(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

hatemenot - If dont take antibiotics will take longer to get well lo.. tat's why i am still bordering and fighting the bug...hehe...

I was quite kiasu, after get the meds from GP who knew i m preggie, i still call up Gynae clinic to check every med...hehee

sweethalo, u are not kiasu but just being great mum

hatemenot, maybe u can call up your gynae and check? And most importantly, drink more water, eat more fruits and rest well..

shelisa, its cabbage lah! *Bao Cai*

just came back from gym having lunch now.. thread moving fast..
tubbymum,
me trying to exercise a bit and trying out the grapeful thing.. hopefully can work and slow down weight gain.. but bb must gain weight fast..

regarding mutton
my MIL also told me not to take mutton coz it can cause fits in bb.. but i accidentally ate some 2 months ago.. hopefully everythin will be fine.. to be on the safe side, I totally avoid it now..

sweethalo, mine is small cup so quite easy to buy. Cassey and tubbymummy shld headache as their are HUGE MOUNTAIN. haha

i think Wong Bok is "DA BAI CHAI". i rather use cabbage as wat Blurmommy said.

Shelisa, yah very sad indeed cannot eat beef and mutton..wah means cannot eat burger ah?? i don't eat them so much because they're very fattening and can lead to high BP. but now trying to eat abit here and there, and not from MCDONALDS! hehe

be careful abt tuna, because some tuna are from deep sea and have high-mercury. that's what i heard at the congress on sat and im worried cos im a super-huge tuna fan lor! but i think our tuna all cheap2 cannot be from deep sea one lah..those swordfish and shark confirm cannot eat due to mercury content.

Tubbmymummy, received your PM. will look through and contact you. i think maybe that's why my iron absorption not so good, cos i always drink milk and it's blocking the iron! ok must watch my food order from now on.

Blurmommy, why no mutton? high BP is it? or later my baby very furry like lamb? hehe.. i also scream at my cats when they climb on window sill, can't be good for my BP for sure. brought hubby to antenatal class and it's said that bb can only hear things at 8 months, so now he won't sing and chat with bb anymore. nvm, will trick him by placing my bump close to him and get him to talk nicely. otherwise bb won't recognise his voice how? btw what's yang dian feng? translate for me leh..

hatemenot, sorry to hear you're not well. i agree you should try to wherever possible refrain from meds. you drinking enough water and staying away from citrus juices/fruits (irritates the throat and make you cough) and milk (thickens your phlegm)? all this makes the phlegm worse. wish you get better quickly.

chidori, yup yup!! my daddy got fits, quite fimilar with ' yang dian feng'. tat y my family band me dun eating mutton. but u dun worries. eat 1 time only. my grandma that time ate quite alot of times. plus this is not 100% true. so just listen and forget will do

caramelle, actually my mummy didnt force us not to eat beef, she say eat outside ok. But my necklace got 'guan yin' thus i have stopped eating for 13yrs. u wanna try sardines? alot of ppl say sardines is good too.

RE: Mutton

My folks say eatting mutton will cause fits for bb! I got a few friends got fits and their mum said cos they ate mutton... I dunno how true.. but i kia see.. so play save..

My gynae did said that before but I forget why.. I will ask her during my next visit

Beef can eat.. but dun eat at home (for those religious pple)

Shelisa, i also in the MOUNTAIN club. even mothercare say if mine grow bigger they won't have size already. i envy slim mummies cos now my twin peaks are so heavy they're heading downwards. quite depressing to see myself when im changing. did i also mention i have angry red lines adorning my once smooth tummy? don't know what im doing wrong, everyday also i lather on stretch cream. and here i was planning for 4 kids, number 1 already im like an artpiece, can't imagine me with number 4.

don't know if creamer/ade_sourz remember the picture from the congress, got one pic of stretch marks on this mummy, it was so bad it looks like flame marks on her. so poor thing.

caramelle, do u know f stretch mark when will we realize we kenna?? izzit during 3rd tri the stretch mark will b obvious or aft dlvy then we will know we hv stretch mark?? i saw a line below my belly button not sure dat conisder stretch mark or not!

