(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

<font color="119911">Hi Ladies,</font>

After the fell, my pigu and lower abdomen still aches throughout the night. Early this morning my HB send me to hospital and my gynae put me on foetal monitoring for an hour. My baby's heartbeat is going strong and steady so thank god he is safe

My gynae said that I have most probably sprainned myself after that fall. I came back home and realise I got quite a number of bruises behind my back... I am really glad to hear that everything is fine but I burnt my hb pocket again

LFB, Hope that you and baby are doing fine... Rest More! Aiyoh, I pity your friend also leh... Wonder why they still stress her for? No milk already got mentally and physical stress then they still give her unneccessary stress. Maybe your mil is not like them leh? hehehe... You will be doing fine girl...

TubbyMummy, hi 5* I also wonder if baby movements are considered as "kick"?

LFB, forgot to add that your friend v poor thing... Kenna all the insensitive treatment. Some more BM is always low in the beginning, many older generation ppl don't understand. Pity she had to undergo unnecessary stress, at a time when she's already stressed enough with new baby &amp; recuperation. Are u engaging CL?

TubbyM- yeah I think maybe just buy the donut shape for 0-4mths hor?? But dono what material is the Friven one...

I saw those Babysafe ones at Robinsons like not very consistent softness leh.. 2 pillows hv different density and hardness one... so macham no quality control.

sweethalo, I'd bought the donut latex pillow from babysafe... I think the material not bad
Maybe you can try going other shopping mall to see?

Don't really know leh... one felt like latex- quite heavy... the other was lighter and less dense.

BlurM- Good that you are at ease now... Better to kn that bb is ok, think ur hb also want the peace of mind ba... so dont worry abt holes in pocket...hehee

Regarding Kick Counting :

According to the nurses in Gynae clinic, when we reach 28wks, bb will not rest/sleep for more than 15-30 mins.

I was told to divide an hour into 15min intervals. Any mvt within one 15min period is considered as 1, no movt is 0.. that's all. Do this monitoring for 3hrs at a go, same timing everyday so that you can see difference or consistency.

Blurmom, at least you've put your mind at ease, don't worry about the $ lah, not that you have a choice about these things, better to be safe. For the kicks thing, I'm seeing my doc tomorrow, let's see if he asks me to start counting. If he does, I shall ask if blobby movements count as a kick or not haha. If he doesn't ask me to count, I shall blissfully not start counting yet hehe.

sweethalo, why not call up FrivenCo to ask them about the pillow? But how come the babysafe one got inconsistencies? One got more stuffing than the other? If both babysafe &amp; friven are made of the same stuff, might as well just get the friven one cos a little bit cheaper, and they deliver to your doorstep
Unless you prefer to have the sensory experience of poking the things again before you buy hehe.

To date I still do not know the weight of my small one... dono what to buy for diapers

Wonder who carries Fiven pillows... dont really see them around.

Yeah the BabySafe one had one very much heavier than the rest... maybe i shld hv bought that one- probably had some gold bars in them..hahaha

blurmom,
glad to hear that bb is alright.. well gyane charges are like that one.. the moment got emergency = big hole in the pocket
I also spent quite alot on gynae charges in my first trimester due to spotting (no package yet)

regarding baby kick:
my gynae told me to monitor in the morning, afternoon and evening. as long as baby is moving or kicking, it is ok. if bb does not move in the morning, wait for the afternoon, if still no movement, then its time to call him or go to hospital directly.
he says if want to count 10 times a day, we will be so busy counting til no time to do other things liao..
and also, for things like strangulation by cord, he says it happens over a few days.. hence monitoring by 3 parts per day is sufficient..

Sweethalo, I pang Sim already haha and tks for the Kick Count info

TubbyMummy, hehe I didn't manage to ask my gynae just now... Please update me on what your gynae guide you okie? Wow, you must be excited to see your baby tmr right? Rmb to update us on your baby also... My next appt is 1st Apr, think same date with ahnetsan... Hahaha...

