(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

morning!!

BHG is the seiyu at bugis last time. went there last night. regular items are on 20%. i find that they have a wider range of pigeon stuff compared to others.

they have safety first products but dont buy there, buy at the warehouse sale at kidzloft.

xuan, kidzloft distributes brands like safety first, cheeky bon bon so the quality is pretty ok as departmental stores also sell them. but some of them, the exterior packaging looks dusty as they are not like kept in nice aircon places like the dept store.

tubbymummy, u went waxing!!! how much was it???? i just trimmed and it's horrible feeling as the sharp ends are poking at my skin. argh.

those bringing pump to hospital, must sterilise it before bringing????

lovelytulips, haha.. you are wrong. Alt sat off. So today on duty thus have com! yeah!! this thread is too addictive!! always tho to go lend com leh!!

i think must sterilise before bringing ba.

xuan, they close at 5pm. and if u do order online, think got delivery charges.......

shelisa, oic..... but weekends not so "crowded" i think. hahaha......

wondering where's on sale...... thinking of going toyogo to see drawers, containers...

shelisa, which pump u getting?

my sil and friends recommend me to get avernt manual pump... Anybody any comments?

my backache crisis starts already, argh!!!

Blurmommy, Actually my aunt just give birth on oct 07. Then at that time she only use for 1 mth as she dun have alot of milk thus she rather give up and give milk powder. Thus she will hand over her breast pump and cooler bag to me. Till date i haven see the pump does dunno whcih brand yet. I also lazy to go take from her. haha

Blurmommy, ask ur hubby give u some gentle massage!

bye ladies, im so gg for checkup today. So happy. horray. can see my little princess.

Tubbym~,
good on you! Nice and bare down under now... HoneyPot!! =) Oui, calling me a wimp..? But sigh, you're not wrong. Same thoughts as me re: nursing hubby. Haha!! My boobs are meant to be sexy to him - not a food source.

sweethalo, bing,
I JUST REALISED I NEVER PAID UP FOR MY TMC WBB CLASS!! Don't know why I jerked awake in the wee hours of Thurs night, Fri morn freaking out tt I completely forgot I was meant to head by TMC on the 13th after my obgyn visit. Aiyo... terrible. COMPLETELY slipped my mind. Hubby's going to pay up today.

Tubbym~,
gastro-reflux is indeed off-putting, isn't it? I think now you can see why I often said I have no appetite for much. It's horrid when not just bile comes up but some EEEEECKY food particles together with it too. *Sorry for gross description ah* Hope you feel better today aft seeing bb! Maybe drinking milk will drive acid away... *let me know if bb became a boy or not?!*

Tubbym~, Shelisa,
how many weeks are you now and how much does bb weigh today?!
*upset tt my obgyn told me wrong thing, now I've no idea how much bb weighs tho books say ~910g @ Wk 26*

Shelisa,
*grin!* It's true about placing chilled cabbage leaves in bra to help cracked and sore nipples. It's not a myth.. It's numbing and moisturising at the same time. But supposed to change once they warm up and kinda wilt though.

Whoa, didn't even think abt whether to bring pump to hospital. Skali my 'LAWNMOWER' switch on already wake up everyone on the entire floor and the babies in the nursery. So paiseh.

Blurmommy,
the backache is annoying, isn't it? I went to a couple of chi massage places that turned me away. Was walk-walking at Suntec afer dinner Thurs when saw this massage promo. Back was aching like crazy, thought can pop by. So excited and couldn't wait for the relief. But the masseur said cannot la. 6 months she doesn't want to do for me. 3-4months still ok. BUT 3-4MONTHS STILL COMFORTABLE WHAT. I wouldn't have needed one at that phase!! Duh. =(

Hubby used his knuckle(s) to gently rub-a-dub-a-dub my lower back yesterday. Altho not as effective as TuiNa, it was still quite soothing. Maybe it's more psychological, I felt so happy... then forget abt backache liao. *heehee*

OPEN INVITATION TO ALL JUNE'09 MTBs! (Non-working MTBs, do pls try to drop by, won't u?)