RE:Stretchmark
It gets real bad during 3rd trimester cos thats the time where our bb develop fast!

I am applying cream every 2times per day.. So far no marks yet.. BUT I still at 2nd trimester leh

Jackiee, thanks for the well-wishes =)

Shelisa, I've only ever heard cabbage... Chinese cabbage or what not I haven't heard. So maybe it's da bai cai... or maybe other cabbages do the trick too!

Blurmommy, I've heard that the bb carriers at the warm ones... bb and mummy's chest both get drenched in sweat. Personally, I got a MIM sling and am hoping it works out well for me and bb.

Tubbym~, I've no idea abt BP - cos usually dr tells me a number and it's just a number to me. I'll ask... erm.. is that ok? He says yup. So ok la. Then I forget the number in the following second. Heehee... I hope your entire pregnancy goes well. Good on your dr to be cautious to prevent any BP problems before they come up - especially now that our obgyn apptmts are still spaced weeks apart.

caramelle, actually all books warn against this Retin-A component in skincare products. So I'd say need not ask gynae before buying new stuff. Just get yourself some new products or lower range products to use for this period. I don't use anything for acne/pimples or anti-aging... so I guess I'm safe. =)

bbjun, much as I don't know anything abt numbers, your seems really low neh. Is your obgyn concerned?

bbjun, Tubbym~, jam75, is dry skin caused by pregnancy too? I recall that bbjun's had that from quite early on in the 2nd tri, yeah? I've got rosacea on my nose so the fella has good and bad days. Bad days = flaking, redness, blotchiness, lotsa of white oil bumps. Sigh. Ppl who don't know abt the condition keep telling me it's cos my bb's a boy. It's getting rather annoying.

createjoy, while I haven't put on as much weight as most, I can assure you that among all us MTBs, I'm ABSOLUTELY POSITIVE that I'm the undisputable heavyweight champion. Notice I keep very very silent whenever all the weight declarations come about...? I'm just more than relieved I'm NOT toeing the 100kg line for this pregnancy. *ARGH* I guess that'll comfort some of you and HORRIFY others.

caramelle, you planning for 4 kids?? that alot leh? I only intend to have one kid or at most 2 kids. did u ask ur gynae abt the red lines? is it stretch mark? applying stretch cream doesn't means completely wont have stretch line wor. So now the HUGE MOUNTAIN team have Cassey, tubbymummy and caramelle. It is very heavy right?

shelisa, 1st abt bb wt, mommy wt & now huge mountain team...hahaha....aiya tink f those not huge mountain envy those wif huge mountain team lo!

11_beans, thanks for the link, will go and kpo...

Shelisa/caramelle, sardines are actually very good, good source of iron & calcium (but dunno how they absorb together, assume Mother Nature knows how to take care of this haha). So easy to eat too, can take with rice, or smash up and smear onto bread for sandwich
As for tuna, I remember reading in one of my books that not all tuna are equally bad, but to moderate all the same, since sometimes when u eat outside, u won't know what sort of tuna they use. Try not to take more than 1-2 servings of tuna a week. Avoid albacore tuna. If taking canned tuna, buy the LIGHT tuna in water/brine instead of the traditional kind. Canned light tuna is preferable over tuna steak. I know Ayam brand got Light Tuna in Mineral Water, I've been buying those all along, but now pregnant, I've cut down, and maybe only eat once a month.

