(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Ha ha ha! Think there will be days like this! Now I hope he will pass this soon! He is sound asleep now, and hopefully he will be good till the CL finish cooking!

Today was good! I pumped a whopping 150ml just now, my best eversince I started pumping! I was so happy and proud of myself! Hubby was very happy too and he was smiling from ear to ear! Told me he go get cash and will buy the Ameda pump cos I performed so well! Now I felt better. Since latching may not be there, but at least I can give my boy EBM. Thank God! This is really God sent!

LFB: Good for you! I still could not pump out any, even on leaking breast
So can only do latching, hope this situation improve!

Anyone started to find nanny already?

Dolly,
could it be the position of your nipple? I on the contrary, find latchin very difficult! So I must express lor.

Pump
Ordered the Ameda Lactaline from Cheong Choon. They do free delivery, free 1 tube of dunno what lotion/cream. It's $350. Actually my friend in UK coming back soon, wanted her to help me get as it's abt S$150 cheaper. But the warranty will not be recognise here. After discussing with hubby, decided to just buy local, at least 1 yr of guarantee, and can look for distributor if got problem!

Chidori,
I heard the valves are very fragile for the pump. Do you face such problem? Is assembling an issue? what abt using?

Dolly- i not too sure bout the price but hubby said it the most expensive pampers & KKH did give me a sample & i find it good...i bought FITTI diapers small size yesterday at polyclinic.. cost $14.90 per pack inside got 48 diapers..
buy two get one free..

LFB- my boy boy jaundice is 168 & i have to carry him in the morning b4 10am & walk along the corridor to get near the sunlight
next appt is 9 july ..hopefully drop below 100 then be fine

LFB,
the valve so ar ok for me after 2 weeks use.. just be careful when washing it..
assembling is a breeze and its easy to clean.. i sterilise it once a day..

mummies who are considering ML Mona,
do note that her charges are only $35 if you take at least 5 sessions..
I tried one session today and she charged me $50 coz she said she need to pick up the cloth tomorrow.

LFB
long time nev3r come in.. saw a lot of postings on pump.. just want to provide some feedback.. i was using avent single pump (2nd hand, given by my friend).. broke down just 2 days ago though it was fixed up already.. but i got fever that day due to engorgement.. worried that i developed to another case of infection.. i got my hubby to take time off to buy ameda dual pump from robinsons at full price 388.. it was a life saver

previously using single pump i need more than 45ml to pump per session.. now i just need 15 mins to pump per session.. and the good thing is i can see slight increase in milk supply.. when i started two days ago.. left breast is 10ml (as i got infection before and had to use cabbage) and right is 30ml.. now left is close to 20ml and right is close to 40ml.. very effective..

had i know that there are some shop that do delivery at a cheaper price, i would be even happier with my purchase.. but no choice that day was too sick to ask around.. but generally it is a worthwhile investment

oh regarding assembly, it was easy.. though the user manual is quite useless.. i feel like it is easier to use than avent.. and easier to clean.. but then the plastic bottles feel more fragile.. the valves are ok though.. i only sterlise the plastic parts once a day... and the bottles after each use..

chidori,
why u tried 1 session and den u wan to cancel le? why not finish the whole 5 sessions?

$50 cos she needs to travel to ur plc to collect the cloth since you cancelled the whole package without a reason?

Hello Chidori and fat mom,
thanks for the feedback. As for sterilizing, I always do it for medela. So that means for the Ameda, I need not to do so everytime I use it?

Fat mom,
the "plastic part" won't get in contact with the milk, is it? I saw tubing, must I clean that everytime I use?

11 beans, bbpotato,
i also got mastitis 2 wks ago when bb is around 2 wks old.. read on the net and books that such infection if occur is around 2 wks and beyond.. the symptoms are high fever (mine shot up to 40.2 at times) and swollen and hot breasts.. i went to GP (cos on Sat night) to get antibotics.. didnt need to discard the breast milk cos he gave the one that can continue breastfeeding (not cheap though the antibotics cost me around 20 bucks) and i did the following to ease the engorgement..