WEST'IES/WEST-SIDE MEET-UP

Date: Friday, 13th March 2009
Time: 7pm & after
Venue: Jurong Point (Boon Lay MRT) Further details T.B.A.

Attendees - Nozomi, Dovey, Jam75, Chidori, createjoy, Cassey, *Ling, *Mika Rei
Pending: bbPotato

~Organiser: Cassey
Kindly PM with positive RSVPs for contact# exchange in case I miss out on posts. Thanks!

TubbyMummy and all other MTBs having a shave down there- why need to do ah??? hehehe

Shelisa- yes that's apparently what TMC will teach you to prepare. Da Bai Chai cut in half put in freezer. The half leaves apparently fit nicely onto our engorged breasts...hehehe..so it's like a cool relief

Cassey- Ketok your head! How can you forget!

Re: Gastro Reflux

Wah this is the most sickening symptom of all! I hate it. Every morning when I brush my teeth.. i hv to throw up yellow eekky stuff like a Merlion! Sickening taste!

sweethalo, *wince* OUCH!
Don't abuse me, please... please! My back already aches *shrink away from sweethalo*
Thank God hubby said he managed to pay today. Heehee...
You're right abt the gastro-reflux. Like my mum says, I often wonder JUST how stinky our insides are.
Given the stench of the things that come up and out.

Re:Bai cai for breast engorgement
thought it's cabbage? Will ask my sis tmr when I go my mum place. I don't think my hubby will suck for me, cos now he sees my breast, he abit scared by the size and looks! Ha ha ha!

Will go Kidddy Palace later with hubby to look at some bb stuff. Hopefully I will see something I like. Now really lazy to go shopping, esp town. I think of the return journey by MRT I peng san liao! So nowsaday, I prefer areas near my place.

back
but backache still ard!

Re: Gastro Reflux
I am on medication and it nvr reflux so far. Sometimes, it feels like you have burnt your entire stomach. Yewwwww!

Cassey/shelisa: a massage sounds good

Sweethalo, carriers are those chairs which we put strap in car? Hey u not online! tmd :p

I think I am really very green, wonder if I can be a good mummy

wow tubbymummy, you had nyonya zhang!! so nice!! my hb cldnt find any last night... and i only had chee chor fun last night.. boring... wow and you went for waxing? hw much was it?

*Hi 5* to LFB for the leaking gang.
it was terrible feeling right? im still leaking whenever i sneeze. haiz...

wah today's the last day for sale at kidzloft??? gosh... hb and i got no time to go down today wor, and they close at 5, so early... shit...he jus finished wrk and nw gg to cut his hair leh.

haha blurmommy, normally i dun come in forum on weekends de... decided to come in and see see look look before my hb comes back from wrk... now he's cutting his hair and he refused to let me tag along to dye my hair!! evil!!

blurmommy, how was ur backache? hope it's better now.

sweethalo, for me, im used to shaving all this while... after pregnant, now cannot see liao, den very frustrated, cannot shave cleanly...

but i also scared to go waxing leh, cos it will be painful at some parts. and i shy leh.

btw, im gg to my hb's fren's wedding tonight... told my hb abt the pantang thing, he say he never hear before leh... he called his fren and asked, his fren say not pantang lah, he never heard got such thing too.... so in the end, i haf no excuse nt to go... and jus nw i searched my wardrobe, i still dunno wat to wear.

i think i gained alot of weight sia... everything i wear, i cant find my old figure at all!!! i feel so fat and round and ugly....

Guess most mummies are busy on weekends.

ahnetsan, I apply medication at my back liao, but still persist! Guess this is one of the transit period.

