(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

huh, i think no matter how breathable material is, if baby flip head down, still will not help leh...

but think waterproof is required leh, cos they prob will wet bed esp if using nappies.

BlurM- ya better monitor abit, best to rest in bed for awhile ba

TubbyMummy/sweethalo, I dare not move around too much now... I still have no idea what's that cramp all about... It comes and go during night whereas my bb is still kicking... I still monitoring, if not good then I will go see my gynae....

Ladies, tks for the concern...

Re: waterproof protector
We are suppose to place them not higher than shoulder right? I am still looking for a better one but very hard to find leh

LFB/Sweethalo, thanks for the confirmation - can check another item off my shopping list

TubbyMummy/Blurmom, was thinking of this baby can't breathe issue too so also thought of putting the protector below the baby's shoulder. Otherise it beats the purpose of having holes in the matress which is supposed to make it breathable. right?

Ya ya, I was wondering if waterproof=plastic=can't breathe, then I buy mattress with holes for what...

Maybe just cover the bottom half of the cot I think.

Thats what I thought so... My mum say no need to place them so high one as baby will feel too warm with the plastic mat underneath...

I just got a mobile cot at OG but still haven't buy the mattress yet... I already got one cot bed comes with 3" latex mattress. So I am comtemplating whether to get those foam bed for playpen or better bed leh..

My pigu aches after the slipped...

blurmom, think you don't need anymore beds for now right? As for playpen, since u already have cot, u can decide when baby is bigger whether u need one. Some people buy playpen now only cos they double up as the baby bed as well.

Or did u mean get a better mattress? I think latex mattress is good, and for now, 3 inch should be ok, cos babies are quite light in the first few months anyway.

The cot bed and playpen got different measurements, thats why I headache! Why can they just fixed STANDARD size leh!

I regret getting that cot bed from Expo... I got bad experience with that Joker. When we pay our deposit, he promised that he can deliver the cot at our most convenient time. When I called him to deliver by 1st Apr, he say "Your EDD not so early so you don't need it now!". I just demanded him that I want that bed by Apr. Then he say he will call me back end of mar to see IF he got the time to send to my hse!

So my family thinks that this joker may fly me aeroplane anytime. So they ask me to get a playpen ready... My playpen fixed up nicely at my study room liao, just that there is not mattress inside... Normal mattress = $33 whereas Latex mattress = $130....

Dunno to spend more or to save more leh...

FYI - the cot bed was purchased at Mediacrops Expo and the company name is BOBO House!

sweethalo,
wa, ure one lucky woman then!

cnt imagine sitting my butt on a $2ooo chair. it wld no doubt feel very pampered haha.

gd leh, free shipping! my sil is also staying in the states, just that they dont visit singapore often so cnt tompang anything.

blurmom,
i think u shd go for the $3o one. playpens wont last v long. a cot is different. our babies spend half their lives in it cos they sleep so much in the early years.

once the kid is more mobile, most wont fancy being confined in a playpen. besides it becomes dangerous when they try to climb out. just my personal opinion though.

Blurmom, I also heard that some playpens, the base will sag after a while, so probably not a good idea to let a baby for long term, cos I think kids should have good support... Perhaps use the playpen for play purposes and for naps, but the cot for a proper night's sleep

caramelle, pls share your feedback/comments with me after u have seen the sling. I don't think I have time to go down until mid Apr. Work is quite crazy these few weeks and compounded a few times with inefficient pple and ridiculous, unnecessary work requests.

<font color="0077aa">LBF, was yours just a swab too? Whoa, then we really must start initiating more intimate moments with hubbies...
If a little swab is painful, much less obgyn's fingerS and bb itself!!!

Thanks Blurmom! *sayang your butt*
Pls take things slower, my dear.
Hope the rest of the week goes by smoothly and it's a better week ahead for you.

Going back to hospital to see my sis and little niece again.</font>

tks tubbymummy too!

Am I being too Kan Cheong to request for my cotbed to be sent on 1st Apr?

Cassey, tks tks... *shy* you sayang my pigu, hahaha... Later must get my hubby to sayang my pigu also...
Hey I am so excited for you and your sister! Can post up pix to see mah? Got double eyelid somemore.. Sure very sweet looking princess!!!