1) massage hard before pump and during intervals (say every 5 mins)
2) use cloth soaked in piping hot water to cover my breast during pumps and before pumping.. so hot that i can not even hold the cloth with all my fingers
3) cold compress after each pump (i use cold cabbage and cold pack).. but on hindsight, i think cold pack will do.. cold cabbage reduce my milk supply drastically..
and of course rest and rest and rest

hope it helps

<font color="0000ff">bbpotato

Poor you.. Must be very painful.. Rest well ya..

I used heat pack and fed baby.. Wonder how many times required to unclog.. Still quite pain leh. The pain is worse at night cos i dun feed at night using formula milk so that bb will sleep longer..

U all really hardworking.. Feed thru the night or expressing so consistently.. Feeding is too tiring for me and expressing hurts so i dun like, yet gotta do it else engorge also pain.

That's the trouble huh.. Wanna bf yet it's so tough, so tiring, so painful..
cos it's so pain, also feeling quite gek sim..</font>

LFB: Mine is Medela pump, didn't clean the tubing cos no contact w milk.
I tried shifting position also, but no use leh. Now can only pump 2 teaspoon when my boy is latching on the other breast, else nothing comes out. Thinking that 2 teaspoon could be just the leakage ... not because of the pump.

Annie: Haven't bought any diapers yet, think can last till full month, then I can go out to shop liao! hahaha

LFB,
according to the user manual, we need to sterilise only once a day.. though the parts are in contact with the milk, i feel that they are quite fragile, not as hardy as the avent plastics.. so i worried if sterilise too much, the chemical will leak.. so i only sterilise according to the user manual.. as for the bottles i think these are cheaper to replace.. so i can afford to sterilise every time i use it... tubing no need to clean.. not in contact with milk supply.. it is like the hospital pump.. the pump is isolated from the milk supply.. which i like.. my avent one the pump sometimes got milk on it.. hate it.. cos cannot wash the pump unit.. scare got contamination too

<font color="0000ff">thanks fat mom

Wah gotta massage so often ah!! I better start..

I'm also using ameda dual. But i sterilise everything except the tubing and the white cover everytime before use leh.. I thot all gotta sterilise? No? I can save alot of time like that! And pump more often! Heh. </font>

ahnetsan,
my tummy got itchy after the binding, sensitive to the herbs..dun think i can stand 5 sessions of it.. my hubby says better dun continue..

Nw, bb on bottle feeding. This week has been a rollercoaster ride.

Hopefully it will get better.

I told my hb they all can still continue to feed fr e other breast, but they dun believe. Think hb throw away 125ml of left breastmilk quietly. E 1 fr e rite I throw away. But e thing is dat today I dun feel my breasts very engorged. The yield is miserable for both side. Drop so much. Hope ss will b back soon.

Nw nt so painful, think cos of e painkiller, but my head super heavy, just now e ML said my body super tensed and tired, e massage was quite painful.

Massage: Is it whole body massage or just the tummy? Do the ML massage below the navel?

Haven't booked my massage timing yet, cos C-sec, wanna rest a while more

11 beans,
i would like to sterilise all.. but like i say the user manual write once daily.. so i follow lor.. scared chemical leak.. haha.. how come sterilise take so long.. mine only need to wait 6 mins at most.. not troublesome leh.. in fact i think the most troublesome is washing esp in the middle of night..

