(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

sweethalo,
u are always so prompt with robinsons mailer.. i dont really open mails one.. but once i see ur msg.. i will hurry my hubby to open the mails for me.. i still got things hvnt buy yet.. car seat, donut pillow, nail clipper, forehead thermometer, etc

talking abt car seat, my hubby still didnt believe that newborn baby needs to use it.. he went to email traffic police and LTA and they directed him to the website yesterday.. now he finally take my words.. but he say he should take taxi license as taxi driver no need car seat.. haha

mommies,
if u want to get stuff from robinsons let me know.. i also going to get pillow, protector, bed linen for my maid.. she is coming on 9 may.. so this is one sale i cant miss..

Fat mom - ur hb so funny! take taxi licence so no need to hv car seat...ekkeke

heheh... actually the mailer is addressed to my hb, but i just tear it up cos i kn what's inside...ROFL!! The bedding offers are really good!!

TubbyMummy,
For c-sec, 1st day they wont allow you get down from bed de. The nurse will bring you potty instead.
We choose 4bedded coz if I have complication during deliver the charges not so siong.
Ya agreed it very irritating if you sharing a room with some1 inconsiderate. The last time Mt A upgrade me to two bedded, dun know why the hb of the mummy sharing room with me always come in the night, and they keep talking and packing things I can’t rest at all coz they very noisy.

tiny bubu,
wowo your reply to your disgusting colleague superb, solute.

tinybubu, I was looking at that, seriously considering it if I don't find anything else...

fatmom, I have a brand new Maxi Cosi infant car seat to sell, you interested? I've not even removed it from the plastic cover. Warranty only starts when baby is born. If you're interested, just PM me

<font color="0077aa">sweethalo, WHOA!!! You 'siah' everyone else but you 'sia4' me ah! 7K!?!?! Looks like I should do pre-admissions at Mt A too. I shall go check out the Gleneagles thread after I'm done here and finish doing the B'Hicks research I came online to do.

Tubbym~, I'm ok with Gleneagles 5th floor wards too. Thankfully when I was doing my 'walkabout' there was a vacated room with the door left open so I went in for a look see. Quite ok. I liked that the shower had a curb - cos it irked me that the 6th West wing one didn't and when my inconsiderate neighbour showered, the mat and everything else got wet despite the shower curtain. *grrrr*

dolly &amp; sweethalo, at talk, I think dr mentioned that shaving is not done routinely except for C-sec. If you're against it, can just ask them not to shave if they indicate they will be doing so.

Re: Braxton Hicks
Sis said she never had any contractions thruout her pregnancy. In fact, she didn't recognise her labour contractions until they hooked her up to the machines and asked her if she's feeling one. She goes "Ermm? Nope, don't think so." And they say but the machines indicate there's a contraction right now. And she's like "OH! You mean THAT is a contraction?!"

So anyway, now she tells me that what I've perceived thus far to be naughty baby pressing against me are apparently contractions. I've been getting it several times today and had a bit of diarrhoea at 8 and again at 9pm. Sis thinks there is a slight possibility that it is a sign of initial stages prior to labour. *GASP!*

So Tubbym~, my turn to monitor now. Section of bump above navel has been tightening every now and then throughout the day since afternoon. I just shifted some furniture and stuff around in mum's guestroom a couple of nights ago to prepare for when my confinement starts so if things do start happening with my little guy, I'll be in trouble.

Cassey, yikes! I've been getting quite a bit of that "baby pressing against my belly" sort of feeling these few days too... Now you're making me wonder. But you be careful! And woman! What are you doing shifting stuff anyway??

That sensation you're feeling, is it in the upper half of your belly? Cos I remember gynae asking me yesterday if I felt anything in the upper half, so I assume THAT must mean something... The "pressing" sensations I had today were either upper half or smack centre of belly.

Monitor properly ok? If you're even unsure of anything at all, just call the doc. Incidentally, is diarrhoea a sign of labour...? Seeing as you mentioned having it...

<font color="0077aa">Tubbym~, > YEECH!!! Upper half of bump not good ah!? WBB did say contractions usually start from up that region cos uterus trying to push bb downwards and out ma. I'm usually pretty laidback but I'm just a tad wary cos had quite a bit of mucus discharge mid aftnn. But it doesn't seem to fit the description of mucus plug dislodge that I've read so far leh. Anyway, I've had thick stringy mucus-like discharge since late 2nd tri n dr says it's ok.