Seems that alot mummies are getting busier each day... Hope that things will get better, even better for all of us... Hip Hip HOorrayyyy!!!!

Hi everyone!!! just got home from work.ordered my huggies from gmarket this morning at 9am.put in remarks that they should deliver after 7pm.they havent called me all day!! wonder if they're delivering tonight?

sorry Blurmom, I meant "let the baby SLEEP for long term" hehe.

Cassey/LFB, I went to check the thread on my gynae, and a couple of the women there mentioned that when he does the cervix check, it's not painful, compared to midwives who does it very painfully. Wonder what's the difference??

<font color="0077aa">Blurmom, I'm a lecher so it's a PLEASURE *leers* to sayang your butt.

I only have pics saved in my mobile cos grabbed dad's camera... but it was not charged *sian*
I'll let you know if and when sis posts on the April thread k? It's her bb afterall! Then u can go peep peep.

Still waiting for new grandpa - Mr. Tortoise - to get back before we head off. Humph!</font>

<font color="0077aa">Tubbym~, maybe it's an individual thing? Out of order factory hurts more than factories enjoying the occasional romp?
Some ppl suspect if it hurts, may be cos obgyn did a "sweep" to try to induce labour naturally. within a couple of days..

We can stick fingers in to do massage before obgyn does it! Then it won't be so painful. Heehee...
I reckon they push in pretty deeply to get to the cervix. *yeech*

Blurmom, ha! Don't mum and I wish!!
Dad's so laidback, he stayed in bed today instead of going with us to see his firstborn grandchild lor. tsk tsk
*logging off to go wait. What an eventful holiday week of leave for me!*</font>

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+1">CENTRAL GATHERING SURVEY VER.2</font>
*Note: This is an OPEN INVITATION to ALL June MTBs active on this thread.
Paging neeciel, bing, audrey, Blurmom &amp; more...
Pls click on my nick to drop me a PM <blink>in the following format</blink> for my convenience pls.

PM Subject:
Central Gathering Survey Ver.2

1. Nick (if different from your username)
2. Avail April Date(s): Thurs 2nd / 16th / 23rd and/or Fris 3rd / 17th / 24th
3. Preferred Venue(s): Raffles City / Bugis / VivoCity
4. Special Requirements (e.g. No Beef / Budget-conscious)
5. Any other relevant remarks </font>

Cassey, I've PM-ed you... Did you rec'd?
Anyway, I just send another one again

Ahnetsan, where are you arh? Today nvr see you online... Miss you so much... kekeke

hi cassey, congrats to ur sis! i'm sure u must be very sxcited! i was so excited when my sis pop my nieces haha one afrer another she had 3 girls. i find then really cute esp wn infant haha... not long will b ur turn! oh mine! i'm getting so excited that the impt is coming soon for all of us. hope we can all smoothly give birth dun emergency c.. i guess i'm like ur sis so looking foward to have hb pushing w me in labour rm. oh well, anyway whatever god plans for us... as long as bb safe &amp; healthy.

oh dear ! blur mom i'm glad u r fine. yday i also blur blur open the toilet door hit my tummy haha didnt leave enuff space for the growing tummy! luckily for me it was also a light brush thru
look forward to our next gathering! cheers!

chidori, taka fair got cot mattress but no capella stroller. yes there is delivery but must spend $150 for non-member, $100 for member.

Blurmom, who's miko?

i was so lazy to go out for class earlier cos hubby not around so i skipped it. feel so wasted..nvm will call them tomorrow to see if i can go for makeup lesson.

bbjun, sure. can you wait till this weekend? think i might be going to bries de joie on sunday, they carry the pupsik sling there.

Cassey,

not swab, but a virginal scan. It's a stick, that look like, ahem, vibrator! The nurse will actually put a condom and put lubricating gel. It will go right INTO the virginal! I was like,"er, ouch..." softly! The doc too busy to see what's on screen, so he didn't hear.

anyway, the pain comes and goes again. I can really feel my tummy tightening and becoming more uncomfortable. So sian! But I can feel baby movement, my sole consolation.

Re Baby movement.
I read from books that when we reach 28 weeks, we need to do kick counting for baby, like 10 kicks in 1 hr and if by 2 hrs still haven't get 10 kicks, better inform doc. So I asked my OB. He said for now, we just need to make sure morning, afternoon, evening and night the baby kicks. The rest of counting can be later, like 32 weeks. Any ladies started counting liao?

