's exhausting... but won't last more than 3 months. HANG IN THERE and just enjoy the closeness while we still have it before they grow more and get independent and want to explore their own world!

sweethalo, I guess my stink threshold is higher than yours!! *chuckle* Or your milk is stinky milk!! The weather is SO warm and muggy these days. I'm hot and sticky all the time, and latching baby on doesn't help. Where got cold?!? I haven't heard of any mummies saying they are cold lor!

+ yup, I've mentioned before: during a good nursing session, I feel painful cramps that sometimes make me hold my breath. Then after that I'll bleed a little more lochia. This continued up to week 5-6. Until I got my period. Sis says supposedly those who get period during bf'ing are apparently very fertile. Hmm... I think I may just be an exception.

Nicolle, my boy also first grandson. It takes 2 - parents to be assertive and grandparents to be cooperative, I guess. As long as you're coping, ok ba! Kyle's awake all the time.. but good for me that he doesn't fuss all the time. He often just looks around or flails around while cooing and gurgling.

tubbym~, I hope things go better for you on the breastfeeding front!!

caramelle, I'm glad you're doing better... sorry sometimes I don't respond very promptly to questions via sms. You know how it is la huh?!

re: burping
A cousin of mine gave me a tip - other than the traditional patpat-ing of the back... can carry baby with thumb under each armpits and other 8 fingers supporting neck and base of head... lift baby up into the air to stretch stretch tummy and often a burp comes right up or shortly after when u return to patpat'ing.

<font color="0077aa">Tubby, i think Skyla is very full that's why she sleeps so well! cos you keep feeding her so often she must be getting a good balance of fore and hindmilk! how often is she waking up now between feeds?

Skylermum, 15 minutes total on both breasts? doesn't sound enough dear...can you try 15min on 1 breast? if breast is softer then it's not comfort sucking so he's def taking in milk. burp or fart doesnt matter, as long as they are passing wind out of body.

is it normal that my lochia like stop already? after my last massage on monday, i got not much lochia. now feel like i should wear panty liner instead. it's been 2 weeks since i delivered.

Cassey, it's okay dear
. i totally understand..sigh cant wait to finish confinement so i can take a nice cold gulp of COKE!</font>

Hi Cassey,
agreed totally! Was just telling CL that baby grow so fast and soon we will think why they are not baby anymore! I think I prefer EBM than BF cos I dunno whether I am putting him in comfortable position or not. But he does like to suckle. So now when he get cranky, think I will just let him suckle. He spit out the pacifer leh when I intro. Sis said to hold on for a while and he will take it one day!

Pump
So happy to receive the GST rebate check today! Told my hubby he will top up the rest of $150 and we will get the Ameda Lactaline. PIS is too ex for me and from forum, many said that both are comparable, but PIS a tinge higher grade.

Skylermom,
ya lor, dunno why he always hungry! I am worried cos I dunno whether I am feeding him too much. But cos all EBM, I am not that worried! Think when I pump 3hr/interval, supply will be slightly affected. Just now only 50ml, as compared to usual 100ml plus. Will pump again at 9pm.

tinybubu,

actually was thinking too, but then I am afraid dunno how long they will last cos I dunno how the previous own use it! So think I will get a new set. Will call that Chinatown shop tmr and enquire! Since they do free delivery, I will get them deliver and can start using! Think of long run, can ave $$!

tried mumsfairy?i think they deliver as well.

but it's better to invest in a good pump.some mummies find the medela mini electric good but for me i found it too noisy (used to wake baby up) and my nipples were so sore after pumping.i also didnt get to pump out so much.

so the LC at parentcraft made me try the medela PIS and i was so stunned.so quiet.no pain and from pumping of 30ml,i pumped out 60ml!!!

that's why i went out and got myself a 2nd hand set from ebay the next day.lucky for me the seller was honext and the set works well.

you can also try renting the pump for $75 a month first before you buy it from this website -

http://www.toyrentalclub.com/feeding.html

tinybubu: Really no pain meh? My breast quite painful from pumping leh... Or should I use the standard shield instead of the soft shield?