how long do u pump per session using ameda dual.. every session i massage and hot compress for abt 5 mins for both breasts.. pump for 7 mins or so.. then massage and hot compress for another 5 mins and pump another 7 mins or so.. total pump 15 mins and massage 10 mins

bbpotato,
i also very zun.. haha.. that time i really very sick.. fever for 3 days then finally went to see doc.. cos i call gynae and PD.. the clinic all say take panadol and ease engorgement.. will recover one.. only when my fever went beyond 40 then i see doc.. u must rest more often.. i slept like a bb then.. thank God that my mom is helping me.. i only wake up to pump.. u must be diligent in ur pump.. otherwise it will get worse

dolly,
i also csec.. started my massage around 2.5wks after i recover from my infection.. this sat will be my last session.. mine is whole body except breast.. on my first day my ML press my wound to see whether i recover or not.. she was quite experienced.. can tell my gynae very old and good.. cos she said the internal wound heal very well.. definitely not some young gynae.. haha..

first session the massage was very light.. and subsequent ones become harder and the binder get tighter

chidori,
my ML say itchiness is becos of the wind.. but i dont hv.. she just warn me in case i got itchiness.. maybe u want to ask ur ML?

ok mummies,
i got one qn.. my bb face got lots of rashes.. it is like those dots like rashes.. read in the book that it is common no need to apply cream.. is it so? any good cream to recommend?

I am also the june mummy, bb born on 25 June.

Below my birth story.

BB name: Brayden Yeo
DOB: 25 jUNE
Wt: 3.275
ht: 51
head: 34
natural with vaucmn extraction and laughing gas

24 June 430pm: check up doc ang, not yet dilcated. he comment next check up on Monday 29 June

Same day 7pm: contraction came about 10min interval, bearable

8pm: call doc ang, he ask me to admit hosp @ 10pm and will check me @ 11pm

11pm: he said tmr will then deliver as only open 1cm, ask me rest @ hosp

25 June 9am: admit to delivery ward, doc ang check open @ 3cm and comment will probably delivery @ noon

12pm: open only @ 6cm

2pm: doc ang check @8cm, said probably bb too big than 1one, so slower a little bit.

245pm: feel want to push, doc ang come in. commetn can push, push many many times but no energy, think too exhasuted.

3pm: bb comeout by vacumn exraction

Fat_mom,

My boy's face also a lot of rashes, like pimples type, some with white dots, currently I m using e calendula cream on his face. Seems to help abit cos we aren't so diligent in applying it. Only in e nite apply once.

Think is e milk rash.

Those using Ameda, did you purchase the handfree strap? DO you know where can I get it? Is it really useful??

bbpotato,
thanks.. my mom also say those are milk rash.. my PD book say no need to apply any cream.. but my mom wants bb skin nice nice so that she can show her off on this sun.. haha.. is urs the california baby one.. i read in the forum seems to be very good.. how much is it? can i get it in taka?

LFB,
i dont hv the handfree thing.. but i think it should be useful.. when i was using single pump.. i hv free hand to read, drink, massage etc.. but now both of my hands are used... i even hv to use my need to support the bottle when i adjust the setting.. pls also let me know if u know where to get it and how much it cost.. i may get it too

bbPotato, fat_mom: When you pump, do you press the funnel hard onto your breast? I'm doing that cos some milk will leak from below and I only managed to pump 2 teaspoon after 20 min.

Hi all Mummies,

I delivered my 3rd bb on 14th june @ Tmc also with Dr. Ang.

Now having headache as my bb boy,Hugo having a mild diarr. Starting he's having very hard stool so i mix friso comfort into his milk, enfalac. Maybe i mixed too much of friso &amp; now he's having a mild diarr. Just nice my grandma was not around today just left the maid.She also not very sure wats is wrong.

Mummies out there, do u experienced anything like mine?

I'm very worried &amp; upset, hugo is having cold sweat.i already stopped giving him e friso to see hows his condition,if doesnt get well I think i will have to bring him to my gals doc to solve this problem.

If any mummies out there experience this before pls kindly advise.

I'm from the Sept thread. Any mummy here delivered at Mt A? Is it ok to share the bill? Thanks

Dolly,

Nope juz cup e breast shields over e breasts.

Those thinking of pumping long term shld get e supershield+, as u can sit back relax and pump, instead of sitting up straight. M luving mine nw.