MOUNTAIN club:
I just went M&S on Sat (after I sneaked off from congress) to buy bra. It's so depressing, the big bras here are so ugly lor. Even if nice desig, the bigger the size goes, the uglier they look (to me at least). I don't know if I'll grow anymore, so I only dared to buy ONE bra. Bought a skin colour one to go with everything. Sigh. But happy with the new bra, correct size so much more comfortable.

jam75 dear, im not sure but any lines on the tummy during pregnancy can't be nice, very unsightly. either your linea nigra is deepening in color and starting to show or the marks have gotten to you too. yes, the marks will hit you b4 delivery when your tummy stretch to fit the growing bump. they say prevent sudden weight gains or too much stretch movements as this can worsen the situation. i first noticed when i saw "shiny" lines on my tummy, and upon close inspection/in certain angles they look red. some of them even look like bruises, which i blame on unproper underwear and tight pants in my early 2nd tri i think.

even if you suspect there's a dot, better put on stretch mark cream to prevent it frm getting worst. and welcome to the club

Re : Mutton,
I also avoid cause worry bb will kana fit....Better be safe than sorry.

Caramelle,
I noe wat u meant abt heavy top.........IT A BURDEN!!!!!!

caramelle, once aft 1st tri i already start applying the strecth mark cream...once i saw dat line i apply more on to dat line...i hope i will not b in stretch mark team leh....i saw pic of stretch mark really look awful tink hb c liow will b a turn off too!

for bra, can try sorella wireless series.. i bought 3 from BHG (Bugis) 2 weeks ago.. support is not bad.. its one for $22.5, buy 2 get 1 free.. the sales auntie has good knowledge and knows what to rec for preggies.. saw that they have up to D cup..

beef
my mum (though dun allow us to eat beef at home) encourages me to eat beef.. she says bb will grow big and strong..

caramelle, duck = white meat meh? I've read that it belongs under red meat category leh.

re: weight gain
most books I've read concur that weight gain generally slows down or even stops by 8th month as there isn't much more space and bb is preparing for the birth. Usually most rapid weight gain should be from 4th to 7th month. I officially enter my 27th week, 3rd tri. So I'm hoping I won't suddenly pile on the weight during these next few months. Else I die. =(

Aiya... I think I'm not having much meat leh. I mostly have chicken... sometimes try to have pork for the red meat fulfilment... but def not having enough fish. The only thing I'm constantly having enough of is probably my milk. Heehee... Not very diligent abt veggie and fruit intake either.

Shelisa, whoa, don't be so kua zhang! Cabbage only has to cover nipples ma. My aerolas and nipples are still well within the range of a full leaf of cabbage hor. The smaller inner leaves, maybe have to pass on to the rest of you more slender babes. *chuckle*

caramelle, stretchmark cream only goes that far with helping prevent stretch marks. A lot of it is hereditary. So don't fret abt it cos there's really nothing much you can do. I concur - Boobies heading south is NOT good =(

Thankfully I haven't any stretchmarks or anything yet... but WHOA, seriously, the bump is growing at an unprecedented rate. Hubby looks at me sometimes and just goes, WHOA. Even bigger leh. Whoa, it grew again. WHOA... *sigh* Then I worry abt how much weight I'm gaining and whether I can keep to my 6-7kg quota.

Re: weight gain
Bing said my gaining back the weight I lost in first tri means I've put on 3.5kg in my 2nd trimester. (Not the 0kg I originally thought) So now entering the final lap, I am hoping for no more than a further 4-5kg gain for the remainder of the pregnancy... I hope it works out for me.

*After my YAMI Yoghurt posting, so many of you mentioned granola that I had peach flavour topped with granola on that Fri afternoon. You ladies rock! Granola IS YUMMY! So much yummier than it looks!! Thanks for the recommendation! I may get another serving of it later when I meet up with my ex-colleagues this evening. =)

eh, so now mountain club got Jackie also is it? Hehe...

Oh, when my sis finally got professionally measured in the US, she discovered her cup size was an FF! BTW this is post preg, but she wasn't BFing anymore, breast size have stabilised back. All along in Sin, she was just wearing D cups. After getting measured as an FF, the sales person brought out a couple of FF sized bras for her to try, and she realised that they felt like a dream. My sis is now convinced that 90% of S'porean women are wearing wrong sized bras haha...