Don't get upset with ur figure now as you are not fat but PREGNANT! Yeah! Enjoy ur dinner tonight, be a proud mummy

Re: wax
Usually I get my hb to help me to clear BUSH! LOL.. Realised that BUSH gets so coarse now! haiz

shelisa it's almost 5 kg from beginning but tot i can keep to 10,guess prob 12 now...

ya lor ahnetsan we r just preg lose figure for our precious princes & princesses.it's the sacrifice for our motherly love for our little ones.nwadays, every time my boy kick i feel so blessed, so amazed & it's such a miracle! i guess all the pain are worth it.

createjoy, 12kg isn't that bad As mine is 15kg liao! Hopefully that this can make you feel better.

I tell myself, so long as bb is healthy then everything will be worth... The most, I have to work extra hard after delivery lor.

lovelytulips/ahnetsan, yes I finally went to wax! Been thinking of it, but was procrastinating, then yesterday walking around town, suddenly got inspired, so I knew if I didn't do it, I'll procrastinate for dunno how long more. The Brazilian wax one session is $63. But I took up package, but 5 get 1 free session, works out to be $52.50 per session. So i got the package. I mean, no chance that from now on, I can suddenly see past my belly again to be able to do it myself right? No expiry on the package, so I can drag till after birth to finish using up.

sweethalo, I've been shaving since long long time ago, don't remember why i started haha, but since then just keep following up. Now that it's difficult to see past my belly, it's getting so irritating, so pay other people to wax. Also, came across quite a few ladies mentioned that before they c-sect, the nurse shaved off some hair (should be where the incision will be made), so since that has to be done anyway, I decided might as well go and wax. Make me happy in the meantime, and make nurses happy when I need to c-sect haha. Some ppl say natural birth also got shaving involved? But not sure true or not...

Cassey, the stupid reflux kept me up most of the night, even my doc pointed out today "Eh, you're looking quite tired. Everything ok?" Sheesh. That yellow sour yucky stuff never came up last night, but everytime I laid down, something threatened to come up. So I sat upright, but how to sleep like that. After an hour, I shifted over to a lounge chair I have in the room, which was at a nice incline, and could have fallen asleep there if I wasn't freezing to death (aircon draft hits right there). Climbed back into bed and continued struggling. It eventually evolved into something that felt like gastric pains. Spent half the night sitting up, bent forward, hugging pillow to stomach. By the time I was so tired I could fall asleep in ANY position, I only managed maybe 1hr of proper sleep, before I had to get up to get ready to go see doc. Woe is me!! Doc gave me a bottle of meds for reflux. Sigh.

My doc visit today:
Baby looked like she was sleeping, hardly moved. Her legs also all folded up close to my spine side, couldn't measure femur length properly, so doc just measured the abdomen circumference and estimated the weight to be around 700g. I'm 23w6d today. I thought should be 500-600g only?? But maybe mine not that accurate, cos couldn't measure femur.

Told my doc about my breathlessness/giddiness, and he said by right shouldn't start so soon, but any actions that I do may have caused a sudden dip in blood pressure, which would be the most likely explanation. So I have to monitor. Blood pressure today was 124/65, which they say is normal. Next visit I'm doing the Glucose Tolerance Test. Sounds so tedious!

Doc started me on low dose of aspirin to take daily to prevent hypertension. My family history is bad, so he said he'd rather prevent it, than wait for it to happen then treat it. Sian, so now one more pill to take everyday.

First Mum Congress:
I left at tea break. I couldn't stand it anymore haha. Now I remember how I used to fall asleep at lectures! First was Mrs WBB, gave live demo (on LIVE babies!) on massage, but guess what, there was no direct video projection, so NO ONE can see anything other than maybe the first row. Hello!! Organised by Mediacorp, you would have thought cameras and live video links shouldn't be a problem right?? I was craning my neck to see the demo, and there was a stupid guy with PEACOCK hair that directly blocked my view. I also felt that the room was stuffy, so I kept fidgeting and feeling quite uncomfortable and breathless.

But at least Mrs WBB was rather entertaining, unlike the 2nd speaker, some Dr Beh, who almost put me to sleep. He was covering all the stuff that maybe would have benefitted someone in like Wk5 of their pregnancy. But please lor, look around, everyone got belly already, still need to go on and on about stuff we already know meh?