> Justus wasn't at mum's with me and I was feeling really alert late one night. I'd finished my novel and didn't feel like tv so, had absolutely nothing to do. So I looked around the room and responded to my "nesting instincts". Tried pushing a few things around and they seemed manageable ma.

> So I kept going a little at a time until I had pushed the queen-sized divan to one side, shifted the single divan to the adjacent corner of the room, moved side-table and a display cabinet away... *oops* Mum's eyes went wide when she came in later that night after checking in on niece. She eyeballed me and asked "YOU MOVED IT YOURSELF AH!?" Then shook her head in derision.

sweethalo, I'm 2 days short of completing week 35. I'm just monitoring for now to see if it's B'Hicks and goes away or if it gets anymore regular. Prayerfully not, huh?!

Ya, had the pressing feeling several times today, but like Cassey said, I thought it was baby pressing against the top/front of my belly. Remember having a bit yesterday too. It just happened again now, and this time, I quickly put my hand over the spot, and realised the baby doesn't seem to be moving, so it couldn't have been her causing the pressing... right??

Your doc gave you ventolin that time right? How much did he ask u to take if u needed it? My zenmolin is only like 2mg per dose (but to be taken 3x a day lah). Wondering if that's the norm cos it sounds little...

<font color="0077aa">Excerpt: "Labor does not begin suddenly, it evolves gradually. It can take hours, even days, to figure out whether the sensations you're feeling are labor or prelabor (also called false labor). Some subtle signs and symptoms that you are beginning first stage childbirth include a vague backache that may cause restlessness, <u>several soft bowel movements</u> (emphasis Cassey's own) accompanied by flulike feelings, and a nesting urge--an unusual burst of energy, particularly related to cleaning and getting your home ready for the baby."

Full article @ http://health.howstuffworks.com/10002-childbirth-signs-and-symptoms-of-labor.htm

QUEEN SIZED DIVAN??!! *slap forehead* My dear, you should have known better right? Sigh... Ok, it's done, can't undo already. Just don't repeat such exercises ok? Be good and sit still. I've learnt.

And yes, my doc asked me very specifically if I had any tightening or different sensation in the upper half of the belly, and when they hooked me up to the CTG, the one monitoring contractions was on the top of belly. So I believe that's where it starts... Let's all pray that it's irregular ok? Irregular is good, just BHs.

fat_mom: Experience from my friend: dun bother to go Robinson to buy bedsheet for your maid. Just go any neighbourhood store and buy those cheapo one will do. My friend's maid had bed bugs, and she got to send the maid back, throw away the bedsheet and got professional to clean up the whole house

Cassey: My cousin was just telling me, few days before she gave birth, she suddenly had this nesting instinct and did a lot of house work... better monitor

Still thinking if I should go for waxing ....

<font color="0077aa">Tubbym~, your honor, I didn't lift it!! Erm... no, wait a sec... I kinda pushed it one corner at a time... mostly using the back of my knee... so I kinda tuck my heel under with knees bent, and straighten my legs so the bed shifts little by little. No pressure on the uterus ma! No meh?

tubbymummy,
why u selling the brand new maxi cosi.. think u just bought from tangs or what.. and u told me that is good right? we still not decided whether to buy infant or one of those for up to 4 yrs one.. if infant, then definitely getting maxi cosi.. if not, then will get britax.. though that will be quite ex..

<font color="0077aa">sweethalo, you mean the tightening? My fella's very active and I do feel it quite often leh.
Today though, the most uncomfortable one made me bit breathless at abt 7.30pm. I had a bowel movement at ~8pm.
During dinner from 8-ish to 9, I felt it at least thrice. While watching show from 9 til I logged on, another at least 4 times.
Had another bowel movement at 9.30pm. I need to go sit on the toilet again now...
Is that a problem?! *sulk*</font>

Cassey, Well, strictly speaking, that doesn't sound like it exerts much pressure to the uterus. But in generic speak, it's still pushing. Who knows how things link up? I'm sure pushing in any sense of the word isn't good lah...

sweethalo, more than 10 times, got significance ah?

dolly, if you're not sure, I would say just do the waxing... If you wax, there's nothing much to regret, but if you don't, and later regret, then too late to wax already hehe... My warped theory anyway... But if you're waxing for the sake of childbirth, then must time it lor...