Tubbym~, I agree with you. I mentioned some months ago that M&S has big sizes... but they aren't all that pretty. The big sizes here are all really mumsy. I guess if you're small with a big cup, can still get pretty ones. BUT if HUGE like me... with HUGE cups again... who piang. Forget it. I'll stick to tubes and bandeaus. Else have to fork out huge amts.

jam75, hey, if you're small on top, there are many ways to remedy leh. Padded bras, push-ups, tops with ruffles or details that provide optical illusions. But once you're big, you're big. I was tell my hubby - skinny scrawny beanpoles can still have 'voluptuous' figures in their wedding gowns. Pad the bust, pad the butt, poof the skirt, WOO-LA-LA! Become Disney princess.

Whereas... Fat = fat = fat = fat = fat. Remove all pads, still fat. Tighten anywhere, still fat. Add details anywhere, still fat. Cover up, FAT. Expose, FAT. Add volume anywhere, even fatter! FAT = FAT = FAT! ARGH!!!!!!

Change subject! I love that the rains have come. Hope all the nation's bougainvillea will be revived. *so lame huh*

cassey, abt rapid wt gain....i oso hv rapid wt gain once i enter my 5th mth leh....in 1st tri i don't realli gain...is like in between +1kg or -1kg....but now i juz enter to my 6th mth already gain 8kg & hope like wat yr book hv said wt gain will stop at 8th mth...if not at dis rapid wt gain i will faint oso!

regarding mutton, my mum also say cannot eat cos baby will "jing feng", wadeva that means so i just dont eat.

pork is RED meat. chicken and fish are whites. tuna is best avoided.

btw, anyone of u knows anything about the link between excessive walking and premature labour? cos i walk quite alot daily (abt 1-2 hrs daily)and my mum's been warning me against it. but i thought some excercise is gd for easy delivery?? anyone can share on this?

jam75. last time i use to envy those huge mountain. But now i dun really, as tummy already very heavy + heavy mountain = very very tiring

TubbyMummy, before pregnant i love to eat tuna but get to know it is not very good so cut down alot. trying to eat sardines but the taste im still trying to accept it.

Cassey, haha.. dun like that leh!! i tho need to cover the whole breast! i didnt noe cover the aerolas and nipples only. haha. i was thinking cover whole breast maybe cabbage is just nice for me but not for u! unless is huge cabbage. wahahahaa

Reg: Bedroom dept
Can check with u ladies, last weekend my bedroom dept finally have business. haha. but it is such a disappointment. Althought it is not a wild biz, just a simple one. but i dun feel comfortable at all, i feel breathless and my cheat like very pain even tho hubby tummy not totally press onto me.. anyone encounter tat?

cabbage for engorgement
be careful abt this one. apparently i have heard that it would gradually STOP our breastmilk production. so better just stick to massaging with hot towel.

OUCH! engorgment hurts like hell. for 1st-time mummies, the breasts would literally become hard as ROCKS!

Tubbym~, a lot of the local sizes are really strange tho. I mean, you see China-made budget bras WITHOUT even a cup size. I mean - how are those supposed to work?! Most pretty bras only go up to a C, although nice coloured ones (but no pretty designs) are increasingly going up to Ds. But even then... the underbust is usually too small, so the cup ends up too small too. And my girls still end up spilling over.

Shelisa, yah 4 kids! i love big families, cos for me only have me and my sis. my hubby side got 4 of them and looks like fun cos they all so close.

abt red lines, havent ask gynae yet, but he'll probably say normal loh. everything pregnant woman go through is normal, i feel like screaming so what can i do to prevent it?? think i have more luck and answers with you guys then him.

jam75, you mean mommy weight or weight gain? weight gain, maybe i will lose a bit cos i started heavy so the gain not so much, thank god. yes yes, if 3rd tri no marks means you safe..hehe.

aiyah nothing to envy abt the MOUNTAIN club, very heavy to lug around you know. and pain to the back. my hubby say bigger twins means got more milk, by logic of bigger jugs can hold more milk. but i told him jugs don't MAKE milk lor, someone pour into them! haiya..so nonsense my hubby sometimes.

