good morning mummies, im back from my weekend break! met some beautiful mummies on sat at the first mum congress although we didn't talk much. Tubbymummy, sorry I didn't say hi. Actually had my mouth full of the wanton that's why cannot shout. also cos i wasn't sure it was you, but now i am so next time see you confirm i shout hi ok? also met lovely creamer who's so tall! didn't see your bump from where i was but am sure you're one of those slim mummies lor..so envious! and ade-sourz sorry didn't reply your msg cos didn't charge my phone batt before i left so when i thought want to reply to your sms at the break, phone die on me! hope you all enjoyed the congress as much as i did and learnt many useful things. agree with Tubbymummy that WBB demo was the most interesting one, then the last 2 sessions was okay lah. learnt sthg very impt abt face creams which can harm your fetus and i think some of you may be using it (like me). the dr said that acne creams/makeup/those containing RetinA and salicylic acid can harm the fetus, causing it to be born with birth defects. i went home and immediately checked my moisturiser for RetinA, then i panic cos have leh..and salicylic acid some more! this morning came to office straight away do some research and find there are quite some inconclusive studies done. but to be safe, im switching to mineral-based makeup so going shopping tonight. any recommendations anyone?
re BFing and hubby sucking: a mummy shared with me that in the first few days the body don't produce milk, only colostrum which is thin whitish liquid but enough to feed the bb. another fact i found is that bb can survive up to 3 days with no food, so like what Tubybymummy say don't worry if your supply not enough to feed bb. my mum told me bb tummy is only size of walnut after birth so their crying can also another sign of adjusting to new environment not just for food. and don't worry abt bb weight/size suddenly declining after birth, it's normal for babies to shrink then grow back again. like a sponge cos they live in water so long, then after birth they lose water (therefore shrink) but after a while they adapt back and with proper feeding.
conclusion abt asking hubby to suck to relieve engorgement right after childbirth? firstly im not sure there'll be engorgement right after since supply havent kick in yet (experienced mummies pls confirm). but after reading the posts im a bit concerned so maybe i will buy a cheap manual pump first for this purpose at the hospital then decide on the "permanent" electric one within 1st week. for me it's also because i must consider if i'll be BF-ing after i go back to work. quite wasteful to buy a $600+ pump if i only use for 2 or 3 months. my new mummy neighbour BM supply drying up already, and her bb only 5 weeks old cos she feed him formula most times. so really the rule is must fight the urge to use formula and feed bb with BM almost exclusively. when not feeding, pump and store so supply is maintained. final note on hubby sucking: some men find it quite a turn-on to suck cos it's exclusive mah. not everyday can suck and get milk hor!
amk_gal: hey we could have met in antenatal class at KKH if i didn't change mine. now im going for the thursdays one. how was your 1st lesson? quite boring with all the theory right? i heard from some of mummies here who went for TMC Wong Boh Boi class that she got teach massage to relieve backache all. sigh..hubby say no need to go for so many classes otherwise i would have signed up for another one! i think WBB classes rock cos she's so funny and knowledgeable.
re diapers: my mum went johor on sat and bought me a pack of drypers 84pcs for RM38. what a steal! iirc, she told me the drypers newborn 28pcs pack selling for RM7, in SG it's SGD7! i think from now on i'll buy diapers exclusively in JB! she also saw some bb clothes, gd quality and only RM8. i wish i can buy in bulk and sell to all mummies here (hehe..) but i heard got limit? if you buy too many pieces later kena tax. so funny, diapers also want to tax?? anyone else heard same thing?
re bb measurements: i so sad lor cos the last time i saw precious princess was 14 feb for our detailed scan and the sonographer just told me bb is healthy and growing well, no indication on how heavy or how long she is. so must wait until this fri at my next gynae appt to find out. but she did say must take those 3 measurements (as Cassey said) to give estimate on bb's weight.
random note: at the first mum's congress i saw the TMC booth and so tempted to switch to TMC, esp after seeing the new suites. im anyway in the still-looking-around phase, will see my current gynae hopefully for the last time this friday and then want to make a switch already. so need some advice from mummies here cos i know quite a few of you going to TMC, can you recommend a female gynae who fit the bill below:
- female gynae
- have evening clinic on weekdays or open on weekends
- takes appointments cos my current one don't take appt and i end up waiting for 3 hours each time
- short waiting time during appointment but reasonable consultation time
- very pro natural deliveries
- nice, friendly and motherly
thanks in advance!