TubbyMummy: huh, was talking to different people, some say go for it, some say dun do it! I still dunno how.. haha. You mentioned that Siti is good is it? Is she always fully booked?

<font color="0077aa">For mothers-to-be earlier than 35 weeks (a month before the due date):

Preterm labor contractions may be painless, so pay heed to any persistent balling up or tightening sensations in your abdomen or lower back-these are contractions.

If you notice more than four to six contractions an hour, change your activities. If they don't go away within a few hours or if they are painful, phone your doctor or midwife, or go to the hospital.

Breaking your water may produce a big gush, and be quite obvious, but sometimes it comes as a recurrent trickle. The fluid is watery, not gooey like the normal pregnancy discharge. If you think you might have broken your water, call your doctor or midwife to help you figure it out.

Any bleeding at all before 35 weeks should be reported to your practitioner.

An increase in pelvic pressure can be a sign that the baby will come soon. Before your last month, persistent or recurrent pelvic pressure should be reported to your doctor or midwife.

From http://health.yahoo.com/experts/pregnancy/1559/five-signs-of-preterm-labor/</font>

<font color="0077aa">What are the symptoms of preterm labor?
The following are the most common symptoms of preterm labor. However, each woman may experience symptoms differently. Symptoms may include:

- uterine contractions, especially more than four in one hour
- menstrual-type cramps
- pelvic pressure
- backache
- intestinal upset
- vaginal discharge of blood, mucus, or water

From http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2052338/1770074.html?1240584632</font>

yeah agree abt the painless contractions... gynae said if there is regular pains, it's too late for him to stop it oredi... so must remain alert to regular pulling and tightening on tummy

<font color="0077aa">sweethalo, lower abdominal diarrhoea pain was only before the 2nd poop leh. *pardon my grossness*
The tightening is of the top half of abdomen - from top of bump to abt a cm above navel. The area bloats &amp; hardens.

Several websites say hydration can stop B'Hicks. I'll go hydrate myself

fatmom, yes yes, I got one from Tangs at a good cheap price
But now I ended up having TWO maxi cosi seats....
It was a bit of a mix up with my parents, who got me another one. So I'm keeping one and selling one off. Well, see which type of seat you decide on lor... If you decide to go for the maxi cosi and would be interested to get mine, let me know. I'm selling it off at the cheap price that I obtained from Tangs. It's red in colour by the way.

Cassey, you are scaring me doh'

I'm having quite regular braxton hicks contraction lately (about 4 times an hour), soft stools for an week, upset stomach (keep burping/bloated), mucus discharge found on my panty liner...

dolly, I think if u call 1-2 days beforehand, should be no problem getting Siti. Especially if u can go during non peak hours, like during office hours. Not sure if tinybubu got Siti too? She mentioned her therapist did it very painlessly

Blurmom, if natural birth, a bit difficult to time when to have that wax, cos obviously u won't know when you're gonna pop. Some people just go for it at about 36-37wks, since even if after that it grows back, it will be a few days later then start growing back, and very little/fine. Eh, your situation also don't sound very good leh, think u wanna call your doc?

Cassey, you gonna call your doc now? Or wanna monitor first...? I shall go drink more water now too. Been drinking lots the whole day, but realise I haven't had any in the last 2hrs!

sweethalo, you think doc will allow me to get out of house to go for my last waxing session??

Haiyoh, I think we've reached the stage where one by one we'll start having false labour (preferable to TRUE labour at this point of course!)

<font color="0077aa">sweethalo, cos I'm a google before call kinda person ma. I'm not overly concerned cos I'm not "in pain". Just tightening every now and then and at our phase, B'Hicks should be quite common. So I'll try to rule out B'Hicks first, then call if things don't settle after I walk walk &amp; drink drink.

Blurmom, sorry for scaring you. but hey! You're making me feel better *heehee*!

Tubbym~, aiyo... the fuss abt your honey pot! Go on 2-6-9 evening lor.. heehee.. </font>

Cassey- precisely if it's still painless, u shld go in to get something done before it gets to the painful situation and no holding back mah...