Jackie, welcome to the MOUNTAIN club. hope yours also don't expand more than necessary!

Cassey, duck almost like chicken therefore white meat no? i don't know..cos i see the flesh white mah hehe

you like me, we will have no problems with calcium intake but everything else like a bit short!

don't know whether lucky or not, but my bump grows without a noticeable weight gain. think my body is very weird, how come tummy grows but weight still the same?

you are so lucky lah no stretch marks..i so jealous..

First Mum, why you walking so much? is that what you do for a living? are you a parking warden?? hehe..just kidding

caramelle,
haha no la. cos i send and fetch my daughter to school on foot so its like a 15-20 mins walk each time (so that's 4 times a day!). I also do my own marketing/ shopping when shes in school. so it shd add up to more than an hr a day...

Shelisa, I AM SO ENVIOUS OF YOU. BUT pls tell me you're not STILL doing it missionary style? That's bound to make you feel breathless and uncomfortable with the bump falling against you like that. Yeech.

First Mum, YUM!! *slurps* I've also read repeatedly that mild exercise is good... especially walking with well-cushioned shoes. I guess as you progress on in the pregnancy, you may have to start strolling if you have been brisk walking. But other than that, it might just be an unnecessary worry cos most elderly folks think pregnant = fragile. My MIL offered to come and do my housework just cos I'm preggers. I told her I can cope. I'm not sick - just pregnant.

Cassey- Don't wear a good bra later saggy breasts, my fren can testify to that.

First Mum- u are right, I wld rather not succumb to the cabbage/ bai chai thing as I said... cos eventually will reduce supply as body thinks demand not there

Shelisa- u go gal! wow got biz on weekend huh..hehehhe

Firstmum - Re Walking

I also thought walking alot is good so that easy to give birth but my gynae laughed out loud and said " WHAT UTTER NONSENSE"

Cassey, now with pregnancy weight gain, underbust has gone from 34 to 36, and I've gone past D liao. So depressing... When I put on my new M&S bra, it looks totally weird, cos the cups look so big, like I randomly smacked on 2 triangular flags over my chest or something. I'm short (with corresponding short torso), so it looks as if the cups are crawling most of the way up my chest. So ugly. But get smaller cup can't fit. CRY!!

Dear ladies,

have some slight abdominal pain on and off, near to my private area. Anyone experience that? Just called my clinic and waiting for them to call me back. Hopefully can see doc and check what's up.

Today also experience breathlessness. Wonder what happen. Stupid clinic took such loong time to call me back!

caramelle, it's great for large ladies that only the bump grow while weight stays pretty much the same. We already have fat reserves to start off with... so while the slim have to store up maternal fat stores, our weight gain is prob really ONLY bb, amniotic sac + fluid and placenta. My family and friends say except for bump, I look exactly the same as before. *PHEW*

Re: Duck. Like chicken, it is poultry but I'm fairly sure it's red meat. When in doubt, let me google it.
Duck meat is.... *drumroll* RED!!! *clap clap clap!*
Wiki says~
In gastronomy, "red meat" is darker-colored meat, as contrasted with white meat. The exact definition varies by time, place, and culture, but the meat of adult mammals such as beef, mutton, and horse is invariably considered "red", while chicken and rabbit are invariably considered "white". The meat of young mammals such as milk-fed veal and lamb, and that of pork is traditionally considered "white"; while the meat of duck and goose is considered "red",[1] though the demarcation line has been shifting. Game is sometimes put in a separate category altogether

JACKIE... Shrink ok.. BUT SAG NOooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!! Mine sag some more I don't need breast-feeding cushion liao. Just put bb on my lap and he can feed direct.