Re playpen
I asked my sis(my ultimate advisor)and she said hers was $49 only! I was like, "got so cheap meh?" I saw one that is $79, from AMK Hub NTUC, but still think leh. Sigh. My cot arrived , but my mattress haven't. Taka sending tmr.

i got my goo.n diapers today too!! those hesitating to order from gmarket, no worries! diapers arrived in one packet, no delivery charge!

went to OG yesterday to buy stuff.. only bought little bit cos i got quite a bit at isetan member sale.. the sale i must say is really good.

First Mum- yeah lucky that bil agreed to help us bring back this time... hehhe

LFB - I tried starting to keep a record of counting on Monday, but tues and wed and today bochap.. oops...hehee... My gynae told me quite early some time ago to count if I hv time but I am now only in 24-25. But his paper writeup said only start in 28th wk. So will only seriously attempt then.

createjoy, yah lor now we must be more aware that we got tummy sticking out...

Caramelle, Miko is my furkid... 3yrs old shih tzu, very active girl... Sometimes bth (beh ta han) her, she can dash around the house like mad dog. NOw its so hard for me to catch her, she know how to dodge behind the sofa.

My pigu still aches and occassionally slight cramps... I tell my hb, if still persist then we have to rush to tmc again... My bb still got respond to daddy's touch and my hb did hear his heartbeat... SO I hope that its all good...

RE: Kick Counts
I wasn't informed on the counting yet! Now I'm in 26-27 weeks... But my baby has no kicking sequence or timing... I wonder how can I monitor like that? Most of time, I need to jiggle him or coax him to kick/move one..

amkgal, which OG did you went? Orchard Point?

TubbyM- just braved the G Market site... don't seem to see the Mamy Poko diapers anymore leh...

Must become a member first then can buy is it?

Thinking of getting the Friven Donut pillow...

Good morning ladies,

I had another bad night last night. The cramp and pain came back. Then when I woke up in the morning, I saw red! I saw 2 red stain on my toilet paper. Sigh. They are bright red, got me alert straight away. Then I try wiping, no more liao. I went out for breakfast and pee again, no more. Now I wonder whether to go see doc again. Worried why I spot, but at the same time, I saw him yesterday. Any advice?

LFB,
U should call and inform your gynae about the spotting. Cause spotting is also a sign of labour. If necessary hor, gyane might need to give you a jab to strengthen bb's lung (very very important) in case bb decide to arrive early (choy choy choy)

good morning ladies,

LFB,
agree with Jackie, you HAVE to call your gynae.. since u still have the cramp and now, spotting, better call him..

caramelle,
thanks for the info on taka fair. ,think I will give it a miss since it does not have capella stroller

Hapeverafter,

think it's fine bah, I went for my SIL's co family day when i was preggy with #1. But quite tiring liao as e area was quite big.

Old ppl dun like de.

LFB, didn't see any response from you, so hope this means you've gone to the doc. Take care ya? Think going to the doc, or at least calling up to ask is the best thing to do...

hapeverafter, why cannot go zoo leh?

sweethalo, I didn't even realise gmarket has mamy poko. Yes, I signed up as member then made purchase. Are they selling the Friven pillow cheaper than outside?

Blurmom, same as you, my baby kicks got no sequence or routine also, happy kick continuously, then not happy don't kick at all for quite a while. Like that how to count?? Think her only "routine" is that she usually doesn't kick at my bedtime. Other times I'm too distracted doing other things, don't think I will remember to count also. Then occasionally it's not a kick, more like a blobby feeling. Then is that considered?? Die lor, like that. I'm at end of wk27 liao.

dunno leh....my MIL and my hubby said the air there is not clean.... Cause will have animal smell.... and somemore got "dirty thing" at there.... So pregnant woman cannot go.... Weird hor?

hmmm... guess animal faeces is the issue. I think should be ok ba, as long as you don't touch any of the animals... But like what bbPotato said, I think you'd be very tired
The place is big and hot.

Dear ladies,

called up the clinic. Sister said that it could be due to the virginal scan. Think it's common. I was told to monitor. The spotting only 1 strange event, 2-3 drops. To be safe, I will stay indoor now and monitor. Thanks. I was also afraid. But since yesterday's check, my cervix is closed and baby's head still a god distant from the virginal, I think may be what the sister said. Sigh. No choice, just stay indoor and bedrest lor.