TubbyM - i think u shld try to rest abit more first leh... tahan abit... cos i dono how the warm wax may trigger off other sensations etc...

BlurMom- erh... hv u got backaches already?

cassey,
why dont u call ur doc and ask him.. i also got something similar this wk.. just that my contractions are really painful.. i called the clinic 3 times to ask.. cos i was getting worried and in pain

tubbymummy,
will bear that in mind.. why dont u also put this item for sale in the forum.. cos i think u can get pretty good deal.. i would love to buy from u but we will decide only after we go robinsons and see the britax.. cos the britax we saw was in mothercare and the cushioning, recline and back support was very similar to maxi cosi.. so thinking of getting one and stick to it for 4 yrs

anyone going to the cordlife talk tmrw.. was thinking of buying wbb books there.. but i dont think i want to attend the talk just to buy the books

cassey,
all ur postings are making me increasingly worried cos im one of the few who has been experiencing menstrual-like cramps for some time. pray that the next few wks wld pass quickly, as im one of the late-jun mums, its still early days for me.

u sound quite fine to me, dont think its contractions ba. according to what i read, BH are relatively painless and should go away after 10-15 mins or if u change activity/ position.

sweethalo,
i think the nurses only shave us if the hair is "blocking" birth process. but mind u, its not a clean shave, just haphazard shave to get a better view.

tubbym,
if u find any nice and affordable nursing PJs pls leme noe!

Remember reading that BH is more irregular, while the actual surge will get more and more frequently, like every 10 mins or so

I got backaches but it comes and goes? I never "chap" about my contraction
as I thought its normal? Now it sounds pretty scary doh'! My next appt date falls on next Wednesday, if not that serious then I should just wait till that day... *Praying* Hope that its normal as my bb is only 31 weeks 4 days old... Its way too early, sharks!

fat_mom: I went to the last Cordlife talk, attended WBB massage demo, but she's not selling any books there leh. Then I miss the rest of the talks because I went to sign up with Cordlife.

<font color="0077aa">Thanks sweethalo, fatmom &amp; Tubbym~. I'll keep you posted as to how things progress.
I think thing'll ease off in a while.. *hopeful eyebrow raise*

First Mum, yikes... sorry!! I hope I'm fine as you say. My sis is making me bit paranoid. Haha.
Just had a (BH, I hope!) contraction again.

Here I was, thinking how come I'm already getting towards full term but no BH practice contractions one leh? Duh.</font>

dolly,
wbb told us last wk that she will be selling the books there with 20% disc (IIRC)..

sweethalo,
is it.. i try to search the WTB and WTS thread.. dont hv leh.. maybe i search wrongly..

blurmom,
think urs is too early.. i am going to 33 wks.. so maybe more of a concern.. why dont u monitor and give doc a call on mon if u still feel uneasy..

<font color="0077aa">Blurmom &amp; First Mum, pardon me ok. Just ignore me if you can. I'm a little paranoid cos...
When my sis saw my most uncomfortable contraction early today at 7.30-ish, she asked if I was having contractions.
Then I'm staying on 3rd floor of my mum's so I've been climbing lotsa LOTSa LOTSA flights of steps a day as I head up and down.
PLUS I recalled the shifting I did couple of nights ago.</font>

Cassey, hehe... I was planning to go on 1-6-9 actually haha... Hopefully can "dong" until then, ya? And yes, same here, I subscribe to the theory of googling before calling, that's why 1st round, only called the next morning, 2nd round, only called after googling and finishing bak chor mee hahaha.... I was also wondering what's this fuss about BH, and have no idea what they felt like. Everyone's asking me do I have a tightening, hardening, whatever sensation, and my answer was always no. Sheesh. Who knew. You hang in there ya? It's early yet, to be popping... Can you stay home? Oh, you got maternity shoot tomorrow right??

fatmom, sure thing, go try out the Britax first.
I can't post in WTS thread, so was planning to post here and few other threads for later MTBs etc, but have been too lazy! Haha... I am so lame. I will prob do it next week. Oh ya, I bought the WBB books from the WTS thread, so I recommend u go and hunt around on the WTS thread if you wanna buy those books. I got mine 3 for $10, brand new.

Firstmum, sure thing, if I see anything nice PJs will tell you
But so far it's all yucky...