Jackie, I already had some sag all along, so I know how that feels.
It's gravity, bo bian. Ya, I also heard aft BFing breasts will shrink. But my sis still looks ok leh, still FF!! But I had a friend, she was maybe B or C before preg, then C-D cup while pregnant & BFing, after BF they shrank till look like A cups, and were all saggy and quite wrinkled. Sadly, I saw them, and I am now forever traumatised and worried that mine will become like that...

cassey,
wow ur mil is so nice to offer! i cnt imagine my mil cleaning MY house. shes busy as it is with her own abode and always complaining abt hsework piling up. in fact i have to send my maid over every week to help HER. it doesnt matter that im pregnant, she needs the maid more than me.

sweethalo,
u know the thing abt walking and easy labour, im quite certain its true! at least it was for my case with no.1. i was walking sooo much from excessive shopping and coffee sessions with my gfs, right up to the day i delivered. and my labour was less than 3 hrs. on the contrary, my gf who is mostly sedentary throughout her pregnancy had a 12-hr labour. so i guess theres some truth in the saying.

CUP SIZES
wow so many well-endowed mummies here! im now like a C-Cup but i also feel so voluptous hahaha. im so pathetic.

I am bored

Yah duck is red meat!

LFB, keep calling them! I had that on off cramp during my 21 weeks and it last for 10hrs. Hence I have no choice but to admit hospital. They monitor my baby and contraction then my gynae actually use her fingers to dig in and see if got dilated or not... BUT heng! everything still intact, and I was told to rest on bed for 3days...

I am just sharing my experience, just hope that everything is fine for u my dear

Aiyo, you all like suddenly wake up during lunch time. I came back from lunch n suddenly so many posts.

Jam75, my MIL thinks that some duck, especially those teochew soya braised one has dunno what spice and insisted that it’s not good for baby. In any case, I don’t really take a lot of duck. Just once in a while. I dun think that’s a prob. Those dian xiao er one, lagi worse right… with Chinese herbs!

Increased intake in iron doesn’t help BP but only prevents mummies with low haemoglobin count from getting anemic. I think BP is more or less generic. My mother’s BP also on the lower side but my hb’s side of family is on the higher side.

Tubbumummy, pls also PM me about the mineral make up u are using. Want to know the brand n cost.

As for not eating lamb, old ppl says may cause the BB to have fits. I dunno how true but it happened to my brother when my mom actually took some mutton/lamb. Then these ex-colleagues I had, oredi aunties liao, also told me the same thing. I really swallow saliva each time I see lamb chops, lamb stew.. sighz.

Thanks, Jackie. Ya.. it’s always low. Before preggie, it’s 100something/60-65. After preggie, it dips. Gynae says it’s normal for the dip in second trimester and she can only prevent me from getting anemic with more iron intake.

Cockles!!! Another reason why I dun have my char kway teow n laksa. Cos gynae says try not to eat, esply if we are not sure how clean it was being handled outside.

Yes, BB can hear voices and sounds pretty well now. I think he is used to the MRT noise now and can sleep thru that. I have been singing rhymes to him every nite and he responds by playing and moving around. When I stopped, he knows it’s sleeping time and he will usually stop his kicks and what nots in a while. Was very amazed that he has such responses after I have been diligently reading and singing to him at about the same time every nite.

Hatemenot, as long as u check with Dr Yvonne if the antibiotics is safe for preggie. I think u shd take. U really don’t look and sound that good on Sat. Better to get well soon. Rem WBB was telling the other mummy to have her cough syrup to stop her cough cos prolong coughing does affect (think she referred to the womb). I think we can still fight flu somehow, but cough is difficult to recover without proper medication. I can understand how difficult it is when we cough. One experience with one pulled stomach muscle over one cough is enuf to make me hug my tummy everytime I need to cough a bit bit.

First Mum, i think if walking like that should be okay. thought you walk continuously then maybe a bit risky. just to share with you, in UK some women give birth squatting or standing, because the gravity helps to minimise contractions pains. so maybe there's some truth in what your mum say abt not walking so much. i think fetching your girl to school cannot change, but what abt going grocery shopping once or twice a week and stock up? will it work for you? either way you will need to get more rest and walking can also create another problem: varicose veins! keep well and rest your legs when not in use.

Shelisa, steady lah girl! still got action..