Re Zoo
I read somewhere that it is not advisable as the poo from reptiles are actually bad for mtb. Think from some websites or books. But I also saw many mtb do it, so I guess if you don't touch anything, should be ok.

<font color="0077aa">Happy SAHM, I thought it's quite self-explanatory...? I don't really know how to make it clearer. Here goes: I'm trying to organise a gathering for us. So doing a survey to see date and venue preferences. Feel free to pm me if you're interested in joining.

LFB, ooo.. that scan! I did that once... it was so strange to have such an apparatus stuck up the womenly regions... Haven't done it recently leh. BTW, I think some bleeding/spotting is quite common after vaginal examinations. Call your obgyn's clinic and ask ba.

Stomach and back feel crampy today. Prob too much standing at hospital yesterday..
Back at work!! Hope the day passes fast.
Tmr is start of our TMC WBB's antenatal class!</font>

<font color="0077aa">hapeverafter, go ahead and enjoy yourself. The concern is usually more valid in the first trimester - taxoplamosis - the bacteria in animal faeces that can cause problems for foetus. Just a few pointers if and when you do go:

- Take care not to overexert yourself!!
- Wear shoes with good support &amp; non-slip soles.
- Wash hands before handling ANY food
- Avoid touching fences/railings. Wash hands after. Especially near cattle exhibits as there apparently is higher occurence of taxo in the faeces of cattle (esp. where there are kiddy rides and kids touch animals then everything else around like chairs, fences and stuff.)</font>

just to share. cord life promotion.
1st 100 sign ups with cord life ges free HP mini laptop. upfront fee from $63 per month. valid til 29 Mar. Conact Evelyn 98332002

anyone knows if maternity belt helps in reliving some of the weight off our back?
comtemplating getting one but worried that it will be too warm for me..

<font color="aa00aa">re : baby flipping face down on mattress

here's a tip - when putting baby down to sleep on side, ensure the arm bb is lying on (botttom arm) is sticking out, then bb won't flip onto face liao.. heh. logically..</font>

TubbyM- Erh I thot Mamy Poko offer was from Gmarket... hehhe... my mistake then... heheh...

Not sure how much is Friven selling outside but G market one is at $13? Only thing is not sure to get the 0-3mth or the 4mth-12mth one... Baby Safe nb pillow is $15 at Robinsons...

Which is better?any ideas?

LFB - hope all is well after the morning scare

Hi Cassey and sweethalo,
ya, hate that scan. Till now no more spotting, keeping my prayers. The crampy and tummyache destroyed my appetite. I cooked a pack of Tung Yi(my fav) and couldn't even finshed! I even added my fav romaine lettuce, an egg and some minced pork for nutrient! So sian. Then sleepy and tired.

My friend so poor thing. She gave birth last week and her milk was low. Then she kana from MIL and CL, kept pushing her to feed formula. Eventually she gave in. Then she broke down, and MIL said very sian to see like this. Wah, I hear already very pek chek for her! I mean, crying during confinement is very common what, we sure emotional one. I will tell DH not to invite my mil over when I am in confinement. Don't want added stress and unhappiness that may drag till future! I know my temper, will tell her off kind man!

Cassey/LFB, actually I was very comfortable with vaginal scan, did that a few times in 1st tri. Maybe I'm very switched off kind haha, didn't feel any form of pain or discomfort. Felt that the scan images generated were better than belly scans.

LFB, maybe just lie down more in bed and get some rest? At least you're trying to eat something, which is still good. Ask hubby to da bao your fave foods for you tonight? Even if don't finish all, eat the more nutritious parts like the meat/veg, forget about the carbo parts. You need to make sure you and baby get plenty of nutrients now, just in case baby really does arrive early (choy choy choy).

sweethalo, if u intend to let baby sleep on pillow all the way, then think u would need to get both the NB one and the 4-12mths one right? The Babysafe one only in 1 size or also got various sizes? Was just thinking though, maybe when NB, the donut pillow is more impt, cos it prevents baby's head from rolling left/right, and gives a nice round shape, but 4mths onwards, baby can progress to normal pillow that u can buy anywhere?