Hi bbpotato,
I was looking at the mumsfairy website. Do they do delivery? Any charges? Quite difficult to travel out and hubby working, no chance to go down. I am also looking at the handsfree strap, but dunno worth investing or not. Read from some website that a mum actually created her own with a used bra. Maybe I see I free or not to re-create one. Thanks.

Hi LFB,
I'm from the July09 thread.
I got a PIS bundle from mumsfairy.
They quoted me delivery charges $7.
If you stay in Bukit Panjang, can also do self-collect.

Hi bbpotato and lamagier,
thanks. Will try out my system when it's delivered later and see whether I need both items.
I am so looking fwd to my new pump! Hopefully they will increase my milk supply slightly so that bb will have more milk. My currently supply is just enough for his daily need.

<font color="0077aa">bbPotato, you prefer the super shields to freestyle soft shields? i bought the super shields but havent use yet because i find the soft shields more comfy leh..i scared if use the super shields will be painful cos it's fully plastic. btw, with freestyle do you find it's hard to use the pump when you're alone? i was trying to hold bottles with both hands and found it quite awkward.</font>

Caramelle,

I hv fixed up e handsfree kit, so usually will hv it assembled in advance, so when I wanna pump, I juz clip it to my nursing bra.

It could b bcos my nip is too tight for e softfit breastshields, it actually cuts my nip if pump too often, hence resulting in sore and chipped nip.
I could hardly pump or latch on, nw ss has dropped by half. Imagine 3hrs and 6hrs interval yield e same output, nw got to b hardworking to pump every 3hrs. Plus bb is on growth spurt, keep crying for more after feeding b4 he finally get satisfied.

A couple of my frens using e freestyle all changed to use e supershields and they luv it too.

Hi Mummies, sorry to intrude.
I have an Ameda Lactaline, comes with BN valves (for your hygiene purposes). Bought end last year so warranty still valid.

Pumps were used for 3 months but kept at v good condition. Bottles were sterilised everyday during use.
Collection locations flexible - open for discussion (weekdays: Jurong, Bukit Batok, Tanjong Pagar, Upp Bukit Timah; weekends: Bukit Batok, Upp Bukit Timah, Queenstown, Bugis etc)

If u r genuine about buying, i can also let u have the
1. Ameda Flexishield areola stimulator (used only once)
2. Pumpin Pal original handsfree strap
3. Pumpin Pal Super Shields (used only once)(http://www.mumsfairy.com/index.php?option=com_content&amp;task=view&amp;id=20&amp;Itemid=31),
4. Soothing CD for Mummies (for relaxation during expressing of bm)
5. Lanolin spray mist (BN), and
6. Milk storage bags
all at a "package price".

Email: [email protected].

bbPotato: Actually I bought the expressionBra from spree for pumping, so I can be handsfree, but then there's no milk... haha, not have not use it yet.

tiny_bubu, caramelle: Maybe you can try the expression bra

Very funny, I got the Medela PIS, the milk tray, the expression bra but cannot pump...

anyone using fitti premium?

my boy is now using NB size. i bought 4 packs. shd i upgrade to S next? hows the cutting like?hes about 3.7kg during the last checkup.

i wld also like to try nepia. S or NB size?

Hi fat_mom,
I am from the May thread but pops into the June thread cos i see that many of the babies here are delivered around the same time as my gal. I delivered my gal on 30th May and i have kena high fever of 40 degrees for 2 occasions already. GP says that my breast are not very inflammed cos they dun look very red. Just to check with u, which antibiotic did your GP prescribe? Also, when u have a let down, does ur milk ducts feel like they are "expanded" and hence feel very painful?

FirstMum: My CL told me only need to use NB in the first month, after that can start to use S size liao. But of course depends on your baby also, I'm not sure about my boy weight now, but he's born 3.75 kg

Hi tinybubu, the last time you engaged Kelly photographer how much did you pay? Can I quote you to get discount?