Tinybubu,
how much did you pay for your set? I looked at ebay, so many pple sellin at different price. Ya, I am currently using Medela mini, noisy! And also the pump like going dead soon! So I think getting a new pump is very urgent!

i paid $250 but i was lucky to have spotted it at the right time -

maybe can consider this.
http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/Medela-Breast-Pump-Pump-In-Style-Advanced_W0QQitemZ280363998530QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_216?hash=item4146ff1d42&amp;_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&amp;_trkparms=65%3A12%7C66%3A2%7C39%3A1%7C72%3A1240%7C240%3A1318%7C301%3A0%7C293%3A1%7C294%3A50

but you're not thinking of renting one first for 1 week or something to test it out?oe month is $75.and 1 week is $75/4.i checked with them before.no deposit required.and they can deliver to your house for $25.and collect it back for another $25.but if your hubby can pick it up for you then no delivery charge at all.

dolly : i usually pump at power level 2 or 3.never beyond that.lc told me abything beyond that is for 2nd or 3rd time mummies where their nipples very seasoned already...

hi mommies! my baby gal Rouxuan is born on 15th June.

haven't log on for a long time. am amazed that you all have so much energy to log on and update each other. been having a dose of blues after delivery. mentally not prepared, baby's jaundice and both sets of parents and including myself wondering if baby has enough milk from breastfeeding especially since half the time she cries for milk every hour and she only gained 100g after a week and feeling icky not bathing and no aircon in the house... anyway 2 more weeks of confinement to go. think my baby gal is able to latched on properly liao these couple of days of trial and error. hopefully the supply is enough and increases.

for mommies with sore nipples or painful feeding, try to get baby to latch on properly. initially when my fren tried to tell me, i couldn't understand cos Rouxuan seems to be feeding ok but my aerola hurts during feeding. think she got the hang of it after me trying to anyhow push my breast into her mouth.

hope everyone's milk supply increases tremendously!

Congrats, Toffeecat!
I am also counting down to the end of my confinement. Just 8 more days for me. can't wait for that day to come and I can bathe everyday.

have all of u recover from delivery?as in no more pain n aches n soreness down there? i m still feeling a pulling pressure down there whenever i stand up...

tinybubu: Thanks for the advice on the pumping level, yeah, cos no milk, my CL ask me to increase to max during one of my early pump, end up latching also pain. Luckily recovered liao, now I dun go beyond the middle mark.

agree that the PIS is very good.

tinybubu, 250 for the PIS is really a good buy. I should have checked out ebay for 2nd hand one. I bought a brand new one at 600 from paragon.

Think maybe after 4 months or so, i will sell it on ebay too.

Hi Tinybubu,

thanks for all the info and even search! I discussed with hubby and he rather me get a new set cos I prob will be using next year too, since I am not working. So between Medela and Ameda, I decided to take Ameda. Have already asked a friend coming back from UK to check it out for me. Thanks very much!

Toffeecat,

Amazing! My boy wake up 3 times last night, in 2-3 hour interval! That's good improvement, hope he'll continue this way! Today still got drilling and hacking from 2 floor below, so noisy, lucky my boy still can sleep... else very siong cos it will last till 5pm!

dolly- Nesher woke up twice at nite for milk.. now life getting not so tough...
hubby more alert &amp; spending more time on Nesher &amp; checking more on his needs once he finished his school project &amp; work.
did have disagreement when i told him to buy small size Fitti pampers he said dont have &amp; i told him then get mamypoko &amp; he complained too expensive &amp; go get two big newborn dypers which is so small for nesher.. i told him off jus becos he wan save money we got to suffer cos it too small for Nesher &amp; his shit leak out &amp; we got to clean &amp; clean...

Annie: My CL also say mammypoko is the best, is it expensive? So far I've not bought any diapers yet, my CL using cloth diapers in the day, only at night then use non-cloth one. I've quite a few samples and one bag of pampers NB from relative. My CL picked out all the Huggies NB first cos of it's small cut. And she also advise me not to buy NB anymore, cos baby is going to outgrown by 1st month.