Appt Schedule Sequence:
How often do we need to see our gynae when we are 7mths preggy? 3 weeks once or 2 weeks once?

chidori, ya lor got "E" this letter huh = $$$ *poofs*
My HB was joking that next time our bb must be doctor... Say 2 sentences got few hundred bucks... Lol

chidori, ya I also can't imagine if I have to keep exact count. Cos now, I don't even pay much attention when the baby is kicking, I think I will be the blur blur kind, and keep losing track!

sweethalo, there's a Friven &amp; Co shop at Tanglin, the building that used to be a post office. Is that the same co?

Blurmom, yes, will definitely update. This time I'm hoping to get all the measurements, not just the belly one. And I'm also taking my GTT, hope results are ok.... scared...

O yah.. it's just next to Gleneagles...forgot abt that big big building ... wah go all the way there... to chk out pillow consistency... ahhaha

Baby Movt- think quite easy when u break it down to 15min periods ba... find a part of the day that you are mostly free... say 2.30 to 5.30 or even after dinner at night?

Baby Thermometer- I bought the Braun IRT 4520 ...seems to be highly recommended

hello...

blurmom, glad everything's fine.
LFB, take more rest, dont move about too much.....
for the sake of bb.... $$$ spent is bo bian. wat to do....

bb kicks:
actually, i feel more of bb stretching etc instead of kicks.

Tubbymummy, i heard raves about Braun's thermometer. Have friends using it. One of my friends told me Pigeon thermometer not too gd cos it takes a long time for the temperature to show.

Blurmom, tubbymummy,
ya lor! Anyway, just be on safe side, I will try not to let in laws come so often. I am hiring a CL, already put down my deposit. Hopefully she is pro BF. My sister said of cos CL will be pro, they do lesser work leh!

tubbym,
get the braun ear thermometer, most widely used by families with children. although its almost $180, but v worth it la cos ur child is gona need it for like the next 10 yrs.

i have the pigeon one, but its quite useless. it has since become obselete in the hse.

INFANT PILLOW
i bot the babysafe flat one. can use from NB to 3-4YO. the donut one doesnt last very long.

LFB - Unfortunately I think there is more work for CL when we bf... cos the bb poo alot more often.. i think..that's why most CL don't like it when mother bf. that's what i heard, esp if u use Nappies! hahaha

LFB, maybe just to be sure, u give CL your "house rules" right from the start. Like you intend to try to BF, she is not to interfere with remarks like "u not enough milk, starving your baby" etc.

sweethalo, your doc is at GlenE right? Maybe pop by Friven at your next doc visit? then don't need to purposely go there just to poke one pillow hahaha...

thermometers:
Ok, I shall go check out Braun. I saw some in baby dept, and even got one where u hold the thermometer 2.5cm AWAY from baby's forehead, and it is supposed to be able to zap the temperature from that distance. I thought that was absolutely crazy! What if room got aircon, or window open got breeze?? So strange.

TubbyM - I read that the Braun IRT 4520 has a prewarmed tip so its temp reading is faster and more accurate.

hahah.. but i just went for gynae visit last Sat... so that wld mean another 3-4wks... how to starve my desire to buy stuff huh?? hehehe

hahaha... eh, baby books? toys? More baby clothes?

Oh, my animal tights and rompers just arrived too, with the decal. Happy, all very cute! Do u think the tights size 80 can wear at 6mths?

hope so can wear by then leh... my mum says shld be ok except abit long...hahah.. it's cute isn't it??

Only think is material looks quite warm hor??

Spending 2 boring days at home in bed... now bz surfing BP section.. hehee...

BTW, Ade has a clearance thread now on... what do u think of the bunny toy har??

maybe i should go check my mailbox! talking about books and toys, what are you planning to buy for your babies? hubby bought wrist rattles and some teether thingey, but i wanted to get something that requires more interaction (KS mummy alert!) so any ideas?

i haven bought any playpen mobile or those rattles for the stroller..... where to get nice and cheap ones??

sweethalo, i also busy surfing BP. waiting for Ade to upload her new purchases leh... hahahha........ the 7pc romper set is so nice....

bunny toy looks cute. i was thinking of the colourful rattle....

wow Bing u MIA so long!! hehehe Sat got class hor!