My hubby was bored to tears too, so when tea break came (1 hour tea break!), we decided to leave. Went to buy bra and bubble tea instead hehe!!

tubbym, sounds like we didnt miss out a great deal, heng leh heehee :p ?? hypertension is high blood izzit? but u now abit low right that's why giddy? i'm confuse.. i think ur bb weight abt there. i 22wk 6 days yday baby dunno 565 or 595g so ur plus a week add 100g shd be normal range. i hope gynae will tell me when to eat more or less cos i dun want to end up with very sm bb or very big (wait cant naturally delivery i be disapt). does the med for ur reflux frm dr work? hope u can slp better with the medi.

haha i wish hb will clear my bush & suck my nipple when engorge BUT it's definitely NO WAY!! so envy u all got less fussy hb...

hi i'm back. went to first antenatal class today at kkh. quite ok la. went to bhg in junction8 but didn't buy anything.

for MTBs who missed kidzloft promotions, heard they r also having some good deals at taka baby fair. rumoured to start on 8 march, if not the week after.

i'll surely wait till taka fair to buy the remaining stuff cos got $100 voucher to spend!!

talking about gastro reflux, i think i'm on my way there... once or twice i have this burning feeling.. and burp always have funny smell... time to drink yakult.. think it helps with digestion.

amk_gal, if I order today online still got promo or not, any idea?

createjoy, no leh, my BP now is normal, so there's no real explanation why got giddiness. Maybe at that point got small dips? But even though now pressure normal, doc doesn't want to wait till it goes high (yes, hypertension is high BP) before trying to do anything. Dunno if the refulx med works, I was told only to open the bottle to drink it only when I kenna the reflux again. Hopefully not so soon!

Anyway, I didn't stay for 2nd half of seminar, maybe it was more beneficial. Hope creamer and caramelle learnt something out of it. I'm too impatient hehe.

TubbyMummy- Glad your checkup went well and u got the medications .... so far does the reflux meds work?

Stupid me forgot to tell my doc abt it on Monday... arrghh..

Re: Shaving
I tried shaving when I was in Uni but then found it very irritating and itchy leh... so I stopped...

Cassey- glad your hubby managed to get payment in on time today! hahaha...

Ahnetsan- hope u enjoy the dinner tonight... EAT EAT EAT!! I can't wait to go for my fren's wedding dinner on Thurs to stuff myself silly too! hahahha

Blurmommy- The baby carrier is the one that u sling on your body when you go out so that your hands are free to do other things...

The following items are for sale:

1) full set of the Medela Harmony pump (used only once) + Brand new (opened) membane valve (1pc) & Brand new membranes (3 pcs) all selling at $50

2180858.jpg

2) Brand new valve & membrane set selling at $28 (retail price ~$30)

2180859.jpg

3) NUK standard neck bottles without teats (Used only once)
- 4pcs x 125ml + 2pcs x 250ml selling at $40

2180860.jpg

Self collection at AMK or SengKang train station.

Interested please pm me.

Tubbym~, I think that's still an ok weight. Bb's doing well =) Better than my alleged 25 wk bb at a sala 480g!!!
Let me go see my book and post bb's weight here for reference. Heehee! Poor you... sounded like an absolutely wretched night of sleeplessness. If you haven't already done so, go to bed right now and have a restful weekend, my dear.

Alright, MTBs! FYI, according to book, bb's estimated weight as you GO INTO...
Wk 22 ~350g
Wk 23 ~455g
Wk 24 ~540g
Wk 25 ~700g
Wk 26 ~910g

I can't wait to have a correct estimate of my boy's weight in a fortnight's time.

Sorry mummies to interupt:

Selling a rarely used lucky baby warmer bought at $35.90 selling at $25.00

and Avent niplette bought at $70+ selling at $60 (used once)

Self collect at sembawang.