Tried pumping, 2 teaspoon only after 25 min

Tinybubu,
yes, I am excited! Will call the shop later and ask.

Dolly, Annie,
My CL also said mammypoko good, cos not too long. I was use cloth and disposable! My son can really shit when he drinks EBM. He soiled his cloth diaper quite badly that day, and CL have to scrub and scrub! I see already also scared! Next time wonder whether I will do so! Yikes! But disposable very ex leh! I am still using the leftovers from hospital and just finished the free ones. Will use the Tesco brand next. Sister's said not bad, and cheap too.

Today my boy went to the PD. Everything well, except still got some jaudice. Will sun him later.

Kendrick is having fussy hours now, feed him many times liao, still dun wan to sleep!

LFB: Good to hear that your son is good
Guess a bit of jaudice now no longer matter that mcuh.

Did you use the napkin liners on top of the cloth diapers? We put that on top of the cloth diaper, so if shit, then throw the napkin liners away.

for a 2 wk old baby with jaundice level of 244, is it considered high. i'm used to the other measurement and not sure abt this one that is in hundreds.

<font color="0077aa">morning mummies. alya's been real good past 2 days. she slept for about 4-5 hours even in the night, so very forgiving for hubby who's been quite burnt with the growth spurt feedings just few days ago.

re possetting: poor girl possetted prolly her entire feed this morning. usually i sit her up when she feeds so her bum is either on the sofa or on my lap. was doing this diligently for 15min then she fell asleep so i held head still then the micheal jackson news came on CNA and i got distracted. her head rolled back a bit then she possetted out everything, even thru the nose. poor girl..after cleaning her up a bit, i fed her a while more then she fell asleep. i realise the 6-7am feed she quite hard to fall asleep, prolly slept too long thru the night.

re poo color: wondering if alya getting enough hindmilk cos of the possetting above. and also her poo like greenish yellow, sometimes more green than yellow. is it supposed to be mustard yellow?

re feeding on demand: does this mean i no need to wake her up every 2 hours if she's sleeping? sometimes breast feel full so wish to unload into her..hehe
mummies, pls advise?</font>

<font color="0000ff">re blocked duct

Anyone having this problem? I'm in so much pain i'm not even sure where pain liao. Could be the thrush, could be engorge (but breast not hard, just always feel full) , could be oversupply , could be blocked duct ??

Never realised it would be so painful. And i think my let down too fast for my boy he seems to almost choke and gulping down the milk when i feed him.. Den he will cry
and i suppose it would get worse and worse as the supply increases?! Gosh. </font>

11_beans,

Is there any red or swollen patches on your breasts?

I juz came back fr gp cos my right breast got infected with mastitis and running fever nw. Super stressed, 1st is sore nip beginning of e week, nw this. Haiz.

Still hv to continue to pump and throw away e BM for e right boob. Heng there's sufficient supply in e fridge for bb.

11_beans,
heard that you can massage and pump and the ducts will be clear. Must massage. If not, you put hot towel on your breast, apparently can help to clear, see whether this help.

Dolly,
my son also dun want to sleep after his feed this afternoon. Wants to carry. We just let him lie down and look around. CL now cleaning him, hopefully he will fall asleep.

I asked PD re feeding. He said to feed accordinh to their own requirment. I also asked abt overfeeding. He said it's better to overfeed than under. Now bb is crying so badly. Dunno why leh. Poor thing. So worried he will get colic! Doc already said his tummy abit of wind.

<font color="0000ff">thanks bbpotato and lfb

Yeah mine started with painful nip at beginning of wk too.. Now the sides are hurting like blue black like that.. Only left boob tho.. Right side seems ok but today start to abit pain le..

Will try the heat pack during next feed.
prob bringing bb c doc for thrush today or tomorrow..

LFB: My boy fuss from 9:30am till 3:30 pm, fed him 7 times in all, he'll doze off during feeding but wakes up again after I put him down. Finally he slept after 3:30pm feed!