Lovelytulips- yeah was thinking of rattle toy too... the bunny looks quite borning in blue is it??? Pink is it too girlie for boy ah??

sweethalo, haha. ya lo, been super duper biz with work these days, no time to read the entires. now laptop pass to the IT pple to reformat. then got time to read the posts. hee...

ya. looking forward to sat's class! =D

sweethalo, the rattle looks colourful. but hor, i very skeptical about buying such soft toy kinda thingy when it's not wrap up - u know as in dusty etc.... so still tinking.

the bunny looks very swweet. think pink looks nicer leh... but for boys, some wun like lor, so depends on u. got music somemore leh.....

hi bing,
so long never post..the last time I checked.. think its $800 startup cost (with FBI card) then subsequent is $200 per month.. nope I'm not signing up.. just sharing the info with you ladies..

<font color="0077aa">Tubbym~, that probe thing isn't uncomfortable for me. Especially not in the first half of pregnancy. It's more like "the real thing" than the swab I kenah'ed - which is like a cotton bud the length of a satay stick. Can you imagine that being jabbed between dry &amp; delicate lips in search for the secret opening? That was what I got. I think the probe's quite nice and smooth.. Lubricated some more!! Heehee

Blurmom, I think visits to obgyn will begin to be fortnightly as you go into Week 30.

LFB, I emphathise with your friend. Yet sometimes I think we need to just be assertive and firm with others, instead of allowing them to get into our minds and mess it up. It's a 2-way thing. That's why we need each other's moral support here when ppl cause us to doubt our initial resolutions. Keep encouraging your friend. She can pump pump pump to get supply going again if it isn't too late, right?

Re: Bb Kick Counting
Books &amp; articles I've read seem to concur there's no "correct" range of kicks to be getting a day.. just monitor that bb's movements don't differ significantly from his/her norm. Obgyn asks me if bb's been kicking regularly throughout the day, but hasn't asked me to do actual kick counting (yet?)...

>> I haven't been counting but just keep note that he thumps from time to time. It's so funny sometimes when he's nudging the very bottom of the tummy and I can't get to him cos I'm sitting down. I smile to myself like a maniac cos he seems to be "toe-ing the top of my low-riding knickers"
Although, if he's supposed to be head down, I really can't figure out why the movements are spread all over... so I'm guessing he's still squirming and flipping in all directions.</font>

caramelle, the decal I ordered was $27 (I paid additional for reg.mail). I also ordered from Leshonne a $17 one. Different designs of course, the design that I want from each of them is not carried by the other person. Quality wise, both about the same. I have not pasted them on yet, so not sure about adhesiveness. Leshonne's BP: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2265382.html?1237444017

sweethalo, I like the bunny! I think both pink and blue are cute
I'm waiting for her to post the new stocks leh...

chidori, hmm. i went to their website and it seems they are having some credit cards promo. maybe will check out the details with my hb this weekend. it's friday afternoon. my mind is drifting somewhere else.

Cassey, now that you've described it, I recall having done a swab before as well, several years ago (not pap smear). I don't remember it to have been painful... Maybe when pregnant, it's different, or maybe my memory chose to block it out hahaha. I thought they'll insert the other tool first, u know the one they use for pap smear, then they insert the "satay stick"?

thanks tubby. i just saw leshonne one also..my god i think i must never visit the BP thread more than 3x a week! i will ask hubby abt jayne's one cos they look quite nice and he's more artistic than me so better get his advice.

yah.. fri no mood to work..
just went for tea break..
ate 2 slices of bread with 1 slice of papaya and i slice of honeydew
lunch veg beehoon with cup of tea
teabreak 1 apple and 1 yam cake
so scary..

wah chidori!! good appetite leh! ehhehe...

TubbyM - ya me also waiting to see her new stk leh... the other thread, has some new blankets

Caramelle &amp; TubbyM- what are the decals for ah??

chidori, still sounds quite healthy lah, don't worry. Lunch i had maggi mee (again, cos house got no food), and opened up a can of New Moon fragrant clams to eat hahaha (once again, because house got no other food options). I think that's not very healthy. Now eating an apple to make up for it.

sweethalo, which thread got new blankets? I hope she'll start a new thread with ALL the new stocks leh, not here one there one.

Ah niah, I stay in one of Singapore's food paradise (amongst other things) area hahaha, lots of 24-hr food places hehe. But I'm too lazy to go out and buy, it was pouring just now also. This week didn't do grocery shopping. Oops.