<font color="0000ff">Re : beansprout pillow
Kidzloft selling $8.45 without the personlisation (above link selling at $32).. looks like a lot to pay for some stichwork...</font>

<font color="0000ff">baby carrier - Pupsik studio
Kidzloft sell at $23+, $12 cheaper than elsewhere.. got time and interested can chk it out.. hee i bot one le..</font>

hello mummiess - dunno whether too early for ya to order diapers - but i am a marcg/april mummies - consoldiating orders for fitti premium - may mummies also orderd - o/side retails at 14.90 cheapest - but i can get @ $12 per pack - if interest can sms me at 81703429 - promo frm supplier ending next week....

sweethalo, some ppl born with inverted nipple. (not pointed out) makes it hard to suck but still can bf with some help.

tubbym wow but if u giddy bcos BP suddenly drop then now still tk medi to prevent hypert wouldnt it mk u more prone to this giddy spell... ya sweethalo i heard we not suppose to tk asprin but as doc always say some drugs still have to take if benefit weight more than the risk like tubbym case.cos if end stage very high BP have to give birth early or the mum might even go into shock &amp; life endangered...

wow biang i'm surprise i upsize from 32b to 36b accord to a few charts i found thru internet.. http://www.herroom.com/bra-fitting-advice,901,30.html but strange leh i wear my sis MIM bra 34B seem like still got space at the side but also look abit like not covering my twin tower fully. dunno it's cutting not suitable or what. will it shrink after we give birth bt we BF i wonder what size shd i buy to fit now and after birth... wanna kill 2 birds in 1 stone..

sweethalo, haven't tried out the reflux med yet, cos was instructed to take it only when it happens. I don't normally get reflux, and since pregnant, this is the first time. So I'll only open the bottle when it happens again. Once open, the bottle can only keep for 10 days in the fridge. For the aspirin, it's a very low dose, 75mg a day, so I guess it's still ok ba, some more it's prescribed by gynae himself.

createjoy, ya, good point hor? I also dunno leh, this didn't occur to me yesterday, so I didn't ask. I'll just start, and see how it affects me I guess. The aspirin pill so troublesome, they only have it in 100mg portions, so I must take 1 pill and break into FOUR parts, and then take 3 parts to make up 75mg. The pills are small, can't imagine I gotta keep doing this breaking pill thing till full term! I wanted to buy a pill cutter yesterday, but forgot. Hope today I'll remember to buy. About your bra, could it be wrong CUP size? Maybe u only went up to 34 and not 36, and instead of B, you're now C? Actually for myself, I researched on all the various methods to measure for bra size, and tried them all out, and realised that none of them works for me. The sizing is actually off by around 2 cup sizes! So I just go to the shops and take all the different sizes to try.

My friend who's attending the TMC antenatal class said that her teacher said don't buy nursing bra until around 3 days aft you've given birth, cos when breasts get engorged, all the nursing bras u buy now will be too small. But we were thinking that's not very clever advice also, cos who wants to go out and buy bras 3 days aft giving birth??!!

Anyone going to order diapers thru IDAARSHAD? I wonder if Fitti Premium is good or not... I haven't done any sort of research on diapers and pricing yet!

tubbym, your princess getting beauty slp

Try out ur medication on gastro-reflux, hope that it works on you too

Re: Diapers
My sil and friends recommend me Huggies Ultra for night use.. Day use can get 1 grade lower but still huggies

sweethalo,
I call that carrier - sarong, hehehe. I prefer the one with hook-ring, so can adjust the length. I very ai swee, so still looking for the right colour. kekeke

sample of carrier
http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/features.html

Re : beansprout pillow
11_Beans, any idea what is the kidzloft's beansprout weight like?

Cassey, tks for the bb weight guide.

Hey gals, how many measurements does your doc take to determine the weight of baby? Mine only managed to take the abdomen circumference due to her position yesterday, and the weight of approx 700g was ESTIMATED from there (maybe my kid got big belly like mummy haha). But my friend said that should be take head circumference + belly circumference + femur length, and the computer will work out the weight automatically from these 3 bits of info.

Is that how all your docs do it?